Yet another poofadillo

Poofadillo A

We’re having another poofadillo right now.

You know about poofadillos, don’t you?

It’s when unexpected thunderstorms bear down.

Poofadillos come from nowhere.

One minute it’s sunny; the next minute rain and wind.

I coined the term “poofadillo” last spring.

“What’s the weather?” Barry would ask.

“A few poofadillos popping up,” I would say.

First, we chortled.  Poofadillos!  How silly!

Poofadillo B

It’s now standard household terminology.

Our daughter and boyfriend left today to visit the nearby “big” city.  I ate feta-avocado-bean-snap pea-tomato salad before wandering to sit in the woods and ponder insect holes in leaves.

Suddenly–hark–what yonder sound?  Could that be thunder?  Yet another poofadillo approaching?

I leaned against a tree longer, idly watching flies buzz and ants crawl.  More thunder, a great distant rumbling from the north, out there on Lake Superior.

Yep, another poofadillo.

Poofadillo C

I headed inside to nap, all worn out from watching leaves, flies and ants, when rain gushed from dark heavy clouds and it suddenly seemed imperative to tell you about poofadillos.

Any words you’ve coined to expand our vocabulary?

Reconciliation of poofadillo

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Yet another poofadillo

  1. Great word, Kathy. I’m adopting it.

  2. gigi says:

    Not a word I created but I love sundelightful.

    Our weather has been poofadillo as well, for most of June.

  3. funny how words become part of our everyday language when we use them enough – like your creativity

  4. AnnieR says:

    One of mine is ‘Skunk Fire Day” to describe one of those days where you’ve got so much to do you don’t know where to start. It came from an incident my friend had at work. Someone came running into her office and yelled “There’s a skunk in the lobby!” At that same moment someone else ran in yelling “the copier’s on fire” The whole office was paralyzed for a moment.. What to do first? Get rid of the skunk or put out the fire?????

  5. Elisa's Spot says:

    woo hoo poofadillos, sun, glittering rain, thunder wind lightning rainbow over and over yay!

  6. Great word – I love it!! Probably the only “new” words used in my household are the ones that my boys came up with as they were learning how to talk. “All peen” = “All clean”, “cwubs” = “gloves”, etc…..

  7. “Feta-avocado-bean-snap pea-tomato salad”

    Kathy – If you ever decide to open a cafe, please let me know. I’d love to drool over your menu!

    The Laurieism we use frequently is “sniggle” – it denotes an exact amount of a certain something, but that amount is different based on the something.

    FOR EXAMPLE
    A sniggle of salt is different than a sniggle of wood for the fire. A sniggle of Windex is different than how much I’m going to cut Willa’s hair — just a sniggle.

    We’ll talk again in a sniggle (the next time one of us posts).

  8. Heather says:

    Poofadillo is a perfect term for pop-ups. Dramastic is my favorite personally-coined term. I use it when neither dramatic nor drastic will do on their own 😉

  9. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Just home from Eagle River (Wisconsin that is – ha) and we had poofadillos AND rain/wind storms twice. A big chunk of a huge tree (I call it Elder tree cuz it’s the biggest/oldest for our entire neighborhood) fell down where hubs used to park the boat trailer. Fortunately it fell without hitting my daughter’s car, tho right next to it. There is plenty of it left for other storms. 🙂

    Love the word! Sure seems appropriate considering storms do seem to pop up so fast up yonder.

    My only “invented” word that comes to mind is tippely – when something is not straight, or leaning. Hubs always says I make up words – hmmm, he should be the one responding.
    Stay cool.
    hugs
    suZen

  10. Your word makes so much sense! Some sunshine, some clouds, and then POOF, a thunderstorm.
    My family likes it when I suddenly say, “ridiculuscious.” That’s when I enjoy a ridiculously good dessert. :+)

  11. Great word, Kathy. Sara coins new words all the time, mostly because she notoriously mispronounces them. Does that count?
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  12. lisaspiral says:

    I love to coin words when I can’t quite find the one to express what I’m trying to say. Today’s was listish. Poofadillo sound much more fun, and there’s usually a rainbow at the end.

