Pause

Last night's moon out the kitchen window

I cannot write another dashing headline.

Cannot type another amusing or clever or exciting word. (Even if it’s only amusing or clever or exciting in my own mind…)

Someone pushed the “pause” button and everything creative simply screeched to a halt.

This happens with creativity, as you all know.

It will be painting for a hundred days in a row and suddenly the artist can’t lift her paintbrush.

It will be sketching drawing after drawing and suddenly the pencil quits moving.

It will be knitting scarf after sweater after hat after mitten and suddenly the knitting needles stop clicking and sit silently in the closet.

Creativity has a mind of its own.

We must listen to its unfathomable desires.

When it's full--it's full

I’ve been playing wildly with creativity–not taking a blogging break longer than two days–since December.  Took a break of 3-4 days in December.  Took another break way back in October for a similar length.

A brief respite, a pause, a silence, a regeneration.

We insist upon these in our blogging contracts.

Some people insist upon them with much more regularity and consistency.

It’s been super busy here at Lake Superior Spirit since the Freshly Pressed incident three weeks ago.  This Monday, 551 viewers paused to watch my mother stuck in the elevator.  On a normal day since this auspicious blogging event, between 300-500 visit. It’s been a huge increase for this blog.  The other times this blog has been featured, visitors rushed in, but usually rushed out equally quickly and did not stay.  I must admit to courting the newcomers this time, urging creativity not to disappear, c’mon horse, a little faster, can you run faster, feel the wind in our hair, let’s gallop through the meadow!

I love it…I love writing entertaining stories…but am also getting a wee bit tired of attempting to amuse folks. How long can you keep galloping fast?  It simply has to stop.  You also must trot slowly, breathing deep, admiring the wild roses growing beside the pasture.   (Although, truly, I write funny blogs because they make me laugh.  I am always amazed to discover humorous sentences coming out of the typing fingers because I don’t think of myself as a necessarily funny person.)

The part of me that is terribly serious and quiet and meditative suddenly arose this week and thought, “Gosh, who can keep writing humorous blogs forever?” and suddenly I’m heading for another blogging respite, a brief break, a few days of regeneration.

Blessings to the moon. Blessings, Changing One...

Here’s what I am going to do for the next few days:

1)  eat ripe red strawberries very slowly.  found them at the IGA yesterday and bought them, longing for the taste of summer.

2)  walk very very slowly in our slippery icy treacherous driveway.  All our snow is melting and it’s dangerous once again.

3)  not take photos, unless real mountain lions emerge.  not write sentences.  not hang out excessively at the computer–except to catch up reading some other poor neglected blogs.

4)  read.

5)  bake something.  perhaps focaccia.  perhaps muffins.  make some more granola.  simmer soup.  stare out the window.  perhaps venture out on snowshoes–but only if it gets colder and tightens up.  it would be too hard to snowshoe when the snow is so soft that you sink down to china.

6)  not share.  not be creative.  vegetate.

We have to be like the moon at times.  You know how the moon fills up with creative energy, spilling her light upon the earth?  And then she goes dark, dark, dark, disappearing into nothingness for several days before she emerges lighter, lighter, yes indeed, can you see her, a sliver reappearing?

I am not leaving you so completely, abruptly, without offering you a treat.

Tomorrow a very creative and funny guest blogger will be arriving on Lake Superior Spirit, sharing her zest and heart and amusing words with you.  She’s in the full moon of her blogging and I think you will like her very much.

Please welcome her with all your heart, as you always do with guest bloggers who pause on the shores of this lake.   I want to hug each and every one of you who will make her feel welcome here.

See you in a few days.  See you when the moon creates something new out of nothing…

P.S.  If any of you blog subscribers received a notice of another blog “The Great Blogger in the Sky Announceth”…sorry about that.  On Sunday I wrote three blogs very quickly, zam, zam, zam, and scheduled them for later publishing on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.  But this morning when I got very tired of humor, decided to write this “Pause” blog instead.  Ditched the announcement from the Great Blogger in the Sky.  Way too funny (in my strange mind anyway) .  But forgot to cancel its publication.  Rest assured, the funny blog is trashed; gone.  Way too silly to publish.  (Even though it would have enticed more readers than the word “Pause”, sigh, sigh.)  Great Blogger in the Sky indeed!

66 responses to “Pause

  1. I have to stop hanging around my computer too. Wish you a restorative break and looking forward to meeting your guest. :-)

  2. yes!!! strawberries talk too!

