There is fungus among us. Really.

Fungus

Among

Hello, everyone!  We’re back home in the Upper Peninsula.

We traveled approximately (according to Kiah) 1,260 miles since last Thursday.  We returned last evening from visiting relatives in Lower Michigan. 

I’ve barely sat down to breathe since arriving.  You know.  Work by 7:10 a.m.  Help fill the woodroom.  Taxes.  The garden overfloweth.  The suitcase remains unpacked.  The first load of clothes have been washed.  Company hath visited. 

us.

These pics are old ones.  Old fungus.  Passe fungus.  Fungus which has now shriveled and dropped away.  Fungus from July 30th, to be exact.  It bloomed in yellow splendor, living on a waning soft maple tree next to the old scrap pile.  (Barry says the tree has been waning since we built the house back in 1983.)  It’s so windy today the maple might collapse, thinking (in its dying confusion) that a tornado hath struck.  Trees are–as usual when the wind howls–collapsing all around in the woods.

Sigh.

Really. (Anyone want to guess what THIS is?)

I have a bunch of travel photos lounging on the computer, but no time to download and edit.  Not yet.  The zucchini takes precedence.  It demands to be made into zucchini relish–but I’ve lost the recipe.  Must search on-line for a replacement recipe. 

Why is summer always like this?  In the winter time we yawn and wonder what to do next to fill our long white days.  In the height of summer there is often no time to breathe, to relax, to get bored.

I am pondering fungus.  The gift of fungus.  The challenges of fungus.  Sometimes in life we celebrate wildflowers and wild raspberries.  At other times in life, we need to focus in on the beauty of fungus and discover its gifts…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to There is fungus among us. Really.

  1. Jessica says:

    Beautiful fungus photos. We are definitely synced today. The best part is that we were blogging at the same time. Funny. I have a few more fungi to share but I think I am going to hold off on them until Monday. I want to see if I can ID them first. I am glad you made it home all safe and sound.

    • Kathy says:

      Thanks, Jessica. I thought we were totally in blogging sych! Do you have any idea the name of this fungus? I spent maybe five minutes attempting to discover it, but don’t have any more time. Any identification assistance would be appreciated! Good luck with your own ID’s.

  2. holessence says:

    Kathy – Love the photographs. I think last one might be a powder-sugared covered dessert of some type…

    • Kathy says:

      OK–I’ll tell you (and anyone else reading comments.) It’s a LEMON I found in our refrigerator!! Can you imagine? lol–it did look interesting, though. Shhh…don’t tell my mother.

  3. I will render a guess about the last photo…produce from the garden that is no longer fresh, but in fact…moldy?? Perhaps a tomato? I hear you about not having time to download photos or keep abreast of all that is going on during the summer. I am currently stacking folders in the computer to ponder later, like in the winter, as you mentioned.
    Speaking of pondering, your focus on fungus is pretty funny….

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Jane! I just typed to Laurie (up above)–the mystery photo is a lemon I found in the back of the refrigerator. That’s how busy we are lately! No time to use everything in the refrigerator…yikes! Glad to hear I’m not the only one who is busy. We just have to keep reminding ourselves of those long winter days…

  4. wolfsrosebud says:

    Algae was on the top of my list this week… LOL.

  5. Susan D says:

    Glad you and the bebs are back safely and bustling about, as ever. No guesses from me. Just a welcome-home hug 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I am likin’ the feel of that hug, Susan D. Kinda need one these days. In the middle of attempting to can zuchini relish for the first time in years. We have lots of zuchini. Want any?

  6. Brenda Hardie says:

    Welcome Home Kathy! I’m so glad you and Kiah arrived home safely, especially after all that traveling! Barry has his surgery soon right?…like the 26th maybe? Tell him I am praying everything goes well and he gets relief from the pain real soon.
    I loved your pictures of the fungus…especially how it looks from underneath! I’m guessing the last picture is of something from the garden that has become more fungus!
    My garden is overflowing as well…ahh the bounty! I am so grateful for the gifts that nature provides.
    Sending you warm thoughts and best wishes…and a friendly hug 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, Barry’s surgery has been postponed. He didn’t pass all of his physical and now needs to take additional tests before the knee surgery. We’re not having the easiest of times these days. You know the old saying “when it rains it pours”? I’m thinking “When fungus grows, it really grows.” Thanks for your sweet well-wishes.

      • Brenda Hardie says:

        Oh no Kathy…I will send some prayers up for you and Barry. Sure hope things look up soon for you….I do know what you mean…times are hard for me right now too…in more ways than one. I just keep praying and focusing on one day at a time…sometimes one hour at a time.

  7. Karma says:

    You managed to sell me on the beauty of winter this year, Kathy, but I don’t think you are going to work your magic with fungus for me! 😉 As a little girl, I was afraid of mushrooms – really! As an adult, the fear is gone (LOL) but I get no feelings of beauty from them; not surprisingly, I am not a big mushroom fan in my food either.

