Hunting for eggs today? How about scavenging for photos?

Happy Easter, everyone!  While everyone else eats their delicious Easter dinner and hunts for multi-pastel-colored Easter eggs and goes to church to say “Christ is risen!” and opens cards with bunnies carrying baskets…I am going to play a little different game.

A scavenger hunt, to be exact.  Karma didn’t know it was going to be an Easter Scavenger hunt, on the exact day of Easter, I’m betting.  She posted her assignment April 1st and stated that the deadline would be April 24th.  She wanted to get us out into the spring weather taking photos. 

Here are what we must find, and photograph:

  • body of water
  • train
  • hood
  • sprout
  • bud
  • basket
  • bunny
  • BONUS: clear, sharp, close-up of a Mr. Cardinal! (I’m specifically talking about the bird here, not the priest!)

OK, fair enough.  When I read her Scavenger Hunt challenge I thought–well, can’t do this one.  We don’t have Cardinals in our neck o’ the woods.  They don’t fly this far north, except in the rarest of circumstances.  I also wouldn’t recognize a Catholic Cardinal unless he was dressed in red and waving incense.  Therefore, it’s all over before it starts.  (sniff!)

However, today is the last day and there’s really nothing to do here in the woods on Easter except take a walk and I’ve already taken one walk.  So what I’m going to do is hunt for photos in my computer files.

Ready?  Set?  GO!!!  Let’s scavenge!

Body of water. Body of sky in body of water. July 29, 2009.

Train. Almost six months ago. One of those most exciting evenings of my life--just after I bought the new Canon Rebel.

 

"Hood". OK, maybe he's not a criminal or Secret Agent guy. He is wearing a hood. I think.

Just a sprout. Tender baby fiddlehead fern. May, 2009.

BUD MAN!!!! (April 26, 2009. Even though he's not quite in focus, I love this little guy. He's an Elderberry Bud.)

I don't know whether to call this a Basket or a Sprout. June, 2010. In front of our cottage, Bellaire, Michigan. Let's call it a "Natural Basket".

xxo

Baby bunny. From the backyard orchard of my childhood home in Yale, MI. Last June, 2010.

And now–the Grand Finale–the non-existent Cardinal!  Are you ready, folks?  Are you ready? 

Here we go!

Clear sharp close-up of Mr. Cardinal. lol! My grandpa's bird book from 1966. It even has Grandpa's signature on the first page.

Thanks, Karma, that was fun!  Took longer than expected to scavenge all these photos.  Now, could someone pass me some of their delicious Easter dinner?  Or even a chocolate egg?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Hunting for eggs today? How about scavenging for photos?

  1. Karma says:

    I’m glad you scavenged on your computer Kathy! Your bunny is absolutely adorable. And a very cute way to get the cardinal photo – did you happen to see how our friend Gerry got her cardinal shot?
    I’m planning another photo hunt for June if you’d like to keep it in the back of your mind.
    Hope you are having a lovely Easter and thanks for the birthday wishes!

    • Kathy says:

      It was so precious to find that bunny in my parent’s backyard last June. So incredible to get within a few inches of its motionless self. I did scurry over to visit Gerry’s scavenger hunt and laughed at her stuffed cardinal. Glad to hear you had a wonderful day yesterday. Thanks again for the scavenger hunt fun.

  2. Dawn says:

    OH Good idea about the cardinal. I have my Mom’s birdbook from about that same time period!!! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Isn’t it the BEST bird book, Dawn? It’s such a great identification guide. You can find the pictures and the birds much easier than some of the other guides which give more in-depth information.

  3. lynnekovan says:

    Lovely scavenge. What a good idea. Some lovely shots. What did you finally have for Easter dinner?

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Lynne! Our Easter dinner–well, it really wasn’t anything special–we simply had grilled tilapia, rutabaga fries and a spinach salad. What did you have for Easter dinner?

  4. Robin says:

    lol! Great job on the cardinal. 😀

    These are all beautiful. The baby bunny is adorable, and I love Natural Basket. Something about the lighting of it draws me in.

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, it’s really challenging when you live in non-Cardinal country. Barry said I might have been able to find a photo of a football player from a “Cardinal” team. That’s a thought! I liked that natural lighting on Natural Basket too. It’s so blue and somehow intriguing.

  5. Susan Derozier says:

    Amazing pictures but your sprouts and buds are my favorite. What a beautiful world we live in. (message for today…all babies are cute…no matter what form they take!}

  6. Sybil says:

    I was thinking the cardinal might be a picture of a baseball player. 😉

    I like the idea of a scavenger hunt.

    I think my favourite picture is the train.

    • Kathy says:

      You are Barry were thinking along the same lines, Sybil. He thought about a football player. You might want to play along with the scavenger hunt next time! (Amy-Lynn and I did scavenger hunts a couple years ago on our blogs. They were fun.)

  7. holessence says:

    Oh my gosh, I love it!

  8. Dawn says:

    Well done!

  9. Brenda Hardie says:

    love it love it love it! You really have a gift with words and with pictures Kathy! Thank you for sharing them with us. Happy Easter my friend in the north woods…hugs 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hugs to you, Ms. Brenda! I love words and pictures have taught me to be more present on our wonderful earth. Happy Easter to you, too!

  10. Colleen says:

    How much fun! Your body of water photo is gorgeous. And your cardinal, well that page looked very familiar so I opened my favorite bird book (A Guide to Field Identification: Birds of North America…..Golden Press, copyright 1966), found the page with cardinals and sure enough, it’s identical. It’s my favorite bird book, bar none! Clever lady 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I am totally and 100% thrilled to hear that you have the EXACT same bird book, Colleen! We are definitely soul sisters. My daughter’s boyfriend just bought her the book last week, too. Thank you!

  11. wolfsrosebud says:

    Pics beautiful… as always.

  12. Great scavenger hunt photos! The bunny is adorable! ♥
    LOL Love the cardinal. She never said it had to be a real one, right? 😉

  13. Love your photos for Karma’s scavenge hunt ! The cardinal one was a great idea 🙂 I love the train too, a kind of ancient feeling about it. Hope you had a lovely Easter holiday.

    • Kathy says:

      Isa, good morning, sweetheart! It was fun to do the scavenger hunt. The train did feel old, especially as the low angle of the sun hit it. I hope you enjoyed your Easter, too.

  14. Pingback: April Photo Hunt Wrap-Up « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  15. LOL at your cardinal… I did think about doing something similar myself, by drawing one, but ran out of time… Great collection Kathy.. Your bud man looks a bit freaky though… lol… 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Hi FS Photography! (Is your name Brian?) It is SO weird. I was reading your comments on other blogs just before you commented here–and I thought “I have to find out who this Brian fellow is.” Nice to meet you! When we get home from Georgia I’ll go visit your blog.

  16. Nye says:

    Kathy, love your Natural Basket and can pass as body of water as well. The Elderberry Bud looks interesting but I’m not seeing the Bud Man. 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Oh no, Nye, you can’t see the Bud Man…ok, here’s the tutorial. The body of the elderberry bud is the man. He has his hands stretching up next to him, toward the sky. Can you see him now? smile… thank you for stopping by.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

