Did you love school or dread it?

Our kids--in the 1980's--boarding school bus for Arvon Township School

 Most schools in Michigan start Tuesday.  The first Tuesday after Labor Day.

Can you smell the crayons in your memory?  Feel the sharpness of your newly-sharpened pencils?  Do you remember what it felt like to gather school supplies and shop for school clothes and start school? 

I remember the great excitement in August every year as we scurried over to the elementary school in Yale to see who would be our teacher during the upcoming year.

Barry remembers the end of precious summer freedom as the annual August apocalypse.  (Even the thought of school shopping was an emotional disaster.)

I remember it as Heaven.

What is your memory?  Did you love school or dread it?  A little of both?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Did you love school or dread it?

  1. I loved school, learning, growing, contemplating.
    I also loved August—-school shopping,State Fair, then school…..
    I was shy and had a hard time relating sometimes….probably because I was taught to finish work first, then fun and giggles. Well guess what, boy is that a bunch of bunk. I guess because if I always thought that way I would never have any fun,,..hugs

  2. Nicole Smith says:

    a little of both, but usually more on the excitement of another school year, which usually meant a completely new school (I went to 10 different schools from K through to the end of high school).

  3. Sybil says:

    I don’t remember liking school much. I didn’t pay attention and quietly flew under the radar. I suspect I had ADD and certainly, I lacked confidence. I never felt I fit in. I’m far more self-assured and confident now I’m 60 !

  4. Judson says:

    I had an undiagnosed learning disability, so I found school to be pretty traumatic. Teachers considered me lazy, if not stupid. I was viewed as a classic underachiever. Still, I managed to get through it and eventually graduated from college and earned a masters degree. I don’t many fond memories of school as an activity at all, but I find that I did enjoy the friendships I developed in school, many of which are still going today.

  5. Back then, I looked forward to the beginning of the school year, and enjoyed it for about the first week. Then I was ready for summer again! Now, my son can’t WAIT to go back – he actually enjoys it all year long!

  6. Charlotte says:

    I loved going back to school. This week I and my fellow classmates of the class of 1961 will meeting for our 50th anniversary of high school graduation. I’m looking forward to seeing all who are coming back to town for the festivites planned.

  7. Marianne says:

    I had mixed feelings about school. The most memorable at this time of year was in going back to school in new “back to school” (Fall) clothing that I sweltered in because the temps were still in summer mode. That was over forty years ago, I wonder what it’s like now. Haven’t done back to school shopping in many years. lol!

  8. sonali says:

    Kathy, Did you write this post in the memory of The Teachers Day? Today being celebrated as the teachers day, I’m missing my old teachers so much, reading some feeds on facebook from old friends about our teachers and stuff. Reading your post made me even more nostalgic! I miss those wonderful days, the first day when the school re-opens, the crayons, the new books, their smell, the sports, the singing classes, and so much more !! I cherish the memories of those golden days made even more beautiful by the good old teachers!! 🙂

  9. P.j. grath says:

    Hated shopping for school clothes, loved shopping for school supplies. Loved going back to school for many, many years, all through graduate school, but am now very happy NOT to be going back to school–but on vacation!–when September comes. Love your mention of the smell of crayons. Mmmm!

  10. Claire says:

    I was a teacher for over 25 years and the end of August always brought with it that sinking feeling of the start of term/new year i.e.same for kids and teachers!! I no longer teach so the beginning of Sept is fine by me now. I actually really loved the job.

  11. Susan D says:

    Loved school; still love school and all things related to school. This tme of year marks the beginning of my “new year” 🙂

  12. Karma says:

    Definitely some of both. I did well in school and enjoyed learning, but I also loved the freedom of summer – as I still do today. Probably part of the reason I work in a school today.

  13. I never liked school…. the older I got, the less I liked it.
    Both my girls LOVE school (and I’m so happy about that), although I suspect that for the older one, it has a lot to do with getting away from her little sister for a big part of the day 😉 They’ve been back in school since August 22.

  14. Robin says:

    Dreaded it, unfortunately. I still love this time of year, though. 🙂

  15. Cindy Lou says:

    Loved going back to school and all that went with it – except the clothes shopping and I still don’t like that!?!? I still like going back to school (this is my 31st as a teacher) but it’s bittersweet now. Don’t want to let the summer go, but am excited to see the kids! If I could afford it, I’d still be taking classes as I love, love, love being on the ‘other side of the desk!’ Guess that’d make me a life-long learner, hey?

  16. Kathy says:

    How fun that this post brought out all your thoughts and feelings about school! Barry and I enjoyed reading every one of these. (He’s an avid comment reader, too.) Our first day at Arvon, where I’m the part-time Business Manager, was Tuesday, but I couldn’t be there because of Barry’s heart procedure. So yesterday I finally got back there. It is such a joy to see the shining faces of the little ones. To see some of them holding hands as they skip into the classroom. Yep, I still love school…

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

