“Barry, I’m never going to blog again.” Yeah, right.

How about a little Palm Sunday barbecue on the deck?

Day 1.  April 8.  “Barry, I’m never going to blog again.”  (Barry rolls his eyes, but does not disagree.  Good husband.)

Day 2.  April 9.  “Barry, I’m really enjoying not blogging.  Not having to take pictures.  This is great.  It really feels wonderful!” 

Day 3, 4 and 5: April 10, 11 and 12.  Sitting outside in woods.  Quiet.  Not very many thoughts.  Crazy creative thoughts finally calm down.  Phew…ahhh….this feels good.  “Barry, I really like not blogging.”

Day 6.  April 13.  Conversation with Dad, in Florida.  Dad:  When are you going to start blogging again?  Me:  Oh, not for–two or three weeks.  Barry doesn’t think I’m going to last, though.  Dad:  Kath, I hate to disagree with you.  You know how I usually agree with you.  But you’re going to start blogging again, soon.  Me:  NO I’M NOT!

Our six to seven inch April snowstorm. 🙂

Day 7.  April 14.  “Barry, I’m really kinda–almost–starting to miss blogging. But I’m not going to blog again until May.  Really.”  (Barry:  do we have to talk about this?  Kathy:  YES!)

Day 8.   April 15.  “Barry, how many days until May?”

Day 9.  April 16. Snowstorm.  Six or seven inches of snow. Cabin fever.  “Barry, gosh, if I were blogging we could go take pictures of this snowstorm.  Gosh, I’m really, really missing blogging.  Gosh, I don’t know how I can wait until next Thursday.  That will be two weeks.  How can I wait until next Thursday???”

Day 10:  April 17.  Today.  Blog-yearning starts at 7 a.m.  Accelerates.  By 1 p.m. it’s an ache.  By 5 p.m. the desire is enough to flatten an innocent bystander.  “Barry, I’m going to write a blog.  I can’t stand it.”   Barry: NO!  You’re NOT!  You’re never going to blog again, remember?  5:15.  5:30.  5:45 p.m……   BARRY, I’m going to write a blog!!!!   It’s been ten whole days.  That’s a nice break, right??

Hi, readers.  Smiling sheepishly.  Glad to see you again! 

Goldfinch in the spring snowstorm

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to “Barry, I’m never going to blog again.” Yeah, right.

  1. Elisa's Spot says:

    Oh, that goldfinch is beautiful! Snow, uhm…well I’m enjoying the green green grass and newly leafing trees and rainbows and rain showers and pink lighting and thunder.

    • Kathy says:

      Green green grass and (pink?) lightning and thunder and rainbows sounds exquisite. I loved that splash of goldfinch yellow against the snow, although it was hard getting the finches to turn around and smile at the camera.

  2. Reggie says:

    You know, Kathy, when I just read the heading of this blog, I almost shouted “Noooo!!!” And for the first time ever I wanted a ‘You Don’t Like This’ button, because I felt so strongly about it.

    I am sooo relieved that your resolve cracked. I am pleased that you are back to showing us your photographs and sharing your insights with us. Hugs!

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie, I am so sorry to have scared you! I thought the words “Yeah, right” would alert folks that it might be a joke. Gosh, I don’t know about our crazy minds. One minute they want something; the next minute something else. Silly minds! Loving seeing you–and everyone else–again.

  3. Robin says:

    Look at that goldfinch looking all warm and sunny in your snow. So beautiful, especially with the contrast.

    Blogging is almost addictive, isn’t it? For me it seems like my mind is almost constantly blogging. Except for those penguins in my dreams. I don’t think they are blog related.

    Welcome back. I hope your blog vacation brought you lots of peace and space. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      That pretty yellow goldfinch is our only hope of spring, Robin!! Yes. Blogging. Is. Almost. (No, not almost.) Addictive. I don’t know why it’s so entincing. As for those penguins in your dreams…they could be blog-related. Perhaps the penguins are calling you down to the South Pole to write a blog!! And yes. I feel so revived and calmed and connected. I am transferring some of the energy to you, if you like, for your 365 day outdoor break-less adventure.

  4. That poor bird looks confused – he’s probably wondering what happened to the Spring!! Welcome back!! 😉

    • Kathy says:

      That poor bird is probably dizzy with confusion! He’s probably wondering what happened to the nice greenery. What’s this white stuff? What about mating? lol! (Thank you…and off to visit all your blogs soon!)

