Nothing can take away our memories

Mother-daughter splashing while sitting on dock

These photos come from our trip downstate last week. 

My daughter, Kiah, and I traveled “below the bridge” to what Detroiters call Northern Michigan.  It’s a 550 mile trip east and south to reach the Thumb of Michigan. (Look at your left hand with the thumb on the right hand side.  That’s your visual of what lower Michigan looks like.) 

We went to the very tippy-tip of the Thumb for Cheeseburger Weekend in Caseville, but before that we stopped at my other brother’s cottage in Bellaire.  All these pictures come from Intermediate Lake.

You remember Kiah, don't you? She's the daughter part of the splashing duo.

I grew up going up north to Intermediate Lake–from the Thumb–starting at age thirteen.  Took driver’s training on the backroads of Antrim County. 

Went roller skating with my little brother in downtown Bellaire one night in the 1970’s when a tornado decided to spin across the lake.  My mom, dad, brother and a friend dove beneath the heavy kitchen table to watch hydroplanes and lawn chairs flying outside the windows. 

We roller skated on in town, oblivious.  A neighbor had to drive us home in his pickup truck because too many downed trees filled our lane.  Luckily, no one was hurt. 

Sunset approaches over Intermediate Lake in northern Michigan (Lower Peninsula)

The night Kiah and I spent on the lake last week was peaceful, serene.

We bought Chinese take-out and drank some wine overlooking the docks and boats.

Rays of sunset

The cottage is now for sale.

We drank in the beautiful sights, attempting to hold the memories of the past close to our hearts.

We silently said, “goodbye”, in case the cottage sells. 

Docks and boats in morning fog

Before we left, I realized that nothing can ever take away our memories.  They remain in us always. 

Who knows, in this economic climate, whether our cottage will sell?  Perhaps I will re-visit you again, dear cottage…

Reflections

I’ve been feeling very quiet again lately.  Nothing much arises to say.  I try to think about what to share on a blog–and nothing surfaces. 

But who knows?  Maybe tomorrow a million words will come dancing through… smile

Symmetry

 I think there is often a perfect symmetry in life–times to speak, times to be quiet.  Times to buy a cottage, times to sell a cottage. 

Beneath the boat

Reflecting a lot on the preciousness of life, of health, of family, of friends.

Blessings to all of you…

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Nothing can take away our memories

  1. Robin says:

    It seems to be the season to start reflecting on life, healthy, family and friends.

    Your first photo made me smile. I almost giggled. It’s such a fun shot. Okay, maybe I did giggle. The Rays of Sunset photo is stunning and almost took my breath away. It’s the kind of scene I wish I could step into. Actually, I enjoyed all your photos (as usual) for one reason or another, but those two stand out for me as I type this comment.

    It looks like such a beautiful place. A good place to visit in memories. 🙂

  2. Dawn says:

    Yes it’s hard to let go of the physical remnants of our memories. It’s as if the memories are stored there. Everywhere you look you remember more…and you’re afraid if you let it go you’ll forget. But the most important memories aren’t there in the physical cabin. They’re in our hearts, just as you say. So sometimes it’s OK to let the concrete things go and just keep the memories. Not that it’s easy…just that it’s OK. Hugs to you. Glad you had that last time there.

  3. Lucienne(Alluvja) says:

    What a beautiful pictures, such serenity.
    What amazing places to travel with Kiah!

    Talking about memories.
    I remember at one point I needed to leave Amsterdam, take a little distance for a while because it seemed every streetcorner had a memory carved into stone.
    Which brings me to the memory of a very dear beloved one that popped up widely in my heart every time I walked along a certain canal.
    That special person happened to came from the Detroit area, St Clair shores and I visited him once in Warren, Mi.

    So yes, you are guessing right, thats the memory that pops up for me now, reading your blog!
    But this is all such a long time ago but then again weren’t we …
    talking about memories ?

    Hugz,
    Lucienne

  4. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – Your pictures are lovely and I just wanted to join you looking out at that sunset! How great that you and Kiah could build that memory together. Your words on reflection reminded me of two of my favorite places that I have not seen in 30 years. I was told there were so many changes and it seemed best to keep my memories undisturbed. I agree with you about words having their own plan on when they want to appear. In the meantime, your photos bring great joy to my heart.

