the moon decided.

eye of moon

the moon decided.

curve

that it was a deep enough subject.

that it was worthy of revealing itself to you.

between

the moon winked.

it winked to you in dreams.

and in unexpected blogs.

goodnight, moon.

we’ll sleep sound tonight beneath your waning glory.

grateful for your shining light…and the light you reveal

as we waver between sunset and the dark silence of a

hushed november night,

revealing soft secrets beneath your

autumn tree limbs.

goodnight, moon.  sleep tight.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to the moon decided.

  1. Barb says:

    I woke to walk in the moonlight (inside the house) for the past 2 nights. The forest glowed with a white light as the snow reflected the Moon’s glow. I felt as though the Moon was pulling me from sleep to show me something important. (but- what?) Your poem also tells of Moon’s secret.

  2. Thomas Davis says:

    You make us homesick for the north woods. We live in New Mexico now, but we loved Lake Superior when we lived in Carlton, Minnesota and when I worked at Bay Mills Community College on the lake’s shore. We’re thinking of moving north again after I retire, but to Lake Michigan. Thanks for good words and wonderful photographs. We spent some time clicking through your blog.

    • Kathy says:

      Part of me has always wanted to live where you live. I mean, really wanted to live there. I am glad you visited this blog…and I am always amazed how and where we humans decide to live and flourish and retire. I feel Lake Michigan is waiting for you.

  3. Val says:

    I love your photos and words… but particularly love the second photo from the top. Love that curve of branch cupping the moon.

    • Kathy says:

      i love that pic, too, val. love the curve. it’s the inspiration the moon whispered in my ear when i wanted to turn away. have had your blog’s name sitting by my computer for a week. the moon wants me to visit you.

  4. Susan Derozier says:

    Beautiful photos and words Kathy. Last night I was so excited looking out at the moon that I called a bunch of people and made them go outside to look. Your timely connection again reminds me there are no accidents. We were all meant to notice and stop to celebrate the wonder of the moon.

  5. Sybil says:

    Made me think of the children’s book “Goodnight Moon”. I used to read that to my daughter when she was very young. It’s a quiet, peaceful, “go to sleep” book.

    Your post gave me the same warm, hugged feeling.

  6. jeff v says:

    The moon can move something as big as the oceans , so it shouldn’t surprise that it can also move a person.

  7. john says:

    Bella Luna! Bravo!

  8. Love the composition of these!
    I missed some amazing moon shots the other night when we were driving home. It was an overcast evening, but the clouds were thin, and the moon was a bright spot behind the clouds. I couldn’t help but stare at it all the way home (I wasn’t driving!), but unfortunately by the time we got there, it was too late to get the camera, because the clouds had disappeared.

    • Kathy says:

      it’s so easy to miss the moon’s winks and flutters and shiny roundness when we’re driving and those clouds are chasing in and around and through the orb. you’ve painted a lovely word picture though, and the moon is nodding appreciatively at your appreciation of her.

  9. Dawn says:

    Last night I took the dog out before we went to bed, a little after midnight. We were having a dark and stormy night, so no moon was visible…but I told Katie it was right up there anyway, watching over us even though we couldn’t see it. It’s been so beautiful these past nights that I’m sure it was just taking a well deserved break from being on stage.

    • Kathy says:

      it was a dark and stormy night. dawn and katie were straining to see the moon. the moon stayed hidden behind the curtain, snoozing in the dressing room, cold cream on her face. (wondering if you–or anyone–will read that last sentence. lol!)

  10. holessence says:

    Wonderful post. It speaks to the lunar part of my heart.

  11. Marcie says:

    Such a beautiful poem to walk alongside the full autumn moon. Lovely post!

    • Kathy says:

      the moon loves that you love to walk alongside of her, marcie. the lady in the moon is smiling and nodding her head, her eyes twinkling like stars.

  12. Claire says:

    Beautiful photos accompanied by such lovely words. A magical feeling on a night when the moon is full. X

  13. KathUsitalo says:

    Beautiful.

  14. Sweet dreams, lovely Luna. Smile kindly upon us while we sleep, safe in the arms of our Mother, Earth… Magical pictures, Kathy!

  15. Christine says:

    Dreamy la luna. Beautiful images. Hey what happened to you on FB??

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Christine. The moon is always dreamy, isn’t she? The moon whispered in my ear to toss Facebook to the stars and I did. **smile** I wrote a couple of posts here about my indecision about FB and eventual decision to let it go.

  16. Christine says:

    I just looked this up: this is called the Beaver Moon by some tribes.

  17. Brenda Hardie says:

    Beautiful pictures of the moon Kathy! I love love love the first one “eye of moon”…perfection! Saw the bright moon here too, stood at the back step and just soaked up the glow and wished I had a camera that could capture the moon. But perhaps the moon has other plans for me…perhaps it just wants me to stop for a moment and quiet myself in the soft glow, cherishing the gift of light at night. ♥

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Brenda. The moon only allowed herself to be “captured” because it was morning and enough light existed to compliment her natural beauty. I think the moon does have other plans for you. Feeling that sense of quiet and glow, and honoring both you and her…

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

