Crazy bloggin’ fool

Sometimes I say to myself–no, Kathy, do not blog today.   You have blogged how many days in a row?  You are a crazy bloggin’ fool.  Do something else. Read more blogs written by other people.  Watch a movie, for crying out loud.  How about catching up on your township work?  Go for a walk, talk to chickadees, remember your camera.

But no, this brings so much pleasure.  Sitting here at the computer in the mid-afternoon with a cup of tea (OK sometimes a glass of wine, depending how late) allowing words to Have Their Way With Me.

I love to write, you know that, don’t you?

Since 3rd grade…robin poem.  4th grade…novel about Gretl escaping from Nazi Germany, 122 pages of the most god-awful writing imaginable (shame on me!  The inner 4th grader is now sobbing and I must hug her, saying it wasn’t intended, please forgive, you wrote wonderfully for a ten year old, what was this 54 year-old thinking?)

Winter trees

Susan D. of commenting fame, one of the Susan D’s of this blog’s commenting fame (and guest blogger fame), and I met for lunch at the Nite Owl Restaurant today.  I adore Susan D. One of the reasons–I admit it–is because she reads my blog regularly. (OK, Susan, I would love you anyway, I would, I truly would…)

So few of my friends read this blog regularly.  (sob, sob!)  But Susan reads and she discusses and she compliments and she offers her pearly wisdom, and how I adore her!  (I would adore you blog readers as well, if you lived nearby.  We would go to lunch and I would pay for your lunch if it was a plump monetary week.  How I adore my readers!)

Anyway, I inquired of Susan D, “Hey Susan, have you noticed anything different about the blog since 11-11-11?”

(That’s when I wrote a blog announcing dramatically that I was intending for the tone of this blog to Change.)

When it seemed like I had failed in my intention to change the tone of this blog, I justified with this blog.

However, lately, it has 100% come to this blogger’s attention that Everything has changed recently here.

Can you guess what has changed?

Can you sense it?

I will pause briefly while you think.

My friend Catherine's barn. Not this winter. Not this much snow yet.

OK, here is the Blogging Announcement:  What has Changed on Lake Superior Spirit since November:

Previously, I used to take photos and then write stories about the pictures. Photos of lake, photos of woods, photos of trees, photos of flowers.  The photos took precedence.  The stories followed.

Suddenly the order is reversed.

I write stories and then find photos to illustrate.

Aren't I lucky to have 5,000 photos to illustrate stories? (Although how this illustrates this particular blog, who knows?)

My deep deep love of writing, my childhood love, my soul-mate, my true wonder (sorry, Barry, of course I don’t mean it–you are my true love but please let me continue) is now writing these blogs.

Writing fills me with joy beyond imagining!  The heart pumps, it sings, it dances in amazement at words, words, words!

I really don’t write.  I sit in front of a notebook or computer–without a thought in mind sometimes, like yesterday–not a thought in mind, with nothing to say, why am I sitting at the computer anyway?–and watch as the fingers begin typing and the heart begins throbbing and words appear effortlessly and joyously on paper spinning tales of life rising and falling, birthing and dying, fading and reviving.

I have just written 547 without any inclination of effort, with only joy and fingertips moving on keyboard, amazed to watch words create themselves out of nothing, sing themselves into existence, find their match in universal feeling, dance onto the computer screen, wiggle their impertinent or profound or silly or divine characters in the appropriate paragraphs.

I never once think words are cement, solid, predictable.  They are never to be believed, boxed, fixed.  They are meant to be fluid, water, song.  They are meant to be God grinning or mourning or pointing toward the moon.  They are meant to be chickadees chirping.  They are meant to be so pliable that you drink them like hot steaming tea, you delight in them, you tuck them into bed at night and watch them say prayers of thanksgiving.

I am glad to be letting them have their way with me, allowing them to zumba into 2012.  Who knows where they shall salsa next?  Shall we continue to dance?

Another old photo. My husband is praying for ice to form on the bay this year. A little colder weather, please, he requests.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Crazy bloggin’ fool

  1. Brenda Hardie says:

    I think your words are beautiful and so are your pictures…even if they don’t always “fit” together 🙂 Saw a guy out walking on a small lake today and thought to myself “crazy guy…it was 52 degrees two days ago and yesterday was 45! ” Sometimes I think people aren’t very mindful of their surroundings…I mean I understand when they want to go ice fishing and all but it has been way way too warm for good ice. In fact, most lakes and rivers are free of ice completely. Crazy I say…crazy people. You on the other hand are not crazy. Let your words flow…I’ll read them all! ♥

    • Kathy says:

      Crazy wild ice fishermen, Brenda, crazy guys! They must be mindful of their surroundings. They musn’t fall through the ice. They must wait patiently until the ice freezes. Thank you for saying I’m not crazy. I do appreciate that. **grin**

  2. So do I, Kathy. Tell us your stories. We are all ears and all heart. xooxS

  3. You are indeed a writer, Kathy, and I adore your stories. Yes–I love them. I love your way with words, your ability to make meaning out of language–to paint pictures with images and ideas.

