When the Universe gives unexpected gifts

The gift of a kayak

The Universe gives us gifts all the time.

If you counted all twenty fingers and toes you probably still couldn’t count all the gifts the Universe gave you yesterday.

Your list might begin:  sweet ripe blueberries on granola, warm delightful late summer breezes, rich hazelnut coffee, emails from friends, wasps doing somersaults (honest to goodness I saw one of those crazy wasps doing a full-fledged flip over and over again on my lawn chair yesterday afternoon!), satisfying day at work, hot bath water oh so relaxing…and your list would go on and on.

Last week I received an extra-special gift from the Universe.  My friend, Catherine, bought a new kayak earlier this year, and guess what– she offered me her old one!

Heavens to Betsy, life can’t get any better than this.

Chris by the kayak-hauler (also known as a ’49 Studebaker truck)

Oh yes, it can.

One can have a son come a’visiting from California, a nice strong son willing to drive up the Herman hill to Catherine’s house to pick up the new gift.

We drove the ’49 Studebaker pickup truck up the hill toward the Universe’s gift.

(I believe all gifts come from the Universe. Sometimes we think they come from people, but I believe they come through people.  That’s why we thank the Universe for gifts.  The Universe just chooses the most handy open-hearted person to have the honor of gift-giving.)

Good son secures kayak in truck

Not only did the Universe (in the form of Catherine) give me a kayak, it also gave a full-fledged paddle and kayak skirt.  (I still don’t understand much about kayak skirts, but will learn as I go.)

The kayak needs some work to become fully sea-worthy once again.  It needs some of those inflatable intertubes secured to the inside.  No problem.  The Universe has gifted us with a wonderful network called the Internet through which to find and order.  Probably less than $75.

A seasoned kayak owner confidentially shared that many used kayaks of this quality sell for $800.

This blogger could not afford $800 for a kayak.

She will gladly pay $75 for flotable inflatable save-your-life protection in case the kayak tips in high waters.  She will.  Why, the Universe often even provides the money we need for such necessities.

I figure the monetary value of this unexpected gift is at least $725!

The giver of the kayak standing beside yellow flowers next to one of her barns

Not only did the Universe give a kayak–she also gave us beautiful yellow flowers upon which to gaze.

She also gave a cooler filled with fresh juicy red apples from one of Catherine’s trees.

Bouquet of Universal gifts

If you lived closer, I would share some of the Universe’s apple crisp with you.  We’ve eaten two pans of sweet juicy crisp already.

Thank you, Universe.  Thank you, Catherine, for opening your heart and sharing the suggestion of the Universe.  Thank you, Christopher, for transporting the kayak.  Thank you, Barry, for helping me figure out those flotation devices.  Thank you, reader, for all the gifts you share daily.

What gifts have the Universe given you lately?  Or what gifts has the Universe shared through your open hearts and hands?

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to When the Universe gives unexpected gifts

  1. “I believe all gifts come from the Universe. Sometimes we think they come from people, but I believe they come through people.”

    yes, Yes, YES!

    You know you’re gonna to need to receive a waterproof camera from the Universe too, right?

  2. Jeff Stroud says:

    Oh what fun for you! Chris and a Kayak! and friends that the universe is in touch with!

    Thank you for being in part of the flow!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Jeff, isn’t it wonderful when we can be part of that flow instead of swirling around stuck in the shallow waters because our emotions are floundering? Thank you for appreciating the fun!

  3. lisaspiral says:

    YES! And today the universe has given me the gift of your blog. Love you! Have fun in the kayak!

    • Kathy says:

      Lisa, gosh, don’t we love the gifts of the Universe? Love you, too! Wondering if it will be possible to get the kayak in the lake this fall…or if I’ll have to wait til spring?

  4. I am thinking the universe is about to load me down with gifts – here is hoping–but in the meantime I am so glad you have been so blessed —

  5. Tammy says:

    That sounds terrific! And more gifts will follow to you as you put such gratitude out there. And I love that you say, “heavens to Betsy”.