  5. barb says:

    Well, of course you’re back – you didn’t say your break would be FOREVER. What’s Barry thinking? 10 days of respite from us is plenty of time to rejuvenate. Goody – I’m glad you’re back. That yellow splash of color in the snow photo is wonderful. It looks almost like CO there in the UP. Mary is coming to visit me April 26 for a week. I’m excited – haven’t seen her for months since she’s spent the winter in S America. (See how much I have to tell you…)

    • Kathy says:

      You are so matter-of-fact, Barb, that I don’t feel the slightest bit guilty for going back and forth and around and sideways about this issue! (Maybe I would still be listening to the grass grow if the forest floor wasn’t all covered with snow…) How fun that your friend, Mary, from the UP is coming to visit you fora WEEK. Awesome! South America? Double awesome! Hoping our snow in both Michigan and Colorado melts soon.

  6. holessence says:

    Kathy – You completely and totally crack me up!

  7. Lucienne(Alluvja) says:

    Are you sure you didn’t cheat Kathy? I mean secretly typing the sentence of day 1 on April 8th, of

    • Kathy says:

      I promise, promise, promise you Lucienne that I DID NOT type that first sentence on April 8th! lol! Not until 5:45 today, cross my heart!

  8. Lucienne(Alluvja) says:

    he I wasn’t finished with my reply and it suddenly posted hmmm. ok here we go again:
    and then sentence of day 2 on April 9th ? 😉 or did you really honestly go cold turkey for 10 days? !
    I’m only teasing, I really enjoyed this blog and it gave me the giggles except for the snow…brrr it’s still winter over there OMG when does spring come?

    But seriously, it’s good to have a break once in a while. I was without computer for about 2 weeks and thought it would be dreadful but actually I quite enjoyed it.

    Huggies, form the Lowlands where the magnolia is blooming,
    Lulu

    • Kathy says:

      Here I went and answered you before you were done writing! lol, Lucienne. Crazy programs. I think a 10-day to two week break is just right! Glad to hear you enjoyed your computerless time. (I am envious of your magnolias and wondering if we shall ever see them? Well, we don’t have magnolias here anyway, but violets would be nice.)

  9. Susan Derozier says:

    I think you finch is saying “where have you BEEN?” You have no idea how happy I was to have you appear, snow and all! Of course I wanted for you what you felt you needed…but am glad you got that and still wanted to return to us. Welcome back and toss some seed at your little yellow friend from me!

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, Susan. Is that what that finch is saying? I am glad you are happy to see this crazy blogging fiend again. lol! I loved the break…but am so happy to be back. Wondering if there is a way to bring the freedom of the break back into blogging. But then–can always take a break again!

  10. Dad says:

    Kath——Always remember Father knows best!!!! Welcome Back! Dad

  11. Susan D says:

    Oh, HI! … you are back, and I’m so glad! I tried to be so accepting of your choice not to blog “for a while” … I tried, but kept peeking to see if you’d come back … peeking way too often. I missed you so, and that’s the unvarnished truth. Your photos are magnificent, and so are you. What a lovely way to welcome a peaceful Sunday evening, by peeking again and finding you “home.”

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Susan D, I so love you. OK, I love all the Susans in my life (don’t want to offend any Susans…) The UNVARNISHED truth! Hurray! I went outdoors in my pajamas and snowmobile suit this morning to photograph a very ordinary snowy April morning. Just so the camera and I can get to know one another again. “Hello, Camera, my name is Kathy.” “Hello, Kathy, my name is Ms. Rebel.” OK, enough silliness! Off to work soon!

  12. Marianne says:

    Great snowy pictures! I was just over at Life in the Bogs admiring all the beautiful spring flowers. Such a great contrast. We had snow today and for awhile it looked like a blizzard. Hopefully we’ll have spring flowers soon.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh good, spring flowers at the Bogs! Can’t wait to smell their virtual scent… I was going to say that I’m glad you had snow, too. But maybe that wouldn’t be nice. I hope your snow looked beautiful and that it melts fast. 🙂

  13. flyinggma says:

    Nothing like an April snowstorm to instill the need for releasing oodles of words and blogging is just the place to do it. Love your finch against the pine tree with snow. Although I am tired of the frozen version view out my window but that is what you get when you live in Minnesota.