    This sentence is a perfect example: “They are meant to be God grinning or mourning or pointing toward the moon.” What a stunning sentence!

    Here’s to the writer in you, my friend!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      The writer in me always jumps up and down in little-girl excitement every time you say such wonderful things, Kathy. Jumping up and down again! Thank you.

  4. P.j. grath says:

    I love your EXUBERANCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And honesty. And love of life.

    • Kathy says:

      Sometimes–afterwards–I get a little embarrassed about this exuberance. My goodness, girl, can’t you be more dignified? Smiling. I love the same about you.

  5. Sybil says:

    I love how the words “sing their way into existence” through your talented fingers …

    Oh what songs your words sing so effortlessly.

    Keep on singing …

    If I lived near you, I would be happy to let you take me to lunch. 😉

    • Kathy says:

      And I would be happy to treat you, Sybil! If we went for a walk afterwards with our cameras. If we weren’t too busy telling stories to take pics…

  6. Colleen says:

    Oh my goodness gracious and many more exclamatory words that aren’t on the tip of my tongue right this moment…..Kathy, I am SO glad you are continuing this wonderful dance 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Oh how I love exclamatory words (even though the writer-part frowns at too many exclamations–shame on us–let’s be less exuberant!) Fortunately, other parts of the self love exuberance so we’re safe. Dancing with you, Colleen!

  7. I really enjoy your blog – words and photos, sharing stories and snippets of what you have seen. If I lived up there, I would have lunch with you, too! 🙂

  8. Dawn says:

    Let the dance continue to flow from your fingers…we just love to read what develops! And if I lived nearby I’d buy YOU lunch!

    • Kathy says:

      You’d buy ME lunch? What a doll! Maybe some day we shall do lunch and we’ll argue over who pays the bill like old friends. What a fun thought.

  9. Dawn says:

    Time for words and time for pictures – lovely that we can shift between them, one balancing and adding tot he other.

  10. Susan D. says:

    …and I would adore YOU even if you didn’t write tantalizing, dazzling blogs, or perhaps I ought to say “even if I didn’t read them.” Ahhhh, but what I’d miss of the “you” that is Kathy! And if we weren’t friends, I’d feel like we were, just through your words … such gifts, each one joining the next to morph into sentences, into paragraphs, into blogs. Loving the “new” tone and the fact that you’re filled with fresh excitement. How it shows!!

    Thank you for lunch, thank you for your words, thank you for you 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      OK, words desert me after your beautiful comment, and, darn it, I know you’re coming back to read the response. All I can say is that you mean the world to me. You do. How you do.

  11. Dana says:

    Count me as one of the people who is thoroughly enjoying whatever happens to pop up on your blog! I never understood the blogs that were *only* about photos, or *only* about knitting, or *only* about recipes. Why limit yourself like that? Why curtail your creativity and imprison it in such meaningless borders? It sounds as though you are alight with inspiration, Kathy, and I am excited to be along for the journey! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Aww, Dana, you really are a sweetheart, don’t you know? There is a part of me that wishes my blog was *only* about something. It sometimes feels too whacky or out-there, too much variety. But that’s silly, isn’t it? How can there be too much variety in a human life? I know you understand. You’re a border-blaster, too.

  12. Elisa's Spot says:

    …Dancing backwards

    did YOU know?!?!?! IT was 54 here today and January is almost over!??!?!

    • Kathy says:

      Elisa, Elisa! Look at your calendar! January is almost over? January is almost OVER? My dear, it is barely one third over. It is still flowering. It is still rising. It is still dancing forward and only occasionally tripping over its full-moon feet to giggle backwards toward New Years.

  13. Barb says:

    I love the photos, Kathy, I really really love them – – – but — the WORDS! (Did you notice all those dashes AND the exclamation point?) Someday, I’ll remind you of the lunch offer.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh how I love dashes and ellipses and exclamation points! (The heart part loves ’em, the writer raises her syllable’d eyebrows and shakes her wordy head.) We shall have lunch one day. Michigan or Colorado? Flip coins?

  14. John says:

    Based on your 90 day stats on URL Spy you are getting an average of 214 unique visitors a day, so just keep rocking.

    • Kathy says:

      John, yesterday I had 227 hits…last Thursday 449…Christmas Day 124. Does that average out to 214? It always seems to depend on how many posts and whether people are celebrating holidays, LOL. My inner stats-lover adores seeing!

  15. Kathy – I’m sure glad you like to write because I enjoy reading what you have to share. Additionally, I’m glad you like to take photographs, because my eyes enjoy that feast as visual well.

    • Kathy says:

      My husband, the editor, always said, “You better show pictures, Kathy, because most of the people like to see photos.” He’s right. Although in the early blogging days on Gaia, I didn’t know what a camera was. So I just threw out hundreds upon hundreds of words and people read ’em anyway, thank goodness, God bless ’em. 🙂

  16. lisaspiral says:

    I enjoy reading your words and looking at your lovely photos. The North Shore is beautiful in all seasons, and so is your blog.

