“A horse is a horse, of course, of course”

Please meet the Brown Horse (with White Nose)

Let’s say you decide to write a blog about horses.  But you know practically Zero about horses.  What to say, what to say?  You could tell about your own horse experience.

1.  Family used to go horseback riding–maybe two or three times–on trips to Arizona in station wagon. 

2.  As an exchange student to Switzerland in 1975 with the Experiment in International Living, I chose the horseback riding option.  Our group (including our Swiss “brothers” and “sisters”) spent a week living on a farm and riding.  At one point, my horse began to gallop like crazy through a field and I felt totally out-of-control. 

3.  My friend, Bertha, has horses.  Also, another friend, Deb, owned a couple of horses.  I rode with them occasionally in past years.

End of personal horse experience.

Brown horse with white nose and brother, Scot.

My brother Scot’s family, on the other hand, comes from a horse-loving background.  (Not Scot.)  I’m talking about his wife, Karen.  She has shared her love of equines with her family, and quite recently they acquired three horses. 

Please meet the three horses.  I met them last Saturday on the outskirts of my lower Michigan hometown, Yale.  I would like to introduce you by name, but am waiting for a call-back from Scot.  One of them is named Sheza.  Hopefully, by the end of this blog you will know the other names, as well.

My teenage niece Keely braids hair. Even horse hair.

A little aside.  Today is my baby brother’s 50th birthday!!  Isn’t that cool? He doesn’t look like he’s 50, does he?  Doesn’t he still look like a little whipper-snapper?  Why, it was just yesterday that Scot, Tim and I were running helter-skelter through the kitchen and around through the living room and back through the dining room, chasing each other in big circles.  Where did the years go?

Black horse. Red barn. Very green grass.

 But back to horses.  Karen and the girls ride the beauties regularly.  (Not sure if nephew Doug and his girlfriend, Crystal ride.)  Scot says the does not.  Karen had a horse accident the other week.  Two of the horses mired in unexpected mud near the creek and one of them–the one Karen was riding–ended up falling on her leg.  Not a good scenario.  A horse weighs a lot.  Thanks to Karen’s expert ridership, she was able to avoid a very dangerous situation.  Only one slight bruise remained on her leg, as of last weekend.

Third horse does not feel well. What's wrong, buddy?

 I loved visiting their horses.

Scot ponders sick horse. What to do?

 Turns out the not-feeling-good horse had a bout of colic.  She or he is doing well now. 

Black horse munches rain-soaked grass

 This just in!  We now have the names of the horses.  Brother Scot called me back with the names.  Sheza was the sick one.  Libby wore braids.  And Magic is that black stallion chomping grass.  (I think he’s a stallion.  I think that means he’s a boy.  But really don’t know these horse terms.)

Brown braid-maned white-nosed horse rubs head on red barn

Hope you blog readers enjoyed this stroll through the horse pasture.  Do you have any horse tails (I mean horse tales) of your own to share?

Happy birthday again, Scot!  Consider this blog the second half of your birthday present from your sis.

P.S.  Every blog reader knows where “A horse is a horse, of course, of course” comes from, right?  It’s the Famous Mr. Ed! (And now it’s the Famous Ms. Sheza, Ms. Libby and Mr. Magic.)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to “A horse is a horse, of course, of course”

  1. holessence says:

    Kathy – I love the photographs you took and the personal introduction to your friends Sheza, Libby, and Magic.

  2. Brenda Hardie says:

    Thank you for introducing your brother Scot and the horses! Happy Birthday to Scot! No he does not look anywhere near 50 yrs!! My horse experience is even more limited than yours, Kathy. As a young girl we lived on a farm, in a “mother in law” (for lack of better description) house on the farm. (Maybe it was like a grandparents house, anyway it was the smaller house on the property) and the owners had horses, pigs, cows, chickens, all the usual animals. They used to allow the horses to sometimes wander in the huge yard between the houses. It scared me because they were so tall!! One day the teenage daughter brought over a pony, a Shetland pony…and she helped me to ride it. Of course with my parents permission. I enjoyed the ride..I even have a picture somewhere. But that’s the extent of my experience. They sure are beautiful creatures. Someday I would love to see the working horses, like the Clydesdale horses! They are magnificent!
    And..:) I used to watch Mr Ed when I was a kid!

    • Kathy says:

      Scot looks like such a young sprout, indeed, lucky boy. Your growing-up place sounds ideal for a young girl. Which animals did you like the best? My daughter was just sharing how she had to feed the horses at a farm over in Europe a couple of years ago and how much they scared her. I can see how a young child might be petrified. Hoping you glimpse those Clydesdales soon!