  13. Susan D. says:

    Oh, I love the word “poofadillo” ~ it IS a perfect description! TJ, Evy and I experienced the same poofadillo that you did while we were playing badminton today. I also love the descriptive photos you included to describe poofadillos. They are perfect! How clever the observation and wording of your last photo … reconciliation of poofadillo. Brilliant!

    Okay, one of my many made-up words is “wapatiti” .. (wop a ti ti). I use it when life gets a little wild and saying “wapatiti” over and over again calms me down. Hahaha. It has a rhythm, an untamed kind of vibe … and it just works for me! Go figure. Thanks for such a fun, interesting, poofadillo of a blog, dearest 🙂

  14. Poofadillo sounds perfect to describe a sudden storm! I’m also really liking “skunk-fire day”. I speak an invented language to the dogs, for no sensible reason, but it works since they respond to the tone of voice most anyway. When my granddaughter was younger, she thought I had the gift of somehow knowing dog language.

  15. Our daughter, when she was little, called the car windshield wipers “scrippers”. It caught on and we all call ’em that now. Not as cool as poofadillo, though!

  16. Karma says:

    Poofadillo! I love it. Coined words from us: “poochachos” – the dogs, a combination of “pooch” and muchachos. The boy dog alone would be poochacho, and the girl dog poochacha of course!

  17. sybil says:

    Poofadillo — Seems a bit mild for a big, sudden thunderstorm 😉

  18. kiwidutch says:

    we have second hand shops here called ‘kringloopwinkels”and our kids renamed them “krinklewinkles”… which of course stuck and is now a word in general use in our family.

  19. jeffstroud says:

    LOL! great word! great experience!

  20. Love poofadillos! Now I know what to call them!

  21. Chris Roddy says:

    Love the word, and certainly understand the meaning!

  22. idiotprufs says:

    We get those on Lake Erie too, but I’ve never heard the term poofadillo.

  23. After the poofadillo comes the rainbow. I was hoping for a poofadillo or two when I was visiting a beach on Lake Ontario last weekend. Alas, they did not appear. Maybe next time I’ll get lucky.

  24. Joanne says:

    I like “poofadillo” Kathy, that’s a fun word! I make up words all the time (around my family, at least!) when a dictionary word just doesn’t seem enough. None that I can think of right now (isn’t it always the way?), but they are words that come under the heading of “you had to be there at the time” mostly.

    I’m way behind on keeping up with all of my fav bloggers and have been catching up a bit lately. I have also managed to neglect my own blogs in recent times as well. I blame my new camera! Too much time spent taking photos! 🙂 But I DID add something, just for you, on a recent post…you’ll have to pop over to my place to see what it is. 😀

  25. Dana says:

    Poofadillo– priceless! The only word I’ve ever coined was a hybrid: “humilifed”. It’s like being humiliated AND mortified at the same time… a pretty sorry state, indeed. 😉

  26. wolfsrosebud says:

    send one our way… the corn fields are drying up

  27. Karen says:

    We get them all the time…just didn’t know the proper name. Silly me, I was just calling them a thunderstorm. LOL

  28. flandrumhill says:

    No new words for me though I might start inventing some once my memory begins to fail. Your new word sounds so appropriate for what it is describing.

    I love that picture of the children running in the rain.

  29. Just from this blog and comments, I learned 5 new ‘words’: poofadillos, Skunk Fire Day, poochachos, krinklewrinkles, and humilified! Love ’em all! 🙂

  30. Carol says:

    My son had a friend as a teenager that was hyper and my explanation was that she just “bipped” around. My word? Don’t really know, I may have first heard it elsewhere. I do love your poofadillos though.

  31. Colleen says:

    Laughing at Amy-Lynn’s comment and thinking, oh no, it ‘s already started to happen!!

    Poofadillo A is magnificent ….the photo too. And the photographer!

  32. Robin says:

    Love the word, your words, and the way you illustrated with images. 🙂

    Please send some poofadillos my way. Pretty please. We need rain. We’re seven inches below what we should be for the year. I want to trust that Mother Nature knows what she’s doing, but the trees are looking so sad and droopy. I feel sorry for them.

    I’ve coined the term “slackmongering” (that’s what I’m doing when I’m not doing what I should be doing), and thought “snizzle” (a mix of snow and rain) was new, but I see there’s a definition at the Urban Dictionary so it looks like some other great mind already came up with that.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

