The first time you’re called an old lady…

Ice forming on Silver River

Ice forming on Silver River

Sipping peppermint tea, another day, another coffee shop.

Waiting for our daughter’s plane to fly the friendly skies toward Chicago, the Windy City.  It’s windy here, too, and the plane is delayed.  I’m not moving one inch toward home until she’s above the clouds, smiling in the sun, winging her way back to NYC.

Am. So. Tired.

Have nothing to blog about, but, gosh darn, the typing fingers are moving again, searching for lower and upper case letters.  They’re determined to tell a story, never mind that I want to snooze.

Guess what happened a couple of weeks ago?  I was slipping and sliding on ice near the post office, walking oh-so-carefully, one foot down, the other up, careful now, don’t fall, don’t you dare fall, is it really winter again, and how many months til spring?

Treacherous

Treacherous

Years ago I glided around on icy surfaces like a young’un who fell easily, got up, wiped her snowy jeans, and skipped on across the glaring slippery ice without a care in the world.

Not any more.  These hips have crashed too many times on ice, whoops, excuse me, we’re going down Mama.

But I didn’t think I looked too cautious, too ancient, too careful until two weeks ago when a white-bearded man smiled broadly at this tiptoeing Ice Mama and said (it still stings to type the words):  “Gosh, you look like an old lady!” and he smacked my upper arm exuberantly, almost resulting in the old lady’s imminent collapse.

Old lady!  How dare he!  He looked at least five years older than me–maybe ten–though, I admit, he was practically skipping on the ice, the evil man.  What a mocking smile he had!  How he flattened my self-confidence in one grinning sentence (OK, not really, I’m exaggerating again…I actually laughed out loud at his audacity) and did I KNOW him anyway?

It’s still not certain if he is someone with whom I’ve chatted on the phone, or perhaps engaged in conversation at a meeting, or maybe blabbed together ten years ago at the IGA.  He certainly wasn’t a close friend, and he’d have some fast talking to do next time we meet, if I remember what he looks like, besides a male creature with white beard.  An elderly male creature.  😉

OK, ice can be pretty.  Sometimes.

OK, ice can be pretty. Sometimes.

Thanks to this fellow, though, my New Year’s resolution–newly articulated–is to re-learn to walk in a more sprightly manner on ice.  OK, maybe not on the Houghton up-and-down hills, but on ordinary ice in front of the post office or on our woods road.

My daughter who has been visiting and she walks like a trooper on ice.  Slide, slide, slide, knees high, feet bouncing down on the snow, not a fear in the world.  OK, she is a little bit younger, but no fella will be accusing her of eldership on ice anytime soon.  (She was an ice skater, so maybe she’ll never tiptoe hesitantly.  Maybe she’ll never creep.)

So I’ve been Practicing.

Confidence, Ice Walker.

Assurance, Oh Lady of the Long Winters.

Keep those knees high.  Keep those boots sure.  You shall not slip, you shall not fall, you shall not bang your arse upon hard ice, you shall not break bones (heavens, no, not for a LONG time!)

So how do you all do on ice?  Are you Suzy Confidence?  Are you still a youthful prancer?  Has your situation changed as you’ve celebrated more birthdays or do you still glide without a care in the world?

Has anyone called YOU an old lady in front of the post office recently??

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in January 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

114 Responses to The first time you’re called an old lady…

  1. lucindalines says:

    This was so funny. We all hate getting old or seeming old, but I have been told the opposite is really not better.

  2. lisaspiral says:

    A couple of years ago I had 2 nasty falls in a row. Didn’t break anything but ended up wearing a knee brace and in physical therapy for a very long time. I know I look like an old lady on the ice now. I guess I’m okay with that.

    • Kathy says:

      Oh poor Lisa! I am SO sorry that you fell and the knee brace and the physical therapy. I shall creep on the ice without a backwards glance from now on!

  3. OM says:

    Aha. Being young, you missed the nature of the humor of the situation entirely. Speaking as your elder, I can tell you why it was funny to HIM who WAS older. It was funny because it helped him deny his own age while affirming yours as younger. Realize that if you HAD been an old lady in his eyes, and if he had been an old man in his own eyes, then his remark would not have been humorous to him at all. That is the key.
    See?
    And I’m with lisaspiral. I walk like a VERY old lady when on ice, and I have not gone Whoops on the ice more than once or broken anything ever. If I lived in a place with lots of ice, I would get those prong things that go over your shoes and turn you into a horizontal ice climber, LOL!

