Celebrating Bertha’s 60th birthday in Marquette–and doing yoga in a Starbucks

View of the lighthouse and breakwater off Presque Isle through snowbanks

As some of you know from my other blog and Facebook, I’m in Marquette now.  In a coffee shop. 

My friend, Bertha, and I are on our annual overnight trip to the city.  This year we’re celebrating her 60th birthday!  Isn’t that exciting? 

Ore dock at dusk

We’ve visited the city for three years in a row.  The first year we attended the dog sled races and an outdoor art show at Presque Isle .  Last year we just relaxed and went to a movie, and, oh yes, visited an Irish pub.

This year we ate dinner at Coco’s down by the harbour, mostly thanks to one of my Susan-friends who insisted we give it a try.  I ate a panini with chicken and brie and pear.  Pear?  Pear? you ask.  Do they really put pears in paninis and would this taste good?  (The answer is yes.  To all of the above.)  Bertha ate a respectable cajun whitefish.  And then–and then–you’re breathlessly waiting, aren’t you?  We shared half of one of the most decadent raspberry chocolate cakes known to mankind.  It’s a wonder I can zip my jeans today. 

Reflections of ore dock

Our plans to walk along the lake–and burn off calories–hasn’t happened yet.  Although that MAY happen later this morning.  Instead we drove down toward Presque Isle as the sun set in the west.  I said, “Oh!  Oh, please!  May I stop and take pictures?” and of course she complied.  Birthday girls are good at complying because they’ve been celebrated so fully. 

Happy birthday, Bertha!

We always drive separately when we visit Marquette.  We’re both such independent souls.  She likes to go here and there and here.  And I like to go there and here and there.  We like to be able to go when and where we want to go by ourselves.  Then we meet up in places like Coco’s and the motel and Sweetwater Cafe.  It’s the best of both possible worlds.

Last night–after we cruised the Presque Isle strip–(that’s a joke for those who don’t know the area.  It’s a nice almost-wilderness park in the city)–we opted for a glass of red wine at the aforementioned Irish pub downtown.  Mmm….we talked and talked and talked for hours.  I love it that we sometimes don’t see each other for three or four months and when we get together we start off our conversation where we left off.  We’ve been friends for–gosh–almost 30 years.   Maybe I should re-count those years, but you get the idea.  A long time. 

We had such a fun birthday trip to Marquette, didn't we?

This morning she’s in the motel room doing yoga.  You know, physical yoga.  Downward dog and upward dog and the sunrise salutations.  We talked about those sunrise salutations for a long time last night.  How wonderful it is to connect the movements with the breath.  To do them very slowly.  We’ve both taken lessons with our friend, Shanel, during the past year.

Ice on breakwall

I am in Starbucks right now, doing yoga, too.  Can you tell?  I am doing blogging-yoga.  Creative-yoga.  First the creative mind stretches in one direction, then it stretches in another.  It salutes you all, very slowly.  Then it quickly writes itself.

There are many kinds of yoga in the world!  You can hardly imagine how many kinds of yoga that exist!

Tree

Goodnight, Lighthouse. Goodnight, Lake Superior.

Taking another sip of my half-regular half-decaf coffee (with half and half).  A refill for 53 cents.  Or was that 56 cents?  One and a half hours ’til we meet for breakfast at Sweetwater.  I’ve a book to read and a possible walk to take.  Oh my goodness, an annual township meeting tonight (forgotten until just this moment).  Still, life is good.

Happy 60th birthday, Bertha!  It has been so special celebrating with you.  Let’s do it again next year, shall we?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Celebrating Bertha’s 60th birthday in Marquette–and doing yoga in a Starbucks

  1. Reggie says:

    Happy Birthday, Bertha!

    This was such a lovely story – thank you, Kathy, for taking us along on your trip. The pics are perfectly delightful. Particularly like the two of Bertha (the top one especially) and the one of the tree with the ice in the background, in the reddish-golden glow of sunset.

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad you were able to join Bertha and me for that lovely birthday trip to Marquette. It was wonderful to catch some photos in the glow of the sunset. Glad you enjoyed the story and pictures, Reggie.

  2. Sue says:

    Oh what a lovely day you both had to celebrate 60 trips around the sun! It’s good to hear that you finally had dinner at Coco’s and that your dinner was wholly satisfying…..mmmmmmmm……c a k e.
    I’m loving your picture tour around Marquette and the portraits of the Birthday Girl!
    Someday you’ll have to show me that tree….I feel like giving it a hug! 🙂

    • Sue says:

      p.s. Are you sure that’s really a tree???? It looks like an Ent!

      • Kathy says:

        I had to google “What is an ent?” but then kind of remember having this same conversation with someone last year. Ahh….an ENT. Yes, you are so right. I think it is. Thanks for your suggestion to go to Coco’s (and to have cake!) It was lovely, and am happy you enjoyed the Marquette tour. Hoping to see you next week. 🙂

  3. jeff v says:

    I know the Starbuck’s well. We always stop there on our way home , Mary gets a carmel machita (sp?) and I get a double black eye. It keeps me going all the way to Maumee. Isn’t Marquette a cool town? We really like it. Quite a contrast to La Jolla!Enjoy your visit.

