Buddha loves snowstorms, yes, he does!

Buddha says, "I love snow when it's over my head!"

Buddha says, "Hey, look at this pile of logs!" (Do you see Buddha? Where's Waldo--I mean, Buddha?)

Oh there he is! You've been hiding on us again, Buddha!

We see you, Buddha! There on Barry's 49 Studebaker pickup truck. You can't hide on us!

Oh, let's put Buddha in Grandma's 1969 snowmobile suit pocket and just look around

Yep, here's the back of our Little House in the Big Woods. See the woodpile? See the shed? See all the snow? (We got a foot on Thursday, but it's compressed down quite a bit already.)

A close-up view of our woodpile. Kathy & Barry must make sure the wood room is full before she leaves Barry and goes to "Destination Wedding".

Oh there's that silly Buddha again! Looks like he's all snowy. (I think he's following squirrel tracks to the woodpile, don't you?)

Buddha, you go back in the pocket while we head out to the mailbox and check today's mail. Hi cattail pond, whatcha knowin'?

Remnants of autumn leaves dusted with snow

Winter driveway magic, indeed.

Even though Buddha didn't hop on the tractor to pose, he loves the tractor. He loves how it plows the driveway. He said to tell you.

I was going to stop now, but Buddha whispered in my ear, "Show 'em that moon you took out the bathroom window the other night." How could I say no to Buddha? Whatcha think of that moon? Did the moon know there would be a snowstorm?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Buddha loves snowstorms, yes, he does!

  1. Kathy – This is a GREAT post and how very (!) timely. I’m currently reading “Buddha or Bust” by Perry Garfinkel.

  2. I LOVE this post, Kathy! Gotta love a Buddha who appreciates a good snow. I do, though, think he looked a little under-dressed for the weather. Don’t want him to freeze his big Buddha belly————–
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      How did you know, Kath? He was a’shiverin’ out there…that’s why I had to put him in the snowmobile pocket. But he kept chanting mantras in there, so I had to let him out!

  3. Susan D. says:

    Delightful!!!

  4. Brenda Hardie says:

    Beautiful pictures of the snow and of course of Buddha too! It was fun searching for him in the snow 🙂 I love all the snowy pictures today but the little pine tree has my heart ♥
    Most of our snow has dried up and it’s very lightly snowing again…it’s more like a sprinkling of snow, a few snowflakes blowing here and there.

    • Kathy says:

      Could you find him all the time, Brenda? (Guess what, I loved the little pine tree, too. Such a sweetheart of a tree!) Glad you have snow, but not too much.

  5. You are so playful, my dear! 🙂

  6. lynnekovan says:

    Lovely funny post. Looks pretty chilly out there!

    • Kathy says:

      Lynn, it was 11 degrees this morning. I went for a walk up the road. Brrrrr!!!! (Betcha Buddha wouldn’t have complained…) Thank you for liking this.

  7. Sybil says:

    I would have found Buddha faster if he’d been wearing a striped top and toque with a bobble on top.

    Hey Lynne, when she says 11 degrees, she ain’t talking Celsius ! 😉

    • Kathy says:

      I should have made one of those little outfits for Buddha…no, no, Sybil, THAT would have been too irreverent, and gosh, I don’t want to be irreverent. 🙂 And if Lynn is still listening, I just looked it up. That’s -11.66 celcius!

  8. Kiah says:

    Love when Buddha gets out of the house for an adventure!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Kiah, Buddha was SO excited to get off that dusty shelf by your pictures and go exploring. Can’t you see how happy he was? (OK, I think he’s that happy ALL the time!)

  9. Susan Derozier says:

    Happy happy Buddha gets to play in the snow! I love it! Also love these pictures and can almost taste your fresh air and see the sparkle all around. Beautiful pictures and glad your wood stack is plentiful. Celeste arrives tomorrow so i probably won’t write again until the “deed” is done. Enjoy your trip ahead!

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad that you were able to see some northern snow pictures before you go incognito for a while with your surgery, Susan. Wishing you so well. I know you’ll enjoy having Celeste with you. Thanks for your good wishes for travel.