    • Kathy says:

      I love, OM, how you called me young. (And I adore your interpretation of the story. YES. That’s exactly how it was.) I keep having this niggling feeling that I really KNOW who he was. And that he’s going to show up on the blog and embarrass the heck out of me and accuse me of Alzheimer’s…

  4. Elisa says:

    Some kids outside called me an old lady, and before I could cover my smirk, another very forward and helpful child said…..nah, don’t be mean, she’s just a witch. lol
    Since the funky migraine balance thingy, I cannot navigate ice. Now, slippery slopes…

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, Elisa! An old lady AND a witch! (Ooops, should not have laughed, the witch said with regret…) Ice AND slippery slopes. Gosh, Life can be challenging.

  5. Lucindalines, I do not hate being an old lady? It is all in the attitude. Walking gracefully, as an old lady on ice, is wisdom personified!! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      OK, Linda, this is the scoop. What I have learned–and did not address properly in this blog post–is that there was a certain amount of my walking on ice which was Fearful and a certain part which was just plain sensible. I am working on correcting the fearful part. What will be left afterwards is just plain grace!

      • Now, Kathy, you see you have run out of words! Can you imagine you being Fearful. Being sensible is just no fun!
        Grace, and your luck, will pull you through.
        Having the elderly gentleman pick you up would have been one of those stories we would want to here…having tea and coffee….becoming best buds…how you had known him forever because he was your husbands third cousin removed and had been at your wedding to Barry.
        Should I continue…NAH…I am always the last to comment. Don’t ask how I got here so early on this day and made this non-nonsensical statement!

        • Kathy says:

          Gosh, do you think he MIGHT be my husband’s third cousin removed and actually attended our wedding?? Oh no. Except, probably not, our wedding was 525 miles away and we have no relatives here. But he may have moved here. Non-nonsensically yours, Kathy

  6. I got a pair of boots that I call my boy boots that tackle the ice and snow because I have looked like an old lady walking on the ice since I was 20. I have very poor balance (something to do with my knees) so I have to be careful on ice. Next time you see that guy–fall on top of him — “old lady” indeed!

    • OM says:

      Thanks for the out loud guffaw at your advice to fall on him!

    • Kathy says:

      I like what you call “boy boots”, LouAnn. Yep, have two pair of those. In fact, ALL of my boots are boy boots! I would have fallen upon the guy, except I was laughing too hard. It was only later that I frowned and wondered at his manners.

  7. dorannrule says:

    I have these things called Yaktraks that fit over the bottom of my shoes/boots. Fantastic grippers help me remain upright in spite of my venerable age. Also carry a big stick – for balance and to clobber wise guys. 🙂 Funny post – depending on one’s age of course! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      I have Yaktraks, too, doranrule! But I do not wear them to town. Only here in the backcountry. Hmmm…may need to re-think that strategy. Glad you thought this was funny. 🙂

  8. Brenda Hardie says:

    I am included in the “old lady” bunch because I hobble around more like a penguin than a person. Especially when it’s icy. I have fallen on glare ice a few times and that has damaged my knees so now they hurt all the time. Walking is painful and I just have to be so very careful. People can call me whatever names they choose…I know I HAVE to walk like that….let them walk in my “knees” for a day and see how spritely they look! lol Take your time Kathy and be careful walking on the ice….and next time you see that guy…fall on him! Just like “onthehomefrontandbeyond” suggested! He can be your landing pillow! lol

    • Elisa says:

      roflmao! like a penguin…that is what it looks like lol

    • Kathy says:

      Penguin! Yep, you’ve described the waddle perfectly, Brenda. In fact, it could be a New Dance. I am soooo sorry about your knees, truly. My knees sometimes hurt, too, so I kinda understand, although not as much as you and Barry. Hoping that some day you might get brand new replacement knees because I’ve seen miracles with Barry’s knees. *Hugs!* (And, gosh, I wish I knew 100% if I knew this guy…maybe we’re better friends than I can remember…and he was sure I’d know he was joking…)

  9. OM says:

    I’ll tell you what is more important: Whether one is addressed by sales people and service people as “Ma’am” or “Miss.” Believe it or not with all my wrinkles and white hairs, sometimes they address me as “Miss” and I always grin and tell them they’ve earned extra points for that, LOL!!

