Sing it again, Judy… Sing it again, Iz…

Somewhere over the rainbow...

Somewhere over the rainbow
Way up high,
There’s a land that I heard of
Once in a lullaby.

Sunset
Somewhere over the rainbow
Skies are blue,
And the dreams that you dare to dream
Really do come true.

Between earth and sky
Someday I’ll wish upon a star
And wake up where the clouds are far
Behind me.

Dreams

Where troubles melt like lemon drops
Away above the chimney tops
That’s where you’ll find me

Serenity

Somewhere over the rainbow
Bluebirds fly.
Birds fly over the rainbow.
Why then, oh why can’t I?

If happy little bluebirds fly
Beyond the rainbow
Why, oh why can’t I?

“And I think to myself–What a wonderful world.”

And if you love the version of Somewhere over the Rainbow by Iz (Israel Kamakawiwo Ole’) please click: http://youtu.be/V1bFr2SWP1I    You won’t be disappointed.  Like Judy, he was so beloved by so many people.

Both Judy and Iz are “Over the Rainbow” now. 

Well I see trees of green and
Red roses too,
I’ll watch them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world

Well I see skies of blue and I see clouds of white
And the brightness of day
I like the dark and I think to myself
What a wonderful world

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people passing by
I see friends shaking hands
Saying, “How do you do?”
They’re really saying, I…I love you
I hear babies cry and I watch them grow,
They’ll learn much more
Than we’ll know
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world

Someday I’ll wish upon a star,
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney top that’s where you’ll find me
Oh, Somewhere over the rainbow way up high
And the dream that you dare to, why, oh why can’t I?

 

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sing it again, Judy… Sing it again, Iz…

  1. OM says:

    Yes, the first time I heard Iz sing this, I realized I was “sensing” a lot more than auditory energy; there are subtle energies being transmitted as well. Quite an experience!!

    And “Wonderful World” is one of the best songs EVER !!!!

    Therefore, I love this blog with the pictures you have lovingly chosen which carry their own energy!!
    Thank you, Kathy! Love your new “decor!”

  2. john says:

    A wonderful post, just what I needed today. Blessings to all

  3. Brenda Hardie says:

    Beautiful! The songs, the artists, the photos, the photographer 🙂 all beautiful and very much appreciated today ♥

  4. Susan Derozier says:

    Thank you for making me stop to take this all in. I’ve always loved his version of the song and now it resonates to finish my day with a smile. I agree with Brenda on all counts!

  5. suzen says:

    Great love and energy here! The song, well, not many better than that! Your photos are just glorious too. I’m trying to emblazon in my mind as many of the photos without snow as I can – just to remember what things look like when it’s gone! 🙂
    Hugs
    SuZen

  6. Sybil says:

    Impossible to read those words without hearing the music in my head … and I say to myself, it’s a wonderful world.

    On the first image, “between earth and sky”, the golden sunlight on the far shore is quite lovely.

    The photos really do justice to these lovely songs. Thanks for putting a song in my heart …

  7. Dawn says:

    Lovely….both songs, the photos, everything.

  8. jeffstroud says:

    First off Kathy, these have to be some of the most beautiful photographs I have seen it a long time! Some of your best! Well done! and pairing them with Somewhere over the Rainbow, no matter who sings this song, was a wise choice! Iz’s version is truly amazing!

  9. Colleen says:

    Kathy, such a beautiful video. I love his music…..such simplicity and grace. And echoing Jeff, surely some of the most beautiful photos. Heart-touching and memorable.

  10. Marianne says:

    Thanks so much for sharing Iz’s video, Kathy. He’s beautiful!

    Stunning photos!

  11. I loooove that song! ♥
    Beautiful clouds…. and so pretty, how the rainbow seems to illuminate the trees.

  12. Karen Casebeer says:

    You made my day, Kathy. Thanks so much. Karen

  13. The version sung by IZ is one of my favorite songs of all time – so beautiful!! Your photos are stunning, makes me want to be there right now…. relaxing and listening to the water…. 🙂

  14. bearyweather says:

    I have liked that version of the song, too. Your first picture is great … a rainbow of treetops.

  15. Susan D says:

    Gawwwgeous photos and voices! Thank you, thank you!

  16. jeff v says:

    A few years ago my niece put together a photo montage of my father. She dubbed Iz’s somewhere over the rainbow into it. I cant listen to it without getting a lump in my throat. thanks for the link and the fond memories. jeff

  17. Helen says:

    Lovely pics – I love the spots of red and yellow leaves in the first one 🙂

  18. holessence says:

    Kathy – I rarely buy music from iTunes (or any place, for that matter). However, Iz’s version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow is a song that I purchased and listen to on a regular basis. I love the photos you included here!

  19. Kathy says:

    Thank you all for your kind comments and thoughts and appreciation of Iz and Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Hope today you think “What a wonderful world…” Blessings!

  20. Robin says:

    Beautiful post with beautiful photos and beautiful songs. 🙂

    I love Iz’s version. I like Eva Cassidy’s version of Over the Rainbow, too.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

