What think thee? Pussy willows or snow willows?

Pussy willows OR snow willows?

Here is your clue.

Today it’s 65 degrees here.  (That’s 18.33333333 Celsius.)  Barry and I have just sipped lovely beverages on the back deck.  I have a meeting tonight and shall soon depart, just as soon as tonight’s chipotle tempeh laden with tomatoes, peppers and onions bakes in the oven.  If you don’t know what chipotle or tempeh might be, Google them, and then buy them!  Only if your taste buds are open to new healthy alternatives and you desire new and exciting tastes.  Only if…  

(But I know all my readers are open to wild & exciting dietary choices.  I know you are.  If you were meat and potato folks you wouldn’t pause at this blog hearth.  You’d be at meat & potato blog hearths.)

Think thee that we have pussy willows or snow willows in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula?

OK, I may be fooling you a wee bit.

Or maybe not!

What think you?

And do you have pussy willows in your back yard?  Crocuses?  Daffodils?  What signs of spring assure you that blooms shall someday delight you?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to What think thee? Pussy willows or snow willows?

  1. We don’t have pussy willows in our back yard, but I wish we did. I love them. To find out more about my back yard, you will have to read my blog tomorrow, as that’s exactly what the post will be about–with lots and lots of my photos!

    Happy Warm Weather to you!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Kathy says:

      Hello, Kathy! I shall look forward to YOUR blog! I can’t believe you don’t have pussy willows. What’s the world coming to when everyone doesn’t have pussy willows?

  2. I have no signs of spring except for the sun and the melting puddles! I will take what I can get 😉 Bring on Spring!

    • Kathy says:

      All we have is melting puddles everywhere, Belle! I have been spending lots of time sitting under trees, on the dry slope. Glad you are excited about spring, too.

  3. Fountainpen says:

    Here in Southern Ohio we have daffodils galore blooming….
    and we have those lovely magnolia trees BLOOMING!!!!!
    IT IS TRUE, and today is March 14…..
    Amazing…..
    However as you know we have had terrible tornados
    here and in Northern KY and Eastern IN so it has been
    difficult for many many……
    Fountainpen

    • Kathy says:

      Daffodils AND magnolia trees blooming, fountainpen? Say it isn’t so! I love spring, don’t you? But those tornadoes are not fun…so sorry about that…hope they calm down asap. We are hoping fire season isn’t bad around here because of not enough snow this winter.

  4. Brenda Hardie says:

    Hi Kathy! I think you have graced us with snow willows 🙂 Sure wish it was pussy willows though! Don’t have any in my yard…maybe someday I will. Nothing is blooming yet…although the grass is beginning to show a tiny bit of green. It is 70 degrees here with 72 expected tomorrow and 77 expected for Friday…WOW this is NOT weather for March in MN! Haven’t been out taking pictures here…been doing a deep cleaning inside while worrying about my sister 😦 Must keep myself busy.
    Hugs and love to you honey….have a peaceful evening!

    • Kathy says:

      Wow, you have some warm weather, too, Brenda? You really think they are snow willows? **wink** Nothing blooming around here, either, except in my spring mind. Wondering what’s wrong with your sister. Please email and share, if you would like…

  5. Susan D. says:

    Boy, those sure look like pussy willows! It’s nice of the snow to pattern itself just so, isn’t it? Fun photo.

    I wonder if there are pussy willows in Morocco? Nah, probably not …

    Your evening meal sounds delish! Will check it out. Hope your meeting goes quickly and you are soon back to your cozy home 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I thought so too, Susan D. Pussy willows in Morocco? Of course there are! tee hee…back from the meeting now. It went pretty quickly and smoothly, thank all the pussy willow goddesses in the Universe.

  6. Elisa's Spot says:

    The ones on the trees at the house while house shopping when I looked up and 7 deer scampered across the hill just above the patio!

    It got to 75 again here today!!!

    Is all of the snow making rivers?

  7. john says:

    I can tell you what day the snow will return … March 22 … we will beep as we spin our wheels trying to get past the Sentinel up the hill 😉

    • Kathy says:

      OK, John, c’mon, give. WHY March 22nd? Why EXACTLY March 22nd? If you convince me, I shall make sure not to plan any trips to town that day, thereby avoiding those spinning wheels.

