Tomfoolery of our Santas and Snowmen

Dear readers, it’s just about time to go a’diggin’ down in the basement closet and find our multi-colored Christmas lights and Grandma’s ceramic tree and the reindeer ornament that hangs on the wall by the door.  Don’t forget some garland, and the box for Christmas cards, and that red-and-white Santa pillow, and who knows what else?

Oh, yes, some of you know what else, don’t you sly long-time readers?  Yes, the Santas and Snowmen must come upstairs and find a special place to sit on their tic-tac-toe board.

I really want to introduce you newcomers to the Santas and Snowmen.  (Some of you spotted them in a recent post and admired the way they marched around outside in the snow.) However, I really didn’t want to type the story again.  So I am copying and pasting a blog post which originally ran in Lake Superior Spirit on December 25th, 2010.

(I wrote it just four days after my gall bladder surgery, so it proves that the doctor didn’t remove any sense of humor along with that organ.)

Tomfoolery of our Santas and Snowmen

Tomfoolery of our Santas and Snowmen

The Santas, the Snowmen, the Tin Man and popcorn!

You guys simply wouldn’t believe the things that happen in Aura, Michigan!

It’s a magical place.

Lean close by our fire and I will tell you a magical tale.  OK, you can drink some hot chocolate first if you want a cup.  No, you can’t go make snow angels in the snow.  Not ’til we’re done with our Christmas story.

This is not the story of  Mary, Joseph and a babe in the manger.  This is not even the story of a fat jolly old elf with his sack full of toys magically emerging soot-free from a chimney.

This is the story of the Santas and Snowmen.  Settle yourselves down for a long winter’s snooze and listen to our Christmas story.

Yep, our favorite holiday fellas.

Yep, our favorite holiday fellas.

Years ago I walked into a raffle at the Aura Hall.  (I think it was the Aura Hall.  But it could have been the Skanee Hall.)  My eyes surveyed the scene and lingered on the only Prize I wanted.

Three inch high Santas and Snowmen sat on a tic-tac-toe board.  With cheery scarves, swirls and caps, they announced “CHRISTMAS” with utter joy.

I–who do not necessarily like very many decorations–fell head over snowflakes in love.

“The Santas and Snowmen are mine,” a voice in the head claimed them utterly.

However, who listens to voices in the head when they say such things?  Certainly not me.  I paid for a few raffle tickets and went home, never thinking about the tic-tac-toe Santas and Snowmen again.

Until the call came.

This little snowman just hangs on the tree and watches the tomfoolery of the Others.

This little snowman just hangs on the tree and watches the tomfoolery of the Others.

“You won!” announced a triumphant voice.  “A tic-tac-toe Santa and Snowmen set!”

The Santas and Snowmen set up residence every Christmastime beneath our tree.

Then–one Christmas–the Fun Began.

Someone (no one likes to admit who) decided that the Santas and Snowmen must be prime players in our Christmas scene.  One of the first years one of us–we won’t reveal who–set up a tableau in which the hapless fellows marched like lemmings, one following the other, off our living room coffee table.  (Please!  Do not judge us too rashly! We know we have weird senses of humor…)

The second year the Santas and Snowmen were all drunk and hung over on Christmas morning.  Empty beer bottles lay around their fallen bodies.  It was a frightful scene.  (We laughed so hysterically over this scene that we could barely function…HIGH FIVE for the Drue who thought that one up!)  Although I still remain partial to the lemming scene.

The Santas and Snowmen have been found perched ‘way up high among our plants.  They have been found descending into the basement.  They gathered one year in our refrigerator. Last year they marched outside…well, I don’t want to spoil the story.  You really MUST click here and read what they did last year.  It was absolutely amazing what those fellas decided to do.  (Oh do click on the link and read the story about them in 2009.  It was kind of a tear-jerker, sniff, sniff…)

The scene on Christmas morn, 2010

The scene on Christmas morn, 2010

What would they do this year for an encore?  I went to bed before the Other Two occupants of the house.  When I awoke this morning…well, you can see the above scene.

The Santas and Snowmen AND Howard’s Tin Can Man (see story here if you’ve forgotten) were gathered around the TV watching a DVD and eating popcorn!

The Santas w popcorn

The Santas w popcorn

A note lay in their midst:  “After a long night delivering presents, the guys relax with a movie and some popcorn… and a new friend!”

(The Tin Man, being a recent arrival, is of course the “new friend”.)

Those crafty little snowmen...

Those crafty little snowmen…

Please let me know if you spotted any of these fellows delivering YOUR presents last night!

Ho!  Ho! (I’m sure they shouted.)  A MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU AND TO YOU A GOOD NIGHT!

(OK, now I feel better that I told you the story of the Santas and Snowmen.  Have YOU got your holiday lights twinkling?  Is your house all decorated?  Do you have any fun traditions to share?)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Tomfoolery of our Santas and Snowmen

  1. Kerry Dwyer says:

    No snow here yet. What lovely Santas and snow men.

  2. susan says:

    Oh Kathy, those are precious! And all the time you take to take photos, wow. I could just hear the crunch of the snow under your boots. No crunchin here yet!
    Hugs
    SuZen

  3. Brenda Hardie says:

    I love this story about the little santas and snowmen! I look forward to it each year now!
    It’s freezing cold here (7 degrees!) and blindingly white with the new snow cover. We only got about 3-4 inches but my sister (an hour north of here) got a foot of snow! Yes..the house is all decorated…a tree upstairs and downstairs, a small tree in Alex’s room, Santa and Mrs. outside with a lighted wire tree, poinsettias and pinecones and candles all around in the house too. Alex helped me but really it’s my thing. My family of boys typically does not care for holiday decorating.
    And certainly, the new snow sure makes everything feel more like Christmas! ♥

  4. Karen says:

    The trees are trim and it looks like Christmas at our house…but no cute santas and snowmen like your wandering crew. LOL.