    • Kathy says:

      The double black eye sounds like~~well, something potent and lethal! Enough to keep you awake for a long drive home, though. I am glad you could picture exactly where I was. I LOVE Marquette! Years ago~~before we even moved to Baraga County~~we thought Marquette looked like an interesting place to live. Bertha and I thought it would be a good place to retire. (Although I would be totally surprised if my husband would ever agree to anyplace other than Arvon Township.)

  4. Elisa's Spot says:

    Experiencing is nice! I like that tree image and I noted more of the portrait practice! Happy Birthday Bertha!

  5. Colleen says:

    The best of all wishes to you Bertha. I can’t imagine a nicer way to celebrate the day.

    Like Sue, my first thought was Oh, my….. Ents in Marquette?! What a marvelous tree.

    • Kathy says:

      You know about Ents too, Colleen? If I had remembered about Ents, I would have told Bertha. (I gave her all your best wishes. She smiled happily.)

  6. Susan D says:

    Happy Birthday to Bertha! 60 looks good on Bertha. What a fun adventure! Love the lighting in the pictures and the subjects, all. Thank goodness for Marquette and all its delights, including visiting Kathys and Berthas 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Wondering if you and Bertha have ever met, Susan. She was speaking so fondly of Sonya. (She was the long term sub for Sonya, do you remember?) I know you say thank you to Marquette’s delights too! Aren’t we lucky to have her nearby? (And certain special folks who live near Marquette too.)

  7. Sybil says:

    What a wonderful birthday tradition !

    Love the tree picture and the portrait with the lovely morning sun.

    It does look a tad cold there though …

    Best wishes,

    Sybil
    Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Sybil! It still IS a tad cold here. Is it still cold in Nova Scotia? Except…starting today…it’s suppose to warm up. To the 40’s. Let me translate that for you. 4-5 celcius? I hope that’s right. Warm for now. Best wishes, sweetie!

  8. holessence says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, BERTHA!

    Kathy – You’re an Olympic Blogging Yogaist!

  9. Brenda Hardie says:

    Hi Kathy! Happy Birthday Bertha!
    Your pictures are beautiful, I especially LOVE the one with the tree! I have a thing for trees 🙂 I spent some time in Marquette several years back…fell in love with the Presque Isle area, took loads of pictures on my new camera and subsequently lost nearly all of them by accidentally deleting them (it really was a brand new camera with all the digital extras and I was still learning) anyway I was able to retake only a few before we left and traveled onward toward Copper Harbor. They are posted on my facebook page.
    Thank you for sharing your morning blog/yoga exercises with us! And for sharing Bertha’s celebration with us too.
    Drive safe getting home,
    hugs from Brenda

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, hello! It’s lovely to see you here, as well as Facebook. 🙂 I am sorry you deleted all your Presque Isle photos. What a bummer! I shall go looking for your Facebook pics now. glad you enjoyed the yoga/blog exercises. tee-hee. What fun!

  10. quietpaths says:

    What a beautiful thing to do with a friend and for a friend. Loved every word and picture.

  11. Robin says:

    I was confused for a minute, thinking you might have passed my way, going to Presque Isle. But it seems there are (at least — could be more?) Presque Isles that are situated in the Great Lakes. That explains why the lighthouse looks different than the one on Presque Isle near Erie, PA. Glad that mystery was solved. lol!

    You photos are so beautiful, and it sounds like you are having a wonderful time. The Goodnight, Lighthouse photo is stunning.

    • Kathy says:

      Gosh, Robin, I wonder how many Presque Isles exist? We think we’re the only one, and yet there might be hundreds more–even along the shores of the Great Lakes. It was wonderful to “happen upon” the light at such a beautiful angle. We had a good time. Life is good. I hope it’s good for you, too.

  12. Dawn says:

    Happy Birthday to Bertha! A very special way to spend a birthday!

  13. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Happy Birthday, Bertha! Sixty looks great on you!

    Kathy, the tree picture is extra special, what a stunning composition! You still have so much ice over there…

    • Kathy says:

      Doesn’t Bertha look like a spry chick? Ha ha… I almost didn’t include this tree photo. thank goodness it insisted! Thank you, Barbara.

  14. Marianne says:

    Sounds like a very lovely time, Kathy. Happy birthday wishes to Bertha as well.

    Man, that ice on the breakwall looks very very icy!

    • Kathy says:

      Marianne, this happened Tues-Wed. Gosh, it already feels like dozens of years have passed. Do you have this feeling too? Like a moment passes and it’s gone–almost completely gone? I hope winter goes this quickly!

  15. Sounds – and looks! – like you had a wonderful day!
    I think Bertha is lying about her age, she looks too young to be 60 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

