Holy Adventure, Batman!

From the hotel in St. Ignace this morning--guess what island this might be?

Sorry, kids.  Shades of childhood memories. (The Batman reference, that is.)

Want to guess why?

Because I’ve hopped in the car and driven almost 550 miles to my hometown of Yale, Michigan, to surprise my parents! 

That’s why.

For about two months I’ve been discussing this with Barry.

“I want to go visit my parents.  But I can’t.  We’re going to Georgia.  Then I’m going to NYC to visit Kiah in June.  There’s no time to visit them.  But I want to visit them.  It’s been too long.  It’s been six months.”

Poor Barry.  Every day.

Finally, yesterday, he said, “Just go!”

So guess what I did?

Hopped in the car and drove.   🙂

Yep, it’s almost 550 miles.  Yep, I stopped overnight in St. Ignace.  Yep, it was a great trip.  And yep–you’ve got it–my family was surprised!

Lake Huron rock

I surprised my brother Tim, and his wife, Michele, and their grandbaby, Taylor, first.  Holy Surprise, Batman!  Michele stared, befuddled, for at least twenty seconds, when she spotted Kathy sitting in her driveway.  Kathy was supposed to be in the U.P.  What the heck?

Taylor, who had no idea who this stranger might be, invited her for a race.  A foot race.  To the mailbox and around the cul-de-sac.  The stranger thought–OK, we’ll lope easily to the mailbox and let Taylor win.  One must let three-year olds win.  That’s an unspoken rule.  We counted.  We took off! 

I’m sure you know how this story ends.  Aunt Kathy lost in a humiliating defeat.  Taylor left her trotting behind with no hopes of catching up. Figures.  Of course, I’m sure that’s because it was a LONG trip from the Upper Peninsula to the Lower Peninsula.  All those sedentary hours.  Must have been.

Then I drove to Yale.  Opened the door.  Walked in. 

“Hello?”

My mom answered from another room, “Hello?”  (She later revealed she thought I was Karen, another daughter-in-law from across the street.)

She came toward me from the living room.  Her jaw dropped.  She stared. She shook her head, trying to clear her befuddled mind.

“Kathy?” she said.

Kathy smiled.  Holy Surprise, Batman!

“Go downstairs and surprise your dad,” my mom said.

We started downstairs, where he was napping.

“Hello,” I said to the sleeping form.

“Hello,” the sleeping form responded.  “Hello?  Who is it?”

“It’s your daughter.”

“WHO?” the sleeping form said, opening his eyes.

“Your daughter.”

Holy third surprise, Batman! 

“Oh my goodness, Kath,” my dad said, sitting up.

YES!  (Surprises are fun.)

We walked upstairs.  In walked my sister-in-law, Karen.  Followed soon by niece, Keely.  Holy fourth and fifth surprise, Batman!  We should do this more often, the blogger thought.

In my childhood bedroom...

OK, Batman (or Robin, or whoever the heck I am)  doesn’t have much more time to type.  Things are happenin’!  I’m visiting my parents.  I wouldn’t be blogging at all except for Husband.  He said, “Go to see your parents.  But here’s the deal.  You must blog.”  Blogger said, “No, you can’t stipulate that.  I might not feel like blogging.  Remember the new agreement?”  He sighed.  He remembered.  But the poor man loves it when I blog.  Go figure.

P.S.  Haven’t had time to take any pictures–except outside the motel room this morning.  But you wouldn’t BELIEVE the beautiful haze of blooming flowers and electric greenery everywhere downstate.  It’s DEFINITELY spring down here!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Holy Adventure, Batman!

  1. Elisa's Spot says:

    See!! Now I would have had to plan…

    Enjoy yourself!

    • Kathy says:

      I have a terribly impulsive nature, Elisa. Sometimes this is good and exciting and adventurous, and sometimes it feels too reactive and not-thought-out-enough. However, in retrospect, this impulsivity was a VERY good thing. Thank you.

  2. Your story made me smile 🙂 How sweet of you to surprise everyone! (I hope that some day my boys (and my girls when they’re all grown up and away from home) will get that same idea in their heads and come surprise ME!)

    • Kathy says:

      I am sure–someday–your kids will surprise you in EXACTLY the same way, Micheala. (Although why it took me to this advanced age to think about doing it is a mystery. lol!)

  3. Susan Derozier says:

    Oh Kathy – What a fantastic thing to do for your parents (and yourself)! I would give anything to have my family do the same! I LOVE that you would just go and know they would all be there to receive you. I have been thinking so much of roots of late. My daughter in Wisconsin is moving to Texas and I’ve been feeling a loss of connection to the state I call home and love. Now my daughter in Florida is talking about moving away as well so I am feeling like a woman without a country. And then here came you with your wonderful picture of your family and home base. Always perfect timing. Have a wonderful time!

