Evening at “Billy the Finns” with blog reader and her family!

Welcome to "Billy the Finn's" Tavern. Formerly known as...can you guess?

 Today I would like to introduce you to a fellow blog reader.  (Just think if all of you could meet each other!)  Her name is Mary.  We met, first, through Taxes.

As some of you know, I am a Tax Collector & Sinner.  (Sorry, can’t help quoting the Bible sometimes.) 

Mary is a taxpayer in Arvon Township where I collect property taxes as one of my part-time jobs.  (I am a taxpayer, too.  Sigh.) 

She penned a handwritten letter awhile back with a tax question. She left her email address, in case I wanted to respond via the modern era.  I did.  At that time, I had one of those signatures at the bottom of the email that linked to this blog. 

She visited the blog.  She liked.  She made me happy because she said she read.  (That makes me delighted.  We were already fast friends in spirit.)

A close-up of some of the "occupants" of the tavern

 In July she sent her summer taxes with a note.  She and her kids were coming to Skanee at the end of July.  Her husband is in the foreign service and would not be visiting.  Could we meet?

Bobby playing pool with his sister, Maggie, who is not pictured

Could we meet?

Of course we could meet!

I went to visit her and her three kids a week or two ago.  What a wonderful visit!  She plied me with tortellini salad for lunch and then we walked at least a mile down to Our Lady of Lake Superior for early afternoon admiration.  There is another taxpayer down there who has Stations of the Cross on his property, I kid you not, which would have been photographed promptly from the shore but I am darn tired of carrying this camera everywhere.

(If I carried the camera everywhere you would be seeing a photo of a MOOSE on these pages…another long story.  OK, you wanna hear?  Several weeks ago, maybe in June, I was in an anti-photography mood.  Darn those evil anti-photography moods.  Ban them!  Well, anyway, I was driving to town and other faraway sites without the camera when suddenly, there to the left, lurked a large bull moose.  The second creature I’ve ever seen.  I was in such an anti-camera mood that I merely said, “Oh look–a moose!” and drove on by.  Even though the little Sony Cybershot sat unattended and forgotten at the bottom of the blog writer’s purse.  However, three weeks later I woke up from that crazy mood and have been cursing my silly anti-photography mood over and over and over again!  But I prevaricate.  Back to the main point of THIS blog.)

Please meet: Barry (you may have met him before), Maggie, Ellen, Bobby and Mary.

Anyway, we met.  We liked.  We decided to visit The Finn’s Tavern in Greater Skanee (OK, lesser Skanee, perhaps) and we dined upon fishburgers and cheeseburgers.  Barry even attended!  We munched french fries and potato chips and drank assorted beverages.  Two of the kids played pool.

We laughed a lot.

I hope we get together again one of these fine summers.

Mary and her family are an absolute delight. 

Amazing, the treasures we sometimes meet through this Internet, isn’t it?

Thank you, Mary and family, for the wonderful evening at Billy the Finns.  See you soon! 

Blog readers, have you met on-line friends before?  What has been your experience?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Evening at “Billy the Finns” with blog reader and her family!

  1. Reggie says:

    This is soooo cool, Kathy! Love the story! – except for the part about the anti-photo-phase – man, am I glad that you’re over that! 😉 Hugs!

    • Kathy says:

      Isn’t it fun to meet blogging friends, Reggie? Have you met any yet–I can’t remember. (As for the anti-photography phase, perhaps I didn’t state it properly. It was an anti-carrying-the-camera-everywhere phase. Wanted to be hands free and FREE! Alas, there is a trade-off…)

  2. Colleen says:

    Everyone looks so happy to be doing exactly what they’re doing! It sounds as if you had a wonderful visit. I’m pretty new to on-line friendships but very much look forward to meeting people face-to-face someday. It somehow feels inevitable and very much anticipated 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, it was a fun time. Barry said several times how much he enjoyed meeting this family! And so did I. Please show me your palm. Yes, it’s inevitable. You will be meeting on-line friends in the near future. **grin**

  3. Emad says:

    Nice photos ! Great post !

  4. Nicole Smith says:

    As you know, Kathy, I have had many wonderful meetings with on-line friends, in person and by Skype or phone. Though we have not yet met in person, I feel like I know you so well because of our Skype and phone calls in addition to all the sharing we’ve done through blogs, emails and discussion groups.

    You also know, Kathy, that as dear as the many friends I have made online and then gone on to meet are, there is no one as near and deeply beloved as Robert, whom I began to know as an online friend first and then met in person nearly two years ago. As our second “anniversary” approaches, I find myself thinking a lot about how we came to meet and all that has happened since. Life is so amazing…

    • Kathy says:

      Nicole, I think you have met more on-line friends than anyone I else I know. Hands-down, you win! OK, I am a runner-up. But not anywhere near the winner yet! And thrilled to remember the story about how you met Robert and watching your relationship unfold and grow. I think that Skype is the next best thing to meeting someone in person. You get to know or intuit nuances in a way that is missing with only the written language. So good to see you emerging after your own time with silence.