    • Kathy says:

      OM, I shall keep my ears peeled to see whether the next sales person addresses Yours Truly as a Miss or Ma’am. And shall remember the Extra Points response!

  10. Kathy – You and I are basically the same age – young chicks! I do, however, walk on ice with tremendous caution because like you, I’m also a smart (make that brilliant) young chick. I don’t recall being called old, yet whenever we eat breakfast at ihop, they automatically give us the senior discount 🙂

    • OM says:

      See my just-previous comment, Laurie, LOL!!! Anyone in a store or at the movies automatically giving me the senior discount is, paradoxically, also grounds for extra points. Who says we have to be consistent, LOL!!!??

      • Kathy says:

        OM, Consistency is not everything, is it? Except I read a leadership book yesterday which said that Consistency was Everything. I am still trying to digest that. Perhaps I have made a religion of inconsistency and need to toss my new religion out the window, too…

    • Kathy says:

      We are SO young, Laurie, that we shouldn’t suffer such indignancies, should we? We are SMART chickees, and thus we shall continue to walk carefully on ice and–still–hope we get the senior discount, lol.

  11. susanblake says:

    Oh poor Kathy! Hey – don’t listen to HIM. Right now he is in the U.P. hospital in a hip cast! Seriously though, be careful and don’t care. None of us are (or should be) Peggy Fleming. I skated for a decade, but I’m still careful! Believe me, I know how to fall! 🙂
    Hugs
    Suzen

    • Kathy says:

      Really, SuZen, you skated for a decade, too? Did you teach? What a new interesting fact to learn about you! I wouldn’t wish the protaganist of this story to be in the hospital, truly. I THINK he was just teasing. And he has made me aware that there is a fine distinction between fear and precaution. Am learning to ditch the fear without throwing precaution to the wind…

  12. P.j. grath says:

    Recently someone showed me the UPS-on-ice walk, the way that supposedly (according to my informant) UPS drivers are taught in training to use when delivering ice packages over snow and ice. The walk is teeny-tiny little quick steps. Certainly not a gliding stride! I figure the UPS people know more about this than I do, so I’ve been practicing walking their way on slippery surfaces. No one yet has said, “You look like a UPS delivery person,” but it could happen any day now.

    • Kathy says:

      Pamela, I LOVE your post! Will remember those teeny-tiny little quick steps. They’ll look so professional on ice, and it will be possible to mail the letters without embarrassment next time! We’ll hear that the UPS deliver person praise one of these days.

  13. Thankfully no…but damn, you could have hit back with, “You’re only as old as the person your feeling.” 😛

    • Kathy says:

      Can you pull out quick comebacks that quickly, Charlotte? Not me. 😦 It takes until the next day before something snappy hits the brain. I like your response, though.

  14. bonnie says:

    I do not care if I look like a rickety ol’ gal. I would rather arrive safe at my destination, than break a bone, etc. My legs don’t work very well at the best of times, but in the cold… well, picture a duck on ice. It isn’t pretty.

  15. Kathy, you are still young in my book. I am going by pics of you and you are far from being an old lady. Never mind the old coot. One of these days he’ll fall down and break his sarcastic crown. Who in their right mind wants to be laid up with a broken hip or trauma to the head causing hematoma and possible death due to an undected blood brain in the brain. I wish I had something funny to write- but I am also tired but wanted to get my comment written. I liked this post a lot.

    • Kathy says:

      Tee hee, Yvonne. I seriously think he’s probably a friend and that I’ve forgotten him due to my memory. Yikes! I do NOT want anything you’ve described thank you. And you DID write something funny! I laughed when reading your comment.