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, maybe you could email a link to my blog to your kids. Big grin! Or maybe not~~that might be too much of a hint and they would feel coerced. I feel like my family is flung across this big wide country, too. Perhaps you will feel guided to return to the northern woods that you love, to put your roots deep into the worth, so future generations will come to swing under the leaves you sprout? Just a momentary thought…it will be interesting to discover which direction you’ll turn as your offspring move hither and yon. Blessings!

  4. holessence says:

    Kathy – I admire your spunk! You’re my Spunk Hero!

  5. jeff v says:

    Good for you, and good for your family!

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks, Jeff~~it’s been such a fun trip thus far. Another big family get-together supper tonight, and by later tomorrow I’m headed toward the Mackinac Bridge and beyond.

  6. Gerry says:

    I’m glad you’re getting to splash around in springtime and family! It was a loooong winter, wasn’t it. Rob the Firefighter was here all too briefly, and it was wonderful to see him. I can just imagine how glad your folks are to see you.

    • Kathy says:

      Gerry, it was so fun to watch the trees turn “electric” green south of the Mackinac Bridge, and to survey the fields filled with dandelions near the Saginaw Bay. Loving our Michigan spring! Glad you enjoyed Rob the Firefighter’s visit. It’s pretty nice here with Joanne & Dale, too.

  7. Dawn says:

    I did that once, drove from the UP to Alabama without warning. Was mad at a boyfriend…but still the time spent with my parents was fun. I DID call them from somewhere in TN…cause they traveled a lot and I’d hate to drive for two days and have no one home! LOL!!

    So how long are you down here for? Cause maybe we could arrange tea…or something…no pressure though…enjoy your family!

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, I’m glad you did the same thing once. I was fairly sure they would be here, having grilled them a day or so earlier about upcoming weekend plans. (Of course, I often ask them, so they didn’t suspect. Of course, I didn’t really suspect at the time that it would really happen.) As I said in the email, this trip is going to be kinda short. We’ll have to meet sometime when it’s a longer visit. Kiah and I should be coming down in late August. Maybe then, if it works out?

  8. kiwidutch says:

    With most of my family on the other side of the globe it’s not really possible to just “drop in” for a surprise visit, but what a wonderful idea!!!
    Kudos to Barry for giving you the shove you needed to actually do this spontaneously.
    I’m sure your parents were delighted and all your other friends and family there too.
    I think you should keep this up and just “jump in the car and drive there” once in a while, a wonderful little adventure that brings many smiles, Bravo!

    • Kathy says:

      I’ll bet that it would be hard dropping by on family on the other side of the globe, kiwidutch. Do you think I should do it again sometime? I usually drive down here at least once or twice a year, but have never been this spontaneous before. Thank you for your support!

  9. Reggie says:

    I totally love your story… it’s amazing that you could surprise your family like that. Couldn’t do that with any of mine!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, good, Reggie, glad you liked this little story. Did you grow up watching Batman and Robin? Sorry you couldn’t surprise your family very easily~~although you never know. An opportunity might present itself!

      • Reggie says:

        Well put – opportunities may indeed be lurking around the corner! No, we didn’t have Batman and Robin on the TV when I was growing up – though we did have the Lone Ranger, and Little House on the Prairie, and Bonanza, and The A-Team, and Airwolf, and Battlestar Galactica, and CHIPS, and Starsky and Hutch, and Magnum PI, and Dallas, and Dynasty, and Knots Landing,… 😀 Gosh… that was a trip down memory lane.

        Many of the series we watched were dubbed into Afrikaans, can you believe it?! It meant that I got fluent in both English and Afrikaans at an early age. But it also meant that I didn’t know the sound of some actors’ own voices, because we heard them in Afrikaans. Veeeery strange! 🙂

        • Kathy says:

          I personally loved Little House on the Prairie. Did you? Oh and Magnum PI. Very cool. Interesting about watching and listening to Afrikaans. Can you still speak it fluently now?

  10. Jessica says:

    Sounds like you are having fun visiting your family. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Jessica. Thank you! I am having a most wonderful visit. It’s good to be back in the Lower. Yesterday, Mom and I went to Port Huron to the mall. Then some of my brother’s family dropped by last night. More dinner guests tonight. Then heading north later tomorrow. (P.S. Do you ever miss Michigan?)

  11. barb says:

    I like that gumption – just GO! And, of course, I like to give and get surprises. Glad you blogged, Kathy! Have fun visiting.

  12. Colleen says:

    Hi Kathy, I love this story too!

    This is one of my favorite things to do. There is something about driving lond distances, by myself….almost meditative except for those heavy traffic moments going through the cities. Will be doing the same thing soon, going to see my Mom in Alberta.

    Your family must have been thrlled to see you!

    • Kathy says:

      How exciting that you get to visit your mom, too! Those heavy traffic moments are not the greatest fun. I don’t know how you California drivers do it. I was scared to death down there in San Diego traffic, wa hoo! You’ve got to buckle into your seatbelt and TRUST!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