  6. Brenda Hardie says:

    The Universe has gifted me with a new world as seen through your stories and pictures. A look at a life I would love to live and hopefully someday will. (Along with a fantastic old red truck too! Pretty please!) I’m so happy you received the kayak, through the generosity of your friend and had your son to help transport it and Barry to help find the necessary flotation devices. (please tell Catherine that her barns look lovely!!) And remember…we’ll be hoping for pictures from your kayak adventures 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      That is such a nice compliment, Brenda1 I love it when the Universe gifts us with new worlds. Our old worlds can be so limiting unless we keep enlarging it. I shall tell Catherine what you said about her barn. And I do have a pre-kayak adventure to tell you about tomorrow or the next day. Chris and I went hiking to a remote place & there are lots of pics to tell the story.

  7. What a lovely post. Happy kayaking!

  8. Elisa's Spot says:

    Friend Ralph got me a computer!! And I thought the computer was yay, just for itself. And then, I noticed that I can seeeeeeeee the screen!!! And then I noticed that I was able to notice all of the tiny things and had feelings about them. I had to stop and try to recall what to call that feeling. It is GRATITUDE!! Real easy simple! As opposed to the work very hard to find it type. 🙂

    • Elisa's Spot says:

      Uhm, Kathy? You did NOT tell me, I think I know this, that you even KNEW how to kayak! Now, I am wondering if I was unobservant or just never saw this version of Kathy. I will be so excited to hear about your version of experiencing thing on the water and in the kayak.

  9. Susan D. says:

    How fun, and wonderful, Kathy! Yay! Looking forward to hearing about future kayaking adventures. Beautiful crisp, vivid photos! Ahhh, you know many of the gifts I get, have gotten through the Universe, because you’re one who daily transmits. Such a blessing you are!

    • Kathy says:

      Susan D, if the Universe gave me TWO kayaks we could go kayaking together. Wonder what the Universe would think of that plan? lol…You give daily, too, and I know you listen to the still quiet voice of the Universe all the time.

  10. How FUN! Now, we DO expect to see some photos from one of your outings!! 😉 You should have some gorgeous days ahead of you very soon to go kayaking, Fall colors should start sprouting soon (if they haven’t already in your neck of the woods)!!

    • Kathy says:

      Holly, you shall some photographs of an outing Chris & I took into a fairly remote spot soon. Tomorrow or the next day, hopefully. Don’t know if we’ll get the kayak operating this fall. All our money has to go towards a wedding in three weeks! P.S. Not many colors sprouting yet. Just a few, here and there.

  11. Heather says:

    I am so excited for you! You will love having that little boat at your fingertips to dart onto the water at every whim – and fall is such a lovely time for a leisurely paddle. Hugs to Catherine! I can’t wait to hear of your adventures 🙂
    We found our kayaks on Craigslist, and they definitely were gifts from the Universe. A couple had bought them and then only used them once or twice and decided kayaking wasn’t their thing. They gave us everything for them – paddles, float bags, spray skirt – for only $700 (we had been planning to buy kayaks, so we *did* have the money, but some internet savvy indicated that we got about $2500 in materials!!) Thank you, O Universe.

    • Kathy says:

      Heater, Ms. Kayaker Extraordinaire! I wish I could have kayak lessons from you. Do you know how to flip your craft? Have you ever flipped your craft, purposefully or accidentally? I am thinking we need a better way to haul this kayak than tied down with ropes in the Stude. It was quite inconvenient. How do you haul yours? And you got TWO used kayaks for $700? A steal!

      • Heather says:

        Teehee – really giggled when I read my name as “Heater.” 🙂
        We haven’t practiced recovering from a flip, but we should. We are seriously careful about the conditions in which we travel across deep water. We only do “open water” crossings in very calm conditions, and otherwise pretty much stick to places where we are comfortable with a swim back to shore if necessary.
        We haul our kayaks with a Thule rack system on top of our little VW GTI – a two-door version of their Golf or Rabbit. I’m not sure that the Studebaker isn’t your best bet for a start.

