Rain, Mom’s Coleslaw dressing & nursing deer

Green, everywhere.

All day long it has rained.

Rain, rain, rain.

The skies open their gray curtains and water drips everywhere:  on grass, on dandelions, on trees, on robins, on hummingbirds, on fawns nursing against Mama Deer.

An old photo of nursing fawn. Not this year. Long-ago.

I stay inside all day.  No venturing out to splash in puddles.  No venturing down or up the road, admiring lupines and daisies and leaves covered with raindrops.

Rain drops.

Nonetheless, it’s a good day.  There are books to read.  Moments to meditate, to feel Present in the unfolding day.  There are Father’s Day phone calls (in which I get to participate!)  There is spaghetti simmering on the stove, frozen foccacia bread, coleslaw with my mother’s dressing recipe.

(OK, here is her recipe, because I know someone will ask.)

Joanne’s Coleslaw Dressing

1 c. sugar

1 c. oil

2 t. salt

1 small onion, minced

1/2 c. cider vinegar

1 t. celery seed

1 t. dry mustard

(You know what to do, right?  Without me spelling out the particulars?  Take all the ingredients and mix together.  Add to cabbage, carrots, whatever you use in coleslaw.  Yum.  OK, you can half the recipe–like I did.  You can also cut back on the sugar, like I did.  Barry is requesting another recipe of coleslaw tonight cuz he liked this so much. Thanks for the recipe, Mom!)

 As for the rain, I am glad about it.  We can pause in our wood-splitting activities.  Barry and I have been splitting our wood again.  It’s a yearly chore.  You know the routine. 

An old wood-splittin' photo circa 2009. Because it's raining today.

Hook the wood splitter onto the tractor.  Pull the splitter next to the wood pile.  Start the ’49 Studebaker truck.  Back it up to the wood splitter.  Start the wood splitter.  Adjust the leaking gas.  Adjust the choke.  Adjust six other things before it’s running without belching smoke.

Ready, set, split your load of wood.  Pay attention!  Do not let your attention wander one iota, or you’ll be sorry.  A stray piece of log will zing off the splitter.  Or another log will hit your knee.  (OWWW!)  Both of you must stop when you get tired or your attention wanders.  Safety is of utmost concern.

Thus, when it’s rainy, you get to stay inside.  A wood-splitting day off.  You’ll be out there again tomorrow, or the next day, or perhaps on Wednesday, so don’t think you’re off the hook.  But enjoy today’s rain, for sure.

While the spaghetti noodles boil on the stove, let your gaze linger on the garden.  Everything is–finally–growing.  It’s been so hard getting those tomatoes and squash and cucumber plants to grow.  Sometimes it’s the brocoli and zucchini which protest.  Not this year.  They’re doing lovely.  We think everything is putting roots down deep.  We’ll see, after the rain.

Look at those tomato plants, will ya?

Mama Deer is nursing her fawn behind the garage.  Photos, you ask?  Nah, not a chance.  Mama and Fawn-Baby would be gone in three seconds flat, if a camera approached within 300 feet.  Instead, just imagine.  (Or look at the old photo I inserted up above.)

OK, I must tend dinner.  I wish you a Happy Father’s Day, fathers and mothers and children alike.  I wish you peace on rainy days.  I wish that raindrops enrich and nourish your spirit, sending your roots deep into the earth.

Kick back & relax...rainy day...or not.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Rain, Mom’s Coleslaw dressing & nursing deer

  1. Dawn says:

    Enjoy your rainy day too Kathy! I love peaceful rainy days like that. But I’m glad we had sunshine and then overcast skies today. Made my photo scavenger hunt much more fun! Happy Father’s day to all your fathers!

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad you had fun with your scavenger hunt, Dawn. Yep, a rainy day would certainly dampen enthusiasm for taking pictures! Today is nice with almost-sun peeking through the clouds. It’s still cool, though, barely 60. Had to start another fire in the woodstove this morning. (Shouldn’t that be over with now?)

  2. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – You sound so snug in your cabin of the woods. Thank you for sharing your green world with us and especially for the fawn picture. What a wonder that is! I would be happy to huff and puff and blow you some of our Florida sunshine to invite a rainbow into your green. Close your eyes and see it! Am glad to see you and Barry are taking care of this year’s woodpile to match up the lovely one from last year. I just had coleslaw today and it certainly wasn’t as good as yours sounds. Will try it next time. Happy Father’s Day to all who love and nurture!

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, I think we got a whiff of your Florida warmth today. Not a sultry whiff, but a teeny wheeny whiff in which the temperature glided just past 60 degrees. I’m sure it’s going up soon. Send some more whiffs, will you? P.S. I love your father’s day wish.

  3. bonnie says:

    We have had a lot of rain here in Nova Scotia, too. It allows me to get indoor things done without feeling guilty about not pulling weeds or cutting grass. Your blog touches my soul, the way you write..it’s beautiful. I’m so glad I found your site. Thank you.

    • Kathy says:

      Bonnie, thank you for your kind words. How beautiful that you should say this blog touches your soul. Isn’t it wonderful to appreciate the gifts of rainy weather?

