Once upon a Silver River

Silvery Silver River

Yesterday morning I drove on slushy slippery roads with six inches of icy heavy wet snow draped against the arms of spruce trees.

At the bottom of Townline Road the Silver River winds up from the Huron Bay, a ribbon of water heading toward higher elevations.

Every day I notice tree reflections in the river, but am usually scurrying toward town or work and do not pause to admire. 

By the banks of the Silver River

 

Yesterday, I paused.  Three vehicles passed as I photographed.  Where did all this traffic materialize?  Ahhh….Sunday.  People were headed to church, or maybe out to their hunting camps. 

Kathy was headed to the  beloved local coffee shop, Java by the Bay, for a cup of steaming hot Sumatra and a slice of “Monkey Bread”.  (At least that’s what I think it was called.  Sweet.  Delicious.)

Reflections on the Silver River

This morning I am headed off to my part-time job at the school, but have opted for a morning treat.  Am baking cornbread in a cast-iron skillet in the oven right now.  Drizzled perhaps with some honey from Christopher’s in-laws in South Korea–or some maple syrup from the hardy maples of our fair Lake Superior land. 

Morning snow along the Silver River

The skies are still leaden.  (These photos are not black-and-white, readers.  This is what the world looks like on gray winter days.)  Barry had to plow the driveway yesterday, clutching the tractor with his poor left knee, which is scheduled for arthroscopic surgery on Wednesday.  He said the plowing went well yesterday–not even excessive pain.

And Kathy’s car only slipped twice on the way toward the beloved coffee shop.  No vehicles sprawled in the ditch.  It was a good day.

Once upon a Silver River reminds me of a book recommended by Pamela at Books in Northport.  It’s called Once Upon A River by Bonnie Jo Campbell.  I want to read it, but haven’t moved beyond the stage of staring at the title every few days. The river world of the main character sounds enchanting. 

Someday, I will read this book.  Maybe typing the title and author will remind me next time a bookstore beckons.

OK, the cornbread is done!  Work at our two-room schoolhouse beckons. The property taxes I send out for my other part-time job may be ready for pick up this afternoon, or so says the county official. 

It’s a good life, Once upon a Silver River.

Once upon a Silver River

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Once upon a Silver River

  1. jeff v says:

    Wow! spectacular. We are heading to Marquette for Thanksgiving with the in-laws on Wed. and will run up to our place in Skanee to check things out on Fri. Was just wondering what to expect weather wise. Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Kathy says:

      Jeff, it may be mostly melted by the time you arrive. Temps forecasted in the 30’s and 40’s. Hey, maybe we’ll see you in Marquette as we drive home from the hospital! I’ll be out at the school for a couple of hours on Friday morning. If you see my car, ring the doorbell.

  2. kiwidutch says:

    Wow what wonderful reflections! the only downside is that brrr it looks cooooold!!!
    Our temps are dropping towards zero (C) with no snow at all, and I’m already having serious Summer withdrawal symptoms.
    Your trees look magical!

    • Kathy says:

      It’s easy to have Summer Withdrawal Symptoms, Kiwi. (SWS?) I am off for a walk soon, but only because the road is mostly melted. It gets harder and harder to enjoy walking on slippery roads. You would understand that.

  3. wolfsrosebud says:

    as much as the white stuff turns me off… do love your photos… also like the new format… brush off the snow shoes

  4. Brenda Hardie says:

    Mystical, magical and beautiful! Your pictures bring to mind visions of a fairy tale land, everything frosted in ice crystals and the reflections glimmering in the Silver River….breathtaking Kathy! ♥ You could definitely sell these prints 🙂

    • Brenda Hardie says:

      oh and yummmm….save a piece of the cornbread for me! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      It DID look like a fairytale, Brenda. Exactly. Maybe one of these days I’ll develop a photographer’s spirit and try to sell ’em. Unfortunately, I rarely get inspired enough to even have prints made. It’s fun enough to share the pics with you guys.

      • Brenda Hardie says:

        I think many of your pictures would make lovely greeting cards or note cards….beautiful! And some select pictures deserve to be framed. 🙂 that’s my lowly opinion ♥

  5. P.j. grath says:

    Good morning, Kathy. We have sunshine down here in Leelanau this morning after Sunday’s leaden skies, but your monochromatic pictures of the U.P. leave me breathless. They are so beautiful! Well, I must enjoy the sunshine today and wait patiently for snow and ice!

