How should we cook this blue ice fish?

Keweenaw Bay

Breathe in the quiet of mist rising over the lake.

Feel the peacefulness of it.

Mist rising

Imagine the ice forming. 

After the heavy winds blew earlier this week, the ice covers the Keweenaw Bay a little south of Carla’s Restaurant and stretches past the Whirl-i-gig on the eastern side of the bay.

As you head north, you see the mist rising above frigid waters.  Ice will form in freezing temperatures as you sleep.

Looking north

Snowy highway north

Snow rests beautifully in the evergreens.

Mid-winter spreads her cloak of pristine white.

Sunlight finally peeks through the clouds and bursts into blue skies everywhere.  In December and January, we live in a gray world.  Lake-effect snows and conditions shroud our world in muted shades.

But in February and March the sun resurrects and blue skies reappear!  It’s a miracle.  It’s something for which to feel gratitude on this day 24 of the gratitude challenge.  Seven days to go before the 30-day Facebook gratitude challenge ends.  It has been such a joy to share this experience with friends!

Yesterday, a friend of Kiah’s told her that she likes to look at my daily gratitudes on days when she is feeling blue.  Another friend said she was inspired to start her own thankfulness practice.  I like to read the gratitudes that other friends are posting.  People share with them:  “I like to read this.”  “I will miss when you stop posting.”  “Here is what I am grateful for today.”

It hasn’t always been easy to continue doing this for 30 days.  There is so much you learn about yourself.  You learn how to stick with a commitment even when your mind and feelings don’t want to post or even feel gratitude.  Commitments teach us so much…

One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish?

As for this fish, I could tell you a fish story.  About how we stopped the car as we drove north yesterday and threw out a fishing line.  Barry reeled in this blue fish made completely of ice!  Amazing, isn’t it?

LOL…I’ll tell you the true story this weekend.  Stay tuned.  It’s going to get icier before the sun thaws anything.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to How should we cook this blue ice fish?

  1. I LOVE the snowy highway! SOO pretty!
    The ice fish is amazing!

  2. Love the Snowy Highway North…I am so thankful for such a beautiful image…….The Best

  3. Kiah says:

    So beautiful & peaceful! xo

  4. kiwidutch says:

    I love the fish, even if the story of catching it was “fishy” LOL… ohh the rest looks so cold, beautiful too yes, but coooold!

  5. Gerry says:

    The highway north image is one fine invitation. Reminds me of Eagle Harbor.

    • Kathy says:

      I’ll bet you felt like you were right there, Gerry. You would like the fine lake trout or walleye dinner at Carla’s Restaurant, too. (the blue building on the left. But, darn it, they’re closed til March 1st.)

  6. sonali says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Your pictures brought a sudden chillness to me here. It appears as if you live at the edge of the world! Amazing photography, I must mention. Keep posting more & more 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I hope you were hot when that sudden chill arrived in southern India, Sonali! glad you like our edge of the world. One of my good friends is visiting your world this month…except I don’t know what town.

  7. john says:

    Isn’t it amazing how experience alters our perception! I have no doubt you know how much this post pulled on my heart strings. I have had a rough week at work, but seeing the bay gave me respite, it was as if I were standing by our living room widow looking out.

    While most focused on the totality of the snow covered trees on US 41, I was thinking how nicely the woods were framing Carla’s (the blue building in the center of the picture for those not familiar). Instead of feeling cold, that sight made me think about the warmth of the wood stove in the dining room. I am so envious of you being able to go to Houghton to see the sculptures at carnival, but I am so grateful that you are there to feed my senses. THANK YOU! A most sincere thank you.

    • Kathy says:

      John, glad to have eased your work week with photos from some of your favorite northern views. But SHHHH, you’re not suppose to tell about the ice sculptures yet. Barry pulled that ice-fish out of Keweenaw Bay. (Kiah said–that must be why they call it ice fishing! lol!)

  8. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy I feel like I’m back driving up the north shore of Lake Superior out of Duluth! These scenes are so familiar to me and I feel like you’ve taken me back into the dream world of the north. The colors — the cold — the quiet — and that “other worldly” sense of traveling into another dimension between heaven and earth. I loved it then and, thanks to you, can love it once more. Thank you!

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, it delights me to share these images with you. So glad that they pull you back to a northern dream. There is an “other worldly” sense around here, especially in the winter. When I lived in downstate Michigan, it didn’t quite feel like this. Thank you for your enjoyment!

  9. barb says:

    So many different blues up there just now! I love the road shot – it reminds me of the view from near Mary’s cottage in Eagle Harbor. To set the mind to find the positive as you have in your gratitude journal alerts you to gifts that might otherwise pass unnoticed. It has also taught me that there are always positives, even on the darkest of days.

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, it was delightful when the sun came out and we could appreciate those blues! On the darkest of days I think we need gratitude the most. It’s easy to be pulled toward darkness otherwise. Glad this reminded you of Eagle Harbor.

  10. Susan D says:

    Your photos capture perfectly how yesterday looked and felt. It was a stunning day. Thank you for making it timeless 🙂

  11. Marianne says:

    The Bay looks cold, cold, cold. Pretty photos though!

  12. bearyweather says:

    Oh my … blue sky! It makes winter so much more beautiful and tolerable …

  13. Barbara Rodgers says:

    I love snow on evergreens, too. The mist rising off the ice is very enchanting, and that bluefish is something else! I don’t know how you manage to find such fascinating things to photograph!

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...