        • Kathy says:

          Dear Heater, Did I call you Heater? Or did you just read it as Heater? I like your new name. Very autumn-oriented. May I have your little VW GTI? Thank you. Please send it thissaway. lol!

  12. Connie T says:

    That is a nice gift. I would love to have one. I am afraid of tipping over though. Maybe she can give you lessons.

    • Kathy says:

      For some reason, Connie, I am not afraid of tipping over. I have been out on four or five kayak rides and it never even slightly tipped. Perhaps I am over-confident. But it feels comfortable.

  13. john says:

    The universe smiled so wonderfully on me yesterday in the form of a village board vote. I am so grateful. After plying the waters of the Silver River and Huron Bay, I can see you getting up close and personal with some of those bluffs you posted pictures of from you glass bottomed boat posting. I’ll bet this will come to be your third musketeer with Miss Ellie and your camera.

    • Claire says:

      Today a friend called round with a cake she had just baked and just because we are good friends. I had the company of her 8 year old daughter to read and play word games as I am giving her some extra tuition, gratis, to help her love reading. I have believed if you smile at the world then the world smiles back. Maybe it all comes from The Universe after all. Love your thinking Kathy.:)

      • Kathy says:

        Claire, I am smiling thinking of you helping your friend’s 8 year old daughter to read. Your love of language will spill into her spirit and soon she’ll be writing poetry too. If the Universe desires!

    • Kathy says:

      John, I am SO happy for you and Jenny!!! Hurray!! Feeling your gratitude. As for those bluffs, gonna stick close to the Huron and Keweenaw Bays, thank ou. What ARE you thinking?

  14. You’re right, Kathy – the list can get lengthy quick, but at the moment I’ve got a bright sunny day, an order of Lord Nut Levington brand Thai-Dyed peanuts, and a pair of girls to pick up after school finishes up for the day. Not bad!

  15. You certainly have been blessed by the Universe’s generosity!

    Yesterday, the Universe seemed to know that I was missing a friend, who invited me to dine with her. She created a wonderful meal, filled with many delights from the Phillipines. She bestowed the gift of beautiful music upon me and her delightful sense of humour. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Dearest withershins, I like how the Universe knew what you needed and provided you with a wonderful Philippine meal. I would love to have sampled some of the food. And the music, and humor…lucky you!

  16. Val says:

    Curiously, I read a post about Kayaking (that word looks so much like the Brit expression ‘Yakking’ which means talking nonstop) from this guy yesterday, you might enjoy it: http://gregsmithmd.com/2012/09/10/special-deliverance/ so I guess you could say I’ve been ‘tempered’ to Kayaks. Was that a gift from the Universe?

    My actual gift from the universe is that you’re in my life, through your blog and the occasional email and our comments that go back and forth. And the sensitivity and wide-eyed wonder that you bring to my world through your words and photos. 🙂

    Oh and as for an actual Kayak – I’ll leave that to you, wouldn’t get me into one them those things, I find walking on solid ground a balance-defying experience! 😉

    • Kathy says:

      I think yakking and kayaking may be the opposite, Val, unless you go on a kayak with a good friend. LOL! I read your link and totally enjoyed it and even made a comment there. Thank you for your lovely words about our connection, my friend. You might be surprised how easy it is to kayak, you land-lubber. I have enjoyed the few times I’ve traveled in one.

  17. Carol says:

    Oh and the universe is so wise in its selection of gifts! The Artistic One and I were just saying the other day that it would be fun to go kayaking around – our little rivers are wonderful places for that – except the coming back upstream – our lake is ugly algae but still, wouldn’t it be neat to be able to kayak along the edge of the marshes, where the various birds spend time? As far as my most recent gift from the universe? This perfectly lovely afternoon, which has given time for a heavenly nap, and now a warm breeze lingering on my deck, where I sit in the shade with my summer afternoon beer and ponder – the gifts of the universe.

    • Kathy says:

      I love that you know someone called the Artistic One. 🙂 You had better watch what you say. You say to the Universe that you would like to go kayaking around and the next thing you know…a kayak will fall off somebody’s truck out in front of your house. You better go see now. The Universe might have given you one.

