Purple-pink dawn, first robin, spring snow and enchiladas

Horizontal pink-purple dawn

Would you like a good-morning view from our deck this morning at dawn? 

Beautiful purple-pink colors, yes?

Vertical dawn

The Dawn Show only lasted for five minutes.

That’s all.

Before it disappeared and gray skies took control of the horizon.

How quickly we must admire, must appreciate, before life takes on another view!  Don’t blink!  You’ll miss the splendor of the purple-pink moment…

Our first robin! Seven days behind schedule...

If you blink, you’ll miss the first spring robin. 

Our eyes have been staring at the side lawn for days now.  Since March 27th to be exact.

March 27th is my friend Lyn’s birthday.  Usually robins appear by her birthday.  This year they were scarce–probably hiding out in downstate Michigan.  You can’t blame them.  The ground is still mostly frozen around these parts, and robins must pull up worms from half-way thawed soil. 

Today the first robin appeared.  Barry–the eagle eye–spotted it.

“Kathy!  There’s a robin!” he exclaimed.

I ran toward the robin, which now paused in the tree.  Scurried outside to take it’s official northern photograph.  It paused momentarily before bursting into flight.  A crow’s shadow flapped overhead.  The dawn skies applauded.

Mourning dove--right on schedule. Happy to see you, Ms. Dove!

Two mourning doves have been waddling around the garden, mostly under the feeder.  One mourning dove has disappeared in the last few days.  Is it nesting?  Have the first two doves disappeared, to be replaced by a third passer-by?  Who knows?  The dove pecks at seeds.  The finches and chickadees mostly ignore it.

April snow

This afternoon–after the purple-pink dawn, the first robin, and the April rain showers, the snow showers appeared.  Snow swirled and dipped and splayed against the branches. 

The doves disappeared.  The robin disappeared.  The dawn was long gone. 

Only the snow remained, showering us with big fat white flakes.  The world transformed into a winter wonderland, a place where doves and robins wouldn’t dream of intruding.

“April Fools!” the snow shouted.

The doves rolled their eyes.  The robin pecked at the ground.  We scurried inside and stoked our woodstove and made spinach-pinto bean enchiladas for dinner.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Purple-pink dawn, first robin, spring snow and enchiladas

  1. Brenda Hardie says:

    What a beautiful morning! Thank you for sharing your view with us! I would love to have a view like that off a deck too….maybe someday I will! 🙂 Enjoy your enchiladas. And mostly…enjoy cuddle time by the wood stove 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Twas a beautiful morning–excuse me. I have left my husband eating enchiladas to check my blog. Must return to the dinner table or he will not be a happy enchilada-eater! 🙂

  2. Elisa's Spot says:

    OH! I am sooooooooo glad for whatever had you up and thinking to look along with camera in just those exact five minutes so that I could view that joy! I love colors in the sky in the morning!

    • Kathy says:

      You may credit Barry. He shamed me into taking pictures. Actually, he took the first few pics. I have no ideas which pics were his and which were mine. I love those colors, too.

  3. holessence says:

    Your 5-minute Dawn Show is waaaaaay more valuable and spectacular than most regularly scheduled programming. Gosh, but that’s breathtaking!

  4. Dawn says:

    Gracious what beauty! I was clearing the veggie beds this weekend and the Robins were lurking and snagging earthworms when I’d walk away.

    They are in full voice now in the mornings – in a chorus with the juncos. What better alarm clock!

  5. Jan says:

    Beautiful photographs – thanks for sharing.
    Kathy, have a great week!

  6. Sybil says:

    wonderful photos. Prefer the horizontal. Just the right words to go with the pictures. If your friend’s birthday is April 27 the birds are a bit early aren’t they ? 🙂

    Just saw our first robin here on the Eastern Shore last week.

    • Kathy says:

      Ohmygoodness, Sybil! thanks for pointing it out. Her birthday is MARCH 27th, yikes. I fixed it. You are a godsend. Glad you’ve seen your first robin.

  7. Dawn says:

    It WAS a beautiful sunrise, even here. The beauty before the storm I guess.

    • Kathy says:

      Hope you didn’t get too much of a storm downstate, Dawn. We only had an inch or so. But it’s still snowing-raining-sleeting. Some smarmy mixture!

