The raptor program which did and didn’t happen

Snowy owl

Long-eared owl

Kids, Explorer Guide Tara, and owls

Blind-folded kid playing owl games

Joy and enthusiasm

(The previously scheduled Raptor Program at the Baraga State Park Friday night did not happen.  The live raptors did not appear.  However, Tara, the handy Explorer Guide, provided a fascinating last-minute program about raptors–including stuffed owls–which left the guests entertained and informed.  Kathy and Barry even stayed to play an owl-feeding game.  A good time was had by all.)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The raptor program which did and didn’t happen

  1. Sybil says:

    Love “Joy and enthusiasm”. Wish enthusiasm was with a capital “e”. Wouldn’t those be great names for a boy and a girl ? 😉

  2. Kathy I love owls! And your snowy owl is a very handsome fellow indeed! I saw a white owl one night recently as I was driving along a deserted country road. It was sitting in the middle of the road as my car approached and I slowed down. The owl slowly turned and looked at the car, then calmly flew away. The incident left me with an eerie feeling and I wondered if seeing the owl held some kind of significance. I searched the internet but only found conflicting ideas. All I know is, I had a ‘good’ feeling after seeing the owl.

  3. Reggie says:

    Such fun you always have, Kathy, even if things do not happen as planned. Owls are such extraordinary creatures…

  4. Claire says:

    More fun had by all. Owls are fascinating creatures. We have tawny owls in the valley here and we also sometimes see a barn owl at dusk but as these are endangered here so it is a real treat. Is one of the owls on your blog a long eared owl?

  5. holessence says:

    What a Hoot!

    (get it? … sorry, I coudn’t help myself)

  6. Carol says:

    It looks like what did happen was just fine with the kids!

  7. I LOVE owls!! I have a few good owl stories. Hmmm-A good idea for a future post, I am on DEEP backlog with ideas and photos! Too much summer fun, wait…you can’t have toooooo much fun. Anyhow “blog fuel” for the coming winter.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