  16. bearyweather says:

    Like you, I have fallen too many times … the older I get the harder it is to get up and the longer it takes to heal what gets hurt when I fall. Therefore, I take it easy. I wear shoes/boots with the best traction I can find. I carry a pair of really big socks … because I was told that you could slip them over your shoes and walk on ice with no problem (I carry them, but have not used them, yet). Been considering a pair of those metal traction things that slip on your shoes/boots .. but, have not invested in them yet.
    Better safe than sorry when it comes to walking on ice …

    • Kathy says:

      Bearyweather, we northern dwellers do learn caution after our falls, don’t we? That is a good idea about those big socks, too. I have the metal traction things but don’t use them when going to town–only when it’s REALLY slippery in mid-winter. Perhaps should start bringing them to the post office. *smile*

  17. Oh, Kathy…other than the obvious gender difference, I think this would be the perfect opportunity for that middle school comeback, “It takes one to know one!!!” That would’ve let him have it!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, I think he was just a big tease. That was my first reaction–he actually seemed funny to me. It was only later than the rational mind decided he was a meanie.

      • Oh, I totally understood that you saw the humor in it, as I knew you would…that’s why I was (tongue in cheek) suggesting the sassy middle school response. I’m sure your laughter was just what he was looking for!

  18. Val says:

    I’m truly dreadful on ice, always have been even when I was a kid! So I tend to avoid it if I can… not that I can balance on normal temperature dry ground anyway.

    I get my pension sometime this year for the first time so I’m ‘apparently’ an old lady now. Cracks me up! (But not like ice!)

    Good luck with the ice-walking lessons!

    • Kathy says:

      I want to ask you if the pension age is the same in Wales as in the US–it’s 62 here–although you can get retirement pensions younger in certain circumstances–but asking that question would make me as rude as that fella, so please don’t consider it asked. Cracking up with you, in a non-ice-like way.

  19. rehill56 says:

    This made me laugh! I HAVE TO be oh so careful on the ice now! No false moves, no sudden dips! But the reason it made me laugh is because I was in the family friendly diner named after a nocturnal bird the other eve treating myself to a spinach salad (that must have given me away…careful footing….careful food choices…) and I kept looking at my bill and couldn’t quite understand it! Finally I realized, horrors, the young’in who served me gave me the SENIOR DISCOUNT AUTOMATICALLY! Hey…how did she know?

    • Kathy says:

      Ruth, you and Barry both had better be careful on the ice! No, you musn’t fall, neither one of you. Laughing at the “family friend diner named after a nocturnal bird”…lol! Hey, do you think I could get the senior discount, too? We just became eligible to get free checks at the bank. 🙂

  20. Sara says:

    I’m totally a shuffler when it comes to walking on ice. I use my hands too much to risk landing on them (and hurting them) in an atttempt to break a fall. If it were only legs and hips I was worried about I’d probably be more spritely. Good luck!

    • Kathy says:

      “Shuffler” is a good way to describe the ice-walking, Sara. Gosh, I never thought about breaking hands, too! (This only gets worse, imagining our perils…)

  21. Lori DiNardi says:

    Hahaha, this is funny. What a cute story. I may have let the guy have it with my big mouth. Could he be the guy you blogged about that you said didn’t like you (you dreamed about him, remember?)? Hee, hee, just kidding. Anyway, how do I walk on ice? Well, I do the run-and-slide thing on my wood floors. Haven’t been able to find any ice here yet in central Florida, but I pray for snow every year. I think I’d be petrified to walk on ice again after 25 years away from my hometown of Chicago. I can’t remember how to drive in snow either. And to think, I was considering going home to Mom’s for Christmas next year. You’ve got me thinking twice. 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Lori, for some strange reason I was only amused when he said this. It was only later that my mind decided it was inappropriate! No, he definitely is a different fellow. But who is he, who is he? I already feel strangely embarrassed that he may be someone I know WELL. Wouldn’t that be awful? Yep, you’d probably have to re-train yourself to walk on Chicago ice. Just like I had to re-train myself to drive on busy expressways when our son first went to college downstate.

  22. I solved the whole walking on ice thing by moving to Albuquerque. Some people are just plain invalidating to others. My sister and I went to Hawaii together when I was in my late 20’s. The hotel was giving Hula lessons so we joined in. There must have been 60 people there all learning the hula. The next thing I know some old guy walks past me and says, “Loosen up! You’re too stiff!” It took me a long time not to be very self-conscious about how I may look doing any kind of dancing. That is until I realized – like OM said – his comment had nothing to do with me and everything to do with him. Glide on, Kathy, glide on!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Patty, I am SO frowning at that old fella and his stiff comment to you while you were wild & crazy and hulu-ing! OM is a wise one. Usually people’s comments have to do with themselves. I often remind myself of that, when I can remember. Gliding and huluing with you, Patty.