      • Brenda Hardie says:

        Hmm…which animals did I like best?..I guess it would be the horses..even though they were big and I was scared of them, they were just so beautiful! I was not even in kindergarten yet so I was pretty young..I remember not liking the pigs…even they seemed big to me! The cows were quiet and I would sometimes watch when they were near the fence. I don’t remember chickens but I assume they were there as well. It was a wonderful place to live as a child. I liked it so much more than living in town. As far as the Clydesdales…had an opportunity to see them while I was living out east but had to work so I missed them…darn. The closest I’ve ever seen is at parades or fairs when the working horses are brought in. Amazing creatures they are! So very powerful! I bet your daughter has some wonderful memories of her time in Europe, an experience I don’t expect to ever have. I am content to stick around here, don’t really need to cross oceans. Enjoy your evening Kathy…hopefully no storms will come our way or yours!

        • Kathy says:

          I wish WordPress had the “like” button like Facebook. I would have pushed it right now in response to your comment. Thank you; we’ve been pretty storm-free this year, although there have been some watches. (We never know about the watches until the next day because we’re in the woods without TV.) Hope you stay out of harms way, too.

  3. P.j. grath says:

    Happy birthday to Scot, and thanks for the horse field trip, which I loved. Amy March envied girls with nice noses. I envied girls with horses.

    • Kathy says:

      Chuckling, P.J. (I don’t usually call you P.J. Do most of your friends call you PJ or Pamela?) I remember envying the March girls for their household of sisters. Sister-less girls do this, you know.

  4. jeff v says:

    “Go right to the source and ask the horse. He’ll give you the answer that you’ll endorse , he’s always on a steady course the famous Mr. Ed.” ! one of my favorites along with Sherman and Peabody of the Rocky and Bullwinkle show. Glad to hear your brother got over his bout of colic and that Sheza had a nice birthday . Just kidding “of course”. nice pics . horses can certainly be tempermental and tough to figure out. new documentary coming out this year about the real Horse Whisperer. can’t wait to see it. I am actually condidering a mule. supposed to be less trouble than a horse. think it would be nice to ride the trails and two tracks on .?

    • Kathy says:

      Jeff, both Barry and I thank you sincerely for providing the REST of the words to that song! We would have NEVER come up with that without extensive googling. Oh didn’t you love the Rocky & Bullwinkle Show? (Gosh, we’re showing our ages.) I even have a book from the 1960’s with one of their stories. One of those little Golden Books. Let me know when that documentary comes out. Would love to see it, too. (P.S. Think I rode a mule on one of those trips to Arizona as a kid.)

  5. Horses are amazing creatures! So beautiful to watch – a little scary to ride, but riding is not for everyone! I have had maybe 2 or 3 riding experiences in my life. There is a local riding stable where the horses are trained to walk down a very specific path (they will NOT stray from the path, no matter how hard you try), but they also want to keep up with each other – so if the horse in front starts to gallop, then the others will… and I couldn’t get him to slow down!! They’re just too high up for me to feel comfortable.

    Now I have that theme song stuck in my head — THANKS!! 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Any time, Holly, and I can provide a dorky song which will stay stuck in your head during inappropriate times! I know what you mean when they start to gallop and you’re scared to death. It’s interesting why some folks become horse-people and others not.

  6. Susan D says:

    Whinnying with deight at the photos and the blog. Happy Birthday to Scot! When I was a kid, I had a friend who had horses, and we were allowed to gallop through the orange groves in Florida. I can still feel the thrill and smell the blossoms! Later, I got a job cleaning the pen and stall of a mamma and colt. One day, Mama got mad at me and reared up, coming down on my back! She chased me, too. Have been around horses since but have a healthy respect for their unpredictable natures. Gorgeous creatures. Thanks for sharing the horses and the special birthday of your brother Scot!

    • Kathy says:

      Whinnying! lol, Susan! Leave it to you to use the word “whinnying”. (I would not have been able to remember that word. Could only remember “neighing” and that may not be a word.) Galloping through orange groves in Florida sounds romantic. Smelling orange blossoms…exquisite! I think that healthy respect for the beauties is a good philosophy.

  7. I know just about as much about horses as you do. My daughter rode and owned one for years. I took many a photograph of them riding and competing in equestrian shows. Extent of my experience.

    Must be the name…I don’t look over 50 either (or so I tell myself). Welcome to the Half-Century mark, Scot (with one ‘t’)!

    Ah, Mr. Ed. They don’t make TV shows like that anymore.

    • Kathy says:

      Sounds like we’re about equal in our equestrian experience! 🙂 I am SURE you don’t look over 50, Scott with two t’s. Not the slightest. Everybody said that when I hit 50, too. Nobody is saying it any more as 54 approaches. OK, some folks say it sometimes. But other people like to point out the gray strands. 🙂

  8. Marianne says:

    I was absolutely horse crazy when I was a kid. Spent as much time as I could at the stable and even worked for a short while at the racetrack. By the time I got to my late teens, I had other things on my mind and that pretty much ended my horse crazy phase.

    Nice photos, Kathy and you are right, your brother doesn’t look fifty at all.

    • Kathy says:

      You lived a teenaged girl’s dream, Marianne. And then it ended and you moved on to other phases. Glad you enjoyed this walk down Memory Lane, then.

