A bedroom full of trees and other ordinary musings

Quiet reflection from our deck

1.  It’s nice to be able to post blogs “whenever I feel it” after a two month experiment with once-a-week blogging.  It truly was a lovely experience.  So much time and space opened up for reflection, for walking in spring beauty, for enjoying the present moment.  However, it’s equally delightful to be able to post when one feels like it, sharing the ordinary moments of one’s day.

2.  I could post an entire blog detailing the pros and cons of weekly versus daily blogging, but will spare you.  There are positives and negatives to both, as in all of life, yes?

3.  Our crazy rutted back-country pavement has now been “modernized” back to a dirt road.  We travelers have been forced to drive 15 mph on our road for the past couple of years due to the crumbling pavement.  Our mechanic just discovered a broken rear coil spring on one of our twin Buicks this week–a legacy. Now we can scurry along at 20 mph on gravel.  A new modern world!

See what someone penned on our Pavement Ends sign last autumn? Folks were glad the pavement finally ended.

4.  Barry spotted a piebald deer two weeks ago.  I’ve never seen one.  Piebalds are animals with large asymmetrical brown and white patches.  Wouldn’t it be fabulous to get a photo of this fella?

5.  I could write an entire snake follow-up blog, but will narrow down the update to one paragraph.  We had not spotted the basement snake in two weeks.  On Wednesday, I was putting laundry in the dryer when suddenly–hello, snake!–three inches of a snake’s head appeared from beneath our insulation above the washing machine.  Turns out the snake(s) were coming in through a hole in our cedar siding.  Barry filled the holes with black roof tar and, hopefully, please hopefully, the snakes now will stay content in our woodpile.

Meet our basement snake in the woodpile where he belongs.

6.  Speaking of woodpiles, we have been splitting wood almost every evening.  I run the splitter; Barry lifts the heavy logs and we both toss them in the ’49 Studebaker pickup truck.  It’s a three day process.  On the first day we fill three rows in the truck.  The second day we finish off the last two rows.  On the third day we stack the logs in the woodpile.

7.  We are trying to complete twelve pickup loads of wood before July 25th.  That’s when Barry will have his second knee replacement surgery.

8.  His left knee is doing pretty good, although it’s still can be stiff.  Apparently some folks have more trouble with stiffness than others.  He also has pain on his right side–from head to foot, including wrist–which we hope will abate after the second surgery.

9.  Our daughter and her boyfriend come to visit for a week in July, hurray!  We’ll also see our son, Chris, in late August or early September.  Being with family is the greatest, isn’t it?

Looking at my daughter’s bedroom window from the deck. Looks like her bedroom is full of trees, doesn’t it?

10.  What other little tidbits can I share?  Our garden progresses nicely with all the recent rain.  I am going to pick some arugula and romaine for lunch soon.  It will be covered with dirt and you put it in the salad-spinner and merrily wash and spin until it’s clean.  Barry does not like arugula.  I am going to make an arugula salad with fresh blueberries, feta and almonds.  He can fend for himself.

11.  I have no idea how often this blogger will be posting now.  Could be daily; could be weekly; could be every-few days; could be whatever the Universe desires.  If I return to daily blogging–do NOT feel that you must read or comment daily, sweet reader.  Only read when your heart desires.  I am so often blogging because of the joy of sharing and writing.  Only read when you feel a similar tug on your heart.

12.  Hope you all enjoy this beautiful summer weekend!  May we all allow the ordinary daily unfoldings to delight us.  Love, Kathy

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to A bedroom full of trees and other ordinary musings

  1. Karma says:

    Delightful as always Kathy. I did notice that you had changed from the blogging once-a-week style. With summer here, I imagine my posting style will be as random as ever – busy days, lazy days and losing-track-of-the-days all lie ahead. I enjoyed your updates and your salad sounds yummy. I’ve strangely been craving almonds lately…will have to do something about that I think! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, June 20th (the Solstice) was the last day of the once-weekly blogging challenge. I will look forward, as always, to reading your random posts, whenever your heart decides to share. I LOVE almonds. Let’s munch a few together.

  2. A lovely post, sharing lots of thoughts, which makes me feel like we’re chatting over a nice cool beverage under a shade tree. Thanks, Kathy!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, these were the kinds of thoughts that felt harder to share randomly during once a week blogging. I am glad you felt like you were right there. *Slap!* No, no, I’m not slapping you. It was one of those mosquitoes which won’t stop biting. Or was it a no see um? How’s the bugs on your island?