  5. holessence says:

    Incredible — I absolutely loved reading that story. And the photographs. How darned cool is that?!

  6. jeff v says:

    Howdy Kathy and fellow blog readers. On our last visit to Greater Skanee we had the pleasure of dining at The Finns twice. They did a great job rebuilding and decorating. If any of you are ever in the area it is a great little place for lunch or dinner . The Finn’s pizza is very good. The day we were there, there was a couple who had performed at the Aura Jamboree ,.They provided live entertainment , I believe they were up from Milwaukee. Kathy , you must have walked right past our place ( the Snoring Dog) on the way to Your Lady of Lake Superior. They also have crosses representing the Rosary as well. It was fun to read your post and see the pics of the Finns, thanks

    • Kathy says:

      Jeff, OK that is SO cool that we might have walked by your place. I can’t remember the names of the camps and cottages, but I’m sure we might have. Do you know the Binkley’s? They are relatives of Mary and her family. I can’t believe I am meeting all these people from your neck ‘o the woods in Skanee. Haven’t been down that road in years and all of a sudden… Lots of people have been raving about da Finns, so it was high time that we all stopped in for a meal. Barry had written an article about it for the paper when it opened, but we hadn’t carved some time to stop by. Thank goodness Mary said they were going to stopping! It was a perfect opportunity to drop by.

  7. Dawn says:

    So many of my blogger friends I feel like I’ve met, including you. I hope to meet many someday…once I have accrued some vacation days!

    • Kathy says:

      We WILL meet one of these days, Dawn. If only for lunch or something. I don’t know about our upcoming trip downstate, though, because Kiah will be along and there will be more family activity than normal. It is interesting that we FEEL like we’ve met some of our blogger friends already, though.

  8. Brenda Hardie says:

    Hi Barry! Hi Mary and family! Nice to meet you 🙂 Hi Kathy! Thank you for introducing us to your friends…it’s always a pleasure meeting them. This post was so enjoyable to read…I love the pictures, especially all the bright and smiling faces in the last picture! Wish I could be seeing the moose picture and the Stations of the Cross you mentioned…curse those anti-photography moods! I am so glad you have recovered from THAT mood!
    Yes, I have met many of my on line friends and it has been quite an adventure that has brought much delight! My absolute favorite meeting though has been with Rick…we met on line and talked nearly every day for 2 years before finally meeting and now it’s been 3 years and maybe..just maybe it’ll be a forever thing! It’s what we both want!
    And someday Kathy..I hope to meet you!

    • Kathy says:

      Jeez, Brenda, I started answering this–twice–two days ago–but the phone was ringin’ or somethin’ was happenin’ and there was no time to get back to commenting. I’m so happy to hear about you and Rick! Both you and Nicole have met your loves in the on-line world. Very cool. Hoping to meet you, as well!

  9. Tracy says:

    Great story! Isn’t the world a wonderful place? Love meeting new friends. 🙂

  10. Tammy says:

    I have now met three fellow bloggers and am scheming to meet the fourth and fifth! I believe that we’ll be friends for a very long time.

    • Kathy says:

      Tammy, you sound like a girl after my own heart! There is something about meeting a blogging friend in person that solidifies the friendship, too.

  11. Robin says:

    Greetings to Barry, and to Mary and her family! Looks like a wonderful time was had by all. 🙂

    I’ve met several fellow bloggers. So far it has always been a great experience.

    I used to have anti-photography moods. I wonder what happened to them?? I could use a good month or two without the camera just to get caught up with all the photos I’ve been taking over the past few months.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Robin, I remember that feeling of absolute excitement to QUIT TAKING PICTURES after my year-long commitment. I couldn’t wait to quit blogging for a while. A break, just a blessed break. It took ten days before I couldn’t stand it any more and jumped head-first back into the blogging universe. 🙂 (So proud of you, by the way. You ROCK!)

  12. Barbara Rodgers says:

    I had to look up “prevaricate”! What a great-looking bunch of people! Not yet have I met an online friend face to face…

    • Kathy says:

      Isn’t prevaricate a marvelous word, Barbara? I will use that word at every opportunity because it’s so enticing. Perhaps we shall meet one of these years. I do hope so!

  13. Well I met my husband, on-line, does that count?…lol…actually in three weeks I am meeting someone that came across my blog due to a topic I had written about that connected our lives. We have had several phone conversations and emails. So after Labor Day we will meet. Technology makes our huge world so much smaller and so very interesting! Plus technology makes the long winters in the Midwest bearable. 🙂
    Thanks for bringing us into the gathering at the Finn’s Tavern.

    • Kathy says:

      Meeting your husband online certainly counts, Jane! That scores multi-points. It will be exciting to read about the meeting with your blog-friend. I agree with you–remember our long winters before the Internet? Endless! Glad you enjoyed “da Finns.”

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