  9. Well I’m thinking that considering you know practically zero about horses, that this is a pretty good horsey blog spot… with some real nice pictures too…

    • Kathy says:

      You think, Brian? When I told Barry I was writing a blog about horses he said “WHAT?” But, yes sir, I think this came out just fine. Especially because my brother Scot was the star for the day.

  10. Carol says:

    I love horses – from a distance. I love those big brown eyes and those sturdy bodies on those so slender legs. That’s because they’re animals, and I love animals. But I recognize that horses have big teeth and so I tend to keep my distance. Looking at your pictures is a good distance. So I loved your pictures of horses.

    • Kathy says:

      Chuckling, Carol. Thinking about those big horse teeth. I was a little cautious around the teeth, too, but that Libby started LICKING my face! It was sweet. I am glad she didn’t chomp.

  11. Dawn says:

    Beautiful horses, beautiful photos! Loved the close up of the braids..that was a piece of art! Also loved the black horse, red barn…

    And Happy Birthday Scott!! No you don’t look like you’re 50!

    Enjoyed the trip into horse country!

    • Kathy says:

      Aren’t those braids adorable, Dawn? I liked ’em, too. Glad you liked your trip on the road heading out west of Yale. It was such a rainy drizzling afternoon~~and it felt like a fun time to spend with my brother on the weekend before his birthday.

  12. Colleen says:

    Happy Birthday Scot….. and no, he doesn’t look his age at all. The don’t-look-your-age gene obviously runs strong and deep in your family!

    And aren’t brothers just one of life’s best blessings. In hindsight 🙂

    We grew up with horses but as kids weren’t allowed to have much to do with them as they were working (cattle) horses……

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, Colleen. In hindsight! Scot was our little brother~~the baby~~and Tim and I always felt so much older than him. Three and four years older, you know. Tim and I would fight like crazy (sometimes. I tried to poke out his blue eyes after he was born) but I don’t remember fighting with Scot except when the two boys TALKED too late at night when I was trying to get to sleep. Then it was crazy. Hadn’t thought about working horses. I hope Scot is reading all these birthday wishes.

  13. georgia mom says:

    KATHY, TELL SCOT ABOUT THE UGA VET AND AGRI SCHOOLS AND ALL THE ANIMALS ABOUT A MILE FROM OUR HOUSE. I LOVE TO CHECK UP ON THE HORSES. ‘MAGIC’ LOOKS LIKE MY FAVORITE HORSE. IN THE COLD, DAMP WEATHER HE AND FOUR OTHER HORSES HAVE TO PUT ON THEIR COATS. THERE ARE AUCTIONS SEVERAL TIMES A YEAR AND I WORRY THAT ‘BLACK BEAUTY’ WILL LEAVE. DURING THE SUMMER THE SHEEP GO TO OGLETHROPE FARM. THINK THE STUDENTS WHO CARE FOR ALL OF THEM DURING THE SCHOOL YEAR ARE GONE. HORSES ALWAYS STAY. DO THE KIDS RIDE? UGA HAS A POLO CLUB AND EQUSTRIAN TEAM. A GIRL IN WATKINSVILLE GOT A FULL SCHOLARSHIP TO BE ON THE TEAM. WHERE DOES SCOT KEEP THE HORSES?

    • Kathy says:

      Hi to my favorite mother-in-law! 🙂 I think I answered all your questions during our phone conversation last night. Scot helps with the horses but I know Karen is the primary care-taker. And the kids ride, yes, but usually with Karen around, I think. I am smiling thinking about your relationship with all the University of Georgia animals you drive by.

  14. Elle says:

    I fell off a pony once when I was little. A friend used to take us riding on her horse when I was in high school. My sister in law has a few horses but I haven’t been around them in the past few years. My husband wants a horse. He doesn’t want to take of it though…which means he isn’t getting one! Unless he also gets a hired hand…

    • Kathy says:

      Oh how scary, Elle! That would be awful to fall off a horse. As bad as falling out of a car. 😦 Sounds to me like you’re a wise woman stating your ground about not taking care of your husband’s horse. That’s the horse-lover’s responsibility, I think.

  15. Work horse tale, yes. Next to last paragraph of this particular blog, too long to comment with. But an interesting tale none the less. My experience delivered a new respect for horses in general! http://janeofwisconsin.com/blog/2010/11/25/tis-the-season/

  16. Robin says:

    I’ll be singing the jingle for Mr. Ed all evening. lol! That’s okay. Singing is good and that’s not a bad song. 🙂

    Beautiful horses. I don’t know much about horses either, but have always thought they are gorgeous creatures.

    • Kathy says:

      Are you still singing that jingle, Robin? lol! It certainly is catchy. Of course, of course. I think they are gorgeous too. Someday I want to stop on the way up to Houghton in wintertime and take a photo of some of the horses in the early morning light with their colorful blankets keeping them warm.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

