And then the banana said…

Gosh, who would have expected a banana to start talking before breakfast?

And then the banana said:

Don’t be sad!

It’s a brand new week with brand new adventures.  Peel on outa here and enjoy your Monday!

And then the banana said:

Knock, knock, who’s there?

Banana.

Banana, who?

Knock, knock, who’s there?

Banana.

Banana who?

Knock, knock, who’s there?

Orange.

Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?

(This joke is dedicated to Chris and Kiah–orange you glad we told this joke at least 500 times in your childhood?)

**P.S.  excuse your blog writer’s mind.  It was just time to change the energy in this blog.  Family members have  written lovely sniffling emails saying they’re still crying about the wedding post from Nicaragua.  And yesterday’s blog was, well, a tad bit weepy…

Orange you glad you’re laughing now?

…Peeling out the door for work right now…  Have a great day!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to And then the banana said…

  1. Brenda Hardie says:

    hehe So glad to see your spirits are a bit lighter 🙂 Or at least you’re trying to be lighter. Sometimes I catch myself doing that very thing…you know the phrase “fake it till you make it”.
    Have a wonderful day Kathy. ❤
    ps love the joke…I think we told that joke at least as many times during my sons' childhoods (especially during the many day care years…lol…my oldest had to endure the endless running of silly jokes even as he got older)

  2. Claire says:

    I have just read Sad and now I read this and it all makes sense.

  3. Claire says:

    Hey Kathy I haven’t seen you at my blog for a while. Why is this
    ?Did I say something to offend? I do hope not as I was pleased to see you when you came by.

  4. Elisa's Spot says:

    makes me think how media influences people (they would NEVER do it on purpose)
    words and understanding of words and how long they mean what they mean, if they ever did mean to mean it in the first place

    I’m thinking about the parts that just want to sit in the palm of a hand being protected and secure, until they can share
    while the parental us, just holds out the hand in the middle of the other stuff of the day, peeling carrots and such, paying more or less attention but allowing for the need for a pat

    I hope that I never, though I know I will, mistake a more important expression for a lesser one. I trust you to reach out to me, should you need, and if you do not, that you do not need OR you are reaching out to others.

    We had 60 degrees the other day, and now, since it is slightly cooler, without even any snow, the ‘dumb’ winter mind has decided to forget that there aren’t mountains of snow and desolate and dirty white and POUT and complain and whine. Did you know that I noticed this morning the long sun streaks across the lawn that I thought only came in Spring? I think that I notice the shades of dormant grasses and electric green waking grasses more than the white. I am very grateful to notice them.

  5. Susan D. says:

    Hahaha … our family, too, are huge fans of the banana/orange knock-knock joke! Thanks for sharing it here. I like Banana’s face, too – sort of wise and whimsical all at once. Nice combo!

    As you’ve often stated at times in your blogs, our sadness is just as important and valid as our happiness. We can still be content, even when sad. I KNOW you are (were). I appreciate your sharing it “all” and I will never attempt to jolly you out of any sacred place. That is my pledge. Hope your day presents many “a-peeling” opportunities 🙂

  6. Reggie says:

    Aw, glad you are feeling a bit lighter in spirit, Kathy. Hugs!

  7. Gerry says:

    Elephant jokes. I wish I could remember the one about jumping out of trees.

  8. Hell, I’m just glad my post today is about oranges–sort of!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  9. The famous “knock-knock” jokes….we all survived them and love them. Have a great day and enjoy whatever comes your way.

  10. jeffstroud says:

    So cute! so what is wrong with being a bit weepy once in awhile?

    Funny didn’t we all tell that joke!

  11. I’m gonna make like a bread truck and move my buns!

  12. lynnekovan says:

    Great start to a happy week!

  13. CRD says:

    I do not really remember this joke, but do like the sad banana picture!

  14. Kathy says:

    And then the banana said: Thank you! I am glad that you all liked my “Cabbage Patch” face! Glad to make you laugh on a Monday morning.

    (Kathy says: Gosh, did I laugh when I saw this Banana Face. It made my travelin’ blues almost–just almost–disappear.)

    Appreciating you all. Claire, I haven’t visited ANY blogs in two weeks because I’ve been traveling but will see you soon. CRD, my dear son, like I told you this afternoon on the phone, this was probably more a Kiah-joke. Glad you liked the face, though. Susan D, sadness and happiness are but two faces of who we are, as you know so deeply. Elisa, love… Everyone else, long-distant hugs!

  15. Colleen says:

    Smiling on this rainy Tuesday evening. And gratefully accepting one of your long distance hugs.

  16. Dana says:

    🙂 Sad to happy in less than 5 minutes! That’s what I get for playing catch-up on blogs…

  17. Heather says:

    That picture of is something else. I think I wouldn’t have been so surprised that that particular banana was talking 😉 I always like the orange/banana joke, but I don’t think my nephews (the ones soon to visit, not the newborns) ever got it the same way I did. Now they’re in the phase of telling knock-knock jokes that make even less sense than “real” ones 🙂

  18. Kathy says:

    Knock-knock, who’s there?
    OK, I can’t think of a single other knock-knock joke!
    Dana, I usually change moods faster than fast.
    I was sad all weekend, then suddenly laughing and happy Monday morning when that little banana face frowned up from his peel.

    It’s always weird blogging when people are reading about your sadness and offering condolences and you’ve already moved beyond it–or most of it anyway.

    Thank you ALL! Love and banana hugs… Kathy

  19. Hahaha, that’s one of Sara’s favorite “knock, knock” jokes to tell 🙂

  20. Kathy says:

    Give Sara a high five! 🙂

  21. Robin says:

    I love that banana. 🙂

    And that joke is one of my favorites. My children enjoyed it, and now that we taught it to our granddaughters, our grandchildren enjoy it too.

  22. Kathy says:

    Hey there, Robin! The Banana says he is glad that you multi-generationally joke with him. 🙂

  23. flandrumhill says:

    Kathy, that’s my favorite knock-knock joke (also told one too many times to my kids when they were growing up – and now my grandsons). It’s right up there in my joke telling repertoire with:
    Why iwas 6 afraid of 7?
    Because he’d heard that 7 8(ate) 9 🙂

  24. Kathy says:

    You know, Amy Lynn, I spend so much time at this computer laughing that it’s not even funny. Ha ha! I remember that 7 ate 9 joke…too funny!

  25. ....RaeDi says:

    A very happy week to you, do not play with your food!

  26. Kathy says:

    Trying not to play with my food! (OK, maybe not trying so very hard…) **grin**

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