  23. sybil says:

    It’s when walking on ice or slippery surfaces that I feel my oldest. Never used to worry me the way it does now. Sigh …

  24. john says:

    Rest assured that of the many things I have been called, “old lady” has not been one of them.

    As for the old man, Kathy, how can you expect anonymity with anyone in Baraga County? Everyone thinks they know you through Barry’s columns. Think about it, they know everything about you from what kind of toilet you have to where your son got married. I doubt Barry can walk in any edifice South of Chassel and North of the Net River without someone asking how his knees are doing. I truly believe if you did a scientific study more people could name both of your children than naming two members currently seated on the village board. It is L’Anse, I learned a long time ago that I could spend a half hour explaining where I live to someone or I could just say “I live in Mary Jane Ross’ old house” and be done with it in two seconds. You are part and parcel of the culture of this county. If this were Lake Wobegone, Garrison Keillor would be mentioning you at least once a month.

    • OM says:

      John, thank you for the chuckles, all of it, and I do remember the PHC shows in the late 70’s!

    • rehill56 says:

      loved this comment, John! lol

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, John, you are SO right! I don’t know half the people in Baraga County, but lots of people know us. And Barry is getting asked about his knees everywhere he goes. That man KNEW me. But did I know HIM? That is the question that haunts. The hard part about getting “old” is not remembering, lol…

  25. emaclean says:

    well,no, not really. But hey! There are devices for faking everyone out. Like crampons for your shoes. No one will even see them as they are hidden by the snow. You can run down the street with them strapped to your shoes or boots. You will look like a dancer on the ice! Then just think what they will be saying at the Post Office!

    • Kathy says:

      I DO have crampons (well, Yak Trax) for the boots, Erin. Just don’t wear them to town unless it’s really bad. But they make awful marks on the floor of buildings like, say, the post office… Didn’t think it was THAT icy that day. That may have been part of the problem. Or maybe it wasn’t THAT icy. Hmmm….

  26. Kerry Dwyer says:

    I am a fairly sure footed walker but ice always slows me down. Once walking a little more slowly a woman of about 163 said to me – can’t be too careful at our age dear. Hmmmm …..

  27. JasmineKyleSings says:

    You know when people say things like that to me I think… Go home and abuse YOUR wife… Tell her that crap you spineless…….JDS*$#$* HS#)# HOLE!!!! LOL Let her take your @)$*#* I would have said something about his old wrinkly ass lol I’d like to see a HOLE human come out of his body and see how well HE WALKS!!! JERK!!!

    • Kathy says:

      I am laughing, Jasmine. My goodness you have a strong protector spirit!! All I did was laugh at the guy. It struck me as hysterically funny. Until later. Then my mind decided it wasn’t all that funny…until I wrote about it again…

      • JasmineKyleSings says:

        What a JERK!!! Those kinds of comments are meant to belittle someone. JERK! Yes I am VERY protective! Can’t be helped!

  28. flandrumhill says:

    I’ve been called an old lady due to my driving for decades already. It becomes easier to ignore with practice 😉 (The name calling that is. Not the driving!)

    • Kathy says:

      Oh yes, Amy-Lynn, oh yes, I have been called an old lady during winter time driving, how could that have been forgotten? In summer–like you, I’m sure–we’re adventuresome cruisers, but in winter time? More like creepers. Wise ones, I mean. 🙂

  29. me2013 says:

    This may me laugh so much, I am all over the place in icy weather and seem to spend most of the time on my backside. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      So glad to have provided you with a laugh! It made me laugh, too, until I thought about it… May we stay off our backsides this season, may we.