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, is this a challenge? Awww c’mon…here is your Spiritual Assignment for the near future. Find some mushrooms. OK, fungus will do. Find ten minutes when you don’t have to do anything. Look deeply at the shrooms or fungi. Deeply. More deeply. Keep lookin’ deeply until you can feel the intricate beauty start to rise to consciousness. At this point, stop. Do it again the next day. And the next. I guarantee you’ll start to fall in love with the little fellas. Maybe not their taste–but the beauty they are offering in their mushroom-like glory. Amen. (smile. don’t shoot me!)

  8. bearyweather says:

    There was less “fungus” in my woods this summer … not sure why except that is was a much hotter summer. The activities of summer keep us alive through the winter months …. because I am sick, I have had to turn my back on them all … hoping I am not at a disadvantage this winter because of my summer boredom. I am glad you had a safe trip.

    • Kathy says:

      bearyweather, I think of you and hope you are doing better. It’s hard to be sick. At this point, you and Barry could probably have a good conversation about the challenges of living with hardship at times. I don’t know if there is less fungus/mushrooms in the woods or not this year. Even though I haven’t been sick, I haven’t been walking there as much as usual lately. It would be interesting to see if this is a widespread phenomonen.

  9. sonali says:

    Nice photos, Kathy! Its a wonderful thing, that we must appreciate and treasure the beauty that lies within a fungus, which usually goes unnoticed. Somewhere this gives me a deep meaning. I hope you had a wonderful time with Kiah. My regards to her.

    • Kathy says:

      Sonali, Kiah is going to be here until mid-September–hurray! She’s the Maid of Honor in her friend’s wedding on September 9th (which is our anniversary, too, by the way.) We had a wonderful trip downstate. (By the way, I think there’s lots of meaning in the fungus. Nature is always teaching us by revealing our deepest selves…)

  10. That’s a beautiful mushroom! I loooove mushrooms… the edible kind (and pictures of the non-edible kind).
    No idea what the mold covered thing in the last picture is. Some kind of fruit?

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Michaela (I always want to call you Ms. Click, lol)! I’m a mushroom-liker and sometimes a mushroom-lover. I used to hate them with a passion as a kid, but you know how taste buds sometimes grow up. (Used to hate mustard, too, and sauerkraut and—) The mold-covered thing is, I am admitting, a lemon from the back of our refrigerator. Way too busy these days!! Hoping my mom doesn’t read these comments.

  11. Claire says:

    Lovely pics.The last one? some kind of puff ball I am wondering. Glad you are back safely.

  12. Tammy says:

    That first one actually looks like a chanterelle. mmm.

  13. Welcome home, with your fungus. Great photos, they are – I’ve had things like your lemon in my refrigerator on occasion too. Those are the things that hide in the back of the drawer or shelf, remaining unseen for too long.

    • Kathy says:

      Glad to hear you’ve had similar experiences, Carol. I like to keep up on the odds & ends in the refrigerator and cupboards, but sometimes they get away on you. 🙂

  14. Barb says:

    I want the last photo to be a popcorn ball with a bit of caramel on the top – but I guess it’s some type of mushroom (sigh – I haven’t had a popcorn ball in a LONG time). You’re so right about summer. I’m trying to enjoy every waking second of it, knowing that all too soon the snow will fly. I liked your fungus photos, Kathy – I’ll ponder fungus today.

    • Kathy says:

      It’s not a mushroom, Barb, it’s a lemon covered with mold, believe it or not! (I figure mold is a close relative of fungus. Hence the connection.) Do you have lots of mushrooms and fungus growing on your Colorado mountainsides?

  15. Martha Bergin says:

    Beautiful mushrooms! Well, until I read that it’s a lemon, I thought it might have once been a fig. But, basically, no fair. When one of my cut lemon halves that I wrap & put into the fridge molds even a little, it smells AWFUL and I’m looking all over asking “WHAT is making that FUNKY smell???” And here you go with an entire lemon almost at the state of readiness to go through that door to another dimension, and not a word about the smell. Gee. Some people don’t have to endure the olfactory aspect of lemon decay, I guess…

    • Kathy says:

      Hmmm, Martha, you make such a good point. Where is my smeller when I need it? (Truly, I do not have a good sense of smell. But others in this household do. So the real question is: where was THEIR sense of smell? smile…) I’m not sure whether to congratulate you on your fine sense of smell or offer condolences.

  16. agnes says:

    Your pictures remind me of this public bathroom I once stopped at in some long forgotten corner of South East Asia a few years ago, where mushrooms were growing out of the wall between the tiles and the grout.

    • Kathy says:

      You are lucky, Agnes, to have been able to witness mushrooms growing in a bathroom in South East Asia. I would like to see them someday… OK, maybe not in a public bathroom, but in SE Asia. I have a niece living in Singapore, so there’s hope. Thanks for stopping by this fungus blog.

  17. Pingback: Back to the Woods « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Thank you for reading. May you be blessed in your life...may you find joy in the simple things...

