“I don’t cruise”

Vintage

Lady and gentlemen readers, I am peeking in to say hello and how ya doin’ before checking out of the computer world to spend more time watching goldenrod blossom, meditating deeply, being more and more present in this One Wild & Precious Life.

It’s nearing mid-August in Lake Superior land.  What does that mean?  The buzz of cicadas in the woods.  Temperatures moderating near 75 degrees. (23.88 Celcius.)  Blackberries ripening.  Hummingbird males going crazy, swooping and attacking other males.  The lake warming, so that swimmers ohhh and ahhh about mild temperatures, claiming no numbness while wading.

The garden produce ripens.  Want broccoli?  Cucumbers?  How about green beans?  We canned Dilly Beans today, seven pint jars filled with summer’s greenery and dill and garlic and how ’bout a jalapeno just to be daring? Add vinegar and water and some sugar–if you’re akin to sugar, which some Dilly Bean aficionados refuse–and salt, and OK, plan to open the jar and devour in six to eight weeks.

(We don’t know whether the jalapeno will blast the Dilly Beans into way-too-hot-world or whether it will taste just appropriately warm.)

You’re wondering about the cruising title, aren’t you?

You’re wondering what it means, aren’t you?

Yesterday, there was a vintage car show in Baraga.  (Please do not ask for photos.  I do not take photos of car shows, as well as refusing to cruise.)

Another car show I attended at the Superior Dome in Marquette this summer

Mr. Barry, my significant other, not yet three weeks into his second knee replacement, begged–yes, begged–his loving nurse to please, c’mon Kathy, won’t you please, drive the ’49 Studebaker pickup truck in the car show?

His buddy, John, promised free malts or sundaes or ice cream cones to vintage car drivers who stopped by his Frostie Freeze during the cruise.

“I don’t cruise,” I said firmly, with the proper authority.

“Oh c’mon, Kathy, it will be fun,” Significant Other insisted.

You know how it is, don’t you, when your Significant Other can’t drive his Studebaker pickup truck because of a new artificial knee that won’t stay bent at a cramped angle for the course of a cruise?

What is a Significant Other to say, besides “I won’t cruise.”

“OK, I’ll cruise,” I sighed, one of those long-suffering sighs that all Significant Others have experienced.  “But I’m not going to like it.”

One of our local guys owns Ford’s 20 millionth Ford. Cruising people appreciate this.

(Ha ha ha!  Don’t you have to laugh at the things that come out of your mouth sometimes?  Of COURSE you’re going to like it, you silly human.  Just shut up and enjoy.  Don’t let your mind determine what it thinks.  Just be present & you’ll have a blast.)

We cruised, my lady and gentlemen readers, up roads and down.

We cruised.

People waved from the Baraga State Park.  (I didn’t see them, as my eyes were trained on the car directly ahead, making sure not to hit him in the rear end when he braked.)

Barry was in 7th Heaven.

(Kathy was still on earth, but that’s OK.)

Kathy got a free Turtle Ice Cream Sundae from John’s Frostie Freeze.  She talked with another Significant Other in the car show–someone who has cancer and is making the best of it.  Someone who knows how to laugh and enjoy life to its fullest.  Someone who entertains her fellow comrades in the Chemotherapy wards with jokes and encouragement every week–someone who keeps smiling day after day, month after month.

This woman cruises, day after day.  She cruises through life, making the best of it.  I am in awe and appreciation of her incredible cruising.

After meeting her, I want to say, “I cruise.”  At every opportunity.

Do you cruise?

Tee hee. Barry with a bunch of “flappers” at the Superior Dome car show in June. You can be sure he wrote about this in his newspaper column!

OK, OK, you want to see a pic of the ’49 Stude, do you? Here it is, filled with wood. It’s a wood-haulin’ truck, you know.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to “I don’t cruise”

  1. We all cruise but it is people like you who learn how to appreciate it. Not all do. God bless the cruisers and to your new friend fighting cancer with humor and spirit.

  2. Susan Derozier says:

    Kathy – Every experience becomes a fun journey through your eyes. I’m glad you made Barry’s day as his driver.It actually is a cool truck (even though, like you, I don’t give much notice to vehicles old or new). Your garden sounds so lovely and makes me realize I need to get more veggies in my diet. See, you still bring timely messages through your sharing. Happy healing to Barry and happy meditating to sweet you.

    • Kathy says:

      thank you, Susan. My greatest desire is to make every experience a reflection of joy. Veggies are such reflections of joy…thank you for making it worthwhile to pause here today. Happy you!

