While visions of snowplows danced in their heads…

Colorful snowplows

I’ll tell you:  writing our memoirs can be hard work.  Yesterday I blogged about Tasha, our half-coyote dog, and then dragged myself downstairs and lay utterly exhausted on the couch in front of the woodstove for at least an hour.

What is it about writing memories which both enlivens and tires us?  Why does dredging around in the past physically deplete the body–and yet feel so downright exhilarating?

Usually I write a blog–like this one–and it just flows out of the typing fingers.  No big deal.  I take pictures and it’s just “snap”.  No big deal.  But having to remember, to dig, to dredge, to excavate…folks, you’ll need lots of naps when you try it.

But it’s worth it.

Thank you for those of you who are enjoying the memories.

P.S.  These snowplows gleamed in the still-glass waters of the Portage Canal last Saturday evening before snow swirled up from the south and west.  I have an entire series of reflections to show you later.  Either before or after I muster the energy to reflect and create deeply from buried shards of memory in the archaeological dig of the mind…

I swear, folks, it’s more work than snowplowing.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to While visions of snowplows danced in their heads…

  1. jeffstroud says:

    The lines and color of this photograph are great! Well done.

    I can’t tell you what it is like to “write” Memoirs. But I just friend a guys friends story of friend which was totally awesome, moving, and exhausting !

    I have to say I have not caught up to your Memoirs as of yet but will soon!

    ((Hugs)))

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Jeff. I am glad you want to read the Memoirs! Will you pop some popcorn, too? (and you might want to try to write your own memoirs. It’s fascinating.)

  2. It is creating things from our bodies that depletes us whether children or stories or lives… being human, eh? Hugs

  3. Elisa's Spot says:

    The image makes me think of sails and how in slow motion clean snow peels forth from the plow. The bright blues and oranges are wonderful energy colors for me. I think that I will meditate upon this image and that memory thing daily for a bit, particularly when the news calls me to have my past be my present, again. Clearing the ‘road’ one flake at a time. (ignores thought: but where to put all of that snow?) hehe

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad you enjoyed this, Elisa. Your words made me look at the colors in the photo again. They do kind of look like sails. Where to put snow is a winter-long challenge.

  4. Writing about the past is the single-most exhausting thing I have done in my life. You have characterized it perfectly. And your title here and use of the plowing image is brilliant. Love your writing, Kathy!
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad to have that affirmation, Kathy. It IS so exhausting. (Now I’m a scaredy-cat to start the next chapter, LOL.) Weird how the plowing image and title danced together. Thank you, my friend.

  5. Carol says:

    Love the photo! It looks so “summer” despite the fact that it features snowplows.

  6. Colleen says:

    Good morning Kathy! I’m SO looking forward to reading the rest of your memoirs and memories. Hopefully tonight. And with that big bowl of hot buttered popcorn that was so vividly described and suggested……..

    • Colleen says:

      Appreciating what you have done here Kathy, telling your story in this way. Inspiring 🙂

      • Kathy says:

        Hugs, and sixteen more hugs, Colleen! I guess it was finally time, after all these years, to provide some more extensive background about Your Blogger. (And guess what? I had to have popcorn after writing about popcorn last time.) Bless you.

  7. truels says:

    I like your reflections – both here in this photo and in your memoirs!

  8. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Boy I don’t know what is that makes writing memoirs so tiring – maybe it’s the actual emotional excavating? Dusting and cleaning and sorting thru everything? I know what you mean by being tired by it though.
    Hugs
    Susan

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, I’m glad you understand about this, too, Susan. Phew, glad it wasn’t just me. We’ll have to have a Support Group for Memoir Writers. **grin**

  9. Dana says:

    Hi Kathy! I’m looking forward to catching up on some older memoir posts of yours and reading what you have to say in future posts. All the best! 🙂

  10. john says:

    Assuming your children will save these off, your Grandchildren and Great-Grandchildren will be forever grateful for you writing these things down. I would pay unimaginable amounts of money to have memoirs from my grandparents. I can research dates and places, but their thoughts, insights and reactions would be priceless.

    You and Barry are interesting people, you often take the road less traveled and have made decisions based on values, not because that is what everyone else is doing. I wish I had two people like you as role models when I was young.

    • Kathy says:

      That is–John–assuming we HAVE grandchildren and great-grandchildren. 🙂

      I would love to have memoirs from my grandparents, too. Oh so much…

      And yes. The Road Less Traveled. A very interesting road to take…

  11. P.j. grath says:

    Love the snowplows–. Keep the faith!

  12. HolEssence says:

    The colors in your happy photography makes me want to stand up and clap 🙂

  13. Brenda Hardie says:

    Oh I totally understand what you mean Kathy! The exhaustion from “excavating the past” but it is so satisfying. And I believe, worth the effort. Thank you for sharing the memories with us so far….I hope you will be able to continue as I am hooked now!
    Love your picture of the snowplows…it’s a bright and cheery composition of something so ordinary. 🙂 I’m standing alongside Laurie and clapping too! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I am so glad you’re hooked, Brenda. It makes the exhaustion so much more worth it, knowing that folks might like it. Let alone be “hooked”! Wasn’t it lovely how something ordinary gleamed so beautifully?

  14. DAwn says:

    My Mom wrote her memoirs long before computers. She gave us each a copy. They are wonderful stories of growing up on the farm ‘way back when.” Your kids will love to have these stories too.

    Love the reflection of the plow…colors (blue and orange) are perfect, lines are great, and I knew just where that was! LOL!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh how fantastic that you have a memoir from your mother!!! That is so very cool, Dawn. I am so envious. I wonder if I could bribe my mom to write her memoirs… Do you think?

  15. NIce read. Really like this line: “reflect and create deeply from buried shards of memory in the archaeological dig of the mind”. Sound ambitious ( maybe ouchie). Great pix of snow plows.

  16. Sybil says:

    I want a fireplace to curl up in front of …

  17. Marianne says:

    I agree Kathy, digging up memories and writing them down is hard work. I’m enjoying reading your memoirs quietly. Feeling like I’ve not much to say these days. Who knows, it may change tomorrow. Just going with the flow for now. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Marianne, I understand the rhythms of quiet and heart. (OK, maybe my blogging self doesn’t understand them very well…but the rest of me does.) Honoring you deeply for going with the flow and listening.

  18. Robin says:

    That may be one of the reasons I don’t write memoir type posts. The other reasons include a bad memory, and my family insisting they don’t want to be part of my blog (especially M who is a very private person). It makes it challenging at times to write about my life while leaving those most important to me out of it all.

    I love that photo of the snowplows. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      You know, Robin, if Barry hadn’t been a newspaper columnist, I suspect he would be exactly like your M. Strangely enough. I understand how challenging it must be to share your life. It probably feels a bit lop-sided. And I suppose blogs like mine babbling about the Significant Others don’t help either…

      • Robin says:

        I don’t mind the babbling about Significant Others. I think it’s wonderful that you and other bloggers can include their families in their blogs. 🙂

        I have to walk a fine line with not just my husband but the rest of the family as well because most don’t want to be featured in any way, shape or form online. I understand how they feel. I used to blog under a pseudonym because I didn’t want anyone to know who I am, but that became impossible to do once I began practicing my photography and putting it out there for the world to see. Even with that I don’t put my name on it (although it’s around for people to find if they really want to).

        I’m pondering, as I type this, how much more open I’ve become over the years, not just with my name. I wonder if it’s a result of blogging…? Interesting…

        • Robin says:

          P.S. I love the word “babbling.” Always have. And then a blogging friend, back in my anonymous days, nicknamed me Babbling Brook, a play on the name I was using at the time.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

