I will not wear a bikini and jump in the frozen lake today.

I am not going to snowshoe

The Informal Schedule of my day in the north woods.

1)  Wake up at 6:20 a.m.  (Actually, I wake up at 5:32 a.m.  5:45 a.m.  6:01 a.m.  You know, think a little bit.  Try not to think a little bit.  Eventually get up at 6:20 a.m.)

2)  Go downstairs and start the fire in the woodstove.  If you’re lucky, glowing coal-embers remain, gifts from Barry’s stoking the fire late last night after you slept.  This morning needed a few pieces of kindling and one crumpled newspaper to start the fire.

I am not going to cross-country ski

3)  Upstairs, in the kitchen:  start the water a’boilin’.  Some mornings I make coffee in the $5 coffee pot we bought at the Skanee Rummage Sale five years ago.  If not, Barry drinks “camp coffee”.  That involves 1 heaping Tablespoon of Sumatra percolated by hot water through a coffee filter.  Sometimes I drink tea.  This morning drank water because I am going to lose five pounds today.

4)  Set out Barry’s pills and vitamins, along with the “tubs” he takes to work for lunch.  What awaits him for lunch today?  A salad, tilapia fish sandwich and, gosh darn, something else, what was it?  (I also pour him juice and set out his coffee while he takes a shower.)  All this prevents him taking too many extra steps on his challenged knees.  Good wife.

5)  He leaves for work, this morning around 7:10 a.m. and I go downstairs to meditate.  Except meditation wouldn’t come easily this morning.  (Usually I persevere anyway, but this morning decided to blog-play!)  So I came upstairs, poured a little almond milk in a cup and frothed it with one of those fancy frothing-beaters that Kiah gave me a couple of years ago from NYC and added some Sumatra java, same method as Barry in Explanation #3 up above.

6)  Write a blog, feeling delighted.

7)  Today is NOT my day to go to work at the school.  If it were a school-work day, the morning schedule shifts slightly.

I am not going ice fishing

8)  Yoga should follow meditation. I do slowwwwww yoga, as some of you know.  Yoga so slow that you’re aware of every movement, every breath.  You inhabit your body as you move, none of this up, down, fast, sweat, endure, lose weight.  (Hmmm, it might be easier to lose five pounds today if fast yoga was embraced.)

9)  Then I must work on township taxes & other fun things.  OK, they’re not always fun.  OK, receipting the taxes is always fun, but I have to do persnickity tasks like balancing certain accounts which are talkin’ back like a teenager rebelling against parents.  Then must create another tax deposit, too long of a story to share, involves refunds and credits, and, oh, never mind, you wouldn’t care anyway.

10)  Go scrape and brush off 2003 Buick. It’s snowing.  One to six inches today.  The radar looks like it could go south of us, but, who knows, might barrel over us and make driving challenging.

11)  Before leaving–pour orange juice into blender, add frozen bananas, swirl.  Sustenance, but not too much, due to those five pounds, you know.

I am not going to put on a bikini and jump in a hole cut in the frozen lake. (This girl does NOT need to lose 5 pounds.)

12)  Drive to town, carefully, mind you, and make bank deposits.  Find passport in safe deposit box.  Cash personal check–I mean, put it into checking account to pay for VISA bill which, yep, it’s the 17th, should come due today.

13)  Come home.  Eat one small bowl of brown rice with mashed rutabagas and maybe add some steamed swiss chard.  OK, I know that probably sounds weird, but that’s the way I like to eat, and the rutabagas wink their orange eyes with tantalizing swirls in the refrigerator singing, “Eat us!  Eat us!”

14)  Now it’s afternoon.  You don’t want me to go on like this for the rest of the day, do you?  After all, you’ve had to read at least 600 words of my daily schedule and it’s not even 1 p.m.  Let’s put it squarely.  I don’t know what I’m doing after 1 p.m.  It could involve vacuuming (No!  Don’t say it!) or reading blog comments (Yes, today, definitely, I’m sure today) or planning how to fit too many clothes into a too-small suitcase for next week’s Destination Wedding.    Perhaps it involves a brisk walk up the road if it isn’t as darn slippery as it was yesterday.  Bad road.  (Need snow to cover slippery ice.  Heavy wet snow, none of that light wispy variety that leaves the ice dangerous beneath its fluffiness.

15)  Let’s just say–crossing off more items on the to-do list while not eating anything more except a small mature dinner, maybe orzo stew or brocoli stir-fry or something exquisitely healthy?

Yes, Kathy, you ARE filling the wood room! Put on your hat, girl, it's COLD outside!

16)  Oh yes, mustn’t forget.  Evening chore with Barry:  filling the wood room.  Our wood room contains, when full, three hefty stacked rows.  We are down to the back row.  The wood room must be filled to the brim by next Monday.

17)  Meditate for a half hour before bed.  Fall asleep between 9-10 p.m. with a smile.  Good sense of accomplishment, a day filled with extra-ordinary ordinariness.  Five pounds lighter, I’m just sure.

