Please don’t step on the chicken in the coffee shop (and other Nicaraguan photos)

Oh, look--a chicken in a coffee shop!

Hello, dear readers, once again.  Still more photos of the town of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, to show you.  Will you sit for a while and look through this photo album which shows some of the wonderful people and buildings of this little town nestled along the Pacific Ocean?

I hope you’re not getting bored yet of our little visit to Nicaragua.  Those of you who haven’t seen photos of our family wedding last Saturday night at Pelican Eyes Resort in San Juan del Sur, please click here.  Those who want to see more photos of Nicaragua click here.

I’ll have at least one more photo album to wrap up our beautiful amazing enlightening surreal visit!

Love to all of you, Kathy

Inside the bookstore/coffee shop "El Gato Negro"

Out on the beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean with boats anchored in harbor

Let there be delight!

Laundry blowing on the line. It's the "Windy Season" in San Juan del Sur.Blue

Will you take your little sister to your abuela's casa (grandma's house)?

Blue

Street. Dog. Color. Palm trees. This about says it all.

Oh my goodness, there is that chicken again. Fancy meeting you here!

Hello, beautiful!

Two pink bikes

La Dolce Vita--the "Sweet Life"

Green

Waiting

Would you like a taco, mi amor?

When will the bus come?

Fuente Pura--the reason we (probably) won't get Montazuma's Revenge (like I did in high school when I went to Mexico)

The new and the old. Cell phones and satellite dishes amidst poverty.

Color, vibrant color, everywhere!

Compra? You you buy? How about these whistles?

Just relax...No worries...Time for a little siesta, perhaps?

The chicken shared this story in the coffee shop, while I sipped lemonade. (OK, it wasn’t the chicken. It was a spiritually-oriented traveler from Connecticut who works eight months a year as a golf caddy and travels the other four months around the world.)

He said, “In the United States they say–don’t just sit there, do something!  In Central American they say–don’t just do something–sit there!”

I’m liking this philosophy, aren’t you?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Please don’t step on the chicken in the coffee shop (and other Nicaraguan photos)

  1. Dana says:

    Loving that philosophy, Kathy. 🙂 My sister did a year-long exchange to Brazil and was shocked to discover that there is no Portuguese-equivalent word for “restless”. Those Brazilians just cannot comprehend doing “nothing” (except relaxing, resting) but feeling pressure to do “something” (productive, measurable)! I like that philosophy, too.

  2. Your photographs really capture the spirit of your surroundings. 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    The colors are really beautiful and remind me very strongly of Miami. I like that the wheel barrow matches the exterior teal in the “Color, vibrant color” picture.

    • Kathy says:

      OK, Heather, seriously, I have to tell you–none of us noticed the wheel barrow until you pointed it out!!! Thank you! I love that the camera can teach us to see. (It’s good to have blog readers & commenters teach us, too.)

  4. Celeste says:

    Wonderful! Makes me long for a simple life (well, of course I would be financially independent). So glad you are having a wonderful time.

    • Kathy says:

      Celeste, gosh, both of us will have to figure out a way to become financially independent! I am always amazed that it’s possible to travel so much on such a limited income. The secret is visiting family & friends, maybe? Where is your next trip?

  5. john says:

    I love these pictures!. I have never thought much about going to Central America before, but you have really peaked my interest.

  6. I love the way you captured MOTION in the first bicycle photograph!

    Kathy – While you’ve been away I have nominated you for the “Versatile Blogger Award.”

    The rules as they were provided to me:
    Nominate 15 fellow bloggers
    Inform the bloggers of their nomination
    Share 7 random things about yourself
    Thank the blogger who nominated you
    Add the versatile blogger award picture to your blog
    (here’s the code to insert when the widget asks for the URL or link: http://i1109.photobucket.com/albums/h435/thatswhatchesaid/Thats%20What%20Che%20Said%20Blog/VersatileBloggerAward.png)

    You can see the complete list of 15 near the bottom of the comments section of my current post: http://holessence.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/write-or-wrong/#comment-8783

    • Kathy says:

      Wow, Laurie! Hugs & sixteen more hugs! Thank you for the nomination. I am not sure I will play along right now (16,000 things to do to catch up) but I am SO honored that you received the award and that you so lovingly passed it on to so many of us versatile bloggers. **grin** You are such a great blogging friend!

  7. Hi Kathy. I love the way you share your life with us.
    If you wanted to give me a present, say, for this being February 1st and a good day to give a gift, I’d love to use your laundry photo, with proper credit to you, on Laundry Line Divine.
    Only if you desire that.
    I love your posts.
    Thank you for your diligence.
    Love, S

    • Kathy says:

      Suzi, oh how funny!! All day today I kept thinking about you and thinking–I should go visit Suzi’s blog–there is something she said–but I can’t remember what… and here it is! Of course you can use the laundry photo. I shall send it to you if you like, or you can copy & paste to your Laundry Line delight!