  8. Colleen says:

    The picture, and thought, of snow willows has captured my imagination! Spring is well on it’s way here. Geraniums and bougainvillea in full bloom on the patio and aphids feasting on pots of parsley and chives, oh dear 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Can you imagine such a thing as snow willows, Colleen? I didn’t love the photo as much as I loved the imagination of such a thing. Bougainvillea? Oh be still my heart…

  9. Heather says:

    We don’t have willows here, but I took pictures of some this evening, and they’re up on my blog. Thanks for the segue! I do have crocuses in bloom, though. I cannot believe this weather.
    I’ve had tempeh on my to-buy list for a while. One day I will actually do it and report back to you!

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Ms. Heather! I shall cruise over to your blog in my 55 Chevy to see your crocuses. What weather indeed! Although today is colder up here. In the 50’s. I hope you like tempeh. I adore it with a passion. Barry, um, not so much.

  10. Forget Spring, SUMMER is already in Mid-Michigan!! It was 79 degrees yesterday!! My boys were in shorts & t-shirts, and played in the back yard until bedtime. I wouldn’t normally let my older son stay outside so late on a school night, but this was a special occasion – first shorts day of the season!! 😉 I have a few wild flower shots that I may have to share today, my boys put big rocks next to them so they would be “protected” (so no one would step on them). 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Almost 80 degrees, Holly? Lucky you! I am smiling thinking of your boys with shorts & t-shirts. How precious, how very precious. Is it colder today? It’s about ten degrees colder today in the Yoop.

  11. There are pussy willows in the “protected wetlands” area behind our back fence. Gorgeous!

    Signs of spring? I’m sitting here with the windows wide open — last week that would have meant freezing my buns off. This week it heralds spring 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Windows wide open is a gift, gift, gift at this time of year! We had ours open yesterday but today is a wee bit more chilly. OK, ten degrees chillier. Which would usually be considered tropical.

  12. I think the living things around me are not sure what to do yet. The weather, like years, is very unseasonably warm. Except for the Snowdrops and robins about, looks like others plants and animals are waiting to make sure they are not being fooled.

    • Kathy says:

      Scott, don’t we hope that the plants and animals wait to make sure? I am a tad bit nervous that everything is going to blossom, and then the frost will zap ’em good, and maybe we won’t have apples and acorns this year. Let’s keep our fingers crossed that Mama Nature won’t be too foolish.

  13. P.j. grath says:

    Pussy willows are out on Nagonaba Street in Northport. Protected from the north at 102, they always appear early.

  14. Your dinner sounds good – we use tempeh all the time – it’s a great meat substitute “that isn’t trying to be meat,” as Tim puts it…

    Hmmm – maybe I should plant a pussy willow in my garden… Right now we have snowdrops, crocuses and periwinkle in bloom. So cheerful!

    • Kathy says:

      Barbara, for some reason Barry doesn’t like tempeh too much. I adore it passionately. He does compromise so we can share it once or twice a month. How fortunate for you that Tim enjoys it.

      Snowdrops, crocuses and periwinkle in bloom!!! My goodness…what a welcome sight that must be.

  15. Carol says:

    Our only sign of imminent spring is that the snow is changing to rain as the day goes on. I am ready for the pussy willow to bloom and the crocus and daffodils to pop up and sunshine and blue sky with temperatures as warm as the sun and sky make one think it should be. I am ready!

  16. Robin says:

    Our pussy willows are about to bloom (after having gone through the furry stage). The crocuses are almost finished. The daffodils, hyacinths, and forsythia are all blooming like gangbusters now. The willows and maples are almost ready to leaf. It is a very strange March, but I’m not complaining. 🙂

    Your chipotle tempeh bake sounds yummy. Any leftovers? 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Your bloomings sound beautiful, Robin. Some of our trees started to leaf this weekend after 80 degree temps and we are so scared for them. We don’t want it to freeze hard and kill the baby leaves. If that happens repeatedly, the trees can be in trouble. I would love to have shared the chipotle tempeh leftovers with you. Barry doesn’t really like it that much, so I wolf it down thinking there isn’t a better food in the entire planet.

  17. Forsythia bloomed and gone; Daffodils bloomed and gone; red-buds bloomed and gone; pear trees bloomed and gone; crab-apple and dogwoods blooming and snowball bush on the verge….

  18. Dana says:

    I love pussy willows! Seeing them every spring brings me right back to when I was a young girl. 🙂

    I can’t believe how warm it is (or was– latecomer alert) in Michigan! We usually have to wait until late April or May before the temperature hits 18 celsius. Then again, we live on the coast, so things are pretty moderate no matter what. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      It’s cooled down again here, Dana…52 degrees (11.1 Celsius). Moderate temps sound good… Pussy willows are really beautiful right now.

  19. jeffstroud says:

    I just found this among my spam mail. so I am playing catch up!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

