Wolf pups

Baby wolf

These wolf photos were taken by my co-worker and friend, Lori, last summer.  She and her husband, Bill, were driving through the Upper Peninsula, a little south of here, near Amasa.

Suddenly they spotted them on a hill overlooking the highway.  Wolves!   Wolf babies!  (Officially we must refer to them as “pups” or “cubs”, but I like the term “babies.”) 

Luckily they had recently purchased a new camera with a long lens.  Also, fortunately, the babies stayed still during the photography shoot.

I have only seen a wolf once in recent years, although there have been many sightings.  Our local newspaper (where my husband is the editor) has recently experienced a rash of Letters to the Editor from the pro-wolf and anti-wolf proponents.  It’s a touchy subject around these parts.  There have been not-so-happy encounters between the species.  There are others who appreciate the wolves as an innate and integral part of nature.

Let’s not get into a discussion about the rights of wolves and humans.  (OK, you can, if you want to.)  I just feel like looking at these beautiful pups and appreciating their spirit.

Thank you, Lori, for sharing the photos with us!

Wolf cub looking around

Two young ones...

Three wolf pups

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Wolf pups

  1. lynnekovan says:

    These pictures are wonderful. We don’t have wolves in the UK, although they used to roam in Scotland, and there is a movement towards reintroducing them. I’ve just discovered your blog and am enjoying it! I shall be back for more visits!

  2. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – What adorable babies! Years ago I was driving from Superior down towards Eau Claire and spotted three wolves on the meridian of the highway. No babies in sight but it was truly a spiritual experience. One of my favorite movies of all time is “Never Cry Wolf” and I still find myself drawn to these exquisite creatures. I’m with you…leave the politics behind when you venture out and celebrate all these creatures great and small. Thank Lori and Bill for their gift of pictures!

    • Kathy says:

      You are lucky, Susan, that you were able to see the wolves. Glad you agree with celebrating all these creatures “great and small”. A good way to put it!

  3. Carol says:

    Lovely pictures! Whatever else might be said, they are cute. Aren’t puppies always cute?

  4. Dawn says:

    Man! How cool is THAT, that we get to see them! Thanks so much for sharing the photos!

  5. Marianne says:

    Very cute baby wolves! I hear they control the mice population. CBC Radio One had a call in program about the wolf situation a few weeks ago. It was very interesting to hear the concerns of farmers and woods people. Personally, I know nothing about them and I’d probably have a fit if I ever encountered one. But, everything and everyone has its purpose. Oh, I also heard that if you find yourself being followed by a pack of wolves, blare music at them and they’ll leave.

    • Kathy says:

      I didn’t know about the mice population, Marianne. And I must admit–I would probably be concerned if I met a pack of them in the woods. And, darn it, I never have any music with me…

  6. jeff vanderhorst says:

    Great photos! I hope to spot a wolf in the wild someday. I once came across a wolf print on Isle Royale and I remember just stopping and staring in amazement.I follow the “wolf debate” in the Sentinel and to call it touchy is somewhat of an understatement. Talk about a charged subject! whew. I can see both sides of the arguement but it really does amaze me, the degree to which people get riled up. At any rate I find them to be beautiful and fascinating creatures. Is there another animal that has been the subject of so much mythology and stories? I wonder what it is about them that prompts that interest. Again, great pics! thanks

    • Kathy says:

      Smiling, Jeff. I suppose “touchy” was a bit of an understatement. Rabid might be a better word. I find them beautiful and fascinating creatures, as well! In the Native American way they are considered gatekeepers of the Western Direction and are teachers for us.

  7. P.j. grath says:

    How old do you think these pups were? Did Lori have any idea? They look at least “pre-teen” to me. I’ve never seen a wolf in Michigan (finally had a bear sighting, after many years of looking and looking), but we did see one in northern Wisconsin, right by the side of the road, and it was very exciting.

    • Kathy says:

      Lori wasn’t sure how old they were. Maybe they are a bit older than “babies”. But she called them babies when she sent over the picture. When we first moved here, there wasn’t many wolves. But they have increased a lot in the past 30-some years.

  8. Elisa's Spot says:

    Brothers! 🙂

    Thank you for posting them!

  9. What beautiful babies! 🙂

  10. I saw a wolf driving past Sceney,late one summer night. My family members were asleep in the car and missed it. Too big to be a coyote. I am not sure they believed me. 😦

  11. Gerry says:

    Juvenile delinquent wolves! Way to go, Lori!

    All the Official Persons say There are No Wolves in the Lower–You Are Seeing Coyotes. They have said it so often that I have grown hopelessly confused. There are large canids in the swamp. Miss Sadie, the Cowboy and I will stay the heck out of there, particularly on the evenings when there is a musical performance.

    • Kathy says:

      “Delinquent” wolves…lol, Gerry! We feel the same way when the Official Persons say there are no mountain lions here. I have seen a black one leap across the road in one two giant leaps ten years ago. The heck with Officials!

  12. Kathy, they are just beautiful! Do wolves keep to themselves, or are they a threat to people, other animals, etc? We have wild fox’s around here and they keep to themselves, rarely coming close to the houses. We have seen the occasional fox and they are really gorgeous, with big, bushy tails. I’ve never been bothered by wild animals. We all seem to co-exist quite happily together. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Joanne, most wolves in the wild keep to themselves, but lately some of them have been encroaching too close to humans. One or two small dogs have been killed…it is a huge issue now. Some people are afraid to let their children or dogs outside. (Oooops, talking wolf politics now.)

  13. Val Erde says:

    These are beautiful!
    🙂

  14. holessence says:

    Kathy – These photographs are F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C! If these shots were taken last summer, they’re “teenagers” now. I wonder where they are today? I sure hope they made it.

    • Kathy says:

      Aren’t they grat photos, Laurie? Hurray for Lori! (Now that I’ve introduced you to Lori, you can imagine my challenge in spelling both of your names correctly. I am forever trying to remember if I am talking to Lori or Laurie.)

  15. Reggie says:

    We don’t have wolves around here either, except in captivity or at a sanctuary, and I find them quite fascinating. These are gorgeous photos – they must’ve been so pleased to have a zoom lens!

    • Kathy says:

      That’s why I wanted to show these here, Reggie. Not too many people have had the opportunity to see wolves in the wild. I am very glad too that she had a zoom lens.

  16. Karma says:

    Beautiful babies. Can’t help but notice the very close relation to man’s best friend.

  17. Oh, I am so jealous of Lori. I have never seen a wolf in the wild let alone a family. Did go wolf howling once up in Ontario, Canada in Algonquin but only scared a few critters and the people with me. 🙂 Nice to know they are there.

  18. flandrumhill says:

    For 13 years I had a dog that was part grey wolf. He was so smart, sociable and intuitive.

    These are such beautiful photos. Thank you for sharing them Lori.

  19. Colleen says:

    Hi Kathy, what great pictures! Like you, we have shared space with many wild and beautiful animals. Lots of stories! Our cougar population was large and healthy……many encounters and sightings over the years. Have heard wolves calling….spine-tingling and thrilling, but have never met one in the wild. It’s fascinating isn’t it, the emotions and feelings that wolves stir in us. Maybe more than any other wild creature?

    • Kathy says:

      You are lucky to have spotted many cougars over the years, Colleen. I have seen only one. Isn’t the sound of wolf-howling amazing? It transcends the everyday and does stir something deep inside.

  20. Pingback: Two moose sightings in one week « Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