  3. I’m in the car, cruising’ so I’m typing on the itty bitty phone keyboard. Just had to say I LOVE this post! (not typing and drinking simultaneously). Love the photos.

    • Nor am I drinking as the auto correct feature would have you think!!

      • Kathy says:

        I am laughing SO DELIGHTFULLY HARD right now, Laurie! OK, OK, I DO believe you’re not drinking. I love this auto correct world. If auto correct HAD been working properly the title of this blog would have been “I do cruise.” Thank goodness for auto-correct, which allows us to revise some of our Mind’s initial resistances. Love!

  4. Brenda Hardie says:

    I’m so glad you opened your heart to cruising Kathy 🙂 There was a far grander reason to attend this event and thanks to Barry and his begging (hehe) you were in the right place at the right time. My prayers are with your friend as she battles cancer and always my prayers are with you and Barry ♥ I love love love your wood-haulin’ truck! ♥

  5. Kathy says:

    Gosh, Brenda, just THINK of all the things we can open our heart to! I am so in awe of this wonderful woman who is battling cancer with such a good attitude. (And, pssst, I kinda like our wood-haulin’ truck too, especially when the sun shines on it through the trees in the woods.) Thank you for cruising by here!

  6. This is so great, I love your attitude! It seems like it is often those things that we initially don’t feel too excited about that end up having little kernels of amazing wisdom or inspiration, like meeting your new friend and seeing that you can live life that way. When we seek out that type of inspiration, or at least when I do, it doesn’t usually lead to something as timeless and potent.
    Also, I want to make pickles.
    I’m still learning how to maintain a little porch garden, and I would love to make jalapeno pickles with sugar! I bet they will turn out deliciously.

    • Kathy says:

      Jennifer, I like your attitude too! Look at how you are already viewing the world so positively…sure that you will love your jalepeno pickles with sugar. I am also glad that you know how our initial resistances can be so futile, and how we can move past them and discover we can actually enjoy ourselves in new situations. It’s the secret of life, I swear. Thank you for commenting, Ms. Jen.

  7. Susan D. says:

    Still laughing about your immediate “I don’t cruise” response. I’m glad you did/do cruise and that you had a sundae for supper and that your veggies are smiling at you, ripe for consumption. You’re so fun and real. Keep on cruisin’.

    • Kathy says:

      Do you ever just watch yourself saying conditioned responses sometimes, Susan? I’ve noticed these even more lately. The mouth opens and says what it thinks it should, based on past experience. No wonder we humans have trouble being open sometimes! (And what if people believed what their own mouth said? Heavens! No wonder we’re a world of troubled and confused folks, sometimes.) A tomato smile to you~~

  8. Elisa's Spot says:

    still laughing at unexpected images of Laurie drinking

  9. Dawn says:

    Glad you allowed yourself to cruise. You can cruise AND be present in the moment. Yes you can. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Ain’t that the truth, Dawn? We can cruise our little hearts out and be totally present. (If my mother is reading these comments she’s not going to like the “ain’t”. I’ll be cruisin’ for a bruisin’. LOL!)

  10. Heather says:

    I laughed when you said you enjoyed it, of course, because I was thinking when you said you do not cruise that 1) I bet you will, and 2) I bet it WAS fun. I’m glad you had fun even when you didn’t see it coming at all.
    Isn’t life just full of interesting people who teach you how to be a better you? I think sometimes the worst in life brings out the best in people, and when it does, it is SO inspiring. I think I’ll cruise, too!

    • Kathy says:

      Ms. Heather, sometimes it’s the most fun when we can’t see these cruises coming. 🙂 I LOVE that we don’t have to stay trapped and defined into old images of ourselves. I LOVE when we can cruise past the expectations of ourselves and others. Let’s keep a’cruisin’, my friend….did I tell you I was going to cruise to Hawaii with you?

      • Heather says:

        You did not. How exciting! When do we leave?

        • Kathy says:

          I can be ready in a half hour…no, no, it will take longer than that to get to your airport. You’re treating, right?

          • Heather says:

            Well, you might be able to get ready in half an hour, but it’ll still take you a while to get here. We are lucky enough to be flying out of Traverse when we go, which usually isn’t an option since it’s generally more than twice as expensive! We’re working on new underwater photography options, so I’ll “treat” you to a virtual visit when we return!

            • Kathy says:

              How exciting is that! We’re headed to San Diego in October for Chris & Seunghye’s official wedding. That’s our next scheduled trip. Not quite Hawaii, but headed thattaway…

  11. john says:

    Computer unpacked just 5 minutes and I am already regretting not leaving Illinois earlier. I see I will be able to view film at 11:00 on TV 6 tonight. Wish we were early enough to cheer you on live!

