Snow shadows for breakfast

In the hush of dawn

Snow shadows make very nutritious breakfasts.

They dance with Vitamin D, which we northerners need in winter due to  lack of adequate sunlight.

They are filled with flickering protein and trace minerals such as zinc and magnesium.

The calcium in snow shadows becomes apparent when you notice the bone-dense trees swaying in the wind.  No osteoporosis for those who get their recommended Daily Amount of Snow Shadows!

If you haven’t eaten breakfast–or even if you have–please settle quietly to drink it your Recommended Daily Allowance of mid-winter snow shadows.  You don’t even need to get cold or wear sunglasses.

Enjoy…

Getting lighter

Oh sun!

Oh for goodness sake, get your shadow outa the picture!

That's better, honey.

Oh the shadows!

Be still, our snow-shadow-loving hearts...

No, no! This blog is supposed to be about snow shadows, not snowy shovels!

This is supposed to be about snow shadows--not snowy woodpiles. Go in and eat your granola, Kathy!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Snow shadows for breakfast

  1. Beautiful shadows in the snow. We, here in the South, rarely see this.

  2. Lynne Kovan says:

    Lovely, lovely shadow pictures. I even like the snow shovels!

  3. Kathy – You probably didn’t try this…

    …but if you scroll down the page really fast you get the same sensation as telephone posts whipping by in the car — dizzying!

  4. Fountainpen says:

    I think the picture with the shadow that you wanted to get rid of within the picture just might be the “shadow goddess” checking it all out! You never know!

    Fountainpen

  5. Carol says:

    Shadows and reflections – what is it about them? Elongated body shadows can make one wonder about the photographer’s physique – I have many pictures that give the impression I must be a malformed monster of some type.

  6. Brenda Hardie says:

    Beautiful!!! Good Morning dear Kathy, our very own Shadow Goddess of the northwoods! ♥ Thank you for the healthy dose of sun and shadows this morning and for the sneak peek at the shovel and the woodpile 🙂 ♥ Now I feel ready to start my day!

  7. Heather says:

    Why are shadows on fresh, soft snow so bewitching? They feel very ephemeral to me. And don’t you just hate “ruining” the unblemished surface by walking on it? I often find that my plan to avoid a place to I could take pictures means that I stepped in another place that would have been great, too. Ah, well. Really – off to layer up to go play! Thanks for the nutrients 🙂

  8. Marcie says:

    What exquisitely beautiful…gorgeous winter light!

  9. john says:

    Long shadows and filtered light, be it morning or evening, are some of the most calming things in my life. You are blessed.

  10. Colleen says:

    Shadows and reflections. I love seeing those first moments of the day reflected in your snow. If it’s from this morning, hoping your day will continue to be sun-filled 🙂

  11. Munira says:

    Byoooootifulll photos Kathy!

  12. Karma says:

    Brrrrrrrrrr! My rhododendron leaves are still curled up tight here in the afternoon, but with no pretty snow for them to make shadows on. If I’m feeling this chilly here, I can only imagine how cold I’d be being outside before breakfast near your house in the woods taking pretty pictures of sparkly snow shadows.

  13. Dana says:

    So pretty! Both Marty and I have been admiring these photos this afternoon. Thank you!

  14. I can’t get over how lovely those shadows are on the snow! Well done, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  15. Snow shadows! One of winter’s wondrous blessings… I love them.

  16. Sybil says:

    Buurrrrrrp … sorry. Excuse me. Delish. A feast for the eyes and the tummy.

  17. Dawn K says:

    Beautiful snow shadows! Don’t you just love it when the snow is smooth and the sun is out and the blue shadows dance?

  18. emaclean says:

    Stunning! I showed this to my 15 yo daughter who is a budding photographer. Sadly, there is no snow here to photograph. Just blooming camellias.

  19. Very beautiful shadows in the snow! You captured their beauty so wonderfully!

  20. Kathy says:

    I am so glad you enjoyed the Snow Shadow Show! It was lovely to admire their long blue shadows against the white. Thank you all for your comments. Love, Kathy

  21. UGH I am missing the snow here! Ours is melted already 😦 We just need one good storm and havent had one all year! Beautiful photos!

  22. Kathy says:

    Wishing you snow shadows…snowstorms…at least one of them! Thank you.

  23. The Hook says:

    Wildly creative title and post!

  24. lucindalines says:

    Wow, now you make me want to grab my paints and get to work. Too bad I gave those to my middle daughter some years ago. Loved reading about you. In terms of Laura…I could say that I live in a Little House on the Prairie here in one or other of the Dakotas. Loved several of your pieces.

  25. Kathy says:

    Thank you all once again. Lucindalines, never thought about painting snowshadows. How gorgeous those would look. Happy to meet a fellow Little House fan.

  26. Robin says:

    I love snow shadows, and you did a wonderful job of sharing yours with us. Thank you. 🙂

  27. Kathy says:

    As soon as I get past these crazy two days, I am going to quietly & serenely admire snow shadows again. Honest!

  28. karlapr says:

    Ah… where do you live? We have had almost no snow this winter, and it’s been a source of great angst for me. I’m jealous!

  29. Kathy says:

    Thanks again to the snow shadow lovers. We are in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. We do have snow, although not as much as usual. And it’s warmer than usual. I wish you snow…and snow shadows…

  30. Elisa's Spot says:

    OOOOOOOOOOO Kathy Kathy Kathy!!!!!

    Eagles for breakfast!!!!!

    Wonder if anyone has ever captured snow shadows of eagles?

  31. Kathy says:

    Loved looking at that eagle. Thank you, Elisa. That would be a cool shadow capture, indeed. I once photographed a large wingprint on snow. It took your breath away.

  32. jane tims says:

    The metaphor is very apt. I like the snow shovel photo… goes with spoonfuls of cereal. jane

  33. Kathy says:

    Thank you, Jane. Glad we haven’t had to use the snow shovel too much this winter–yet!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