  5. holessence says:

    I love the playful “splashing” photograph. Serene “sunset approaches” comes in at a very close second. Kathy, whether you speak, are quiet, or somewhere in-between, I always appreciate your energy.

  6. Sybil says:

    Memories. I am sorry you are losing your dear cottage …

  7. Susan D says:

    Poignant … beautiful … you.

  8. Dawn says:

    Beautiful – I’m glad you had that time together at the cottage.

  9. bearyweather says:

    The rays at sunset is extra beautiful … in my opinion. Looks like you had a great trip.

  10. Carol says:

    Gorgeous, most especially the sunset and, of course, the daughter part of the splashing duo. Then there are the reflections – I do so love reflections. It would be hard to let go a cottage in that setting, but life moves on and the good thing is that memories are forever.

  11. The place has a very quiet and contemplative feel to it even with the splashy beginning. 🙂

  12. sonali says:

    Oh Nice! seems like you both have had a blissful vacation trip. Nice captures. The symmetrical incidences of life are truly, amazing! you never know. Have a good time in the coming days with your daughter and build up a mountain of sweet memories 🙂

  13. Claire says:

    I felt that I came with you to this cottage which obviously means so much, We all have places we have saved in our heart and life moves on the cottage sells or is dismantled and is no more for you BUT no none can steal the memories they are your forever.

  14. The sunset and fog pictures are beautiful. Sounds (and looks) like you had a wonderful time with your family!
    I’ll have to look at a map to see how close we came to these places 🙂

  15. john says:

    Keep writing, keep taking pictures, memories do not live forever. I am reminded of that each time I go to the nursing home and try to have a discussion with my father. It is like reminiscing with a stranger, so I began taking pictures with me and discussing the pictures with him. It is often like reading a picture book to a child, but for that moment we make a connection. I am so grateful for the photo albums my mother started soooo many years ago.

    As for Kiah, her looks belie what lies underneath. She looks so innocent like a vestal virgin, yet she is filled with the wisdom of a world traveler and one who has plied the environs of New York. I have no idea where the strength came from inside of you and Barry to let that angelic child go forward alone in this half tilted world we live in. I guess that’s why God gave me three boys.

  16. Reggie says:

    Those images of reflections are matched by your reflective thoughts… beautifully balanced.

  17. Kathy says:

    Thank you, everyone, for joining us on this trip down “Memory Lane”. We will all miss the cottage when and if it sells. But life moves on…my prayer is to be present with what life is offering today and not too attached to what “could be” or “should be”. I appreciate your presence and kind words here on the blog. Would love to sit and splash with ALL of you on the dock. Smiling at that image of 32 (no, make that 36 with Kiah and myself) splashing footsies…

  18. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I so appreciate your prayer. And your blessings. Yes, life moves on but I must say how perfect it would be to spend a few moments sitting on your dock, getting lost in that gorgeous sunset, splashing footsies …..

  19. Brenda Hardie says:

    Hi Kathy, I just returned from my sister’s and have been catching up on my reading. I love the splashing footsies of mother and daughter 🙂 makes me want to join you! Kiah is a beautiful young woman…I can see you in her. And your rays of sunset picture is stunning! Simply breathtaking, where no words are necessary. Just quiet reflection. I’m sorry the cottage is up for sale but am grateful you were able to spend one last time there with Kiah. Precious memories….

  20. Kathy says:

    thank you, again. It was a gift to be able to say goodbye to the cottage–that Kiah could be there to say her goodbyes, too. (Our son, poor Christopher, was wishing he would have the opportunity as well, but that probably won’t happen. And Barry can’t take an extensive car trip until after his knee is fixed…) Appreciate all your thoughts and sharings.

  21. Bonny says:

    Memories are good, however, I beg to differ. Health, age, alzeihimers (Sp) do take away the memories….at least the ones that can be spoken about. As I belive that they are tucked up in the brain…unable to be tapped.

  22. Kathy says:

    So true, Bonny…even our memories can be taken away, lost to us, or unable to be expressed. Until that might happen to any of us, we’ll gently hold on to the precious memories which still rise. Thanks for visiting the blog, Bonny, and hope you are well.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