Extra-ordinary Ordinary days are the best, aren’t they?  Thank you for pausing to read amidst your own extra-ordinary ordinary day… and feel free to share tidbits of your own plans or accomplishments in the comments.  (Unless you’re wearing a bikini and jumping in a frozen lake today.  We probably don’t want to hear about that!  **On second thought, do tell us!**)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to I will not wear a bikini and jump in the frozen lake today.

  1. C’mon, is jumping into the frozen lake the least bit tempting? LOL! Delightful as always, thank you!

    • Kathy says:

      Um…well now that you mention it–it isn’t the LEAST bit tempting! (I am glad this delights you, Nicole. Delight is a good way to start the day.)

  2. The solution for dealing with too many clothes and too small suitcase is as follows:
    as you pack, you must pank and then as you zip the suitcase closed you must pank it down some more.
    (see? Pank is a real word!) 😉

    • Kathy says:

      It’s so funny, Susan, I thought of you the day before you wrote this, wondering, now where the heck is Susan and what’s she doing? And here you are, right on schedule, with your panking advice. I swear I will pank and pank and pank some more!

      • I think of you just about every day! lol I’m still in Wisconsin, enjoying an extended winter break from school. Taking time to visit my sister (big news….she’s buying a house!) and I’ve been working on new bead creations. I dream about our next trip up to the UP……for sure in July as this year is my *gasp* 40th high school reunion! I’ve never been to a reunion before…..should be interesting! 🙂

  3. Reggie says:

    Goodness, you have a full schedule, Kathy. How do you fit it all in? AND blogging about it too!

  4. lynnekovan says:

    Just dragged myself out of my frozen lake, and came across your lovely post. One piece of the above is correct, I’ll leave you to decide which!!

    • Kathy says:

      I think I’ve decided, Lynn. And I am chuckling. Can you imagine the folks who jump in the holes in a frozen lake? More sisu than I have! (Sisu is the Finnish word for courage, they say.)

  5. Kathy – it was great FUN to live virtually through you for a day! And you are, indeed, a great wife. I’ll betcha Barry’s knees are extremely grateful for you.

  6. Brenda Hardie says:

    Your extra-ordinary day is jam packed with things to do! Your menu sounds good…minus the swiss chard. Losing 5 lbs should be on my list today and everyday but alas…having painful knees (I sympathize with Barry!) that is not likely. Moving around is not at all fun. Woke up this morning to a very light dusting of the slippery snow…enough to make sidewalks and roads slick so am grateful to be able to stay put today. Will probably finish reading the second book borrowed to me by my Dad…a submarine story. It’s pretty good but not as good as the USS Indianapolis story. So, tomorrow will need to hit the library for another stack of books 🙂 Enjoy your extra-ordinary day Kathy! 🙂

    • Brenda Hardie says:

      Kathy…you certainly wouldn’t want to wear your bikini here on Thursday…the high temperature MIGHT make it to 1 degree F!! That’s coooooold! brrrr

      • Kathy says:

        That is FREEZING cold, Brenda! No, no, no. (I hardly want to go outside at 20 degrees, except the sun is shining. Tomorrow it’s suppose to be a high of 3 and then 11 on Friday, yep brrr.) I didn’t end up eating the swiss chard mixed with the other foods. It was good. And I lost 2 pounds yesterday!! That was a big hurray!

        • Brenda Hardie says:

          Yayyy! Waving good bye to those 2 lbs! 🙂 Stay warm over the next couple days…cozy up by your fire and remember to be grateful for warmth and shelter…I sure am! ♥

  7. I LOVE hearing about your day, Kathy. I was at the vet this morning at 8, so Lucy could have her annual shots. Now I’m writing the rest of the day–writing you-know-what.

    Have a great day and GOOD LUCK with the 5 pounds. Think I will join you on that one.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      So far it’s working. Not five pounds in one day of course–but took off two yesterday. You see, there’s the matter of certain shorts I want to fit nicely in by next week. Good luck to both of us!

  8. Carol says:

    Full days with good food are the best – but I saw no mention of chocolate, and there must be some of that in each day. It’s non-caloric, you know. And good for you.

    • Kathy says:

      For some reason, I am in love with every bowl of food I’m eating since yesterday. (Must be the power of hunger.) Chocolate? What’s that, Carol? 🙂

  9. Elisa's Spot says:

    I’d rather toss boots!

  10. Sybil says:

    You look slimmer already. I think you may have done too much and lost six pounds by accident.

  11. Heather says:

    For all the things you aren’t going to do, you’re certainly getting a lot done. Even if it is “just” a normal day. Sometimes I find comfort in perfectly ordinary days, especially after an extraordinary day highlights all the reasons why ordinary is grand!
    Just for the record: I vote broccoli stir fry 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I love ordinary days, Heather, yes, they are somehow comforting. Guess what? You won the bet! Broccoli stir fry it was. (With leftovers for today’s lunch.)

  12. Colleen says:

    Kathy, this was lovely, sharing a day with you. And yes, appreciating the extaordinarily ordinary days, more so as the years go by.