  4. bearyweather says:

    It has been dark, gloomy, cool and very rainy for over three days, now. However, it has made the flowers bloom like crazy .. the northern woods look like a painter splattered a mixture of paint everywhere.

    • Kathy says:

      Bearyweather, aren’t the flowers gorgeous? It smells like heavenly perfume on our road~~if the sun would stay out for a half hour, it might be time to photograph them. Hope we both get sun–and warmth–soon.

  5. Tracy says:

    Rain or not, it sounds like a perfect day!

  6. Reggie says:

    Loving your day… beautiful pictures, particularly of the nursing fawn, even if it’s from long-ago. When you mentioned ‘splitting wood’, I pictured you and Barry swinging an axe to split the wood, as I didn’t realise you actually have a machine to do it. And that you still have to be careful not to get whacked by logs!

    Looks like you had a relaxing Father’s Day. Hugs!

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie, a long, long time ago we used to split our wood with an axe and maul. That didn’t last too long. You need to cut way too many logs and a chainsaw and log splitter is the way to go.

      It was a lovely Father’s Day. Do you celebrate Father’s and Mother’s Day in South Africa?

      (By the way, it’s raining again here…)

      • Reggie says:

        Yes, we certainly do celebrate Mother’s Day and Father’s Day in South Africa. They get shunted around a bit every year, but this year it was 8 May (Mother’s Day) and 19 June (Father’s Day).

        And thanks for explaining about the wood-splitting. I live and learn, when I read your blog! 😉

  7. Robin says:

    Rainy days can be so wonderful. Yours certainly sounds idyllic.

    Thank you for the recipe. I think I’ll give it a try. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, Sunday was an idyllic rainy day. Today it’s raining again and I’m more restless. Darn. Perhaps it’s time to watch a movie?

  8. CD says:

    Great story. Still journalism I think.

  9. P.j. grath says:

    We’re having that kind of day here, but without the woodsplitting it’s very restful. Sarah and I were almost knocked down by a surprised doe yesterday. Very big! We were as surprised by her as she was by us!

    Wanted to let you know, too, that Ellen Airgood will be doing a Keewanaw appearance in September. Danielle Sosin may be up your way after her Mackinac Island date, but I’m not sure when or where. Lake Superior is big in fiction this summer!

    Hope your season is a good one. It’s very busy here, but that’s good. If not now, when???

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, Ellen Airgood is the one who wrote “South of Superior”, right? I am not so sure who Danielle Sosin might be, but it sounds like she’s another published Lake Superior author. It would be good to travel up in the Keweenaw and listen to what they would like to share.

      How is your own writing going? Have you been writing? I am glad you were not knocked down by that deer.

      It’s raining again here today…and the weather forecast just shows raindrop for several days…

  10. holessence says:

    “kick back and relax…rainy day…or not”

    Ahhhhhhhhh, thank you for the lovely visit.

  11. Colleen says:

    Happy Solstice Kathy.

    I’m reading above, in your comment, that you’re having a rain-filled day and hoping this means a relaxing day. And wishing we could share/trade some of our heat (100+) and sun for your cool and quiet rain………

    I came back to copy your coleslaw recipe and to say Hi after reading your wonderful blog earlier. You can probably guess what we’re having for dinner tonight 🙂

    Sending your heart-felt wishes for peace on rainy days right back to you.

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, after that 100 degree spell in NYC, I guess I don’t mind 60 degrees all that much! Stay cool! I hope you enjoy the coleslaw dressing. I think I need your wishes for peace on a rainy day. It’s been a tough kind of emotional day. Perhaps your peace will blow into this heart. Happy Solstice to you, as well!

      • Colleen says:

        I understand well those emotional times. It isn’t always a gentle process, at least not for me. Maybe not for anybody, at least in the beginning. But I’m drawn to this process again, and then again. Even when I’ve wanted to push it away ……..

        We’re travelling for the next three weeks. I’m re-reading Alchemy of the Heart and getting ready to embrace? this process again when we get back.

        I hope today you’re feeling the peace that you are. Hugs!!!!

        • Kathy says:

          Happy travels, Colleen! Oh my goodness, I didn’t realize until just now that Michael Brown has another book! Thank you for sharing that. Just added it to Favorites…will undoubtedly need to purchase that soon.

  12. Barbara says:

    I think your rain has arrived here now… Good day to catch up on blogs.. I love the picture of the nursing fawn – so precious! I’m glad you guys use so much caution while using the wood-splitting machinery. Sounds like the kind of job one shouldn’t be doing alone, just in case. Everything looks so lush and green out your window. May your crops be bountiful this year!!!

    • Kathy says:

      Barbara, I think we need some sunlight to balance the rain now. Otherwise the crops are going to be too drenched… Luckily, the weather forecasts suggest it might be partly sunny and in the 70’s by tomorrow. Phew. It’s been a long, long, long rainy week. It makes us remember all those years when we prayed for rain because of long-standing drought. I hope you have a good weekend.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

