Putting my Facebook status on WordPress

I often have trouble posting a Facebook status. 

How do you decide which tiny itty bitty slice of your life you announce to your friends and family?

It’s hard enough to write an 800-word WordPress blog and halfway describe a teeny-weeny slice of your life.  (People think they know you after you describe fifteen minutes of your day…a fact which always amazes me.  For example, some people have recently suggested that I am a very social creature surrounded by friends.  Ha ha, wrong assessment!  I can be quite reclusive and silent and perfectly happy alone for days…except for that fifteen minute blog per day.  It’s questionable about whether one is still alone when blogging, isn’t it?)

Back to Facebook statuses.  Unless you’re posting a new one every twenty minutes–which some people do–how in the world do you settle on a status?

This morning, almost back to the house after Barry dropped me off a mile from the abode, I thought, “Now is a good time to post a Facebook status.”

But what? 

1.  Just enjoyed a mile long walk on a cool July morning listening to squawking baby blue jays.  (Why does anyone want to know this in such a short snippet?  We’re leaving out the fact that we waved to four people–one, our neighbor, Bruce, on his motorcycle, and that the daisies looked so beautiful and the air felt like liquid beauty.  Except liquid is the wrong word.  Back to the drawing board.)

2.  Juicing watermelon this morning for breakfast for the very first time.  (Why does anyone need to hear this?  You haven’t even juiced it yet.  It might taste awful.  Because they may be inspired to juice.  Because you’re describing a moment of Presence.)

3.  Meditating this morning…what a great way to start the day!  Everybody should try it.  (No, this sounds too bossy.  Everybody should do what they are called to do.)

4.  Wanting to leave email up all day in case Kiah sends a message from Paris.  (No, no, no, we already discussed Kiah’s European trip last status.  People will think you’re obsessed.)

5.  “Sun is shining. Weather is sweet. Make you wanna move your dancing feet.”  –Bob Marley.  (Ummm, no.  I am rarely a quoter, even though I like reading quotes.  I figured God put us on this planet to make our own quotes, not borrow quotes from others.  OK, OK, just because I took this stand I’ll probably be quoting for the next six blogs.  It’s hard to state an opinion when it changes every day.  Make that every minute.)

5.  Hello friends and family!  Hope everyone is enjoying this beautiful summer day!  (Too many exclamation points.  What if people are suffering, hurting, lost their best friend?  Doesn’t this sound a bit too much like Pollyanna?  Besides, been there, done this status.  It’s been around the block.)

6.  Should I go to work or not today?  (No, no, heavens no!  Most people don’t have the luxury of flexible work hours.  They will internally growl and snap and spit.  Bad status.  Bad.  Don’t go there.)

7.  May you pick a bouquet of lupines and wish upon a dandelion puff today.  (Oh goodness…dorky….  But then again, I like dorky.  Except what about the people who have no access to lupines or dandelion puffs? You shouldn’t project about what other people think.  Just state your own truth and that’s that.  Let your light shine.  Spread your joy.  What you status is your offering; what others make of it is their receiving.) 

OK, OK, see why Facebook statuses are so hard?  How do people do it?  Much better to write an essay.  That way you can sneak in at least seven statuses.

What would you write as your status right now?  You are allowed to write an essay in the comments if you choose.

P.S.  Sorry there aren’t any pictures.  I didn’t bring the camera along for the walk because there was no intent of writing a blog.  Besides, statuses don’t have photos.  You have to use your imagination.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Putting my Facebook status on WordPress

  1. I see what you mean! It certainly can be difficult to choose a status – many times, if I run into a problem similar to one of the ones that you have listed here… I don’t put anything! It’s very interesting to see how others use FB – some post something 15 times a day, and then others only pop in once every few months or so to catch up. Right now, my status is “Didn’t get to sleep until about 2 AM – didn’t get home until after 11:30, and then some of my neighbors shot off their own fireworks until at least 1:30. I’m tired…..” I wouldn’t ever reveal anything too personal – sometimes I’ve forgotten who can see it!!

    • Kathy says:

      Poor Holly~~you didn’t get to sleep until 2 a.m.?? You poor thing. I would be totally exhausted and probably unable to function after a night like that, let alone type a Facebook status. Grin. I am also interested to see the different ways people post. (And I always forget who is reading, too…)

  2. Reggie says:

    As so often, you had my giggling out aloud while I was reading this post, Kathy. You have such a way of capturing fleeting moments… I’m not surprised you don’t know which status to post.

    I wonder, sometimes, about our desire (perhaps even verging on obsession) of sharing our thoughts and ‘up-to-the-moment statuses’ with the rest of the world. Do they care? Do they wanna know? Are they weirdos? Are they stalkers? Have they got sinister motives? Am I being excessively paranoid? Are we surrendering our privacy too easily? Sharing too much of our lives online?

