Deeper and wider seeing in 2011

Silver River. Silver snow.

Time to show you some more old friends. 

(Photos can be old friends, too, you know.)

Old car in woods

Scott Thomas has posted a photo assignment for us here at his blog Views Infinitum. 

Please feel encouraged to play along and post your “best” photos of 2011 on your blog.

Fountain, Central Park, NYC

I am afraid you may learn something–like I did.

Another day, another fountain. NYC.

I couldn’t begin to choose “best” photos, although some certainly stood out more than others.

Perhaps you, too, will learn that it’s easier to pick “favorites”. 

Old man pets dog

To choose photos which speak to your heart and memory.

Scott did say we could choose photos that had a special memory for us.

Yoga deer

All of these photos fill me with delight.

It’s amazing what the camera will capture.

Ladybug on the web of life

I never really think that it’s “me” taking the pics.  It still feels like the camera is taking the pictures and I get to be amazed to see what it decides to share.

Pow Wow boy

Looking back at old photos from old blogs, I am interested to see how pictures that now look–well–not so professional looking–once captured my heart beyond belief.

There is an innocence when you first begin taking photos, when you first begin seeing the world with different eyes.

As we “grow up” photographically, sometimes we begin to assess the photo in more discerning or judgemental ways.

Little girl at 4-H fair

Sometimes I long for the days of photographic innocence when my eye wasn’t as keen, as appraising.

Other times, I am grateful for developing some skill, for a better camera, for learning how to use photo-editing software.

Goose

I am grateful to the camera for teaching me better how to “see”.

Lake at sunrise

Learning to truly be present with our world, to see in more detail, can be a lifelong process, can it not?

Lake at sunset

Wishing us all that the weekend brings us deeper and wider seeing, more delighted seeing, more grateful seeing.

Glad to be on this Planet Earth with all of you!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Deeper and wider seeing in 2011

  1. Susan Derozier says:

    I am so glad you picked the photo of the old man and his dog. That was another that had popped up in my mind. These take me back as well but the last one of the sunset on the lake is a winner! So beautiful and peace-giving!

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Susan D. I think of you often and wonder how you’re doing. I so honor that you actually took the time to think about what photos you liked. You are a special lady.

  2. I have enjoyed seeing you “grow up”, Kathy. Thanks for playing along!

    • Kathy says:

      Scott, thank you. I remember the first time you told me the camera wasn’t focused (after more than a year or two of photography?) and I thought, “What’s he talkin’ about?” That was the first time I really SAW that the camera could focus in different places and we just needed to help it along. I am really thinking about buying that filter lens. Soon. Yes. Before the next sunny vacation. Thanks for all your help through the years.

  3. holessence says:

    I’m torn between the girls dancing in the fountain and the goose. If this were a horse race it would be a tie!

    • Kathy says:

      Which can run faster, the girls dancing or the goose? Ha ha…just kiddin’. When I put the goose in, Barry shook his hand and wondered why. What a goose he is! (And you’ve just proved it.)

  4. Brenda Hardie says:

    Oh my, how to choose! Have to choose 4 today because they all speak to me! First is the old man and the dog…I love that one! It captures that joy we get from our pets, the gentle comfort. Next is the lake at sunset…soooo peaceful. I love the little girl in pink just because she is adorable and her pose caught my attention. And the ladybug picture for it’s natural beauty. Sometimes we forget to notice the little gifts all around us and this one reminds us of that. Thanks again for sharing more of your photo children…they are all wonderful! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, it’s interesting how many of liked the old man and the dog. Like you, I feel it’s so important to look around and notice the incredible gifts that surround us in each moment. Thank you for YOU!

  5. I remember many of these 🙂 Great choices!
    Scott gave us the wrong assignment, it would have been easier to choose the worst 😉

  6. Marianne says:

    Kathy, all of the photos are lovely and especially captivating for me are the last two.

    Glad to be on this Planet Earth with you, Kathy! May you have a delightful weekend.

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you so much, fellow blogging friend and earth traveler. I like those two lake photos, too. Hope you are having a wonderful weekend. Not too cold, yet, hopefully.

  7. Dawn says:

    Lake pictures, especially sunset stir my heart. The ladybug is beautiful too. Nice work.

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Dawn. We are lucky to live near the lake. I remember years ago when we moved to Texas for a stint and there were no more fresh breezes blowing in from the lakes. You live next to water so long you sometimes take it for granted.

  8. Kiah says:

    You tricked me! At first glimpse, I thought it was snowing!

    • Kathy says:

      You silly girl! It only snows in NYC! This year, so far, anyway… It’s in the low 50’s today and deliciously sunny. But fiercely windy. Hope you are enjoying your day off.

  9. Heather says:

    I also really love that photo of the man and his dog, and I loved reading about when you found him and gave him a copy. It’s hard to choose a favorite when so many evoke such strong memories. Thanks for sharing yours!

    • Kathy says:

      Good afternoon, rapidcityrecess! I mean Heather. I’m sorry…I am glad you were able to figure out how to change your name here. Now I will always remember that you are Heather. Wondering if you’re going to play along? You have lots of great pics, too.