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, Lisa! How wonderful! You make me want to go take pictures of the Big Lake again. Must do that one of these days. (Instead I posted photos of Florida on the blog today. Silly northerner.) I appreciate your words. They shine like gold.

  17. Munira says:

    I love the way you stress that you are only the medium channelling all them words! 🙂
    Continue to dance, by all means 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Munira, it’s utterly true. When I try to write journalistic articles–even the one recently about the food in the cupboards–it feels like I’m the writer. You have to stop and think and search. But the other times when you open yourself up and let creativity do the writing, it can be Bliss. Dancing with you!

  18. Marcie says:

    So inspiring to read about your process…and hear about your love for writing. I think – I too – am bitten by the bug!

    • Kathy says:

      Marcie, gettin’ big by those inspiring little bugs can be the most amazing rich wild sweaty crazy sad amusing despairing lovely wing-flapping that we do in a day, can’t it?

  19. Is it easier to write the story and then find pictures to go with it? I couldn’t even imagine going through all my photos to find even ONE for a story….. not that I write a lot to begin with 😉

    • Kathy says:

      OK, OK, you made me think, Ms. Michaela. It’s just that I want the thrill of the story first without having to take the picture first. If that makes sense. I want to feed my soul with words and then go back and illustrate. Not that the photos are less–for many people they are the zizz and zangle of their heart! But for me, I want to feed my heart with words first, and then eat photos for dessert. (But you’re right, it’s not always easy to find ’em in the folders.)

  20. Carol says:

    Yes, let’s continue to dance. Whether it’s the dance of the words, the photos, the heart is unimportant. What is important is the sharing, the fulfillment, the joy of expression, the sharing of self.
    I too read every day, but some days I have no words to comment. Some days the fact that you already have 7823 comments deters me. Okay, so that was a slight exaggeration, but the end result is the same.

    • Kathy says:

      That deters me on other people’s blogs, too. I see that they have 7823 comments (I counted, tee hee) and I almost can’t bare to leave another comment. Wonder why? Do we think that our comment is not needed, not appreciated, too much in the midst of all the other comments? I feel as a blogger like my heart loves what everyone has to say–and that no comments are too many. Each person has something special to share and it longs for everyone to share, even that 7824th person who is remaining silent. Because that 4824th person is someone so valuable that my day will be less if she doesn’t share a bit of her spirit.

  21. Robin says:

    I am enjoying your words very much. I also enjoy your pictures very much. No matter which way you approach it, they go together very well. 🙂

    It must be the year of words. I’ve been writing more, although not on the Bogs blog. I still use photos and let them tell the story. Some of my writing, the “small stones,” end up on the other blog (Bountiful Healing), but most is taking place handwritten in a journal and I’m having a really good time. Maybe, someday, I’ll be as brave as you and let the words flow out from the page to the blog rather than hide behind the pictures.

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, you are inspiring a new blog post, mayhaps. I have thought of your comment since it came in. Of bravery and courage and fear and shyness and nervousness and unclarity and uncertainty and how it affects our decisions. I need to go visit your small blog again. I love Bountiful Healing, in its many forms. Blessings to the dance between photography and writing, and the intentions which lurk behind them all.

  22. Love the winter trees and the sled photos! Love your stories… I can’t imagine having 5,000 photos to pick from. But I’ve always loved words and pictures combined, in whatever proportions. And I’m glad you don’t really have to choose between them and am thoroughly enjoying your dances with both of them. *hugs*

    • Kathy says:

      Well, not all those photos are “good”!! Some of them are downright challenged. 🙂 I am glad we can dance between them, too. Aren’t we lucky to have both in our world?

  23. Heather says:

    I’m so glad you let words have their way with you. I find your style irreverent and uplifting, and I always enjoy what you’ve allowed to come out! And even though your camera might be feeling a bit neglected, I like the shots you’ve pulled in. I am smitten with that barn. And the sled. And that sunset looks so peaceful. Hoping Barry gets his colder weather soon; the weather folks seem to think we’ve got an actual winter coming up 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Aww, you are really sweet, Heather! I like the word “smitten”. It is a grand-glorious word, and very inspiring, too. We have it SO warm today–in the 40’s. And tomorrow, too. I am excited to go for a three-mile walk with my friend, Lyn. Hopefully it won’t be icy! (Thank you for your smittenness, tee hee.)

  24. Rebekah says:

    I don’t think I’ve visited this blog before, but I truly enjoyed what I read now and the pictures too. Wish I had it that easy … I too, want to write, and I feel the same way as you, with regards to that part ‘read blogs, get out, bring camera, talk with chickadees’… 🙂 but I sit here, often waiting for words to come even though I so want to write.

    • Kathy says:

      Those times of waiting for woods to come can be so challenging, can’t they? I remember times like that. You open yourself and you wait and wait and sometimes you scrunch up searching for the little chickadee-words to alight from your fingers and chirp to your computer screen. I am so glad you visited here. Blessings, Rebekah!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

