The fullness of life: salsa, MRI, corn, spider, woodpile, bee

I'm sure you remember my Significant Other, Barry. With corn. Just grilled.

Isn’t life grand?

I love life.

No matter what the TV or radio or national news says.  No matter how many pessimists announce that the world is going to hell in a handbasket.

I think our life is a magnificent one, a life filled with unlimited possibilities.

May we enjoy it to its fullest–may we recognize the gift we’ve been given!

Corn. Husked. Fresh from grill. Ready for butter and salt. Yum!

OK, here’s our update from our Little House in the Big Woods.

As you can see, we’ve been grilling corn on the cob.

We’ve been canning salsa–even though you don’t see pictures.  Trust me on this one.  Hot salsa.  Barry added the jalapenos.  I don’t even want to tell you how many.

Spider on web between electric wires on garden fence. What kind of spider IS it?

Barry had his brain MRI this afternoon.  He just shared his interesting experience in the tube enclosure as we sat on the deck.  His heart echocardiogram and conversion is scheduled for Tuesday in Marquette.  What a few weeks this has been!

O Goldenrod! O late August! O early September!

A strange spider hath appeared on the garden fence.

Our neighbor’s guinea fowls escaped and wandered on the road as we drove by.  I decided to venture down their long and winding driveway to advise the neighbors of the escapees.    They were not surprised. 

Dried lupine plants. The prettiest dried lupine I've photographed in three years. Look at her beauty!

Late summer goldenrod and aster continue to bloom.  Lupines and daisies and other mid-summer flowers dry up.  The male hummingbirds prepare to travel south, buzzing wildly at the feeder, swooping their male competitors.  The females eye them lazily, unconcerned at male antics.

Studebaker filled with newly-split wood awaiting unloading. (Yep, Kiah and I surprised Barry by unloading while he was at work.)

Barry and I split wood–any spare moment we have.  We split a pick-up load of wood and then Kiah helps unload it in the wood pile.  We know that winter awaits.  We’ll be ready.

Bee works on puzzle. Honest.

This morning we awoke to discover that our wooden bee was working on our latest puzzle.  Our bee–I know some of you have met him before–does very odd things.  Sometimes he dangles above the computer, or hangs out in the refrigerator.  This morning he was working on the puzzle. 

Courtesy of our daughter, we suspect.

That’s all.  A Day in the Life.

Thank you for stopping by.  I’m sure your days were filled with as many strange and interesting observations and inclusions.

Happy Labor Day weekend!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The fullness of life: salsa, MRI, corn, spider, woodpile, bee

  1. Brenda Hardie says:

    Barry looks great in the picture Kathy! I pray everything turns out good for him. The corn looks delicious..just like when my Grampa used to make it. And that’s a great picture of the spider but I am not a fan of spiders…it’s ok if they stay outside but I don’t like them inside the house. lol…like they listen…lol My flowers are finishing up their summer too…except the morning glories which seem to thrive on the cooler weather…they continue to wind their way in and around and through the fence. Oh and the marigolds are still blooming happily…bringing brights spots of range and yellow along the fence. Your picture with the Studebaker and the woodpile is the one that caught my eye though….it is a scene like I envision for life in the woods. It is my favorite picture today! And my your little bee has been busy! He needs to come visit me and help me with my puzzle! 🙂
    Kathy…again I want to thank you…for sharing bits and pieces of your life and your thoughts with us here. You live the kind of life I yearn for and every time I read your blog it brings me closer.
    Peace and Love to you, my friend in the north woods ♥

  2. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – Great pictures and you have me drooling for some of your roasted corn. Looks wonderful. I, too, loved the wood pile and it brings up memories of good smells,crackling fires and toasty mornings in the north woods. Am Glad Barry’s MRI is behind him and am crossing toes, eyes and fingers that all goes well on Tuesday with his other tests. I imagine it is one time you didn’t wish the weekend to be so long. Many prayers your way. You leave me with a giggle at your busy bee and mischievous daughter. Hugs to all in the north woods (except that spider)!

  3. Karma says:

    Love your day in the life! You always manage to make this style of post look and sound so interesting and I think I should do a post like that and then I don’t! Your bee reminds me of a little stuffed orca whale that used to appear in funny places in my home after my husband (then boyfriend) had left after a visit.
    Very best wishes for Barry and his tests.

  4. Cindy Lou says:

    Good to see Barry’s smilin’ face right off the bat! :} Looking none the worse for wear either. Your woodpiles remind me of all that needs to be done here, too – too many other projects going on this summer!

  5. I’m so glad it’s almost dinner time here, because that delicious looking corn made me HUNGRY!

  6. Robin says:

    Your love of life shines through your posts, in words and pictures. 🙂

  7. Kathy says:

    Barry and I read and re-read each of your comments at least six times. Sorry I’m so far behind in responding to comments! It’s hard to keep up sometimes. (And sorry it’s a group reply.) But life is CRAZY around here lately. But good. OK, not always so good. But it’s always interesting. Thank you for adding all your wisdom.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