  10. sonali says:

    Beautiful pictures Kathy, though I’ve seen some of them before in your blog, I too love to see them again. Pictures make perfect memories. They look so fresh, giving a sense of being alive in this beautiful world 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hello, Sonali. I am glad that you enjoyed seeing them again. It was fun to figure out which were “favorites”. A walk down Memory Lane. Joining you with that sense of joy of being alive in our world!

  11. Pingback: Taking the challenge « Sahlah

  12. Carol says:

    I cannot pick. I choose them all. Photographic maturity only counts to a point – what really matters is what calls the heart.

  13. bearyweather says:

    I remember your yoga deer, the most original pose I have ever seen in a deer. 😉 Don’t remember your interesting lady bug, though … I am into nature, so those are my favorite.
    Looking back at our old photos is an education. Only a small smidgen of the photos that I took and ranked as “great” 6 years ago remain with that honor. And, some of them are special to me, not because of their beauty but because of their content. (like the man and the dog). Thanks for sharing your favorites.

    • Kathy says:

      I’ve never seen a deer pose like that either, bearyweather. The ladybug photo was all by itself in a blog sometime in July. You’ve been taking photos for six years? You are three years more experienced than I am. I like going back into the old first-year photos and editing them just a little. Then they really start to spruce up a little. Are you playing, too?

      • bearyweather says:

        No, I don’t think so this time. My favorite pictures are constantly changing. Over time, I would have to say they would be a few of my baby bear pictures (of course) … but, there is always a new favorite .. like my first frost picture on my latest post. I have been taking pictures for much longer then 6 years … but, that was when I started teaching photography classes, I took it much more seriously and put more study into it. Digital cameras have made photography 100% easier … I love that I can take a ton of pictures experimenting/learning and see the results immediately and for free.

  14. I’m partial to the old car in the woods, the yoga deer, and the elderly man petting his dog. You’ve taken some amazing pictures on your creative journey this year, Kathy! Something for everyone to love…

    • Kathy says:

      Barbara, thank you for liking the old car in the woods. It may not be as professional as some of the others, but I adore the green leaves which look like they are emerging from the past. It has been an amazing creative journey these past few years. I am so grateful for the opportunity. Do you think you would like to do this assignment?

  15. suzen says:

    I love, love, love your “friends”! It’s in that present moment we see all the glorious details of creation. Thank you for sharing your gift – you really get it!
    Hugs
    Suzen

    • Kathy says:

      Suzen, thank you, a thousand times. I’m trying to share the present moment in this blog–the joy of life–and sometimes it feels like I’m succeeding and other times…well, it’s a work in progress. Your encouragement is so appreciated!

  16. ladyfi says:

    What gorgeous shots – all lovely in different ways. I can see why you couldn’t choose among them.

  17. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I am very grateful to be on this Planet Earth with you and remember (very well) many of these wonderful photos 🙂

    Your creative journey has truly been an inspiration to me and I’m so grateful you have shared it. It helped me realize just how much I was actually missing, so many details, the smallest moments that are often the most beautiful of all. I have always been a bigger picture kind of person, a sort of close one’s eyes-feel the energy-take it all in at once-type. It has been a joy to reconnect with my camera. Thank you!

    • Kathy says:

      Really, truly, Colleen? I am thrilled that this creative journey has helped you see even deeper. I have always loved the bigger picture. It’s been quite a journey to learn to see the small things, and to realize the world in a grain of sand.

      • Colleen says:

        Hi Kathy, I was reading this wonderful post last night and when I tried to post this comment it wouldn’t go. Decided to let it rest and just say hello instead. It’s funny that they’e both here today 🙂

  18. Mats says:

    Great series, thanks for sharing!

  19. These are lovely photos. I love the yoga deer and old man and dog best.

    Have to say, you made me laugh out loud when you said on my blog yesterday, that your remember so little of your childhood, you’re not even sure you had one–too funny!

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad to have made you laugh, Kathy. I am really serious about this. Perhaps my childhood was a past life? Smiling…and happy that you stopped by.

  20. penpusherpen says:

    Isn’t it strange Kathy, how a captured moment in time, can create such an emotive response in us all. We use our eyes every day to look around us and ‘see’ all there is, but a frozen instant image brings a chance to really ‘look’ and sometimes an added memory surfaces… Sometimes happy and sometimes sad, but all through the wonder of a photo… Thank you for sharing your ‘old friends’ it was a pleasure to view them. xPenx

  21. Kathy, I love all your pictures because they all meant something special in your life at a particular moment. The “Fountain in Central Park” reminds me of the movie about Isadora Duncan. I simply love the pictures of the two little kids, boy and girl. Of course this precious moment between this elderly gentleman and his loyal friend is priceless. All of your pictures are worth looking at again and again. Thanks for sharing.

  22. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I am very grateful to be on this Planet Earth with you and remember, very well, many of these wonderful photos 🙂

  23. Beautiful – every one of them!! This was a fun assignment, to go back a year and relive all of those memories! 🙂

  24. Barb says:

    I remember many of these photos – yours often tell a story. The man and his dog is one of my favorites. There is personality and love in it.

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, that man and his dog has a little extra spark to it–not because it’s photographically perfect–but because of that personality and love shining from the faces of both precious beings.

  25. A nice, varied selection of photos. Congratulations.

  26. Pingback: Assignment 16 Recap | Views Infinitum

  27. Nye says:

    I enjoy this set a lot, still smiling. 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