  8. barb says:

    Well – I’d pity you except we’re due for another foot by tomorrow. I didn’t even have that gorgeous dawn – or the robin for that matter. (Not that I’m complaining.) Much…

  9. P.j. grath says:

    Snow here today, too. If we had a dawn as beautiful as yours, I didn’t see it, so thanks for sharing the purple and pink. Dawn colors seem more fleeting than sunsets, don’t they? But their magic lingers with us through the day.

  10. Karma says:

    Did you tell the snow you didn’t think its joke was very funny? Mama nature tried that here on April 1st, and I didn’t find it very amusing. Thankfully it melted as quickly as it appeared and we enjoyed a sunny, though a bit cool, weekend. We’ve had robins, an abundance of them since March 9th – I checked the date! I’m remiss in getting pictures, however. I have to tell you Kathy, your appreciation for the forest is rubbing off on me. I had the most wonderful walk today – full of moments to appreciate – and I blogged about them of course! Made me think of you while I was appreciating! 🙂
    Love your pink and purple sky! Gorgeous!

    • Kathy says:

      Ohmygoodness, I started replying to the Lake Wobegon comments having completely forgotten that the Dawn-robin blog comments weren’t answered yet! Have you ever done that? Boy, you must still be frowning at Mother Nature for that April Fools joke. (We had the same joke a few days later.) I am glad to hear that you are falling in love with the forest. Your walk sounded wonderful! I am glad to have been “with you” on your walk.

  11. jeff v says:

    nice sunrise pics! as for the robins , I think they all overwintered in n.w. ohio. there are tons of them gorging themselves on last years crab apple crop. I heard that the half rotten fruit sometimes ferments with varying degrees of alcohol content . so I wouldn’t expect to see them anytime soon up your way. we might have to load them up on a bus and ship them north!

    • Kathy says:

      Jeff, that is such an image. Robins gorging themselves on fermenting crab apple crops. I am convinced that’s why they were a few days late. Hangover! (Oh my that would have been a good blog…)

  12. Colleen says:

    Kathy, your early morning sky is beautiful! Wondering if those are colors you see often in your part of the country?

  13. Val Erde says:

    It’s great when spring decides to arrive, even if it’s only for a short moment, because you know that sometime it will be coming with more enthusiasm. We’ve been having some lovely sunny days interspersed with typical Welsh rain and cloud.

  14. Susan Derozier says:

    Peaceful and dreamy sights while I listen to multiple leaf blowers cleaning up outside from our big storms last Thursday. Would love to join you in your beautiful north woods and share in your quiet beauty. LOVE these pictures. You should be publishing coffee table books as fast as they can turn them out! Thank you again!

    • Kathy says:

      I liked how these pics came out, too, Susan. Thank you. You certainly did have some big storms last week…hope it’s all quiet and beautiful again soon. Thank you!

  15. Kiah says:

    I love this post. 🙂

  16. Carol says:

    I so enjoyed viewing the purple-pink dawn from your deck. Our dawns have been rather bland of late, wonder if it’s the angle of the sun now. There will be those April snows, there always are, but they don’t last long. The daffodils are getting closer to bloom, the lilac buds are swelling and I’m feeling good!

    • Kathy says:

      I wonder if that angle of the sun affects dawns and sunsets? Good question… I love your image of those daffodils near blooming and lilac buds swelling and good moods. Spring!!

  17. kiwidutch says:

    That beautiful dawn and the birdies were the promise that no matter what the day held later that Nature hadn’t forgotten that Spring is around the corner.
    OK not the very next corner, but maybe the one after that, or the one 5 more corners along.
    Don’t ever say that Mother Nature doesn’t have a sense of humour (or a little irony)

  18. Robin says:

    What an amazing purple-pink dawn! It’s breathtaking.

    Mother Nature is good at those April Fool’s jokes, isn’t she? 🙂

  19. wolfsrosebud says:

    There something special about a late winter sky… beautiful pics!

  20. One of the perks of daylight savings time, you’re up to watch the sun come up! Just beautiful!

    • Kathy says:

      There you have it, Michaela–the very advantage of daylight savings time! (And we get to enjoy that sunshine later at night, too…ahhh, blessed change of seasons…)

  21. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Red sun in the morning, sailors take warning… wondering if that applies to pink-purple sun in the morning? Gorgeous pictures, Kathy! It never ceases to amaze me how quickly the sun comes up…

    • Kathy says:

      Good question, Barbara. Wondering? I don’t know about you, but I am amazed that the birds are chirping and singing so early these days–even before that sun climbs up the trees and warms the melting snow.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