  3. Susan Derozier says:

    Dear Kathy, As always, it is such fun to follow your musings and adventures. Loved the picture of your snake, back where he belongs. Interested in the deer you mentioned Barry had seen. Also wishing him a successful second knee surgery. When it is over, ask him for me if it feels like walking on stilts. i couldn’t explain what I was experiencing until I heard another woman mention that and it was a perfect description. Never quite trust either leg to step off of or onto. Also so glad your kids are coming soon and wishing mine were doing the same. No such visits in sight. Thanks again for helping me feel “connected.”

    • Kathy says:

      Susan, I am glad you enjoyed these random reports of our life. Don’t you think that snake has a sweet face? 🙂 I am still spooked down the basement, though. Hoping that ends… I will tell Barry of your well-wishes and ask him about the stilts. He has to walk very carefully. I can’t believe both of our kids are coming this summer. Can’t remember when they both came in the same summer. Wishing you some future visits from your family. P.S. Was sorry to hear about the flooding out west in Wisconsin/Minnesota, too. When it rains, it pours… In Colorado and other places they would give anything for some rain.

  4. Cmsmith says:

    This was a nice post, Kathy. I’m so glad you found the snake’s entry and exit point. That must have given you quite a start. I wonder what he or she was looking for in your basement.

    • Kathy says:

      Christine, glad you enjoyed. It was fun to write just a random post. Barry’s theory about the snake is that it was tempted into the basement because of the heat from the woodstove. It was cold earlier in the month and our woodstove was hot…and, well, the rest is snake history… We hope.

  5. Heather says:

    Hooray for you – you broke the “blogging addiction!” I’ve been very busy with things, and just haven’t sat down to do it. I’ll get back to it someday 🙂 In the meantime, I’ll be happy to read whatever you write…I just might not read it the day you wrote it 😉 Glad the snake situation has been figured out. Enjoy your family time. I know I’m looking forward to time with mine!

    • Kathy says:

      Thank you, thank you, thank you, Ms. Heather! I really don’t feel any addictive feeling to blogging right now, and that feels sooooo good. May it stay this way. Otherwise will have to skedaddle again! Honeybunch, you never have to read these posts on the same day. I am grateful for anyone who shows up to read once a week. If they don’t show up in a month I start crying…lol…not…well, maybe sometimes. Really glad the snake story has some closure, but can’t convince my jumpy reactions that it’s over yet…

  6. pearlz says:

    Yes, breaks from blogging, can be good – and you share so much on yours.

    • Kathy says:

      June, it was such an enjoyable break. Sharing so much with words can sometimes take away from the simple joys of Presence. It was good to reconnect in a deeper way. So nice to see you again!

      • pearlz says:

        Yes, I call time like this cocoon moments in life away from the blog, and it is good sometimes to not take the camera etc and be in the moment as you said.

  7. Enjoyed my afternoon cuppa tea reading your post – refreshing as always, and now I’m ready for the next client.

    • Kathy says:

      Delightful to enjoy a cuppa tea with you, Ms. Laurie. Am drinking a cup of regular black tea now after splitting wood, cleaning an outdoor lawn chair and harvesting some more lettuce.

  8. Lori DiNardi says:

    Did you really say “hello snake” or was it more like, “EEECCHHHH a SNAAAKE?” Okay, so that’s just me from when they were getting in our house. We also found the hole where they were coming in … it was where some old cables used to come into the house. It is now closed off.

    I’ll comment when the spirit moves me, and you blog when it moves you. Nice to read you again. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Oh Lori there was much more to the snake story than I told here. My first thought was kinda “Hello, snake” before the mild panic struck. Then I jabbed two sticks of kindling up into the hole where the snake’s head was, hoping to push him back outside, please. Everything was fine until one of the pieces of kindling fell into the washing machine. That’s when I screamed. lol! Such babies we can be… the snake was probably so insulted! Glad that we’re reading & commenting when the spirit moves us. The spirit knows so much more than we could! 🙂

  9. Christine says:

    Best of wishes for his surgery. I’ve heard the stiffness is a problem too in this kind of replacement surgery but after tearing my ACL last winter I can attest yes that is a problem. I still do exercises when it acts up. Love the snake saga.

