Don’t take me too seriously.

Yet another tree

Seriously.

Don’t.

I have to honestly admit–cross my heart, can’t tell a lie!–that I often write these blogs with tongue in cheek. 

If you come visiting often and read a blog with an outrageous title like “It’s the Veggie Burger Lady!” please realize that the author is probably laughing herself silly under this desk.

Do not–as one family member recently did–(and you know who you are)–say, “Why do you care what a server thinks of you?  Why do you care if you’re predictable or not?”

Here’s the secret.  Lean closer to your computer.  {Said in a whisper…}  “I don’t care.  I truly don’t care.  It just struck me funny to say that in the moment.  Maybe 5% of me cared.  Just enough to mention it, laugh about it and let it go.”

One of the purposes of this blog is that it makes me laugh.  A lot.  Let’s say a feeling arises.  Take any feeling that might arise for you.  Say you’re feeling ambivalent about Facebook.  So you write a blog about your feelings (which might only be 1-2% of the totality of what you’re feeling) and you resolve–or mostly resolve–your issues about Facebook.

Phew!  That was over.  Quick.  You felt, you blogged, you let go. 

But people–two days later–a week later–a year later–think you’re having trouble with Facebook.  They think that 99.6% of you is having trouble with Facebook.

When 1-2% of you had some ambivalent feelings about Facebook and you let it go and that’s that.  (OK, OK, I am not being entirely honest again.  I am still 6.9% ambivalent about Facebook.  One day I will write a blog and resolve it all within 24 hours.  I’m sure.)

Sometimes it's serious and sometimes it isn't. This sign is serious.

When I wrote the blog Hark!  Who goes there in the swamp?  I laughed for six days straight.  Hark?  Hark?  Who says the word Hark?  Where did that come from anyway?

Comic sans blog?  Ohmygosh!  (I personally don’t care two hoots about whether comic sans type face exists or doesn’t exist. )

Sometimes I will moan to Barry, “People really think I’m (sad) or (worried) or (angry) or (fill in the blank).”  He will look me straight in the eye and say, “That’s because you said it.”

Alas.  He will be right.

It’s just that you feel your feelings–you express them (OK maybe you even exaggerate them a bit because a 1-2% feeling looks funnier when it’s expressed as 43-44%–and besides when you exaggerate a little bit it’s easier to see the humor in life and just let go.)

Got that last sentence?  I love assigning percentage points to feelings.  Except you can’t do that in polite society. 

“How are you doing today?”

“Fine!  I am feeling 57% good, 11% snarky, 20% bored and 10% wishing I were someplace else.”

But no.  How do we respond?

“I’m doing good–how are you?”

People don’t want to hear about the 11% snarky, do they?

Back to the original point–what was it?–yes, don’t take me too seriously.  Except when I say something serious.  You can tell the difference, right? 

Not serious.

Blogs about tsunamis or murders or where your grandma and grandpa lived are shared from the bottom of my broken or aching or nostalgic or wondering heart.

Please take those seriously.

I suppose you think I’m concerned that people are taking me too seriously, right?  I mean–I suppose that’s what one would think upon reading the above title. 

OK, let’s be perfectly clear.  I am only 3% concerned about being taken too seriously.  71% doesn’t care.  16% thinks this blog shouldn’t be written at all and 10% is already laughing. 

Don’t take that last sentence very seriously, please.  Percentages are all approximate–and possibly downright false.

Have a good day (make that over 50% good anyway!)  Seriously!

Serious for crows. Not for humans.

P.S.  Do you ever feel like putting “LOL” after 77% of the things you say?  Just so people know?   LOL!

41 responses to “Don’t take me too seriously.

  1. Seriously, you’re not always serious? Who knew! LOL

  2. It’s OK … I get you. Well 98.6 % of the time.

    oooops. Almost forgot.

  3. darn it. After “Almost forgot” I did the triangular bracketed lol but the system didn’t include it.

    may I repeat … DARN.

  4. Except I’m growing to hate the LOL because I see it used (on Facebook) where I think you shouldn’t be laughing out loud anyway far too often. So, let’s put it this way – I’ll take you as seriously as you take me, and I’m sure you can tell the difference too, right?

    • I know what you mean, Carol. It can be so trite. So over-used. But what are we to do, when we laugh a lot? Yikes, it’s a conundrum!

  5. Brenda Hardie

    How’s this for serendipity…you posted this today about laughter and not taking yourself too seriously…and last night before bed I read this in my prayer journal…”Our advice is to lighten up and enjoy life. You might even ask God to put a little laughter on your lips and humor in your heart.” :) Wow…I love how God works! Thank you for your blog, thank you for your pictures, your stories, your thoughts and meanderings, thank you for just being you! Laughter is good…happiness is better…joy is best! I thoroughly enjoy laughing along with you Kathy! You bring a lightness to my days. Have a beautiful day my friend and know you are appreciated no matter what mood you’re in!

    • Hi, Brenda! I am glad that your Prayer Journal agrees. I think God likes laughter. I think God loves us so much he’s laughing at our antics quite regularly. I could be wrong, though. Thank you for being you, too! You inspire me to continue when the part of me that wants to be perpetually silent sounds its protest. Thank you so much.

      • Brenda Hardie

        You are most welcome Kathy! And yes…I bet God does enjoy hearty laughter watching us muddle through our days! And I believe it’s the laughter of love…because God delights in His children!