  18. dawnkinster says:

    The universe could not have found a more deserving gift-receiver-person! This is wonderful, and you will LOVE the kayak! I think the skirt thingy is worn by you and attached to the boat to keep it waterproof. Personally I wouldn’t go out in Lake Superior unless it was like glass…at which time maybe you don’t need the skirt thing..but that’s just me. HAVE FUN!!!!

    • Kathy says:

      Awwww, Dawn, c’mon up and YOU can take my new kayak out on the bay. Darn, that we don’t have two. Yes, I agree about the skirt thingee. I have one of those. It’s sitting here inside right now. It’s bright yellow. Oh, and I will be going out on Superior in glass-like conditions within one of the sheltered bays. That’s me too!

  19. Happy kayaking! 🙂
    What a sweet friend you have! I love those happy little yellow flowers 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Yep, if you were here now you’d be seeing all these beautiful yellow flowers. I couldn’t capture them photographically as beautiful as they looked, all drooping with rain, and so delightful. You could have. Where were you when I needed you? 🙂

  20. What a great gift! Have a blast!

    • Kathy says:

      I am suspicious that we’re not going to get this kayak sea-worthy too soon. I am thinking spring. But this could be a wrong assessment! Thank you, dear Cindy.

  21. Colleen says:

    Kathy, I ‘m so excited for you! Lovely Catherine and lovely universe 🙂

    Wondering if Barry enjoys kayaking too? There were wonderful places to paddle around Vancouver Island. Thinking about the peaceful times you will be having out on your bays.

    • Kathy says:

      Colleen, unfortunately, No. Barry does not enjoy kayaking, darn him. He doesn’t think his legs would even get in a kayak right now, let alone enjoy a paddle. That’s OK. I like the idea of paddling alone. Unfortunately, the idea of transporting the kayak alone does NOT soon delightful. 😦

  22. sybil says:

    The kayak skirt is so you look pretty paddling.

    I only flat-water kayak and have never — in over thirty years — used my skirt.

    In answer to your question: YOU !

    • Kathy says:

      I will never use the skirt, either, Sybil. Ever. Except…whenever you say “never” you always end up doing such things. Sigh…

      • Kathy says:

        Ha ha, it’s also funny, I can never remember what I’ve written in these blogs. So when someone says “in answer to your question” I have to go back & start digging to discover what crazy question I must have asked. 🙂 Two days is a long time to remember!

  23. Barb says:

    Yippee! Not only a kayak, but my favorite color of red, too. Lucky gal! You remember we got the gift of a new baby last week? Well, not only that miracle of a gift but strangers when they heard started plying me with freebies- a free dinner at a restaurant where we took the older kids, a whole (yummy!) fudge cake from Whole Foods, a hair cut on the house. I think we need a new baby more often! (Well, actually, I’ll just enjoy this one – I think he’s the last…)

  24. dearrosie says:

    What a nice friend to give you such a lovely gift Kathy (I don’t know squat about kayaking so I can’t offer any comments), but selfishly I’m delighted that it meant we got to see a photo of the lovely kayak-hauler i.e. your “49 Studebaker truck”.

  25. Robin says:

    What a wonderful gift from the Universe through your lovely friend, Kathy! Isn’t it delightful when things align like that? 😀

  26. Dana says:

    Lovely, Kathy! I love the way the Universe works, and I can COMPLETELY relate to you calculating the monetary value of the unexpected gift, too. (I do the same thing when we pick wild blackberries, figuring out exactly how much I would have had to pay for the picked haul had I purchased them in a grocery store. Fun with numbers! It only deepens my appreciation for Universal gifts, I say…)

    • Kathy says:

      Dana, you strike me as someone who would passionately love the Universe’s gifts. And, ha ha, about the monetary value thing. Shhhh, don’t tell anyone. My number addiction can be quite overwhelming at times. And, hey, I’ve missed you!

      • Dana says:

        I’ve missed you too, Kathy. Just plugging away in the back waters of old/new post notifications. Who knows when I’ll be back to ‘normal’, but there’s definitely light at the end of the tunnel now.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