    • Kathy says:

      Christine, it makes Barry feel better when he hears that others have experienced this and it’s not just him. But I am sorry to hear you’ve experienced the stiffness as well. (You might want to read my response to the comment up above.) I elaborated on the snake saga a little. Including an inadvertent scream…

  10. john says:

    Summer became just a little bit better! Can you imagine Barry pain free? Jenny is having surgery the same week. We are trying to fanagle a way to be recooping by the healing waters of Gitche Gumee.

    • Kathy says:

      I am trying to imagine Barry pain-free, John, and hoping that happens soon. Wish Jenny well with her surgery…and maybe see you again later on? P.S. We went with friends to da Finns Friday night and thought of you.

  11. lisaspiral says:

    Glad you found the entry for the snake(s) and sealed it up. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you stay snake free this fall when it gets colder again. The salad sounds delightful. I will admit to missing the more frequent postings, but I’m glad you got the break you needed.

    • Kathy says:

      Man oh man, Lisa, hoping we found that hole! Really? You missed the more frequent postings? That is so sweet! I guess some people missed them and others liked the break.

  12. jeffstroud says:

    Wow, Lovely little blog post, I think it has been some time since I have seen one of your blog. I you were blogging weekly I missed them. Oy
    So glad to hear from you!

  13. sybil says:

    “That very night in Max’s room a forest grew and grew – and grew until his ceiling hung with vines and the walls became the world all around and an ocean tumbled by with a private boat for Max and he sailed off through night and day and in and out of weeks and almost over a year to where the wild things are.”

  14. Susan D. says:

    Lovely, Lovely!

  15. Joanne says:

    What a lovely chatty moment or two I’ve just had with you, whilst drinking my cup of tea Kathy! Somehow the thought that you may have also been drinking tea as you chatted away is very appealing, so I will imagine that, okay?

    I do hope that Barry made sure that the snake was on the OUTSIDE of the basement, before he filled in the entry and exit holes! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Joanne, it seems I am always drinking tea. OK, after that first cup of morning coffee. 🙂 We tried our DARNDEST to make sure the snake(s) were outside before sealing up the holes but we have no Concrete Proof. We can only hope. We can also only hope that ALL the holes were sealed. I am still a tad bit nervous.

  16. Emma says:

    It’s so nice to check back in with the World of Kathy!

    I have never seen a piebald deer, either. I hope you get to spot (and photograph) your local piebald deer soon. 🙂

  17. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Lovely blog of musings! Glad to hear you have a snake “remedy” going – whew! I’m done with all my salad greens now until fall. It’s been too hot here! Anxious to cool off for a week over the 4th up at the lake – we need it.

    As for your random blogging, everyone needs to do what they need to do. I applaud you for going with your gut. It makes the best blogs! 🙂

    Our summer dates up north are all up for grabs since Hubs is having some knee surgery too now – ugh. I’ll be in touch via email when the chaos gets orderly. I am just assuming that is possible! 🙂
    hugs
    suZen

    • Kathy says:

      Hello SuZen, wow, it sounds like your plate keeps getting fuller this summer. So sorry to hear about your husband’s knees–so sorry. Yes, please, give an email if and when something opens up for you. I love being unpredictable and, yet, in other ways am absolutely predictable. Guess we all are!

  18. Carol says:

    “I am so often blogging because of the joy of sharing and writing”, which is as it should be I think. I enjoy our visits, but visits are always best when everyone is ready to stop for a moment or two and enjoy. When we are doing something for pleasure, it should never feel like an obligation.
    I hope, fervently hope and pray, that Barry’s second knee replacement will make him feel like a new man and that the pains will go away and that both of you can relax and enjoy your lives.
    Until our next visit. . . .

    • Kathy says:

      I’ve felt all range of feelings while blogging, Carol. Yes, no, maybe so. But that love of writing/creativity is one of the strongest feelings that stays at the forefront. Guess that’s why I’m still at it four years later. Fervently joining you in that prayer that Barry’s pains go away. Thank you so much.

  19. sonali says:

    Oh Nice. But, I’d rather prefer you blog more often. I was terrified to see that slimy creature. Please be careful! Looks like Kiah’s room requires maintenance? I too hope Barry’s second knee surgery goes well. Take care dear Kathy! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hi Sonali. I am sorry that I didn’t warn you about the slimy snake. But, hey, aren’t you glad it wasn’t in YOUR house? Ha ha about Kiah’s room needing maintenance. She can’t wait to come home next month. It looks different inside the house! Thanks for the surgery well wishes, and, yes, I am trying to fulfill your desire & blog more often–for a little while at least. 🙂

  20. Marianne says:

    Fresh salad ingredients from the garden sound yummy. I will enjoy my first CSA pick up of the season tomorrow. Can’t wait to see what my farmer Candace will harvest.