  6. As a Holistic Health Practitioner, I can say with all honesty that the most important bone in the human body is the FUNNY BONE!

  7. It’s so much easier to explain things with percentages!

  8. I’m 70% sure that this post was 95% silly!

  9. Sometimes I can tell and sometimes not….seriously :) :)

    • That’s what I was afraid of, Colleen. The times when not even a family member could tell I was joking! And then folks think you’re joking all the time when you’re dead-ringer serious. Gosh, what’s a writer to do? It’s a conundrum. (I am 91% sure that life is a conundrum 72.5% of the time.)

      • The writer doesn’t need to do anything other than what she has been doing all along. She does it so very well.

        The challenge is entirely the reader’s who wishes (sometimes) that written words had body language and facial expressions!

  10. Hark! 100% of me loves you and your blogs … serious or not serious … LOL-ing or tee-heeing or any other form of expressing emotion whenever, wherever, whatsoever, forever. Forsooth, so be it.

    • 100%? 100%? No, Susan, it can’t be! At least 5% of you must think this all ridiculous and crazy and won’t she stay out in Skanee and just send more money in the paychecks??? (I am trying to calm my crazy creative mind…trying…trying…it’s probably all that budgeting. It’s so serious that the creative mind rebels. You know.)

  11. My wife just told me my response was inappropriate and I have to delete it, so I’ll just say don’t change a thing, we love your Lake Superior Spirit just the way it is.

    • John, how I want to hear your inappropriate response! Tell your wife I said hello and I would like to meet her someday. (OK, I don’t want to hear your inappropriate response if it was snarky. But if it was friendly, yes. But I am sure your wife knows best!)

  12. A good part of blog reading is reading between the lines.

    Most people can figure out that someone angry/happy/sad/frustrated/perplexed with an isolated silly incident that was a moment in time that they reported on, is not forever stuck in that moment and feeling that way days, weeks, months later :)

    We understand how real life works, (or should) and we should “live the moment” with you accordingly.

    • You are so right, Ms. Kiwidutch. So right! It’s the reading between the lines which makes a good blog-reader. Some people hold onto a minute for a long long time (even a lifetime!) and some people release it way too quickly. I release my moments rather quickly. (Although some are still cradled near the heart years later…)

  13. Well Kathy that took a lot of words to tell us your not seriously or rather correctly, that we are not to take you “too” seriously! Okay than, I got it!

    You are correct, I find your blogs, informative, when discussing the area and or your family, yet there is always humor and tongue and cheek stories going on here! That is what is so much fun about your blog!

    Jeff

    • Hi, Jeff! Gosh, I love words. I love using them to get to the point–even if it takes 1,300 of them to meander to their destination. You should be proud that it didn’t take more than 500-600 to reach their destination this itme! I love you!

  14. Kathy, when I read your blogs, I get the feeling you are having fun. I don’t take you seriously unless you are writing about a serious topic of course. Maybe it’s because I don’t take myself seriously much anymore. I use to many year ago, I’ve lightened up considerably (maybe 80%). But, I still have my days when things are a little heavy. You know, this RA disease with the inflammation and pain makes me feel heavy. It seems as though what I carried around in my thought for years and years has manifested into a physical condition. That’s my karma, I think. It will be interesting to see it work the other way around. I’ve already gone for three months without the need for a pharmaceutical injection. Still symptons are about 60%.

    One of the many reasons I enjoy your blog is the light and easy way you write. It seems to just flow.

    • Marianne, that’s the truth. That’s one of the reasons I blog. Cuz I’m having so much fun!!! (Except when I’m not..) I can’t imagine how it is to live with pain and inflammation which makes you feel so heavy. Except this winter–for three months–I lived with quite a bit of discomfort. The blogging cheered me up, made me laugh, entertained me. I can’t imagine how it would be to live with discomfort for months and months on end. I admire you so much.

  15. Oops, I think I meant “symptoms”.

  16. I always thought LOL meant Lots of Love. Shows what percentage of my brain’s functioning!!! LOL I guess.

  17. Well about 60% of me wasn’t taking you seriously anyway. I’m not 100% sure what the other 40% was doing though. On the other hand about 30% of the time 90% of me is taking at least 80% of everyone seriously. This gets me in trouble at least 50% of the time.

    • Laughing…funny, Elle! I know about that gettin’ in trouble 50% of the time. Yikes! We got to keep our percentages in line, don’t we?? :)

  18. Percentages? Who needs them. I just flip a coin..heads, Kathy is serious and tails, she’s LOL at us behind our backs. ;)

    • Scott, I would never ever never ever never EVER LOL at anyone behind their backs!!! Honest, cross-my-heart. (Maybe to their faces–as long as they laugh back at me.) I’m 93.2% sure of this!

  19. Barbara Rodgers

    Kathy, one of the reasons I love you and your blog is that you have a delightful quirky sense of humor, something I appreciate because I tend to be a way too serious person. And sometimes I have trouble figuring out when people are kidding and when they mean business. I’m also very gullible, as my sister and my husband could tell you! :) But I try to keep up and your blog has brought me a great many chuckles and fits of laughter over time.

    For instance, the clay pot person relaxing in the tiny lawn chair! Did you set that up or did you find it somewhere? It made me laugh way out loud!!!

    • Thank you for saying this, Barbara. It makes me smile thinking that you laugh and chuckle and even have fits of laughter! :) As for that clay pot person…my friend, Nancy, had it set up in her garden last summer. Never found a proper moment to use it until now!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

