Organized! Efficient! Energized!

Chillin'...

OK!  We all have had days when we’re chillin’ and it’s hard to accomplish anything and we’re just hanging around the house.  There might be 1,000,000 things to do, but all we can manage is to read our email, make lunch and maybe feed the birds.  It’s not what we call a productive day.  It’s a chillin’ day.

Today, dear reader, was anything BUT a chillin’ day!  I was productive!  Organized!  Efficient!  Energized!  Moving! 

First, I attacked the desk.  (“Attack”  is the appropriate word to describe the energy.  I took correspondence which had been tucked away in desk corners for two years and DEALT WITH IT.)

OK, truly, all that I attacked was the desk.  But from the desk, the energy swirled outward to the computer area, the basement, the closet.  Things went to their appropriate place.  Things were tossed, re-organized, re-prioritized.

When this energetic urge strikes, one must take full advantage.  It usually doesn’t last.  Energy like this comes and we do crazy things like clean our kitchen table, dust the headboard on our bed, vacuum!   Like a whirlwind, we cut, prune, toss, toss, toss!

Tomorrow we may be yawning.  Tomorrow we may think our most important Action in Life is to write a blog.  But today–we know the secret of life.  It’s all about energy.  It’s all about action.  It’s all about movement.

Has today been one of those energetic days for you?  When was the last time you experienced a wave of energy that allowed you to accomplish untold things?

(P.S.–a dear friend recently told me the Secret for gaining energy.  You do something New.  Something Wild. Something dangerous.  OK, I might argue with the word “dangerous” but she likes it.  My daughter suggested the word “adventurous”.  Have you done anything adventurous today? If not, I recommend it.  Adventure will create lots of energy. Tomorrow you, too, will be cleaning your desk like a dervish.  Give it a try.)

Energized!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Organized! Efficient! Energized!

  1. Sybil says:

    Adventurous. My friends treated me to a birthday dinner yesterday. They then said we were going on an adventure. It was dark. They’d been tired of seeing a tattered flag flying limply in front of a house a few kilometers away. So under the dark of night we drove up and attached a NEW flag to their pole and disappeared into the night, giggling and squealing, glad the home owner hadn’t discovered us on his lawn.

    Never too old for a silly adventure !

    • Kathy says:

      Way to go, Sybil!! Hats off to you!! You win the Adventure Award of the week, for sure. (P.S. were you able to use your extra energy to clean house today? lol…)

  2. holessence says:

    go, Go, GO — you GO, girl! I can feel the energy all the way down here. There’s a great energy associated with clearing clutter. Whoohoo!

    By the way, I absolutely adore the first photograph, “Chillin’!”

    • Kathy says:

      I’ll bet you can feel that energy way down there a few hundred miles south! I’ll bet you’re uncontrollably cleaning. It’s crazy the way this energy spirals out… 🙂

  3. Colleen says:

    I’m enjoying your wave of energy. Mine is in somewhat of a regenerating-mode. Pretty quiet for the moment. But I do like your adventure recommendation……

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, I have no idea where this wave came from. One moment I was chillin’ and relaxin’ after the trip and the next moment SURFING! Do try the adventure recommendation and let me know how it goes.

  4. Elisa's Spot says:

    woooooooooooooooshhhhhhhhh…spurts like that have my hair cut and the room redone in reds, and my mouth opening to say many things, and then closing again for a few moments to be sure that what I want to say is valid and important and that I choose my words…

    • Kathy says:

      Good morning, Elisa. I am always amazed about spurts like this. I never once thought of monitoring my words during those times–will have to keep an eye on those words when–and if–another spurt like this happens again. 🙂

  5. I get like that once in a while…. well, once in a Blue Moon, maybe! I look around my house, and decide that I just can’t take it anymore! Actually, today was sort of like that for me. I swept, mopped, dusted, vacuumed, and then I collapsed! I have a feeling that tomorrow will be a lazy day….. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Me, too, Holly. Once in a Blue Moon. I love it when it happens though, don’t you? (Sometimes coming home from a trip triggers it…wonder why?)

  6. Marianne says:

    Whoo Hooo sounds great, I can feel the energy coming through the blog. I should have saved reading until the morning, I could have caught the wave and had a great start to the day. But, it’s 9:30pm so, I think I’ll read a book and go to bed. Maybe, I’ll read it again in the morning. Thanks Kathy and congratulations, I know it feels good to have those OEE moments.

    • Kathy says:

      Did you grab hold of some of the energy zinging through Cyberspace and use it, Marianne? I hope it didn’t keep you awake after you read this…lol. (Maybe not “lol” if it kept you awake.)

  7. Dawn says:

    I love it when that urge hits…it’s so rare! If we could bottle it and sell it….well, we’d be able to hire someone ELSE to do all that cleaning, sorting, tossing for us!

  8. Elle says:

    I’m not sure I could handle adventure right now but I’m about to head down the hill to the mailbox. Who knows what might happen on the way?

  9. Karma says:

    I’d love one of those bursts of energy to hit me – and soon! This house needs a good spring cleaning.
    My walk with the dogs yesterday was a bit of an adventure, but not enough to zap me with that energy.

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, I am sending you energetic waves through the ether-world. Zap! Zap! (I hope you got them.) Of course, do we want those waves when we have to go to work? That is the question.

  10. Kryssy says:

    Kathy
    Did I mention I LOVE to read your blogs? My hubby and I are going to walk to Best Buy then of to WAL-MART (I’m addicted to that store) you get what you need and SAVE!!!! :). Tomorrow I’m meeting up with a friend for coffee, we do this weekly EVERY Sunday.

    • Kathy says:

      Good morning Kryssy, why thank you, thank you for your enjoyment. It is always fun to see enjoyment! I hope you enjoyed your shopping trip and your coffee date. It must be a good friend for you to do this every weekend.

  11. Cindy Lou says:

    I love when I get in these moods! Unfortunately, they don’t seem to hit very often -especially in the winter! I did get a little spurt yesterday and got the house cleaned….mostly so I could just lay around lazy and napping today and not feel guilty. Must’ve been that energy of your swirling across the still-frozen bay. :}

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy Lou, it’s a mystery as to Why and Why Not these moods hit. I wonder why we can’t figure it out? Hey, next time one of those moods hit you, send your extra energy back over the bay. Maybe it will be melted soon!

  12. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Coming home from a trip often triggers an energy burst for me, too! I think all the different sights and sounds are stimulating and give us a fresh outlook, batches of new ideas and inspiration. It’s wonderful while it lasts! I started rearranging the living room furniture a couple of weeks ago and am now waiting for another power surge to hit me so I can finish the job! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I suspect you may be right, Barbara, because coming home from trips often does trigger a burst. It’s almost like we look at the house with fresh perspective and dig in! (I think it’s gone now…darn…)

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