    So glad you found out how the snake got in.

    Sounds like you have a wonderful summer planned with family. Good for you, Kathy. Enjoy.

    Blessings for Barry’s other knee surgery. I trust all will go well.

    Wishing you a wonderful week, Kathy. 🙂

  21. Dawn says:

    Good luck to Barry for the next surgery. I hope it goes smoothly and he’s out on both feet very soon! I wrote the wandering tree planter story last week, I don’t think you got to read it so I’m giving you a heads up as it’s sort of in your neck of the woods. Though of course to us trolls, ANYTHING in the UP is in your neck of the woods!

    • Kathy says:

      Dawn, thank you, I wish the same thing. Hey, I DID read your wandering tree planter story last week and can almost–74.3% remember responding! It was a great tale. You must always alert me to your UP stories. They make me smile.

  22. P.j. grath says:

    Gravel road: I really like that whole concept, except for (1) washboard effect and (2) runoff gullies. That I want my driveway paved, you undersstand. Being past where the pavement ends isn’t as extreme as being off the grid, but it feels good, doesn’t it?

    • Kathy says:

      Oh no–the washboard effect and the runoffs. How could we have forgotten those parts? We’re just enjoying the racing speeds down the road. Racing is such a relative term, isn’t it, Pamela?

  23. Barb says:

    I like this gravel road, wood splitting, arugula post, Kathy. However, I would be letting the laundry pile up for sure.

    • Kathy says:

      Hmmm, it’s probably time for a load of darks. Must strengthen resolve and tiptoe downstairs. No sightings… Glad you liked the arugula post with its gravel road and the roar of the wood splitter.

  24. AnnieR says:

    Hi Kathy-I wandered over here from Bree’s blog. I enjoyedyour Carriage ride post so much, I spent an hour in the archives! Love your writing and love that I’ve found a new ‘up north’ blog. Hope the snake stays in the woodpile!

    • Kathy says:

      AnnieR, nice to meet you! I love you for spending an hour in the archives here! Hope I post enough “up north” posts for you. Unlike Bree, I tend to go off on 5,000,000 different subjects, some of which touch on Lake Superior and our Upper Peninsula trees. 🙂

  25. What a nice catch-up post. It would be lovely to catch a photo of the piebald deer. Hope your hubby has fixed your snake problem. The window/tree picture kind of reminds me of the kids’ story ‘Where the Wild Things Are’. 🙂

    It sounds like you live in a lovely area. I am truly envious of the peace and quiet you must enjoy. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I had fun writing this catch-up post, withershins. I SURELY hope the snake problem is fixed too. Did you read one of the comments up above? They quoted Where the Wild Things Are, too. It is a peaceful area…although I have learned that peace is more a state of mind than where we live…

  26. Dana says:

    I’m excited to see the “schedule” that your blogging will take now that you have emerged from your sacred retreat. You sound really refreshed and invigorated in this post, my friend. (And that SNAKE! Great photo, but maybe a little too close for comfort!)

    • Kathy says:

      Dana, I have no idea what schedule the blogging will take now. Isn’t it always fun to see how the Universe will express itself through us–and how often? I love how the Universe has already expressed being refreshed, invigorated, peace and…OK…a little craziness. Still hoping to hear what you might think of the latest post about “numbers”. I thought of you while writing it.

  27. Kathy, I enjoy your blogs whenever you choose to write them! Been on a bit of a walkabout myself this month – no blogs for all of June. And the inspiration that had ebbed is now rushing in once more. Love the snake photo and yes, would love to see the piebalds!

    • Kathy says:

      Hope you enjoyed your walkabout (love that word!) and your non-blogging time, but will enjoy your inspiration arising once again. Blessings!

  28. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy…lol…you’ve answered a few of my email questions on this blog!
    I’m glad Barry discovered how the snake was getting in your house and that he fixed it! I know I would not appreciate snakes in my house! Spiders and centipedes are bad enough! Thanks for letting me know when Barry’s next knee surgery is…July 25th…I’ll keep him in my prayers. Sure hope the pain goes away….that must be awful to deal with every day. Kiah’s window has a view that I envy…seeing all those trees would be like heaven for me.
    Well, this took me a long time because company dropped in so I was visiting with them for awhile. Now it’s time to get groceries.
    Have a good afternoon Kathy, I’ll read more later 🙂 ♥

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

