Sometimes life seems like a jigsaw puzzle with several pieces missing

Puzzle girls

Sometimes life passes smoothly and the pieces of your day or week or month or year fit together easily.

Other times it feels like you can’t find which pieces match. 

You’re trying to put together two odd-shaped pieces and they don’t connect.

Our family has been experiencing some health challenges lately.  Barry couldn’t have his knee surgery last week, as scheduled, because he flunked his pre-op physical.  They discovered an irregular heartbeat, so he’s been doing the Doctor Circuit since then.

(Oh, and don’t forget the Dental Circuit.  He broke two teeth in the midst of all this.)

I could tell you all the details, but it would take too long to type.  Just wanted to share with you that we’re trying to put together the jigsaw pieces of our days, one at a time.  I know that many of you are doing the same.

I may be blogging less than usual with all this doctoring.  Then again, who knows?  I may be blogging more than usual, just to take my mind off this.

We’re glad Kiah’s at home with us.

Kiah and I are about to put together our second puzzle.  The first was 750 pieces.  The second appears to be 1,000 pieces.  It’s a serene scene of a wooden rowboat, an old dock and a cabin on a lake.  It’s called “Autumn at the Lake.” 

Peaceful…

Love, Kathy

Now, which piece will fit in next?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Sometimes life seems like a jigsaw puzzle with several pieces missing

  1. Lissa says:

    I’m sorry to hear of your missing pieces. I don’t know you but i read every blog and i just adore your life and family. I will send blue and green greetings from my neck of the woods in Ashland, Wisconsin.

  2. Brenda Hardie says:

    Wow..I just pulled a puzzle out to work on with my 11 year old son..it’s going to be a very hot and humid day tomorrow and since the pool has gotten icky, we might just spend the day downstairs working on the puzzle. It’s also a 1,000 piece puzzle with a very detailed picture of Noah’s Ark..I love the artwork. The animals and wildlife have such exquisite detail. I’m anxious to start…might even begin tonight after supper. Cooking chili in the crock pot today.
    Kathy, I’m sorry about the delay in Barry’s surgery…I will pray that his other issues get resolved real soon so he can proceed with the surgery and finally feel relief from the pain.
    It’s been a struggle here too…with many pieces not fitting together right, but I am putting my worries and anxieties in God’s very capable hands.
    Enjoy your puzzle time with Kiah…post a picture when the next one is done…it sounds lovely and maybe we could all benefit from some serenity in our days. Sending you gentle hugs from MN 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, it’s kind of synchronistic. When Kiah and Chris were little we had a Noah’s Ark puzzle–maybe 35 or 50 pieces–that we worked on together all the time. We had a bit of a challenging day the other day. Barry had an episode during the middle of a funeral–of all things–and thought he was going to faint. We had to walk out just as the sermon started and go to the hospital and spent maybe two hours at the doctors. He has an MRI scheduled for Saturday and a heart conversion (they shock the heart to attempt to put it back in a regular beat) next week. Thanks for your prayers. I feel utterly confident that this in God’s good and capable hands. And to remember that again and again…

  3. Cindy Lou says:

    It was so good to see you guys last week! God willing, your pieces will fall gently into place soon -until then, take good care of yourselves!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy Lou, it was so good to talk with you last weekend. (That IS when we saw you, wasn’t it? lol…I’ve lost track of the days.) Good to share with you. I always love when we run into one another. Hope your school year is a good one.

  4. Sorry to hear about the roadblocks… sometimes these bumps in the road come at unexpected times. Glad the trouble was discovered, and hopefully he’s on the road to getting it taken care of!! ♥

  5. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – Am so sorry to hear about Barry’s challenges. Tell him I think our planets must be spinning and out of control. I’ve been going through the same thing after being very sick for about six weeks. Multiple doctors, clinics and finally the ER and then to a short hospital stay. Am wearing a heart monitor as we speak, though I’m sure it will be fine as other tests were okay.. A couple “incidents” they call them on this end. It is a real pain and though I love my docs, I think we’ve “got to stop meeting like this.” Prayers your way and I truly hope his condition improves. Like him, the problem I went with had nothing to do with heart.
    I LOVE the picture of you and Kiah! How wonderful that she is able to be there to support you both. Two beautiful shining faces!

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, I guess we can so understand and sympathize with your challenges, too! Yikes, what is the world coming to? (The answer cannot be: we are getting old. No. That can not be it.) I feel for you and pray for your quick recovery–that the doctors can quit meeting with you–and that your problems are easily fixed. Barry just wrote a column for our local newspaper in which the nurse was holding his hand. He added: “and it was not romance.” Funny guy. Love you, Susan D! Know that we’re cheering for your recovery.

  6. Dawn says:

    Hope it all works out – real life sometimes just demands attention. Be well xoxo

    • Kathy says:

      Gosh, Dawn, it does demand attention, doesn’t it? Although, since some craziness at the beginning of the week, things have calmed down around here. It feels like we have a plan now. Hope it all works out. Thanks for your caring.

  7. Jeanne Marie says:

    The Universe is reclaiming us one piece at a time…. 😀 😀 😀 You both are so beauty~full! Marjolein Bastin is one of my favorite Nature watercolorists. Love seeing you here!

