Reluctantly turning from health care back to the woods.

The Rapture

Christopher, dear son, pardon me.

I know I just told you–not a half hour ago–that I wasn’t writing a blog for a long time.

No.

People could just read my health care rant over and over and over again. And then maybe someone–somewhere–would do something about it.  I would leave the healthcare blog up forever.  Never write another blog for weeks and weeks.  Because this issue is so very darn important. 

But alas.

Here comes another blog.

Birchbark curl

Here are some more woodlands photos from the Day of the Ticks.  I am still scratching and itching and feeling their crawling even though the last one I spotted lounging on my shirt occurred during a meeting Wednesday night.  I casually arose from the meeting, went outside the board room, and crushed the unsuspecting wood tick.  Shame on him!  (or her.)

Look at how this tree didn't shed the old leaves. New leaves on top; old leaves on bottom of branch.

Christopher said he read my health care rant twice.  That makes me proud.  Good boy.  He suggests I write more political blogs.  As a sociology doctoral student, he approves of political blogs.  Alas.  I usually can’t keep steam arisin’ in the political arena, even though I am a politician.  (Yes, she said, in hushed tones.  I am a township treasurer.  I run for office.  Even though our population numbers less than 482 citizens.)

Field of forget-me-nots

I am more of a woods-dreamer than a politician, actually.  Someone who loves the earth, the trees, the moose, the bear, the waves of Lake Superior, a field of forget-me-nots.

Close up of one of OUR flowers from the perennial garden. I forget its name.

So, sorry, my dear son.  I hope you and Seunghye have a wonderful couple of days down in Mexico.  Stay safe in your beachfront hotel.  Enjoy your time together. 

I loved talking with you.  I loved hearing your news.

Sorry the health care blog didn’t remain center stage forever.   In my heart it will, though.  Until every single person in our country–no, make that the world!–is guaranteed the basic right of health care.  Amen.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Reluctantly turning from health care back to the woods.

  1. Eden says:

    Lovely pictures. I hate ticks. Some girls hate snakes, some hate spiders, I hate parasites.

  2. Dawn says:

    Just because it’s not up for months (which would probably just cause people to stop stopping by) doesn’t mean you can’t bring it up over and over..with lovely woodsy breaks in between. To keep health care on the front burner so to speak.

    • Kathy says:

      That’s a thought, Dawn. Although this issue has meant so much to me for so long~~and I’ve never mentioned it in a blog before. (Usually I save the rant for family members.) You are a good example of a person who keeps important issues on the front burner.

  3. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – Your picture of “the rapture” looks really good right now. It was wonderful of you to bring a bunch of us like minded folks together on the issues of health care. Truly it is a topic that has me stomping about like one of the seven dwarfs! Your picture of forget-me-nots will help me forget you not! Keep it coming, whatever IT is!

    • Kathy says:

      It amazes me how many people think similarly that our health care system is broken, both Democrats and Republicans. Many people have different opinions about how to fix it or what caused it or who is to blame, but it’s heartening to at least feel the impetus for change simmering beneath the surface. (I’m an optimist.)

  4. barb says:

    I’m still thinking carefully about the felted letter “A.” Please don’t mention ticks again, Kathy – I am on vacation which should mean I can have a tick-stress-free zone. Do you think the leaf photo is some kind of metaphor for Life? Have a happy holiday. PS I never think of you as a politician (that’s a compliment).

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, one of the latest commenters on that letter “A” blog thinks it might be something hunters can buy in the store to attract bucks. No kiddin’. He may be right. I will try not to (scratch-scratch-itch-itch)mention ticks during the rest of your vacation. I have also been complimented on my politician-less demeanor several times in this lifetime. 🙂

  5. john says:

    Kathy, it is 3:40 AM and just returned about an hour ago to the flatlands from God’s Country. We need to reopen the discussion of Garrison Keillor’s bemoaning the exodus of the educated from the Northwoods. Our block (that’s a measurement we use in town 😉 ) is becoming a desert. First when I get up there I find out Bill Menge’s house is up for sale and this afternoon I find out that my neighbor Geoff Bowman, the architect next door is contemplating picking up stakes.

    The two new BSNs from L’Anse that were pinned at Finlandia aren’t going to return to the county, there are no full time openings at our new $21 million dollar hospital. Heck, according to Barry’s article there are 44 less non-medical staff members at the hospital today since the last contract was negotiated. Heck, it even looks like the Sentinels letters are coming loose from the building not to mention the two newly emptied structures at Main and Broad Streets (Ace and the Pharmacy). In case you can’t tell, I am depressed. We need to do something radical.

  6. Kathy says:

    Dawn, I know you would move back. And John, thanks for sending that link. I guess I could get depressed if I concentrated on the closing businesses and the lack of employment and the lack of health care and–you know, all the rest. Sometimes it all feels so heavy.

    But my soul usually refuses to stay depressed for too many hours. It sometimes feels pained, it feels awful, it suffers–but then the robins are singing, and the tea tastes so delicious, and the walk outside through the budding trees and light rain sprinkles collapses any remaining pessimism and my heart soars and pretty soon the fact that we’re alive–and here on earth–eclipses the sadness–and I’m just glad to be here.

  7. Carol says:

    That pretty flower in your perennial garden? Primula (primrose). I love their bright little faces so early in the spring. Like crocus and daffodil, they are so welcome.

    • Kathy says:

      Yes. YES! It’s primrose. I remember knowing that last summer. (Have a terrible memory for some of these flowers. I can remember “Bleeding Heart” though. We have lots of that growing in the garden.) They are so welcome, indeed. And I appreciate your identification of it.

  8. holessence says:

    I’m sitting here listening to Rod Stewart sing “When I Fall In Love” and enjoying a cuppa tea as I catch up on blog posts. You definitely provided the eye dessert here. Thank you!

    • Kathy says:

      You’ve just set a beautiful scene yourself, Laurie. Mmmm, tea and music and reading and looking at photographs. Sounds like a lovely Saturday night!

  9. Colleen says:

    Experiencing one of those glad-to-be-alive moments right now.

    Have a wonderful long weekend!

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, I am so happy for you. Those moments are so special, aren’t they? We had our day-away-from-home at a high school graduation party yesterday and today is completely wide open and at home. Tomorrow, even though it’s Memorial Day, I am going out to the school for a couple hours, but we sure don’t have any big plans. You doing anything special?

      • Colleen says:

        They are special moments! But it was interesting how this time, the moment it was said/written I was aware of a twinge of uneasiness? creeping in. And then the floodgates opened, so many old voices and emotions coming up to say hello……

        Yes, to your question. I’m planting a herb garden (in pots) on our balcony and I’m really excited about it. It feels so good to be working with herbs again. Even though they’re just in small pots and planters.

        Hugs

        • Kathy says:

          I am learning to be more present in that uneasiness. Not easy at all. Your herb garden sounds beautiful. I hope you can make some pesto this summer.

  10. Marianne says:

    The Rapture looks beautiful. I’ll hop on over and read the health care one.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

