Presence

This.

Do you sometimes practice Presence?

Listening to birds sing in trees, feeling sandals on gravel, seeing shades of green thimbleberry leaves.

When thoughts arise, watching them.

Sometimes, if a thought snags you like a thistle burr, you label it “thought” and relax in what arises, again and again.

Sometimes Barry drops me off up on Townline Road when he goes to work.

In the 7 o’clock hour I walk, feet, feet, chickadee, daisy, black-eyed Susan, distant logging truck, feet, feet, hands in pocket, mama and fawn on the road.

Here.

How often do we miss our lives altogether, instead focused on a million inner thoughts, a million inner dramas, a million to-dos and wanna-bees and shoulda, woulda, coulda?

I eat breakfast quinoa, cashews, blueberries, yogurt slowly.  Spoon, chew, blueberry burst. Thoughts threaten distraction, but you know the drill. “Thought,” you say, teeth crunching cashews.

You’re here.  Now.  This.

Precious present moment.  Unfathomable mystery.

You know what they say, don’t you?

This moment is our present.

Unwrap it.

Revel in it.

No other moment will be like this.  We can be here now in this ever-changing amazement.

Now.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Presence

  1. Oh, wow, this is almost exactly what my post today is about. Except I make fun of my own inability to practice presence–the results of which are either borderline tragic or downright hilarious–depending on how you choose to look at it.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. “This moment is our present. Unwrap it. Revel in it.”

    A healing prescription.

  3. Karma says:

    I really need to do that more often. The inner drama consumes me sometimes. I seem more able to do it when I am outside rather than in the house thinking about the gotta’s, woulda’s and shoulda’s.

  4. Heather says:

    I find that as I practice presence more, I am less interested in Drama, which seems so focused on the past or possible future. Wishing I could help some loved ones focus on right now and quit anguishing over the past and couldas. Sigh.

  5. lisaspiral says:

    There is something about the early morning hours that makes this easier isn’t there? Maybe it’s the light or just that there isn’t the pressure of “the next thing to do”. Love the photos, love the post. Thanks Kathy!

  6. Carol says:

    I have problems silencing my mind to just be here, now. I will sit on the deck, watching the birds, listening to the sounds of outside and suddenly off it goes, shoulda, woulda, coulda, wanna.

  7. lucindalines says:

    I set up my mornings to do this, but too often let all of that other stuff in. Thanks for the reminder to just be and enjoy. I did have one of those moments driving all alone in a car without air conditioning. Window down, hand in the opening, one on the wheel. I was almost back to teenage years again. Great time, good food for the soul, that is what you write. Thanks again!

  8. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    I work on “presence” – as in present moment living a LOT. It doesn’t come naturally, that’s for sure. Often my little dogs are actually my best reminders – they are always present moment. Makes me wonder how much thinking they do? I think (haha) that I think too much.
    Hugs
    SuZen

  9. Sara says:

    Wonderful reminder. Thanks!

  10. bonnie says:

    So beautiful. I try to be in the present, finding that it is only possible outside, observing the things around. It is amazing how long I can spend watching an ant of all things. Peace and Presence to you.

  11. Love this! I’m trying to be more aware of the moment, the ow, in my daily existence. Now is all we really have, and the future is unknowns so we might as well enjoy it. 😉

  12. Being present gets harder and harder when we inundate ourselves with gadgets and to do lists. The moment is the most valuable thing we have and I cherish it always. 🙂

  13. pearlz says:

    I love this blog, and am right now practicing presence.

  14. Will you mind terribly posting this every day, from now on? I can’t be the only one who will benefit greatly from it. Fabulous thoughts, Kathy.

  15. P.j. grath says:

    Here’s an interesting idea, Kathy. I was telling my husband about what my guest author said yesterday about his mother in her dementia–how she doesn’t remember anything from five minutes previous but how in the moment she is completely attentive and aware and focused and responsive. She will listen to opera music and be moved to tears, and as soon as the music stops, if he asks, “How about we listen to some opera music sometime?” she’ll say, “Oh, that’s a good idea! I haven’t done that in a long time!” She watches the birds at the feeder and is completely one with their little concerns. So David, who has been reading the Tao Te Ching again, said it sounded like what Taoism tries to teach. My question: what do we make of this?

  16. gzimmerman says:

    nicely put! it is indeed all about being mindful. step outside and feel the day.

  17. bearyweather says:

    Nice post. Robin over at Bogs of Ohio also talked about being in the moment and really listening on her walks as a form of meditation … I agree with both of you, there is nothing better.

  18. Dawn says:

    When I used to run regularly I could count on being in the present for at least some of each run…the parts where I wasn’t agonizing on when I’d be DONE running. Other times I have to remind myself, I do better being in the present when I’m away from home and work…wonder if it’s the same with everyone.

  19. CMSmith says:

    I love this. I need to make a tape recording of it and play it to myself daily.

  20. Colleen says:

    Ever-changing amazement. Wonderful words for a summer day in July. Happy Sunday to both of you 🙂

  21. sybil says:

    I keep checking the mailbox for my present. Are you sure you put enough postage on it ?

  22. Dana says:

    Kathy, I feel so future-oriented right now, it hurts! Thank you for the reminder to slow down a bit and unwrap the present moment. I could use a lot more of that in my life. 🙂

  23. Robin says:

    Judging from this post and some of the comments, a lot of us our on similar wavelengths lately. How wonderful, to all be present. 🙂

  24. Joanne says:

    Just beautiful Kathy. Unwrapping the present now…. 🙂

  25. Love this post, Kathy. And yes, I do practise presence, or at least try to practise as often as possible. Enjoying it and marvelling at each instant offered to me.Happy July !

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

