Back in the bathroom again…

Announcing: ELVIS!

OK, folks, we’re heading back into the bathroom.

Remember when we kept visiting public restrooms with my little Sony Cybershot camera back in the olden days, circa 2009, during my Opening the door, walking outside blog?

There are SO many interesting sights to see in public restrooms, aren’t there?

And no, we will not be showing any toilet shots.  That would be tacky.

Wow, this is really risque!

I quit obsessing about revealing the interesting art in public restrooms when I bought the old Canon Rebel about a year or more ago.  (OK, maybe I got over the illicit intrigues before that.)

You can’t just drag a big old Big Girl’s Camera into the Big Girl’s room.  It’s just not done.  You can slip the little digital into your purse and extract it for an exciting photo shoot, but you can’t do that with a heavy black long telescope lens. 

No.  Tacky.

Lovers on the bathroom wall

Except, guess what I did Saturday in Carmelita’s Restaurant in Calumet? 

(Gasp!  You DIDN’T!)

Yes.  The Canon Rebel accompanied me to the bathroom.  Barry’s eyebrows shot up in disbelief.  You could tell he wasn’t prepared for something that wild & crazy.  Luckily, it was late in the afternoon.  The dinner crowd had not yet assembled. 

The Canon was safe from jeers and indignation.

Sing me another one, Pedro...

What a lovely array of photos in the restroom, don’t you think?  An announcement of an Elvis show.  Southwestern beauties in love.  And another Southwestern–perhaps we shan’t label her a beauty–on a horse clothed only in her bra.

Isn’t that perfect bathroom art? 

Oh Scarlett! Oh, Rhett!! Oh Virgin of Guadalupe!!

Thank you for the accompaniment.  You men should consider yourselves lucky.  Your first view of the Ladies Room, I am certain. 

You know, we should have monthly blogging photo contests.  Wacky 3rd Wednesday or Freaky 4th Friday in which we all simultaneously post our most exquisite photos of the art in public bathrooms.  Nothing tacky, though!  These are respectable blogs.

Just kiddin’.  I’m not carrying that big old camera into any more public restrooms.  Ever again.  Honest.

Unless I’ve had a glass of wine.  In which case, in you double dare me… 

 

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Back in the bathroom again…

  1. Brenda Hardie says:

    😀 I double dare you! 😀
    I have to admit that these are pretty unusual choices of art for the bathroom, definitely something to ponder. I don’t even want to think what’s on the walls in men’s bathroom!

  2. Reggie says:

    You are soo funny, Kathy.

    I also feel awkward and self-conscious taking my big Canon Camera into public restrooms with me – but sometimes, they are sooo worth photographing! 🙂

    If you ever visit us in Cape Town, we will take you through to a little town called Darling, just to the north of us, to see a show by one of our most famous South African performers, Pieter-Dirk Uys (aka Tannie Evita Bezuidenhout) at Evita se Perron (http://www.evita.co.za/), and I will double-dare you to take photos inside their restrooms. I haven’t had the courage yet! In fact, the whole place is just fabulously photogenic!

  3. jeffstroud says:

    I think these are great! and I carry my big old black camera in the mens room with me and everywhere else I go. Where would I leave it?

  4. susan says:

    Hi Kathy! Thanks for the giggle this morning! You are so right – strange art in women’s bathrooms but your captions are hilarious. It never occurred to me to take pictures. Hubs can tell when I saw something in a bathroom that is “unusual” just by the look on my face. I usually get a “Ok, so what’s up in the ladies room?” laugh from him. Since I always have my cell phone with me, I’ll have to remember next time to snap a picture!
    Hugs,
    Susan

  5. My first thought is to leave the Smart Alec comment, “Wow, they have indoor plumbing in Calumet now? They’ve come a long way since I was there last.” (You may delete my comment, I won’t be offended)

    Tacky art knows no boundries, we have enough of it down here in “civilization”.

    Some one should really suggest to the owner of Carmelita’s Restaurant that they know this blogger named Kathy who takes excellent photos of the area which would look much nicer on their walls than the tacky art that they have now and that would fit in very nicely with the buy local movement. The problem is, no one likes to be told that their taste in art is tacky, which is why tacky art survives.

  6. Carol says:

    I find the choices owners of public places make for their wall decorations, in the restrooms or out, quite interesting. Questionable quite often. I wonder: do these choices reflect their taste, or what was on sale?

  7. I’m with Jeff – I carry my camera with me everywhere. If it’s draped over my shoulder when nature calls, it accompanies me. I’ve never taken photos of bathrooms though, but there are a couple I should. Hmm. I can see a Wacky 3rd Wednesday or Freaky 4th Friday coming up 🙂
    PS – I wish my wordpress account would recognize me as “Heather” instead of just “rapidcityrecess”! I might have to dig around in the settings…

  8. Susan D says:

    Oh, how I LOVE the art … it’s alive, gaudy, beautiful in all its splashes of color and choices of scenes and subjects. Would that more public restrooms were dotted with such splendor instead of the bland standard flowers or outdoor scenes.