    • Kathy says:

      Hello flyinggma! Oh yes, when you live in Minnesota it seems you’re even more exhausted with the frozen white cover by the end of April than we in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. (Although some years we are overcome with Cabin Fever by May, too.) Nice to meet you!

  14. emaclean says:

    Glad you are back! Your snow photos reminded my of my trip to Toronto and Maine last week. While it didn’t EXACTLY snow, there was still snow on the ground. And beautiful Cardinals. Something we don’t see here in no. California.

    • Kathy says:

      Good morning, Erin. I hope you had a good trip to Toronto and Maine. (Did you blog about it?) You know, we don’t have cardinals here, either. They are in lower Michigan, but not the Upper Peninsula. They are sooo beautiful to see!

  15. hahahahaha! you make me LOL, Kathy! welcome back.

  16. Colleen says:

    Hi Kathy, it’s so good to see your lovely smile again! This time, for whatever the reason, I really wondered if you had decided to leave, maybe for good. Very glad that I was totally out to lunch 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      You were probably picking up on the initial energy of “Barry, I’m quitting blogging for good.” We were both out to lunch! (Too bad we couldn’t go out to lunch together, Colleen.)

  17. john says:

    People (including you) underestimate and doubt the healing powers of the UP. Your tribe rejoices at the announcement of your return!

  18. OM says:

    You affirmed your freedom. Very very good!! Now it’s a choice to blog, a desire, a passion. Perhaps it had been slipping toward being an obligation. Anyway, I agree we gave you a long enough break and you got a chance to refresh and now we are delighted you are back!!!!! Until your next break! I’ll be happy with any break which enables you to continue, LOL!!!!!
    Big hugs and grins,and a cherry blossom or two,
    OM

    • Kathy says:

      OM, yes. Yes. You hit it on the nail. Sometimes, after I’ve been blogging awhile, it seems to become an obligation. Then freedom from obligation must be affirmed! Then the choice is once again to blog without obligation. Thanks for your OM-wisdom! And picturing a cherry blossom in your open palm, and smiling joyfully.

  19. Dawn says:

    🙂 Glad you see you there among my emails this morning…My gold finches are becoming gold as well…and we’re supposed to get snow today.

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, we could write an entire blog on the way gold finches turn color, couldn’t we? First they are barely yellow, and then they explode in incredible finch glory! (At least the males do. The females haven’t time for that nonsense. lol!)

  20. Sue says:

    🙂 I was wondering how long it would take! 10 days is a very nice number indeed.
    Now get back to doing what you do best…..you write, we read, and everybody stays happy!
    Love you, Sue
    (and the Goldfinch looks beautiful!)

    • Kathy says:

      sue, you would have laughed yourself silly to see me yesterday. Out of control! (Or would that be “cabin–I mean–blogging–fever?”) Isn’t that gold finch lovely? Isn’t it fun that life is always changing, offering new things and sights and possibilities?

  21. P.j. grath says:

    We have only met face to face once, Kathy, and yet I know you well enough that I left the link to your blog on my blog, confident you would be back. Ditto what everyone else said about the goldfinch–or “wild canary,” as an old friend of mine always called them.

    Good thing you didn’t try giving up blogging for Lent! I’m counting the days (6) until Easter and my return to the joys of coffee.

    Welcome back!

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, thank you. Thank you for leaving that link. You know me pretty darn well, then. Wishing you better luck to make it until Easter Sunday than I had trying to make it until May–I mean Thursday–I mean, oh never mind. lol! No dreaming of coffee while you sleep.

  22. Nicole Smith says:

    I don’t feel as discouraged about the few flakes we saw yesterday and today looking at the snow you got.

    More importantly, though, I think it’s great you experimented with not blogging, and that you are happy to be back at it.

    • Kathy says:

      Nicole, you got a few flakes, too? What’s the world coming to–in April nonetheless? I have taken three breaks in the last 2-3 blogging years. Two lasted ten days and the third lasted 13 days. Happy happy to be back. 🙂 (And to see you.)

  23. Carol says:

    It’s an addiction! Breaks are acceptable, as long as they’re not permanent. Welcome back!