  10. Barb says:

    The walk with you and Buddha had me chuckling, Kathy – also I had to enlarge several photos to find him. Glad he’s keeping you company – are you taking him to destination wedding? Looks like he’s small enough to be a stowaway. (I won’t tell.)

    • Kathy says:

      Oh my, taking Buddha to the destination wedding? I’m not even sure I can fit my new dresses in the suitcase, let alone Buddha! (But it’s a thought…) Guess what–I went shopping today! Very happy, but already very poor.

  11. Of course I loved Buddha; however, I loved the house, the shed, the entire setting is stunning. Want a house in the suburbs? Switch with you!
    No…I can’t chop wood now but it is lovely and to think that you have a Studebaker truck. My friend had a Studebaker car when we were in college back in the dark ages and we thought we were hot stuff! Never thought I would see one again.

    Thank you for sharing.

    (My Buddha sits meditating…not like yours, so happy and playful)

    • Kathy says:

      Dear Ms. Purpleborough, I am glad you were able to be properly introduced to our house, shed and woods. It is lovely. We are lucky to live here…so maybe we won’t follow through on that switch. *grin* We actually have another ancient Studebaker parked back in the woods. Buddha jumped on it, too, but looked like a tiny blob, so didn’t use the picture. This Buddha was a gift from a friend years ago and I love his joy! Glad you enjoyed this.

  12. ceceliafutch says:

    Love the photos! Beautiful. Thanks for sharing some of your north country winter with us.

  13. John says:

    That looks soooo nice. I want to play in the snow with Buddha. I hope that you have an offline copy of your blog and a safe back-up of all your pictures. These are going to be such a great treasure for your Great-Grandchildren. I can’t even imagine where your two will be 50 years from now. Two of my boys are up there now.

    • Kathy says:

      John, I do have a safe backup for the photos, and an on-line version of the first year of my outdoor blog (Christopher made it for me that first Christmas.) No current backups of this whole blog, though. Never thought about the great-grandchildren wanting to see it. They’d probably just be rolling their eyes, thinking Great Grandma was a crazy woman. No, their grandma would tell them–she wasn’t crazy; just creative. 🙂

  14. sonali says:

    Wow Kathy, this looks amazing. Oh! the wonderful snowfall! I could just go on… WOW!
    Where did you get the laughing Buddha? Did someone gift you? Well, Buddha is SO LUCKY that he got a chance to visit your woods and see all the snow. I love the trees covered with snow (dreaming of shaking the trees and enjoying the snow fall on my head and shoulders – Can this be possible?)

    • Kathy says:

      Sonali, I am glad you liked the snow pictures! You are so right–someone gave me Buddha as a gift years and years ago and he sits on the shelf by the kid’s pictures, above the telephone, but sometimes he likes to sneak outside and sit in the snow. I always wish that you will one day enjoy a walk in the snow…but, gosh, you would get SO COLD if you shook that tree. You would have to come inside and sit by the fire!

  15. Dawn says:

    Is little Buddha wood? My mother had a little wooden one that looks just like this one. Hers was about 2 or 3 inches tall…sat on her kitchen windowsill all the time we were growing up. I had to make that first picture bigger to find him!

    My favorite photo is the remnant leaves.

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, I wish Buddha was wood. No, he’s made of plastic. Your mother’s Buddha sounds lovely. I am glad you like the leaves. I like them, too.

  16. Marcie says:

    Oh…I just love this little buddha all covered in snow like this. What fun!!!

  17. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    That was wonderful! I have the same Buddha, Hotai I think his name is, the Laughing Buddha. I’m sure he was chanting “Chop wood, carry water” – those are the directions to the path to enlightenment 🙂
    Hugs
    SuZen

    • Kathy says:

      Leave it to SuZen to know the name of the Laughing Buddha! I think you are right…and, yes, I did hear him chanting that but when I asked him to explain some more he just threw his hands in the air and started laughing. What could I do but laugh, too? Glad you enjoyed.