    How fun and funny you are! Love that you took these shots and shared them with us. I know there will be more, double dared or not, because you’re “you” … marvelous!

  9. holessence says:

    Kathy – You’re like a boomerang. Just when we think we’ve got you safely outta there, WIZ BANG! You go flyin’ right back in!

  10. Jane Davis says:

    Kathy-I just found your blog after reading a post on the Redford Union Class of 1972 FB page…and I am so glad I did! My favorite place in the world is the Keweenaw and since I cannot be there fulltime I can live it through your eyes and words. You are, in my eyes, so very lucky to be living your dream-I envy you! Here’s hoping you continue sharing your observations and photos for a very long time!

  11. Karma says:

    You are funny, Kathy. I have a picture in my head of you proudly carrying Ms. Rebel off to the ladies’ while Barry remains agog at the table. I can honestly say that my Andre Rebel has never taken a shot in a public bathroom (though he has certainly been nestled in my purse-converted-to-a-camera-bag!) When I find myself in the situation of not wanting to draw attention to myself with Andre, I’ve been using my phone. Pictures aren’t as nice, but they will often do! 🙂

  12. Well, I guess if you don’t know where else to hang your art, put it in the bathroom?
    One memorable bathroom for me was at a winery… I think it was McAlester, Oklahoma??… I can’t remember the art (if there was any) on the walls, but the sink was filled with river rock. It looked really pretty, and I wish I had gotten a picture of it.

  13. Barb says:

    Do you remember those photos of Marilyn for my 45th wedding anniversary, Kathy? Yup – public bathroom when we were at brunch. Old ladies don’t have to worry about what they carry into bathrooms – nobody’s looking. Come to think of it, though, I may have had a Bellini! (PS After all these years of marriage, Bob doesn’t even raise an eyebrow.)

  14. Marianne says:

    Looks like a very interesting bathroom for sure. When I saw the title of this post I wondered if you had the same kind of Sunday as I (hehehe).

    Great pictures in the bathroom.

  15. Claire says:

    What posh toilets you must visit. I would feel a little conspicuous carrying a camera into a loo! Great pictures. 🙂

  16. Kathy says:

    You guys are SUCH good sports! To think you’ll even follow me into a public restroom. **grin** I am glad you enjoyed or didn’t enjoy the photos and humor. That you all seemed to approve, even though–like me–some of you are hesitant about carrying your camera into the “loo”! Jeff, I like your viewpoint, though. What else you going to do with your camera? Thanks again, everyone.

  17. Sybil says:

    I double dog dare you !

  18. Robin says:

    lol! Sounds like an interesting idea. I’ve been known to carry my camera into public restrooms. I’ve found some of the best graffiti in the loo. 🙂

  19. Kathy says:

    Tee hee…you guys are the best. I am glad you liked this bathroom sojourn. It was extremely fun to do! No one seemed too offended, people seemed amused…yep, it was fun. I did hear a double dare from Sybil, so may just have to find myself in another bathroom one of these days…

  20. flandrumhill says:

    These are such beautiful pictures. What a great idea someone had to hang them in the women’s washroom.

    I loved your captions. I can’t help but wonder what inspired an artist to put Scarlett, Rhett and a grotto of the Virgin Mary in the same painting.

  21. Kathy says:

    I can’t begin to understand what inspires artists! Or what inspires bathroom owners. LOL!

  22. Val says:

    In the first flush of enthusiasm, she threw open the door! It was the bathroom! The bathroom called to her – take my picture, take my photo, make me famous!

    And so, she did.

    Your post made me smile, thank you Kathy. 🙂

  23. Colleen says:

    OK Kathy, I double dare you and I’m thinking that you’re a person (a very special person, mind you) who doesn’t turn down a double dare 🙂

  24. Kathy says:

    “In the first flush of enthusiasm!” “someone who doesn’t turn down a double dare”…thanks for smiling and pausing to flush–I mean comment. smiling, too!

  25. Dana says:

    These photos are awesome, Kathy! I especially enjoy the one with the Lady of Guadalupe. What the heck??

    • Kathy says:

      tee hee, Dana, you NEVER know what you’ll find in public bathrooms! I am thrilled that you are becoming bold enough to share these potty secrets with all of us. **big grin**

  26. Okay, this is great, Kathy. Found this particular post over at Dana’s blog. I apparently hadn’t started reading you yet when you posted this. Too funny!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  27. Pingback: If you lose electricity click here for toilet flush expertise « Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