    I so admire cancer patients who battle their nemesis with strength and joy. I spent Friday and Saturday with a cancer survivor celebrating his two year old daughter’s birthday. I pray your friend gets to know joys like these in the future.

    • Kathy says:

      My goodness, John, are you in L’Anse? Is your patient doing OK? Bet you didn’t see US on TV 6. We parked the Stude way toward the back of the crowd. But, hey, if you did see us, let me know. It will make my patient smile. Good thing our patients aren’t facing something like cancer. How delightful that your friend is a cancer survivor. What joy!

  12. Marianne says:

    Way to go, Kathy, you cruiser you! Thanks for sharing this heartfelt moment. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Ms. Marianne, it was fun to share this heartfelt moment. Fun to sit down at the computer and tell of another adventure. Our minds can keep us so limited…may we keep on cruising!

  13. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Well never say never – or “I don’t (fill in the blank)”. I told hubs I’d never golf. I am now golfing. I told hubs I didn’t want to kayak, not being a fan of doing anything IN the water that could result in my getting wet – no, better to sit on the dock and enjoy the view – dry! Needless to say, I now have my own kayak and love it! (I’ve yet to get wet and he cannot “board” the kayak without dumping totally, haha)

    Sometimes what we do for our significant others actually ends up being fun. Not sure why I fight this either. 🙂

    Hugs
    SuZen

    • Kathy says:

      SuZen, I swear I wouldn’t have said that if I had my proper wits. It popped out of the uncensored mouth faster than the word “ain’t”. REALLY? You didn’t want to kayak? NO! I want to kayak. **grin** My husband is also trying to talk me into liking fishing. That hasn’t succeeded yet. Do I have to like fishing, SuZen?

  14. lisaspiral says:

    mmmm dilly beans…. Oh, of course you cruise Kathy! It’s just funny that you didn’t think so.

    • Kathy says:

      Smiling, Lisa. Thank goodness that we all cruise, at least sometimes. (I cruise when I’m eating dilly beans sometimes…hey, have you ever made Dilly Beans? Do you make them with sugar? The recipes all said no sugar but I added a little because that vinegar can be evil when it’s unmitigated. Don’t you think?)

      • lisaspiral says:

        I’ve never done any canning myself. Mom has no patience for teaching. I agree about unmitigated vinegar, but I also know the sugar affects the acid levels for preserving. I suspect that sugar is the “secret” ingredient that really good canners don’t tell.

  15. Wonderful blog. I had a great time cruising vicariously! Mine was a work weekend which can involve quite a bit of cruising as well. Kathy you so beautifully expressed this idea of being open to what is “there” no matter where you go. That is life’s infinite adventure!

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad you liked this, Patty. I liked how the Universe wrapped it around from gardens to cruising around in cars to vulnerability and inspiration. I like how it’s possible to write a fun story about something that you don’t–I mean didn’t–want to do. 🙂

  16. Stacy Lyn says:

    I knew you’d cruise! (You had me at “the buzz of cicadas in the woods”!) ❤

    • Kathy says:

      Stacy Lyn, hoping you hear the buzz of cicadas wherever you might be. OK, if you’re in the middle of the city, hoping you hear some before autumn waltzes in. Thanks for cruising by here.

  17. It was worth it for the ice cream, wasn’t it? 😉
    And you didn’t take pictures???!!!! You should have taken me with you. too, so at least SOMEONE could take pictures 🙂

  18. CMSmith says:

    I used to cruise all the time when I was in high school. No free sundaes though. But sometimes struck it rich when we ran into the hot guys. Oh, the days without cell phones. Where’s the adventure now?

    • Kathy says:

      Christine, your comment brought back some memories of high school cruising. Yep, did that. Smiling at your phrase of striking it rich when you ran into the hot guys. Those days seems like another lifetime ago, don’t they? (But let’s not give up on the adventure!)

  19. For me, a car is strictly a utilitarian thing, and my ’96 Honda will probably be vintage by the time I get another car to replace it – which will mean that it’ll be just the kind of thing the car shows want. But you couldn’t pay me to go to a car show.

    Well, I suppose I’d go for the right price…

    • Kathy says:

      Sid, well we’ve mostly been the utilitarian type drivers too. (Just look at our two matching Buick Century grandma cars in the driveway.) Save on to that Honda and come to Baraga in a few years. You’ll fit right in! I KNOW you’ll travel for that free sundae.