    • Kathy says:

      I am always pondering the difference between addiction and passion, Carol. How come they don’t call novel writers addicted? How come they don’t call ballerinas and athletes and poets addicted? (Don’t worry–not asking you–I’m asking myself and trying to discern what might be the discrimating line.) Great to see you again!

  24. sonali says:

    Oh nice, very nice that you are back. A warm welcome hug! 🙂 I TRULY appreciate your urge towards blogging, the passion! great going!! 🙂

  25. Hi, Kath! Lovely Spring weather you are having. The Goldfinch is probably wondering why he’s in mating plumage. Good think you wrote this or I might have gotten a phone call from a nearby jail. 😉

    • Kathy says:

      OK, Scott, I laughed out loud again. (Anybody ever tell you that you have a great sense of humor?) Nope, I haven’t been in jail. Not yet, anyway!

  26. What a funny post, I love it! And I’m so happy to see you back!
    That snow looks absolutely heavenly and I would LOVE to throw myself into a big ol’ pile of it right now. It’s already a humid 86 degrees here and it’s not even 2pm yet.

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Micheala, nice to see you again! Ohmygoodness, 86 degrees before 2 p.m.? Ahhh….that sounds like a slice of heaven. How come the grass is always greener or the snow is always snowier on the other side of the fence? lol!

  27. Andrea Mauk says:

    Hi, Kathy. This is great fun. So glad you figured out that never is a loooooooooooong time. Lovely pics. Funny blog.

  28. Val Erde says:

    I’m glad you’re back, but I do understand – both ways. The way of desperately wanting to blog, and the way of desperately wanting to stop blogging and needing to, at least for a while. It’s a curious thing about moods, isn’t it? We feel one way and think it’s going to last forever and then the mood changes.

    I don’t know if this has any meaning to you, Kathy, but yesterday I had a thought that all the time I’ve spent online blogging over the years, has been to the detriment of my memory. What I mean is that while concentrating on online stuff, I’ve neglected trying to remember stuff. So, aside from the various (prescribed)drugs I’ve had over the years that helped erode my memory, not having enough time to dwell on the good things has made them go out of my memory.

    Myself, I’m thinking I’ve got to build some more ‘me time’ into my life than I have done. How about you?

    • Kathy says:

      Val, you are making some interesting and valid points. There are so many positive gifts of blogging–and detriments as well. I never once thought about the memory challenge, though you may be right. I am trying to be more conscious of when I’m blogging out of a “need” to share because I’m bored or restless and when out of a genuine flowing to share. It’s a distinction that seems important now. Really thinking about these things. Thank you for your thoughts! Nice to see you again.

  29. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Welcome back, Kathy, you were missed! The little goldfinch so bravely facing the snowstorm – what endurance!

    • Kathy says:

      Sweet little goldfinch. I actually have another picture that I almost like better in which he is facing away from the camera, hunched up in the snow. Thank you for your kind words!

  30. Sybil says:

    Love the goldfinch.

    Welcome back.

  31. Karma says:

    Oh my, here I am late to the party yet again. (I did just get home from Cape Cod however.) So happy you are back to blogging. I feel bad for you and your little goldfinch with inches of snow at this date!

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, you are NEVER late for the blogging party. You are always coming right on Karma-time to keep the energy going. (I am just always happy to see you.) Guess what? The snow is melting fast!

  32. Elle says:

    Wow you held out for a long time. Much longer than I expected lol. Blogging is addictive. The reading is as bad as the posting though. I start getting a bit antsy if I am not able to get online and read the blogs I like at least every other day. I expect antsy wouldn’t cover it if more than a couple of days went by. I’m glad you are back. That is a pretty picture. Looks might cold though.

    • Kathy says:

      Really? Really? Oh, Elle, you are so sweet. Here I was thinking I didn’t hold out for long enough–and you think it was TOO long. Hurray! (Antsy is a good word for the blogging desire which strikes…)

  33. Patricia says:

    so that’s where my goldfinches went!!! We got SPRING … and they went looking for more snow! Glad you’re back Kathy Sue! I might blog again one of these days …hahahahhaaaaaahahahahaha!!!!

    • Kathy says:

      Patty Sue, did WE steal your goldfinches?? LOL! Hey, you let me know when you decide to blog again, girlfriend. I always love reading your posts.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