  18. Everything looks so crisp and pristine under that new blanket of snow, no wonder Buddha is so playful! I’m still trying to fathom the 18 feet of snow dumped in Cordova, Alaska – amazing…

    • Kathy says:

      Barry told me about that 18 feet in Cordova. It sure is hard to fathom, isn’t it? Our one foot very quickly consolidated into about seven inches. I like this depth because you can still walk without snowshoes. Do you have any snow your way today?

  19. Dana says:

    I was distracted by your house and woodpile photos… everything looks so perfectly cozy, warm, and serene (despite all the snow)! Do you post pics of your house very often (i.e. have I missed some in the archives, being a fairly new reader and all?) I’d love to see some shots of your neck of the woods.

    • Kathy says:

      Dana, I do post photos of my house, but I don’t know how often. There was at least one other one within the last month or so. Seems like over the last few years I’ve posted dozens upon dozens, but who knows where they’re hiding in the archive? You’re welcome to look! **grin**

  20. Heather says:

    Laughing Buddha looks delighted! I love what a nice blanket of fluffy snow will do for contrast. Your house looks so warm and cozy, the leaves look so golden, and even the little tree looks quietly content. Simply lovely.

    • Kathy says:

      It is interesting seeing our house and woods through the eyes of others. It’s fascinating how we tend to get jaded and view things as “ordinary” instead of “warm and cozy and content and lovely”. Thank you, Heather–and everyone else–for helping me expand beyond “ordinary” into “lovely”.

  21. LOVE this post, I wish we had that much snow 🙂 It has been horribly low precipitation. Beautiful photos

    • Kathy says:

      I wish you much snow, as well. Ours compressed into about seven inches rather quickly, but it’s still beautiful and fresh. Glad you enjoyed!

  22. bearyweather says:

    Looks like winter final came for you. We still only have a few inches on the ground and can see brown grass and plants in open areas. What a weird winter. Playing “Where is Buddha” was a fun idea.

    • Kathy says:

      Bearyweather, it has been a weird winter. Today it’s 32 degrees again! And tomorrow back down to 17. It’s odd…I always think of Minnesota as having more snow than we do. (Probably because so many of our systems blow east from Minnesota and Wisconsin.) We’ll see if this lasts. Glad you enjoyed the Buddha Show.

  23. Claire says:

    Buddha in snow rather delightful We inherited a Buddha when we came to this house so feel that at least the garden has good Karma. Loved playing Where’s Buddha? The moon photo fantastic.

    • Kathy says:

      Good Garden Karma–I like that, Claire! I am glad you enjoyed playing with Buddha, and he approves that you liked the moon shot. (No one else commented on it, Buddha noticed.) Thank you!

  24. Love's Thesaurus says:

    Thanks so much for the giggles! But I got a question. Don’t Buddha’s arms get tired the way he holds them up like that all the time? Is he doing a marathon meditation in that way? Or did he forget to put his arms down? Just wonderin’.

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, Martha, Buddha gets tired holding his arms up in the air! But because he doesn’t suffer–because he hurts but does not suffer–it’s perfectly all right with him. 🙂

  25. Robin says:

    Delightfully funny post. That Buddha. He’s such a wild and crazy guy. I’m glad he joined you on your walk in the snow. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, he practically threw himself off the shelf when he saw me get my boots on. He said, “Let’s go meditate while we walk.” I said, “You’re the man, Buddha.” He’s got such a sense of humor, lol!

  26. Colleen says:

    Kathy, your grandchildren and great-grandchildren and great-great-grandchildren are going to adore you!!!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh what a sweet thing to say. (That is assuming that grandchildren and great-grandchildren and great-greats ever come along. We’re on the slow track in that department.)

  27. ♥♥♥
    Thank you for sharing these beautiful, beautiful snow photos. After hearing on the radio that our high on Friday is supposed to be 75 degrees, I’m wishing that much more that I could be in your little corner of the world right now.

    • Kathy says:

      It was GREAT going outside and playing with the camera and Buddha in the snow, Michaela. You would have loved it! (And I’m dreaming of a nice 75 degree day, no, make that 80.) **grin**

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