    • Kathy says:

      Ha, I was giggling, too, Reggie! Too funny! I have those thoughts, too, Reggie. About blogging and Facebook and other on-line sharings. Why DO we share? What is the point? And I guess the point is different things for different people.

      • Reggie says:

        You know, I too ask myself those questions, Kathy.

        Why do we (sometimes) share our innermost thoughts online where they can be read pretty much forever by pretty much anybody? Wouldn’t it be better to share them in a one-to-one email or one-to-close-friends email? Or in a face-to-face or Skype-to-Skype conversation? Why do we keep an online account of our lives? Is it because we don’t want to be forgotten when we pass away? Because we want to leave traces of our lives behind? Or because we feel that we have valuable insights to share? Or because we are reaching out to friends-we-haven’t-yet-met who share similar worldviews and perspectives of the-world-and-our-part-in-it? It’s so puzzling.

        Hm…

        Your posts often make me think, Kathy-Wise-Woman.

  3. P.j. grath says:

    Without answering the question, Kathy, I can tell you that this is why I prefer blogging to Facebook. The quick, breezy, space-limited Fb status postings–and comments on same–encourage wisecracks, homilies and easy dismissals rather than thought. I make the effort from time to time because, for better or for worse (FBOFW?) banter is, I realize, an American social mode. But Halloween every day? Exhaustion without satisfaction.

    (Why do it at all? Connections with younger generation and groups of old friends. Individual connections with old friends go better with e-mail, snail mail or telephone.)

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, I agree with you. The statuses quite often don’t tend to sink in and inspire thought–although sometimes they can. It feels like here in the blogging world we have the luxury of more time and space to contemplate. (OK, and to write stream-of-consciousness thoughts…)

  4. jeffstroud says:

    Kathy,

    This too funny! Part of the way through I was going to say “lighten the heck up!”
    You are thinking about this to much.
    anyway my purpose for my facebook status is to shift the consciousness of the people who read the quotes. I have received many good responses, and have been greeted with many like minded friends by this inspiring quotes. and yes I use others quotes all the time, and I don’t care what others think about that.
    Sometimes I inform people where I am or where I might be going on my status or even how I am feeling…

    Your blog was great in the fact it informed many of us what you did this morning or anyway what you did part of the morning, shared your attention to detail, shared your thoughts. No one get to know another in one huge blast of information, one gets to know another through years of evolution, in sharing tibits of life.

    Ok now did I get to darn serious?

    • Kathy says:

      Jeff, if I got any lighter I would have been giggling and spitting watermelon juice over the keyboard. Everything that came out struck me as funny…that the thoughts were even arising! They didn’t feel heavy or serious–although, upon re-reading, I guess you could interpret them that way. (By the way, I love your quotes. They often inspire me. Reading about you on your blog inspires me, too. Meeting you in person inspired me a lot.)

  5. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – your running comments remind me so much of my private journals for years. Whatever passed through my mind landed on paper. It is interesting to me to see how those years of intensive journaling affect how I respond to facebook or the idea of blogging myself. I am so used to communicating without an audience that I tend to not post status on facebook. Gives me something to think about and probably explains my introverted path in life. You’ve done it again with your simple questions…making us actually THINK about what we do and why. By the way, I never got to comment on those wonderful Lake Superior pictures you blogged. I felt like I was back home again. You simply have no idea how deeply you touch! Thank you again!

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, gosh, I feel like much of this blogging is simply stream-of-consciousness allowing of thoughts/feelings to surface. It’s a little scary. We were encouraged to do this in a group called “Diving Deeper” which was part of Gaia.com (not in operation under its original form any more, but it still exists if you google it.) It is a spiritual exercise in itself to have the ability to express so much of yourself without wimping out or wishing you’d write something different. When you feel nervous or sad after sharing something–it’s an opportunity to find out why. Sometimes I wish I could just blog a certain theme–just pictures of nature, or just Upper Peninsula sights. It seems like this would be easier than offering the whole of a self. But it seems like people–like you–resonate with it, so that makes it easier to continue doing this. Grateful for you, Susan D.

  6. Hmmm…too much or too little….FB allows the freedom of keeping track of those you know and care about through their shared snippits and photo journals. FB also can be a means of drawing them in to something deeper via links to our blogs. There are a lot of people who don’t post but observe life’s day to day drama as passive readers. There is a place for both blogs and FB…AND TWITTER which can create selective contact lists for various interests one has.
    I think posting any of the thoughts you suggested are great. AND…you should not wonder how it will be taken…you are who you are. There is lots of room for quality whimsical posts.

    • Kathy says:

      Guess which one I decided to post, Jane? The quote about Bob Marley and dancing. Ha ha, couldn’t help it. So far 20 people have pressed “like” and eight people commented. THEY liked the thought of dancing, I guess! Someday, when I grow up, I will not worry or care about how things are taken. When, do you think, might that be??? LOL!