    My son is here visiting (as you know), and I have been encouraging him to read Campbell’s book, which is set down in his part of Michigan (Kalamazoo area). Like you, he said “someday” he would. Meanwhile, I’m looking forward to being snowed in this winter so I can dive into the river world a second time. I don’t think it’s possible for me to over-sell this book. It’s that good! And I’m sure Diane at Snowbound Books would be glad to get you into it.

    Have a good day, Kathy.

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, you have convinced me. We’re off to Marquette this afternoon and I will buy a copy if Snowbound has it. Thanks for the push!! I mean, gentle nudge. P.S. Have been repeating the word “monochromatic” and am trying to memorize it. For some reason, that word has escaped my lexicon.

  6. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – Your winter pictures from today and yesterday have left me speechless. So glad you took the time to stop, capture and share with us!

    • Kathy says:

      Speechlessness is good! The whole scene left me speechless, too. It is fun to share with all of you. Truly. I wonder if I would take pics if it wasn’t for all your appreciation.

  7. Heather says:

    The cornbread sounds so good that I might have to make some cornmeal pancakes to compensate! I am utterly spellbound by that first picture. I can’t complain though – we have beautiful clear blue sky after a couple of dark grey days. Hope your travels remain safe and Barry’s knee not-too-painful in the days leading up to his surgery.

    • Kathy says:

      Heather, the cornbread was GOOD. It was such an unexpected treat yesterday. I appreciate your kind words about Barry’s surgery. He’s had a rough time these last few months, that boy. He doesn’t recommend turning 55. I tell him the other alternative isn’t any better. LOL!

  8. Absolutely gorgeous reflections!! You’re making me feel like I need more coffee now…. 😉

    • Kathy says:

      I’m having a cup of coffe now, Holly. Followed by a walk, because the roads have melted enough and it’s not treacherous. We’re headed to Marquette after lunch. (I am excited. About going to Marquette. Not about the surgery, although we’re both happy it’s finally being done.)

  9. Ooooohhhhh!!! ♥ ♥ ♥
    Wish I could click my heels and wish myself there.

  10. Boy, the cornbread sounds good. Haven’t baked any in ages. But, gosh, Kathy, the snow is so beautiful. I just love the photos—————- Happy Thanksgiving!
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      Kathy, I wonder if Haitians like cornbread and what they might add to it to make it distinctive. Hmmm… I wish you the HAPPIEST Thanksgiving too, filled with lots of stories and creative words and a heart larger than a turkey. (Or a seitan turkey, if you’re vegetarian.)

  11. kanniduba says:

    Lovely!
    Almost makes me wish for snow….*almost* 😉

  12. Hula Burgers, girl — those shots are absolutely breathtaking!

  13. emaclean says:

    Wow! Those photos are fabulous! The b&w makes it seem extra cold out there! love, love, love.

  14. Kiah says:

    Thanks, Mom! Beautiful blog.

  15. dawn says:

    As I was driving to work today with sunshine (sort of) and warm temps (sort of) I heard that somewhere in the UP you got 14 inches of snow yesterday! I hope it wasn’t you…but then again, you just might enjoy it! I know how beautiful snow and rivers are…but it sure is nice to be reminded while sitting in my nice warm house with my nice green lawn…hope I haven’t jinxed myself.

    • Kathy says:

      We only had 5-8 inches around here, Dawn. It’s suppose to mostly melt this weeks as temps get (sort of) warm around Thanksgiving. Can’t imagine nice green lawn any more!

  16. Breathtakingly beautiful!

  17. Beautiful photography, thanks for stopping by my blog. Wonderful reflections!

  18. montucky says:

    Those photos are gorgeous! What a pretty place!

  19. Sean says:

    So beautiful!!! Very Narnian. All that’s missing is a lamppost…and a faun with an umbrella.

  20. melinda says:

    mmmm…. a day in your wintry life. 🙂

  21. Colleen says:

    Kathy, how absolutely beautiful! And hoping that your new walking boots have Goodyear-tire-type-tread……..

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