    • I can hear them talking in the frig now, Elisa. It’s hard to understand their fruit language, though, unless you’re eating them…

  3. Enjoy your break. Your list of activities sound peaceful and inviting. :)

  4. Enjoy the lunar time of recharging your personal battery.

  5. Wishing you many peace-full moments Kathy………

  6. Brenda Hardie

    Catch your breath…rest easy ♥ Enjoy the strawberries and this time of peaceful rejuvenation ♥ The moon pictures are breathtaking…thank you :)

    • It was fun to lean out the open kitchen window last night and feel the soft warm spring-like breeze and to watch the moon rise into the shadows of the trees. I must have taken the photos just for you, Brenda. Thank you.

  7. I really relate with your words here. Do we always need to entertain with our blogs? Do our stories always have to be ‘funny’? I definitely get more hits and more comments when whatever I blog about has a humorous aspect, and I get that. I don’t want to read about someone constantly blogging their depression, their depressing thoughts, their worries. I want to be perked up! Yet, we writers are just like our readers. Sometimes WE need the perking.

    Relax and rejuvenate. I couldn’t possibly blog as often as you do – once a week is in my ‘mental cotract,’ and that works for me.

    Thanks for being so truthful in your post. That’s the most important thing to include in each one — the truth.

    • roughwighting, I think it’s so interesting that funny/entertaining blogs get more hits than those that lack humor. However, as of today, I vow not to be seduced into attempting to be humorous one more minute than I want to be. (However, I do like laughing, so there should be more humorous blogs.) Honesty seems the most important thing. That’s why I added the part about how many hits, even though that might create envy or despair in some readers. It felt important to be honest about what was happening. Thank you for your honest comment, too.

  8. I used to write blogs every day for years. I don’t do that now. I know it is hard to come up with stuff to write about daily. I will think up a post in my mind, but it never seems to make it into writing.

    • Some day I may be like you, Connie. Perhaps some day I shall write blogs in a leisurely way, maybe once a week or month. You never know! (It’s always interesting to examine our deeper motives, isn’t it? Why we’re writing or not writing…)

  9. Time to recharge, something we all need now and then. Time to revisit that old “why do I blog?” thing again. Do what works for you and we shall follow. Or not. The prize is the pleasure you get from blogging; the number of followers is a bonus. Go for the prize.

    • I always feel there are so many factors that intersect in that oh-so-regular blogging question. No clear-cut answers. It’s all mixed up. A little positive, a little negative, a little pleasure, a little pain. You’re very wise in that sentence about our pleasure. To go for that only is my deepest desire!

  10. I’m contemplating a small break as well so I can catch up on all the little “life” things I’ve been putting off in order to write. ;-)

    (Those strawberries sound really, really good!)

  11. Enjoy the break, Kathy. You are right: you have been “on” for a good, long stretch of time, and now it’s time to make yourself a cozy den and recharge for a bit. Guess what? Your readers will still be here when you re-emerge, waiting to hear all about those strawberries. :)

  12. Have a good Blog break – pause, look, listen, and restore. Feel deeply and laugh often – I’ll be thinking of you.

    • You are my guru of blog breaks, Barb. If I have any questions about how to feel more deeply and laugh more often during break time, you’re the one I’m emailing!

  13. Enjoy your break, Kathy! I feel the need to do that once in a while…. ;)

    • OK, not only is Barb my blog break guru, so are you, Holly. You will get an email if I have any questions, too. Or if I’m tempted to return too early!

  14. Sure you’re taking a blog break. Yeah sure you are. I give ya 36 hours. 48 at the outside. And then your twitching mind-of-their-own-fingers will drag you back to the keyboard.

    I hope.

    • Why you little tease! You’ve offered me an outright challenge! The fingers shall NOT return before 48 hours! (I’m talkin’ to you, fingers. Did you hear how Sybil is taunting us?)

  15. Rest well …

    • Hey, John, we’re headed up to Jeffers for a boys basketball tournament soon. We’ve been on the high school basketball circuit lately. No rest for sports reporters. :)

  16. Wishing you a blessed and restorative moon break…

  17. And like the Sun rising, this too will pass. In the meanwhile, night rests the soul.

  18. The major thing is that we’ve got to be ourselves and you and I know that it means taking time out from blogging so that when we come back we’re ‘reborn bloggers’! I also need to take a break but since I gave up on Absurd Old Bird and turned to my artblog it’s easier as I don’t post as often there anyway.

    Humour is great but the whole of life is not humour and blogging is not the whole of life. Have a good break, Kathy. See you when you get back. Hugs.

    • Life is so many things, as you say, Val. Awareness shares what it wants to share, and then moves to something else–as you did when you changed your blogging ways. I am so enjoying this pause already!