  30. A great post. I really don’t care what people think when I’m walking on ice. Actually, I walk like a duck…a slow and smart duck. 🙂

  31. Heather says:

    Kathy I am sure his point was that you *looked* like an old lady as you carefully shuffled across the ice, and that he was shocked because you are obviously FAR to young to merit that kind of carefulness. I am just sure of it. Either way, even I play it safe on the ice. I read my Aesop’s fables…I know who wins the race in the end 😉

    • Kathy says:

      Truly, Heather, that’s EXACTLY what I thought. He looked at my fair young locks and was very confused. Hence came the unthinkable words from his mouth. Yep, we turtles are not only slow, we know the Truth. (Except, hey, wait a second, you! YOU are a downhill skier. Downhill skiers are not turtles. They are wild fast gliding wonders on snow and ice! I am not sure I can call you a turtle, Ms. Heather…)

  32. Dawn says:

    I’m glad you are OK – silly man… 🙂

  33. OK, even worse than the first time you’re called “ma’am” in the store . . . that’s always an ouch. I agree with Karen — a duck or penguin walk is worth the safe arrival (or a pair of YakTrax are my friends if the dog and I go on a run/walk over icy roadways!) ~ Kat

    • Kathy says:

      Kat, we both have TakTrax, too. I only wear them when it’s super icy on our driveway, or for walks on the road. Have never thought of wearing them to town, though. Thank you, ma’am. (No, no, just kidding! *big laugh*)

  34. Colleen says:

    Oh Kathy, please pardon the emphatic tone of this, but….. No, no, no, please do not practice spritely, exhubrant ice walking! Save that for practicing your cartwheels in the summer, running bare foot on the beach (preferably not in the snow) or dancing with wild abandon at Da Finns! And exhubrant kayaking probably works too 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Ha ha, Colleen! OK, will not walk that exuberantly…please read my most recent corn-dream blog to see what I was *attempting* to express here, or perhaps only learned later. Grinning thinking about that “wild abandon” at Da Finns. You have a good memory. You certainly aren’t gettin’ old.

  35. Marianne says:

    That’s so funny, Kathy! I walk like that on dry ground, due to the inflammation and damage in my feet and ankles, but most people who see me don’t know this information about me. Sometimes I loose my balance and look drunk, but I’m always laughing to myself (which could make it more suspect) as I go about my business and get in and out of my car. I hope you told him, “And you sir, look like an old man!” LOL!

    • Kathy says:

      Oh, Marianne, so sorry to think about that inflammation and damage in your feet and ankles. I have a friend who is in similar straights and can’t walk too well in the best of seasons. Glad to hear that you are always humoring yourself. That’s the best response, the inner grin. As for retorting back–nah–I don’t usually think that fast on my feet. 🙂

  36. Joanne says:

    I have never been told I look like an old lady, as I try to walk across slippery ice, because we don’t have ice here! I’m missing out on being told I look like an old lady! Lol, I think I can live with that quite happily, Kathy, but can imagine it to be a rather delicate walk if I were to have the opportunity to try! What a rude man he was, that’s no way to speak to a lady, is it? But, we all laughed as you relayed your story here, and for that, I am grateful to the rude man, and also pleased you haven’t had any massive slippery slides lately (due to your caution, obviously!) 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Joanne, gosh, aren’t you lucky not to have ice? I am glad that my first reaction is often to laugh in amazement at people’s audacity, rather than to be annoyed. The annoyance–if it comes at all–usually comes second. In the meantime I can get a good laugh and share it with others. Thank you!

  37. Goodness! I hope you are ok! We don’t get much ice around my neck of the woods.

    • Kathy says:

      I wish you Very Little Ice, Lunar. May your feet always land appropriately on the earth, and may you never fall. (How’s that for your blessing today?)

  38. Connie T says:

    Ice scares me to walk on it. My brother in law fell on ice last year and broke his shoulder. I had a doctor friend who fell on ice and broke his leg in 3 places and he was not an old man. You can get hurt on ice, so be careful when you walk on ice. I try not to walk on it but if I do, I will be slow and careful.

    • Kathy says:

      Your poor brother-in-law and your poor doctor friend. Ice is not always friendly, is it? You keep walking carefully, and so shall I. Thank you, Connie.

  39. Barb says:

    Well, I kinda AM an old lady…but I sure don’t want any old brazen man telling me so! I’m careful on ice, but I don’t hobble with myhead down. I have some self-respect after all. Hope the new year has been good to you so far, Kathy. Grands visiting – I’ve been busy!