    And I love your description of a small mature, exquisitely healthy dinner. Now I’m caught in the words, imagining what it might have been 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I am thinking in terms of Buddha Bowls, Colleen. A meal-in-a-bowl. Of course, that didn’t work out tonight. Tonight I made tempeh stew with swiss chard and added a healthy side salad. Feel absolutely full. Last night: a delicious (and mature) stir-fry with hot miso sauce over rice. And swiss chard. The swiss chard is now all gone.

  13. thought your day was great

    i ate 6 blueberry muffins
    4 prunes
    1/4 rice
    1 cup of chicken soup
    4 pieces of aplets and cotlets
    gained the six pounds you lost
    walked from bed to chair
    crossed over to couch
    to kitchen
    whew….
    time for bed

    I would like to do yoga, meditate, etc.etc. but can’t seem to find the time what with having to cook the muffins before eating.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh no! Do you think that for every pound we lose someone else has to gain it? Double oh no! Blueberry muffins sound lovely, but what in the world, pray tell, are aplets and cotlets?

      • Fruit thingys from Liberty Orchards. Stores around here have them at Christmas. If I see any will send alone for you to try and gain that weight back. You are looking painfully thin.

        • Kathy says:

          tee hee! You are mistaking me for the bikini beauty aren’t you? LOL! No one has ever called me painfully thin, not once. Please alert me before sending terrorist fruit packages in the mail. I have promised to sit all unrecognizable packages out on the deer stand to see if they self-destruct. (Then again, the deer may like the fruit thingys.)

  14. Barb says:

    Well – I’m glad you didn’t snowshoe on those relics, Kathy (even older than my 20 year old ones) – you would have tripped over your own feet and possibly hurt yourself before the destination wedding which I’m looking forward to. (Also, I’m wondering why one snowshoe is bigger than the other?) I made crab stuffed sole for dinner because we invited a friend whose mother just died. I’m a terrible cook, but all I do is roll the salmon around the canned claw crab, add some seasoning, and – delicious. (I think you could even eat it on the crazy diet.)

  15. Barb says:

    Whoops – I meant roll the sole – got my fish mixed up.

  16. wolfsrosebud says:

    just got back from snow shoeing… glad I didn’t need to do all the other things you do… just gonna watch Goldie Grand for the day and play dolls… toasty… -10 this AM

    • Kathy says:

      That is NOT toasty, wolfsrosebud, that is downright freezing! We so often have it warmer at this time of the year because the lake is not frozen yet. You should get an award for snowshoeing in that cold.

  17. sonali says:

    Your schedule is pretty much tight! Well, I have also started yoga and meditation – I do it quick without much concentration 😦 Hey Kathy, I have seen the girls snap before in your blog, haven’t I? or was I dreaming?

    • Kathy says:

      I am happy to hear you’re doing yoga and meditation, Sonali. Now we have something else in common! You were not dreaming, all of these pics have been in my blogs before, although the bikini-girl was the only photo from Lake Superior Spirit. The others were from my outdoor year-long commitment blog, Opening the Door, Walking Outside.

  18. Dana says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day! The food sounds enriching and warm… and I love the pic of those gigantic snowshoes! My own pair is considered “old”, but they are still fashioned from metal and god-knows what kind of plastic, not just branches, twigs, and tendons! 🙂

  19. Sounds like a nicely balanced day… not too busy, and not boring either.

  20. Claire says:

    It is amazing to read your day so carefully itemised and realise what a lot of things you accomplish. I am fearful of doing the same as am sure my day will not be filled with such purposeful activities OR maybe It might be perhaps to try it secretly and not on my bog! What is orzo stew? 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      You should give it a try, maybe with just a piece of paper by yourself. You will be surprised! I have been surprised dozens of times. Orzo stew is just a thick soup with lots of vegetables and then you add a tiny little pasta called orzo. It’s good! (I think orzo might be Italian.)

  21. Here’s to extraordinary ordinary days! 🙂 You made me stop and wonder – what DO I do all day?

    Lately it mostly involves preparing fresh healthy foods for Tim so he won’t run out and get some fast food when he’s hungry. Old habits are hard to break. He works from home most of the time now, and the voices from teleconference meetings have become the background sounds of my time on computer. 🙂 But it’s good to have him home so I can keep an eye on him and stay one step ahead of him!

    • Kathy says:

      Isn’t it fun to be learning to cook in such new and exciting ways? I LOVE vegan healthy food (although will eat out meat because it’s often a healthier lower-fat option than veggies marinated in oil with added cheese.) It’s fun to make a list of everything we do during a day. Very surprising what can appear on that list!

  22. Karma says:

    Love your ordinary day, Kathy. Your words make it seem extraordinary.
    PS. How’d the 5 pounds thing go? I wouldn’t mind losing a few myself before my destination in April, but I find my will to do so rather weak! 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Oh Karma thank you for asking. I am convinced that all days are extraordinary simply by refusing to view them as ordinary. I have lost 2-3 pounds thus far depending on where the starting point should be determined. I am still convinced the remaining pounds can be lost by next week. Here’s what you need to do about any weak will. Have shorts or crop pants that look and feel too tight. Try them on every day. Your will will increase exponentially, believe me!

  23. Pingback: Thoughts on a Snowy Saturday Morning « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

