Preciousness of life

Blossoms

Sometimes the world seems like a dismal place, a sorrowful place, a filled-with-suffering place.

Tornados roar and hundreds die.  Wars gun down thousands.  Hurricanes strike.  Earthquakes rumble and swallow.  We humans bemoan health care or politics or dozens of other subjects.  We worry.  We stress.  Our days seem dismal and challenged.

Yet–for all this suffering–for all that burdens our hearts–for all that darkens our days–I think that, when it’s time to leave this green and blue and golden earth–we’ll be thankful to have experienced this precious spinning life.

Life itself is such a gift.  Even with the challenges, we listen to robins sing.  We feel light rain on our cheek as we walk outside.  We smell Spring’s sacred return.  We dig our hands into the soil, planting seeds.

We witness tiny trees taking root in the woods.  We watch grandfather trees fall in windstorms.  We glimpse a bluebird, flitting like a jewel near the spruce.  A rose-breasted grosbeak soars between the budding maples.

Life in this instant, raw life, beautiful life, sacred life–what a gift.  This moment is precious beyond breath, and so is the next one, and the next one after this.

Precious

I am happy to be alive this Memorial Day weekend.  Amidst all the imperfections of life, perfection exists here, now.  I will not allow thoughts of worry and despair to cloud over this beautiful experience.  I will continually turn toward the divine, the sacred, the infinite possibilities.  I will try to continually open my heart to inclusion, to allowing, to understanding, to love.

Wishing you the best as you embrace your own lives in imperfect perfection.  So grateful for your presence on this earth~~the very special gift of presence that only you can share with us.  My heart overfloweth.  Thank you for all of you.

Footsteps in the sand of life

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Preciousness of life

  1. Susan Derozier says:

    Amen!

  2. So grateful for you in my life Kathy! Love and blessings to you and yours this weekend, S

  3. Robin says:

    Beautiful post.

  4. Dawn says:

    Blessings to you too!

  5. Elisa's Spot says:

    Are you walking about in my head?!?! hehehe

  6. Dawn says:

    We’re grateful for you too! Have a wonderful weekend!

  7. Brenda Hardie says:

    Beautifully spoken Kathy! I might have to borrow a quote from you for my status on fb..:) giving you the credit of course! I hope you have a grand weekend, treasuring the imperfect perfections of this life and cherishing the bountiful blessings amidst the heartaches. We are all so lucky…so blessed! Thank you for being in my life. ♥

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, that was so sweet that you put a quote from this blog on Facebook. Thank you! I am glad you feel so blessed, too. We are lucky to be alive.

  8. holessence says:

    “…we’ll be thankful to have experienced this precious spinning life.”

    yes, Yes, YES!

  9. Martha Bergin says:

    Thank you!

  10. sonali says:

    Hi Kathy,

    This is a very nice and motivating concept for life.We are all blessed for being alive and we must be thankful for what we are and what we have. Thank you so much for this thought. This truly helps and keeps us going. I’m grateful for getting to know you and coming across your blog, which is full of wondrous thoughts. I’m so lucky, I learn a lot about life through your writing! 🙂 And definitely, Amidst all the imperfections of life, perfection still exists!

    Luv,
    Sonali

    • Kathy says:

      Sonali, thank you for your kindness and support and appreciation. It sounds like you totally understand about imperfect perfection. (I almost totally understand. I am hoping to totally understand by the time it’s time to say goodbye to this beautiful life. lol.)

  11. Karma says:

    Wonderful thoughts and pictures. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks, Karma. I hope you are having a wonderful weekend too! We had a busy day yesterday, but our next two days should be quiet. Although you never know.

  12. Sybil says:

    The photos go perfectly with the words and the words are very wise.

    Thank you.

  13. barb says:

    Hi Kathy, Wonderful words and great photos, too. I was thinking as I walked the beach this morning and saw (to my amazement) a rainbow rising out of the ocean, that I am so glad to be alive at this moment. Happy weekend to you.

    • Kathy says:

      A rainbow rising out of the ocean sounds like a heavenly sight to behold. I hope you had your camera! (If not, it sounds like you “captured” it in your heart.)

  14. john says:

    Thank you for your perspective. Coming from up there has special meaning.

  15. Kiah says:

    Love the feets! Love you!

  16. Colleen says:

    Perfection exists here, now……

    Love to you, Kathy.

  17. jeffstroud says:

    Kathy,

    Beautiful! Conscious and Loving!!! Great photographs!

  18. Marianne says:

    Beautiful words, beautiful pictures! Thank you Kathy. Have a fabulous Memorial Day weekend.

  19. wolfsrosebud says:

    Beautiful photo selection… I’m inspired.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