  19. Interesting but then I got another email for another post (which looks like you did not mean to release yet). :)

    I know a pause would help me catch up here.

    • Yep, Scott. I shared what happened in the last paragraph of this blog. The second post announcement you received was a blog I wrote on Sunday, pre-scheduled it to appear, and then kinda “forgot” it was already pre-scheduled as there were new words that wanted to appear.

      Don’t ever worry about catching up on my blog, Scott. There are way too many posts to ever catch up. Just stop by when your heart feels like it.

  20. I’m envious of your picture taking. They are awesome!

  21. I recognize the problem of losing the urge to create, putting things away, and waiting for the urge to return….sometimes it takes a while. After making people laugh for about an hour at a recent baby shower, (it seemed I couldn’t stop saying “funny things”), I turned to a friend and said, “I’m so tired of being funny!”, and I really was worn out. Take the time you need, and return refreshed, ready to share your fantastic blogs.

    • Bonnie, that is really interesting what you say about getting tired “being funny”. It’s almost like a bug we catch sometimes–a funny bug–and we just watch the humor arise. But it can be tiring if perhaps it’s time to turn to something new. Thank you for your kind words. Blessings!

  22. Have a great break, my friend. You deserve it!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Thank you, dear Kathy. This morning it’s been lovely to just let the Spirit of the Morning decide what needs to happen next. (It decided to reply to comments now. But who knows what next?) Hugs back, the other Kathy

  23. You won’t believe it, but then again you will. Tonight I took a photo of the moon that looks almost exactly like yours..only not. You know? I don’t have the good camera, husband has that and he’s away, but even with my little point and shoot the moon was so beautiful tonight I couldn’t resist.

    • Did you post your photo on your blog? I love it when our point & shoots cooperate and the moon cooperates and it’s so beautiful… (Many times my big girl’s camera won’t cooperate either, but you never know, reading the manual might help…) Moon blessings to you, Dawn!

  24. enjoy doing nothing….i admire your insight :-)

    • I love your name. “Open life.” I just read yesterday something like, “Insights are great, but they are worth nothing unless they’re put into action.” Hoping to do that fully. Thank you for pausing here.

  25. Kathy, to quote one of my favourite movies, ‘you just said a cotton-pickin’ mouthful’. (Toddy to Victoria in Victor Victoria)

    Enjoy your rest :)

    J

    • Always saying a cotton-pickin’ mouthful ’round these parts, Jacquie! I am already enjoying this pause. Haven’t been on the computer for more than 15 minutes so far today and it feels…lovely… Thank you for your well-wishes.

  26. Have a good time Kathy, Yes you must take a break. Its really disheartening for me to say this, I miss you everyday. But, go live your life as you wish to live dearie. Have a peaceful time in the coming days. Keep some muffins for me too. Good Bye – till we meet again *smiles*

    • Hi Sonali, I would like to give you a hug! Part of me is delighted that you miss me. But I am enjoying these days of quiet and meditation and not being on the computer too much. We’ll see you soon. Love, Kathy

  27. Your respite plans sound really good, Kathy. Sometimes I worry about spending too much time at the computer, then I worry about not spending enough, neglecting my blogging friends by not leaving comments often enough! Or that I will miss something really great. But I think good blogging friends understand and forgive :-)

    • Karma, I am smiling thinking at how we fret about spending too much time on the computer and then not enough! I don’t think our minds are ever satisfied, no matter what happens. I don’t leave comments as often or as timely either. Going to spend a little time tomorrow, hopefully, catching up reading other’s blogs.

  28. Good that you’re listening to yourself and taking a break..when taking a break is what you need. Looking forward to seeing you return refreshed!

    • I’ve had a fabulous break so far, Marcie. Thank you! (It’s always good when we listen to our deeper selves—AND when we follow through…)

  29. I had to stop and take a breath too. I got so bogged down in churning out “stuff” that I couldn’t think any more and it was no fun at all.
    Well done for recognising that this is what you need to do right now. You’ll get your mojo back, it’s part of who you are.
    ClaireBear
    (I blogged about my experience too ~ http://handmadebyclairebear.com/2012/03/10/random-acts-of-sewing/)

  30. I hear you, Kathy. I for one, definitely cannot keep up to the blog pace that my blog neighbours keep. I’d love to spend more time blogging, but don’t seem to be able to keep up with everything. Hope you have a nice break, Kathy. :)

  31. A break is good…I did not know you were taking one because I had abandoned the computer for oh so many reasons. I had no plans to do anything but be and I am still just “being”…

    Slowly I am reading the blogs I follow. When I catch up, I may write again or not.

    Peace and pause.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