  20. Karen says:

    I used to cruise but we sold all our antique cars when we moved from Florida to New England. I know that Mr. Barry really appreciated your cruising with him this time.

    • Kathy says:

      Karen, were you interested in the antique cars or was it your Significant Other or both? Yes, Mr. Barry was grinning from ear to ear. And now he’s written his newspaper column all about the excitement.

      • Karen says:

        A little bit of both. I’ll be doing a post on antique cars and boats on my next post.

        • Kathy says:

          Please email me when you post it, Karen! I’ve stopped back three times and will enjoy reading.

          • Karen says:

            My post will be up tomorrow morning. There is not as much about the cars as I wasn’t crazy about most of the photos. People don’t always respect that you are trying to take a photo when there is a large crowd. There is a link that will take you back to last year’s post on classic boats and cars. I have done seven posts that include include cars shows from Paris, Maine to Bolzano, Italy and between. Happy that you are interested. I think your post was terrific and I’m looking forward to another cruise.

  21. Carol says:

    Yes, indeed, I do cruise, albeit not in cars – old or new. Enjoy your break from the computer world, although I swear it is not a break I wish to join. I love my addiction!

    • Kathy says:

      I just finished my ten day retreat, Carol. Thought I was going to continue longer but the deep inner voice–OK, some inner voice–said “We’re done” this morning. So of course had to write a blog about it! (I’ve adored this addiction, too…well, most of the time.)

  22. Munira says:

    Love your ramblings Kathy, the way you put together so many things to think about 🙂

  23. AnnieR says:

    Love this-I’ve surprised myself so many times by ‘taking a cruise’ that I was sure I’d hate only to love the whole experience. I was sure I hated running until I took the cruise. I was sure I hated bike racing until I took the cruise. I still draw the line, however at mowing the lawn-that ship’s staying in port.
    Very interested to hear how the Dilly Beans turn out…. Enjoy the cicadas and goldenrod.

    • Kathy says:

      Annie, for the past year or two I have been continually surprised at how much I love previously-scorned activities. (Clearing throat. I guess that includes lawn mowing. You gotta try it, Annie, it’s fun, I promise, errr, I hope it’s fun for you…) Once I made goldenrod tea. It was awful–I sneezed and sneezed and sneezed for the longest time. You may not want to try it.

  24. dearrosie says:

    It sounds as though you enjoyed yourself AND you got an ice cream too. What fun to drive one of those old pickups.

  25. Reggie says:

    What an inspirational post, Kathy!

    When you wrote, ““OK, I’ll cruise,” I sighed, one of those long-suffering sighs that all Significant Others have experienced. ”But I’m not going to like it.””

    I wanted to yell out, “Oh Kathy! Of COURSE you cruise! You can’t say no to this opportunity! You’ll LOVE it! Think of what a fabulous story this will make! How much FUN you’ll have? How happy you’ll make Barry!”

    And thus you cruised.

    And you loved it.

    Of course you did, dearest friend! Hugs! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, Reggie, of course I cruised! It’s all about the story, isn’t it? Oh and seeing the delighted grin on Barry’s face. So worth it! Thanks for cruising by here.

  26. sybil says:

    ’round, ’round, I get around, woooooo
    I get around
    on the town
    woooo hoooo hooo hooooooooooo
    etc.

    hearing the Beach Boys in my head …

    cruise on girl !

    btw — the tea is getting cold

    • Kathy says:

      Sybil, Sybil, guess what, cruisin’ girl? I was just driving home from town and thought, “OH NO! What if Sybil thinks we were talking about HER in the comments about multiple personalities? What is she is even now sobbing into her tea? I must alert Sybil that it was ANOTHER Sybil–the book, you know–of which we were discussing in a multiple personality type way. Just had to tell you because I so want to please you.” NOT! The side that refuses to please–which is mostly in charge of blogging–insists that I NEVER write another blog like that one or it will crash the computer.

  27. My brother had a ’57 Chevy truck that he restored and drove all the way to BC. My Significant Other would absolutely LOVE to have a vintage car to cruise in. He’s owned many in his lifetime, but never kept any of them, not realizing how great it would have been in the future. He loves checking out car shows, but we’ve never ‘cruised’. You are a lucky woman! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Hey, withershins, a 57 Chevy truck sounds cool. When I first met Barry back in the Stone Age, lol, of 1976 he had a ’55 Chevy car. We drove many long miles in that car, and also broke down on the expressway and on back roads more often than you have fingers. I will remember the lucky woman thought!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

