“As long as I live, I’ll hear waterfalls and birds and winds sing.” –John Muir

Let's start our walk toward the Bond Falls (near Paulding in the southern part of the Upper Peninsula)

 

Let's look close-up at the flowing water

 

Isn't it pretty?

 

Energy

 

Little falls beside the pathway

 

Bigger...water rushing...energy building...

 

Roar of pounding waterfall

 

 

These steps are slippery with overspray from the waterfall. Be careful. Please.

 

 

 

Ohmygoodness! Get your cameras out if you haven't already. Tripods if you want to slowwwww down the action. Your tripod doesn't work? Never mind. The waterfall is beautiful just as it is.

 

 

Friends always help friends leap from rock to rock in the calmer water below the falls

 

 

Ooooo Ahhhhh....Thank you, Sun, for cooperating & coming out.

 

 

Rock beneath the falls

 

 

Look at that Grandfather Rock sitting in the middle of all this waterfall energy. The stories he could tell!

 

 

Yep. Magic stories.

 

 

Beautiful

 

 

OK, amazingly beautiful. Panoramic!

 

 

More about Bond Falls and the surrounding flowage

 

 

 

 

Peace and beauty be with you as we return to where we started.

–Blogging “silently” until August 10th.  Please enjoy these photos!

 

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to “As long as I live, I’ll hear waterfalls and birds and winds sing.” –John Muir

  1. jeffstroud says:

    There is nothing silent about these photographs. Beautifully done!

  2. Robin says:

    Thank you. 🙂

  3. Reminds me of a John Denver song entitled, “Spring”, on his Rocky Mountain High album. I can hear the water flow over the falls, rocks and the bubbling and laughter of the downstream photos. Hope they didn’t fall in!

    BTW, look at getting a circular polarizer filter for your lens to really bring out the colors and to cut down on reflections.

  4. We used to play in those falls as kids. Did you know you can hide under the rock and let the water fall over you? Nobody can see you until you stick out an arm or a leg. We had a hunting camp near there in a “used to be place” called Craigsmere. Maybe someday when you find words again you can write a story about that settlement. 🙂

  5. Elisa's Spot says:

    OH! thank you for taking me along! Happy tears!

  6. Amazing and beautiful pictures ! There is coolness, energy, beauty, calmness too. A wonderful place to be.

  7. holessence says:

    Kathy – Usually I can pick a “favorite” out of your photographs — one that resonates more strongly than the others with me. However, in this case…Z-I-N-G! Each and every one has a distinct resonance. WOW!

  8. Love's Thesaurus says:

    WOW!!! Thank you for sharing this beauty! You do it so well!
    I suppose, in a way, that to share like this you, in some sense, become one with it, use the camera to pick that up in a way we can grasp some of it. Amazing.

  9. Marianne says:

    Beautiful, just beautiful, Kathy! I especially like the panorama view. It’s breathtaking!

  10. Grandfather Rock is quite pleased. xoox S

  11. Sybil says:

    What an amazing waterfall. I too love the panoramic view. I have to go towel off now. I’m a bit damp from the spray after that walk.

  12. Ooh I love the pathway!

  13. Jeanne Marie says:

    Such beauty…thank you sharing Kathy.

  14. Kathy says:

    I’ve just been guided into the most serene meditation and refreshed back to present time. Thank you for this breathtaking journey. I feel I’ve exteriorized and walked over there. Namaste.

  15. Beautiful photos. Thank you for sharing.

  16. I love waterfalls. We got to see a couple of them, but the first one was just a quick peek because of rain.

  17. bearyweather says:

    Waterfalls are my favorite place to hike, relax and just sit and listen.

  18. Wow – postcard shots!! ♥

  19. Dawn says:

    I went there once in all my years up there. Loved it…though it was winter at the time. So fun to see it in summer through your photos! Love the girls and their reflection in the water!

  20. sonali says:

    Amazing pictures. where did you capture them, Kathy? Which is that wondrous place? It seems like a great photography by you, the gushing water fall looks magnificent. Oh, please come out of your silence mode. you know why, because there are so many of us who wait to hear so much from you and they have no other means of communicating with you, other then the comment box of course!

  21. Elle says:

    That was truly lovely. I wish I was there but this is almost as good. I can almost smell the water and feel the spray…wonderful!

  22. Trudie says:

    Hey Kathy
    I’m back! Surprised you haven’t deleted me from your blogroll, considering how irregularly I updated mine. As usual, you making me jealous of all your escapades!
    Chat soon. 🙂

  23. wolfsrosebud says:

    LOL, I posted falls pics last week. Great minds and all… Of course they are not as dramatic as Michigan’s. Loved the first pic the most.

  24. Karma says:

    I could almost hear the water rushing in your photos. You can’t keep away from storytelling Kathy! Your photos and captions are doing a great job.

  25. Barb says:

    Wonderful refreshing photos, Kathy – I love the wet stone steps!

  26. Colleen says:

    Peace and much beauty right back to you Kathy. Lovely 🙂

  27. Reggie says:

    Ditto to everything above! LOVE these photos – waterfalls are AWESOME!!!

    Particularly like the caption “Friends always help friends leap from rock to rock in the calmer water below the falls”. SOOO true, Kathy.

  28. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy…you are helping us leap from rock to rock in the calmer water…thank you! You are leading us into a quiet journey of visual observation. Your friend Kathy noted that she felt guided through a serene meditation and returned to the present moment feeling refreshed…I agree wholeheartedly!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