  8. Barb says:

    The vivid colors look so happy – even on the bikes. Sometimes sitting is enough. Stay safe and well, Kathy.

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, I am thinking that sitting sounds like a good thing. Just don’t know when that will happen!! P.S. no new snow since a week ago. It’s 38 degrees and dripping and melting! People are shaking their heads. Whatta winter. I thought you Coloradans were getting snow?

  9. Brenda Hardie says:

    Thank you for sharing your adventure with us Kathy ❤ Your pictures are wonderful, the colors, the people, the homes and buildings, and the beach…wow..I want to be there, soaking up the sun ❤ I think they're onto something with their philosophy….quiet, restful simplicity. I've been enjoying seeing your pictures and hearing all about your trip…thank you!

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, oh isn’t quiet restful simplicity the best? I am SO glad you enjoyed these photos from Nicaragua. It was challenging to fit in the time to post them–on some days especially–but wanted to bring you all in on the experience. Love you!

  10. Beautiful album! Love that chicken!

  11. suzen says:

    Great Philosophy! Betcha it extends lives too, eh? I’ve been doing more of that “sitting” stuff and trying to get over how the puritan work ethic haunts me still. I guess it’s called when Zen meets Episcopalian? Dunno. Gonna sit anyway.
    Hugs
    suZen

    • Kathy says:

      Hello there, Ms. Zen! (You would have liked our Zen yoga in Nicaragua.) How do we get over the Puritan work ethic? That is such a good question, as I am working my butt off today after playing. Maybe it’s a matter of balance. Always about balance. Too much play–not so good. Too much work–not so good. A little bit of both–very very good. LOL!

  12. Gosh, these are amazing photos, Kathy. Aren’t the colors stunning? Makes me miss Haiti, for whatever reason.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      Kathy, I think that Nicaragua and Haiti must be similar, in many ways. Gosh, so few people spoke English. Very few of us spoke Spanish. Thank goodness our waiter Reynaldo, helped me out. I was trying to tell him “no juice” at breakfast and kept insisting, “No juegos! No juegos!” You know what I was saying to him? “No games! No games!” The poor fellow gently corrected my mistake.

  13. wolfsrosebud says:

    wouldn’t mind the chicken as mush as what if leaves behind… happy days

  14. Love's Thesaurus says:

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful pictures!

  15. P.j. grath says:

    Oh, oh, oh! I want to read the titles on the books in the Black Cat Bookstore! You are teasing me with that little glimpse, Kathy! But yes, I love the vibrant colors everywhere, too….

  16. Carol says:

    That philosophy is my mantra. Except although I sit a lot, rarely do I do nothing as I sit. At first I said I liked the “dog, street” photo best, then I saw “Hello beautiful”, then I saw . . . I cannot pick a favorite, and I love that you have captured the flavor of the town so beautifully.

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad you think that the town was captured well, Carol. It was challenging! Only because I wanted you all to feel the flavor of it. So happy that you enjoyed.

  17. Sybil says:

    Great stuff Kathy. I’m having a blast visiting Nicaragua with you.

  18. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I LOVE what you’ve found here. Finding myself feeling some quiet nostalgia, in a good way. Wishing you a wonderful day in San Juan del Sur, or wherever you might be.

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, where in the world WAS I when you wrote your comment? I think back in Fort Myers Beach with my parents. Or was it flying back to Michigan? Somewhere…it’s hard to remember. The days all blur together. I only know that it’s not Groundhog’s Day anymore. LOL! Thank you for enjoying this and pausing to comment.

  19. Carla says:

    Beautiful photos, both days. So glad you took an adventure in Nicaragua.

    • Kathy says:

      Carla, I am SO happy to see you! I am glad you enjoyed the photos. There are actually four days worth of Nicaraguan photos now. It was a fun adventure. You would have loved it.

  20. ceceliafutch says:

    Oh, I love your photos. I am reminded of the wonderful colors everywhere one looks, and the hammocks hanging everywhere, and didn’t I see in one of your posts, the wonderful rocking chairs that grace every veranda in Nica? I love that place. Thank you for sharing with us… brings back some incredible memories.

    • Kathy says:

      Yes, indeed, I believe i put a rocking chair photo from our veranda on a previous post. It has been especially wonderful to share this with you–as you’ve been to Nicaragua. So very glad to bring back precious memories!

  21. Pingback: I’ve returned to Nicaragua! « Lake Superior Spirit

  22. Pingback: Who says we can’t go back to Nicaragua again? | Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

