Accepting our dork factor

Unique

Here’s the scoop, kids.

Some of us may not want to hear this, but…

we’re all dorks.

Every last one of us.

We all have a dork factor.

OK, my dork factor may be stronger or wilder than your dork factor, but we’re all dorks–unless we’re robots.

Unless we’re sheep all bleating the same.

Pardon me, sheep

If we’re embracing our individuality, our birthright, we’ll act differently than the crowd.

Once upon a time, say, back in high school, and maybe yesterday, you tried to be cool.  You tried to fit in.  You tried to hide your dorkdom.

Then you grew up and embraced it–OK, maybe not always, but certainly after today.

When people frown and try to fit you in a round hole, applaud your square rights.  Insist on your unpredictability.

Hot pink

Your dorky edges dance.

Your funky eyes wink.

You will not be the same as Jane, John or Julie Doe.

They can not make you.  You inner thoughts cannot convince you to be cool and boring. You will be the magnificent dorky wonderful human you are!

Now!

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Accepting our dork factor

  1. Love the last photo! Can I steal it?

  2. Heather says:

    Owning my dorkiness and glad you are too 🙂

  3. Amen to that my dorky sister! Geeks are now accepted, time for the dork in all us to be, too.

  4. Love this post. I have MASSIVE dork factor!

  5. I so needed this reminder that my DORKINESS is part of who I am, and if someone can’t handle that it’s their problem, not mine.

  6. john says:

    I love this … I only wish my family would embrace my dork factor and allow me to express it.

  7. i say let us all take back our dorkdoms!

  8. Elisa's Spot says:

    now how can i revolt if everyone is a dork!!!??!?!

    has a pouting fit

    covets pink shoes….

  9. When I was in college a good friend of mine told me, in all seriousness, “You know you’re a dork, don’t you?” I thought it was a very high compliment.

  10. katrinamarieimages says:

    i love be a dork. it looks good on me.

  11. Val says:

    I get confused between Dork and Nerd. I’m one or the other, not sure which! Sort of nerdish dork, probably. 😉

  12. Sweet post! And a good reminder to embrace our quirks – all those wonderful things that make us individuals. Thanks, Kathy!

  13. Niiiice! We’re dorks in my family too and we totally dig it. 🙂

  14. Dana says:

    Yes! I often talk about my “coolness factor”, but using words like “coolness factor” is, in fact, part of what makes me a dork! Love it, Kathy!

  15. I’m a raging dork and proud of it. Thanks for helping put dork in its place, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  16. sybil says:

    You say “dork” like it’s not a good thing …

    I never knew I was a dork. Had no freakin’ idea. Wore stripes and polka dots together …

  17. susan says:

    Hi Kiddo,
    Back home just in time to find out I’m a dork. 🙂 Hubs had his knee surgery yesterday so you know what I’m doing.
    The Nurse
    SuZen

  18. This is fabulous, Kathy. I don’t worry about myself much anymore, but instead my 11-year-old daughter who doesn’t fit in to the crowd at all and has no interest in fitting in. Thanks!

  19. lisaspiral says:

    Wonderful post. This is the kind of thing we can’t be reminded about enough. Dorks unite!

  20. Carol says:

    Dork is good. Onward and upward, dorks of the world!

  21. Robin says:

    I love this post. Love it. ♥ (I ♥ those pink boots, too!)

  22. Kerry Dwyer says:

    My daughter is always very embarrassed by my lack of style and general dorkishness.

  23. Brenda Hardie says:

    Yep, I’m a dork, always have been and looks like always will be.

  24. Colleen says:

    Oh yes, always have been and always will be, God willing 🙂

  25. Yup, definitely embracing my dorkiness these days. I even bought a red hat, or should that have been purple? 🙂

  26. Joanne says:

    Thank heavens for dorks! Can you imagine living in a “cool” world? I’ll choose the genuine dork any day. 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

