Santa’s elf sending out 1,300 envelopes this week!**

Santa's elf...or maybe this is Santa...I'm not sure.

Gosh, it felt so good to be a Santa-elf last night!

I was beaming like Rudolph’s red nose.

It felt like–unexpectedly–the delight of Christmas re-ignited. 

It gets so tiring, sometimes, doing everything the traditional holiday way, the expected way. 

But to light up the Christmas path with something unexpected–something different–feels energizing and delightful.

A tale of two lighted Christmas trees

Thanks to all 21 of you who have sent your snail mail addresses.  Read yesterday’s blog if you’re confused and scratching your head. (My daughter and I have a bet.  I say 24 of you will request Christmas cards from this blogger.  She thinks 35.  If it’s more than 50, some of you may get New Year’s greetings.)

I have to send out 1,300 other envelopes first, so please be patient. 

Thirteen hundred envelopes?  you gasp.  Are you nuts?  How many Christmas cards do you send out, anyway?

Relax, readers.  The thirteen hundred envelopes are property tax love notes.  That’s one of my part-time jobs.  I send love-notes to township taxpayers twice a year.  The delightful little reminders are sitting on the kitchen table now.  The county actually prints and sorts and seals the bills.  My job is to further sort, envelope and stamp the remainder, and then to bring them to Linda at the post office by next Wednesday. 

Then people start sending their checks.  A few even send Christmas cards–the loveys.  I adore it when a taxpayer sends a Christmas card. 

We're not in the Upper Peninsula any more, Toto.

This morning I tried to meditate for the usual half hour, but the Feelings were still too excited about being a Christmas elf and sending out cards to the blogging tribe.  Finally gave up breathing by the woodstove and scurried upstairs to write another blog.

Ever since ditching Facebook two or three weeks ago–it has been that long, hasn’t it?–I have felt so much more dedicated to this blog.  Wonder how long this blogging spree will last?  Barry is predicting another blogging vacation in the near future.  He’s wondering how long I can keep up almost-daily blogs.

“As long as I feel like it!”  the Christmas elf says cheerfully.

I have not missed Facebook one iota.  Not one status update.  It has felt like a simplifying relief, an absolute sigh of delightful letting go.  Why did I debate this for so long?  Feel like it would somehow feel like missing out?  It hasn’t at all. 

And guess what?  A certain nephew even texted me on Thanksgiving.  Now that Aunt Kathy isn’t on Facebook, another form of communication sometimes happens. 

(Of course, Aunt Kathy didn’t get her Thanksgiving text until yesterday, as we do not have cell phone service in this neck ‘o the woods and have to wait until we reach the “big city” of L’Anse.  And Aunt Kathy didn’t recognize the number and texted in return–Happy Thanksgiving back.  Which bro sent this message?  And nephew quickly responded in high delight that it wasn’t a bro after all; it was HIM!)

He was my Thanksgiving elf.

So, ladies and gents, holiday lovers and frowners, I have a little surprise up my sleeve for tomorrow’s blog.

Our Christmas Tree. Circa 2008. Or earlier.

OK, here’s the scoop:

We’re having a guest blogger. 

It’s been way too long since our last guest blogger.

(This guest blogger is kind of like a Christmas elf himself/herself.  You may spend the rest of your day guessing, if you like.)

Please welcome him/her with open heart and typing fingers tomorrow.  It can be nerve-wracking to be a guest blogger, so get yourself in the Christmas spirit and stop by to say, “Nice to meet you!”

I shall see you again when the taxes are done.  Hopefully Tuesday or Wednesday.

**Ha ha, I fooled you, didn’t I? You thought I had 1,300 responses to yesterday’s blog request for snail mail addresses, didn’t you?  Isn’t Santa’s elf funny?**

P.S.  Thanks to daughter, Ki, for all the above photos.  I raided her photo file on this computer.  You know, for something unexpected.  (She always says I can use her pictures.)  Thanks for being a Christmas elf for me today, Ki!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Santa’s elf sending out 1,300 envelopes this week!**

  1. Glad you are enjoying your Facebook holiday. Without FB you may find yourself blogging daily for quite a while! We will see 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I never thought about it as Facebook “holiday”, Nicole. Gosh, I was thinking about it as a relationship where you know you must go separate ways and you kiss each other on the cheek and vow to be friends evermore–even though you can’t live together. LOL!

  2. ldsrr91 says:

    Wow! 1,300 envelopes, can you imagine if that were your bills? You would dutifully sit down and write each and every check, slip them into the envelope, lick it and then press it shut.

    That would qualify you as a genuine sticky-tongue-oddball for sure.

    That is a LOT of envelopes.

    DS

    • Kathy says:

      My goodness, it surely is! (Guess what? I don’t lick envelopes. If the envelopes aren’t already sealed shut, I use a wet sponge and seal them that way. Can you imagine how awful it would feel and taste to lick them all? We’d be poisoned for sure!) Thanks for visiting my blog ldsrr91.

  3. Elisa's Spot says:

    Remembering the santas that move, it is/was the santas right?

  4. Glad to hear you got such a great response yesterday. I will be sure to welcome your guest blogger tomorrow! Hope you have a lovely Sunday, Kathy!
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      Kathy, you sweetheart! You are so lovely. I am sure my guest blogger is sighing in relief already, happy that at least one person will welcome her/him with open arms.

  5. HolEssence says:

    It sounds like you need to gift your busy hands with a nice long soak in warm water with sea salt 🙂

  6. Well…. if this blog post, and these pictures don’t put any Scrooge into the Christmas spirit, I don’t know what will!
    Your excitement about sending out Holiday cards made me smile 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I was shocked at my level of excitement, Michaela. Barry said, “I can’t believe how happy you are!” (Wondering if this happiness will last through the entire holidays…)

  7. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy! I was just thinking about your wandering little Santas and snowmen last night! Was going to pull up that blog to read it again and see the pictures of the mischievous little fellas 🙂 I would love to be as clever so I could begin a new tradition…but then again I would need other willing participants. (key word…WILLING) Most of the people in my circle (family and friends) just aren’t open to anything that playful…makes me sad sometimes.
    I am so happy that you are feeling good about being away from FB. I have missed you there but am also considering just “fading” away from there…..although…..it really is my only way of communicating with such lovely people who really do brighten my days. ♥
    Wow, 1,300 envelopes makes me dizzy! lol
    Love Ki’s pictures 🙂 especially the close up showing the old fashioned lights, which I LOVE!!
    May your cheerful mood last the entire Christmas Season my friend! I love your smiling face! Hi to Barry too, hope he’s feeling better 🙂
    Oh and yes, absolutely I will stop by and welcome your guest blogger!

    • Kathy says:

      How fun that you remembered the Santas and Snowmen, Brenda. I wish that you had some playful people in your life…if not, you’ll have to be playful enough to enjoy yourself! I loved Ki’s pics, too. She does a great job. Glad to brighten your day. We need brightness when it’s oh-so-gray outside.

  8. Barb says:

    Dear Kathy, Please do NOT confuse me with a person who actually needs a tax notice!

  9. Robin says:

    Now how can I bah-humbug Christmas after reading this? lol! Have fun with those tax notices. 🙂

  10. Colleen says:

    Wondering if those cheeky but oh-so-delightful little Christmas characters are still up to their holiday hijinks. Or did they retire when the younger Drues left the nest……

    And speaking about delightful and delighted, thats what your latest blogs (and me) have been 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      They shall NEVER end their hijinks, no never, never, I swear, never…I have been enjoying these blogs lately, too. Wonder what’s shifted? Thank you!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