  5. sybil says:

    and you think we’re silly with our “flat Kathy” … I love your current addiction to the word “tomfoolery”.

    Christmas is pretty quiet here. I do a small bit of decorating but no real tree as such. Well, a 6″ high one only.

    I try not to make much of Christmas.

  6. lucindalines says:

    Love the Santas and Snowmen. What fun!!

  7. Heather says:

    Your santas and snowmen enjoy such shenanigans 🙂 May all the Drues have a Merry Christmas! (Are any of the younguns coming home this Christmas? Tony and I go home every year. I think if we had children of our own it might be different, but Christmas away from both our families just wouldn’t feel right)

  8. lisaspiral says:

    Thank you for telling the story again. I find great delight in their tomfoolery. I see why you fell in love with them at first sight. Karina is having her first holiday in her own house and we’ve agreed to join her there. At least there is no air travel involved. She’s very excited about decorating for the first time. I’ll have to look to see if any santas and snowmen have snuck in for a peak!

  9. Sweet post! Thanks, Kathy!

  10. How cute and fortuitous that you won them. Their life would have been dull had someone else won these cute fellas.
    I shall look for them among my flamingos!

  11. john says:

    At our house we exchange gifts on Christmas Eve. Prior to the gifts being handed out one person from the family must read the Nativity from Luke. When the boys became old enough to read and understand what circumcision was they held a meeting and declared the tradition had to be amended that we stop reading at Luke 2:20 and no one would mention the circumcision. One year when they were all out of college I instructed the reader to read the entire chapter and all three boys jumped up and said “Dad NO, we are not going there”. To this day we stop at 2:20 and do not complete the chapter.

  12. Barb says:

    Gosh – you need to buy lottery tickets Kathy. First these and then the Kindle Fire. Hope all is well there in he UP.

  13. bonnie says:

    Your Santas and snowmen are so sweet. Their antics set my mind thinking about what I might do with all the bears I have. They are not very Christmasy?, but I’m sure they could get into some “tomfoolery”. 🙂

  14. “…a fat jolly old elf with his sack full of toys magically emerging soot-free from a chimney.”

    You noticed that “soot-fee” business too, did you? That’s always impressed the socks off me!

    Great photos and wonderful storytelling, Miss Kathy. (Shhhhh, don’t tell anyone, but I opted for a glass of red wine as opposed to a cup of hot chocolate)…

  15. No, to all your questions. I did those things as long as my children were still home. But I am not very sentimental about Christmas. However, I love heart warming stories and interestiong stories about Christmas. Thanks Kathy.
    This is a lovely post. PS: it might get 18-20 degrees tonight. But I hope not. It is a dry cold.

    Regards,
    Yvonne

  16. Your decorations are SO cute! I bet you get excited every year!

  17. Sheryl says:

    The santas and snowmen are so much fun! Take care–I hope you are well down the road to feeling perfect.

  18. Kathy says:

    I LOVE it that you loved our Santas and Snowmen! They are so happy they are marching toward the computer right now! I think they are going to leap inside the screen and tumble out on YOUR desktops and tables. That’s how happy they are. 🙂

  19. Colleen says:

    It just would’ve be Christmas without these little fellows. They have marched their way right into my heart 🙂

  20. Munira says:

    Hahah, LOVE this story!! 😀

  21. Kathy says:

    The snowfolk and Santas are out under the plants right now, sitting expectantly on their tic tac toe board, plotting their next fun!

  22. Tomfoolery indeed! Now you’ve got me saying the word “tomfoolery” several times a day. What a fun word! Thanks Kathy!

  23. CUTE! I see why you fell in love with Santa and the Snowmen. And I am just beside myself with giddyness that you used the word, “tableau.”

    • Kathy says:

      Lunar, I just HAD to read this again and see about the alleged used of that word “tableau”. And, yes, now I’m giddy, too! To think that the typing fingers used it–just like THAT!

  24. What a fabulous Christmas tradition! Those snowmen and tiny Santas are adorable. It must be so much fun around your house during the holidays. Hope this year is no exception. 🙂

  25. PS. I’ve nominated you for the Blog of the Year award. Check out My Withershins for the details. 🙂

  26. Kathy says:

    Just want to know the snowmen and santas love that you love them! 🙂
    (And thank you, withershins, for the award. What an awesome honor! Thank you so much.)

  27. Robin says:

    I remember this story. It’s so much fun! I love those little snowmen and Santas. 🙂

  28. Kathy says:

    Santas and Snowmen are reading EVERY comment and loving them!

  29. Sartenada says:

    How amazing. I love them.

    • Kathy says:

      Hello, Sartenada! Long time no see… Glad you love the little snowmen and santas. They’re put away in a box in the basement now, perhaps dreaming of next year.

  30. Pingback: Whimsy « Spiral Visions

  31. Reggie says:

    How awesome, I love these Santas and Snowmen! Sooo glad they made another appearance on your blog!

  32. Pingback: Santas and Snowmen play in the snow | Lake Superior Spirit

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