  7. I don’t post facebook statuses very often, unless you count the links to my blog. Today I did post a status, which you may have already seen 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      My favorite Ms. Click, I didn’t see your status until you pointed it out and scurried over there to comment. So glad you are having a magnificent time in your travels…

  8. Karma says:

    Sometimes Facebook statuses just happen! In fact, that’s when I usually post one is when one just happens. For example, this morning, as I was waiting for my English muffin to toast, I picked up my iPod to browse through Twitter and Facebook. When I turned on the iPod, I was faced with a close-up picture of my older daughter sticking out her tongue! My current Facebook status is: “What happens when you leave your iPod unattended” along with the photo.

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, that’s a great one! Your status just popped up into the Universe, perfectly acceptable (complete with photo). How wonderful! And you didn’t even second-guess yourself. You supported your status completely. I love it when that happens!

  9. Martha Bergin says:

    “I figured God put us on this planet to make up our own quotes.” Great quote, Kathy! Can I quote you? 🙂 You’ve put into words exactly why I used to fail to put up my status. Then, after being there for awhile, I gave up. Oh well. Wish I had been able to express the frustration as you did. I also liked Susan’s comment about how private journalling was like every thought that went through her mind landed on the paper. Oh, that used to drive me crazy! A mirror I couldn’t look into. Was painful. Time to work through and transform that! Thanks for the thoughts.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Martha, how wonderful you are! I am glad you like the quote. God must be nodding his (her?) head and saying, OK, good. The quote of yours that I like tremendously is “Time to work through and transform that!”–Gosh, I am tempted to put that on my Facebook status and link it back to you. What do you think?

  10. Like you I just can’t think of anything really interesting to post a short status, except the various holiday wishes. On rare occasions I will say something short and positive, but most the time I figure “what’s the point” I rarely ever get a response from anyone. I have never been a “popular” sort of person…at least not to more than a couple of friends. The majority of my status on fb is most of the time I will link my blog post. I believe it does bring more readers, but rarely do any of them comment and definitely not on the FB status.

    So what would I write as a status right now? … nothing.

    • Kathy says:

      Ann, popularity is weird, isn’t it? And never an indication of our worth, I think. I am not a “popular” person in everyday reality. Perhaps a likeable person, but not a popular person. I’m too quiet; too much of a loner at times. It has always been strange that when I write people are more intrigued by me than they are in person. It seems so much more important that we develop a sense of self-worth. A sense of liking our own selves. And making that more valuable than the opinions of others. (Although, of course, we can listen to the opinions of others in order to assist us.) I hope you have a good sense of your own worth.

  11. holessence says:

    Earlier status – Content
    Current status – Satisfied
    Probable status later – Fulfilled (from thoroughly enjoying a content and satisfying day)

  12. Tammy says:

    I would write that this Zinfandel goes perfectly with Marcona almonds.

  13. Dawn says:

    Current status: Giggling. Says it all…and they can interpret it as they may.

    • Kathy says:

      Giggling is good. (Hey, that could be a status, too.) I actually read a friend’s status and started giggling today. Then I called her. A good Facebook moment.

  14. Robin says:

    Oh my. I struggled with my Facebook status too. Then I gave up. I subscribed to Networked Blogs which now does the job for me by automatically posting a link when I blog. I am not very good at brevity which makes me not very good at things like Facebook and Twitter. But it works out quite well for blogging. Maybe. 😀

    • Kathy says:

      Exactly, Robin. Maybe we brevity-less folks are simply more inclined to blogging and brevity-oriented folks like statuses and Twitter. Something for all of us to express ourselves. I think you’ve “hit the nail on the head”. Or would that be “the finger on the keyboard.” Sorry–being a little silly. 🙂

  15. barb says:

    Gosh, now I’m all stressed because I don’t even know what a Facebook status is. I’m out of the loop. It’s over for me! PS How was the watermelon juice?

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, Barb, let’s forget about Facebook statuses today and make some more watermelon juice! (we still have some leftover bits of watermelon.) It was good. There was hardly any leftover pulp! A watermelon seems to be comprised of mostly–juice. Guess that’s no surprise!

  16. My blog is a Networked Blog, so it automatically feeds to my FB page. But I’ve found over time, that I comment less about little things on FB, and let my Blog post do all the work. I’ll be touring the UP in a couple weeks and am looking forward to our Michigan visit; such a beautiful place!

    • Kathy says:

      Good idea, Monica, letting your FB blog posts to all the work! I find that very few people clicked over from FB to WordPress, so quit doing that. You must have more loyal friends and family readers! If you stop by the L’Anse area, do give me a call (we’re in the phone book.) Would love to meet you for coffee.

  17. Colleen says:

    I truly haven’t figured this out yet but am liking Laurie’s approach 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