    • Kathy says:

      The Universe is re-claiming us one piece at a time! Pondering this one–and loving always the larger view of the jigsaw puzzle where we are no longer a single piece, but instead everything we perceive. And beyond!

  8. Elisa says:

    Hugs and kisses!

  9. Dawn says:

    Sad to hear of the temporary challenges Barry faces…I hope they can figure it all out so he can get that knee fixed. Hang tough. We’ll be thinking of you!

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, those words “temporary challenges” sound good. It’s important to remember, I think, that challenges usually don’t last forever. We’re hoping it all gets figured out soon.

  10. Barb says:

    Hope all the pieces soon fit together smoothly – though sometimes you must twist and turn them a bit first. Glad Kiah is there with you, too. Good Luck to Barry.

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, isn’t that true? Not only do we twist and turn those pieces to get them to fit in, sometimes we try twelve pieces before one fits. We’re so glad Kiah’s home, too. She’s been so helpful–and she does dishes a lot, too. 🙂

  11. Reggie says:

    That is suuuuch a beautiful photo of Kiah and you, Kathy – the love between you is just shining and shimmering around you. 🙂

    I too hope that your medical problems will be sorted soon – hang in there!

    • Kathy says:

      Reggie, I suppose it was kinda odd putting a pic of Kiah and I puzzling in a blog about Barry and his knee problems. But it all sorta just happened. He took the picture, after all. Our new puzzle is going together rather quickly. Thank you for your wonderful words.

  12. Marianne says:

    Kathy, I empathize with your family’s health challenges. Have lately gone through a serious situation myself. Family is so important at times like this. Fortunately, my mom was able to be with me through it. Hope all works out for the highest Good and Barry’s health improves.

    • Kathy says:

      Marianne, I know you’ve had many health challenges and have made the most of many painful days. I truly applaud you for your strength and positive attitude and pray for a miracle which will make you pain free. The author of the book “The Presence Process” actually healed himself of a terribly painful condition by working with deeply unconscious repressed emotions. Confident that our highest good is being manifested. Thank you.

  13. Claire says:

    What a great photo of you and Kiah sharing and being together, love is all around you both. Best wishes to Barry and hope all the problems are resolved soon without too much hassle. Claire x

  14. I am all too familiar with those like speed bumps in this road called life. Hang in there, you have many many people praying for you. It’s times like these that make you realize what your real priorities in this life are.

  15. P.j. grath says:

    Health challenges can take up a lot of psychic energy. I know you and Barry will be good to yourselves and to each other as you travel this rocky stretch of road. Hugs!

    • Kathy says:

      I hope we can handle this gracefully, Pamela. There are so many positive role models all around. People who handle illness and stress on a daily basis and still come out on top. Thank you.

  16. Sybil says:

    1,000 pieces !!! Put it away ! Don’t do it ! A puzzle of that size is not a calming thing — at least not for me.

    Failed his pre op test eh. Should have studied harder ?

    Hope all is well now …

    Sybil

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha Sybil–should have studied harder. Good one! Actually–guess what?–we’re already done with the 1,000 piece puzzle. Kiah thinks she’s addicted to putting together puzzles now. Think we’ll quit while we’re ahead! Thank you for your well wishes.

  17. Ohh, I hope those “missing pieces” turn up and it all works out well in the end. Thinking of you…

    • Kathy says:

      Michaela, guess what? The missing piece–from that first puzzle–which was loaned to us–and we thought we had lost–turned out to be found at the original owner’s house! I am now convinced that all the puzzle pieces are in order. 🙂

  18. Robin says:

    I’m sorry about the health challenges and hope the puzzle becomes easier to put together soon.

    • Kathy says:

      You should have seen how fast we put that second puzzle together, Robin. (Well, Kiah mostly did it.) We thought some of the pieces were missing but then perceived how so many of the puzzle pieces looked alike and just needed a little last-minute adjusting to make everything fit.

  19. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I’m late reading this but want to say that we’re thinking about you and Barry. Many blessings and much love to all of you…..

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, he’s going in for his brain MRI tomorrow and a procedure attempting to fix the irregular heartbeat on Tuesday. We’re hopeful… Thank you so much for your good words and caring heart.

  20. Barbara Rodgers says:

    You and Barry are in my thoughts, Kathy… The doctor/dentist circuit is a well-known path for Tim and me — I send you love, blessings, sympathy and many hugs. It’s good to know Kiah is there with you. That’s a beautiful jigsaw puzzle! I love Marjolein Bastin — I buy her greeting cards all the time — had no idea there were puzzles… Take care, my friend.

    • Kathy says:

      I know you and Tim are no stranger to the medical circuit, Barbara. I hope Barry and I handle it as well as you both do! (Actually, we had a little bit of practice with my gall bladder surgery earlier this year.) I didn’t realize that the first puzzle was the work of Marjolein Bastin. So beautiful!

  21. Karma says:

    Hope all is well for you and Barry soon, enjoy your time with Kiah.
    May you find all your puzzle pieces fit!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi, Karen. We are surely enjoying Kiah’s presence with us at this time. It’s kind of crazy around here–something new every day! Thank you for your well wishes.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