    • Kathy says:

      Barb, I MAY–just MAY–have been hobbling with my head down. YIKES! So happy that the grands have been visiting. And glad to see you’re up & blogging again after your break.

  40. Wow, that’s tough. I have been noticing that I take ice much more cautiously now too. I can get through a ballet class (after nearly two years of “getting back in shape”) but don’t put me near ice!

    • Kathy says:

      Really, Inger, are you really taking a ballet class? How cool is that? It’s interesting how time passes and one day you discover you’re creeping on ice. Strange how life makes us more cautious…

  41. No one has called me an old lady yet, but they are probably thinking it!

  42. Chris Roddy says:

    Yak-Tracs!

    • Kathy says:

      Chris, yep, we’ve got Yak-Tracs. But have never brought them to the post office yet. Usually save the sweet things for really slippery driveway or road later on in winter.

  43. Stacy says:

    I do NOT tread lightly on ice – it is impossible for a Southerner. So, I guess I’ve been an old lady my whole life. (At least, that’s what my mom tells me.) ❤

    • Kathy says:

      I like your attitude Stacy. You’ve been cautious since birth. Excellent. It has NOTHING to do with growing older. It has everything to do with wisdom. 😉

  44. Carol says:

    Ahhh, Kathy, you are but a young sprite yet. But a smart, cautious young sprite who recognizes the wisdom in being careful even if it does make one appear older. For me, I have mastered the Penguin Walk on slippery surfaces, and the cautious descent of stairs.

    • Kathy says:

      I know, Carol, I’m just a baby! How could that fellow… ?? And, you, my dear, are barely a teenager who is very Wise to have learned the Penguin step. 🙂

  45. I love how you get 108 responses to a blog post, Kathy. I love it, but I don’t know if I wish I did as well or relieved that I don’t! And at this point I’m hoping you’re not tired of responses here, because I’m adding another one. This made me laugh, and at this point today, that was no small feat! I can’t help but believe you did indeed laugh at the fellow, as that’s the kind of lady I imagine you to be.

    • Kathy says:

      Sid, you mustn’t think that 108 people responded to my Old Lady blog post. Really, you always have to cut the number in half, cuz half of the responses belong to the old lady. Yes, it sometimes gets tiring responding to so many comments. But I try to be intimate with each one, to actually be with the person who is commenting, and to feel their spirit. Often feel deep gratitude that someone actually paused and shared of themselves, no matter the number of comments. Glad you laughed. I did, too…until later. LOL!

  46. Robin says:

    Oh my. I wouldn’t know whether to laugh or frown at someone who said I look like an old lady, although I was just accused of making “granny noises” as I got up from sitting too long (more than 5 minutes seems to be too long these days). As for how I deal with ice, I suspect anyone watching would think I look like an old lady. LOL! I’ve had some nasty falls on ice, in my younger days, so even when I was young, I approached it with caution. I do, however, sock skate around the house on the hardwood floors without a care in the world. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Robin, yikes, I know that feeling of getting up sometimes these days. Have been going to the chiropractor again, after an absence of several years, and have been feeling much less stiffness. Sorry to hear about your ice falls in younger years. But, then, again, perhaps these are good to learn caution. We just sprinkled wood ashes on the ice in our driveway. It is definitely treacherous today. (P.S. that fellow was actually a godsend because he came teaching the Universe’s lessons. He helped me to discriminate between caution and fear. And, besides, it was a fun story to tell!)

  47. I’m still grinning at this, Kathy! We once had an old neighbor who said the only difference between kids and old’ems was the fear of ice!
    She faithfully met with a group of older woman, many who had been teachers and librarians and nurses together and had retired years earlier. They met for an all day brunch/lunch/feisty canasta day the first Thursday of each month, and it really did last all day. They arrived in car pools, carrying in their covered dishes, and later I learned that each had to share one “success” story that had happened since their last gathering. Their motto was that behind every successful woman was a line of supportive women.

    • Kathy says:

      Marilyn, how funny that you’re still grinning about this “slippery” story! Isn’t it wonderful how women can support one another this way? It’s a great idea that we could all meet like this group and share a “success” story. I am sure there are more success stories than we might imagine. All we need is a little encouragement to bring it out. (And when you know you’re going to share a success story, the Universe will probably comply to give you one!) Thank you for your enthusiasm.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

