Who says we can’t go back to Nicaragua again?

Travelers pause

Travelers pause

Querida amigos,  Who says we can’t go back to Nicaragua again?

As many of you remember my nephew Tim and his fiance, Natalie, married down in Nicaragua in Central America last January.  Yes, I  flew first to Fort Meyers Beach in Florida and then drove my parents to Miami where we met other family members and winged our way toward Managua and then shuttled to our Ultimate Wedding Destination, be still my remembering heart.

We then spent several of the most memorable days of my life in San Juan del Sur alongside the Pacific Ocean at a most magnificent resort called Pelican Eyes, yes, please be still my remembering heart.

Truly, it was a vacation of a lifetime.  We made memories to last Forever.  Because so many of you readers didn’t come on board Lake Superior Spirit until after the Nicaragua trip–and just because I am enjoying looking through some of the photographs once again–the way returning travelers sometimes do–please feel free to pause by these photos and remember along with me.

If you want to know the actual stories which accompanied the photographs please visit:

Hola!  from San Juan del Sur

Get us to the church on time – Nicaraguan Style

Please don’t step on the chicken in the coffee shop (and other Nicaraguan photos)

and, last but not least:  Danger in Nicaragua  (which people Google to discover if it’s dangerous to visit Nicaragua, which they shouldn’t do.  They should Google the U.S. Department of State, please, and check travel warnings and not rely on Kathy who really knows nothing, I beg of you.)

Hope you all enjoy or re-enjoy this trip down Nicaraguan Memory Lane.

Ahhh, sweet memories…

P.S.  No, no.  No second trips planned back to Nicaragua at this time.  Perhaps in the future.  But not imminently…   Too bad, huh?

Overlooking San Juan del Sur from our casa

Overlooking San Juan del Sur from our casa

Clouds in pool

Clouds in pool

Oh look, who's in the pool with a pina colada?  It's my niece, Tianna, and me.  Nope, not in Michigan any more!

Oh look, who’s in the pool with a pina colada? It’s my niece, Tianna, and me. Nope, not in Michigan any more!

Jesus, pedestal, window

Jesus, pedestal, window

Church windows wide open for all

Church windows wide open for all

Natalie and Tim...you are now husband and wife...

Natalie and Tim…you are now husband and wife…

Flower girls

Flower girls

First dance

First dance

Traditional Maypole dance

Traditional Maypole dance

Proud grandparents at the reception (my mom and dad)

Proud grandparents at the reception (my mom and dad)

Proud parents (my brother Tim and his wife, MIchele)

Proud parents (my brother Tim and his wife, MIchele)

Oh, look--a chicken in a coffee shop!  (We must still be in Nicaragua...)

Oh, look–a chicken in a coffee shop! (We must still be in Nicaragua…)

Let there be delight!

Let there be delight!

Laundry blowing on the line.  It's the "Windy Season" in San Juan del Sur.

Laundry blowing on the line. It’s the “Windy Season” in San Juan del Sur.

Hello, beautiful!

Hello, beautiful!

Would you like a taco, mi amor?

Would you like a taco, mi amor?

When will the bus come?

When will the bus come?

Just relax...No worries...Time for a little siesta, perhaps?

Just relax…No worries…Time for a little siesta, perhaps?

Color, vibrant color, everywhere!

Color, vibrant color, everywhere!

The new and the old.  Cell phones and satellite dishes amidst poverty.

The new and the old. Cell phones and satellite dishes amidst poverty.

Compra?  You you buy?  How about these whistles?

Compra? You you buy? How about these whistles?

My yoga brother (photo by Tianna)

My yoga brother (photo by Tianna)

Dangerous flower (you'd have to read the original blog to find out why)

Dangerous flower (you’d have to read the original blog to find out why)

We survive yoga and celebrate with a little tea.

We survive yoga and celebrate with a little tea.

Querida, which one looks good to you?

Querida, which one looks good to you?

Looking in

Looking in

Two worlds

Two worlds

Do you want to buy?

Do you want to buy?

Adios, gringos.  Don't go forgetting us any time soon.

Adios, gringos. Don’t go forgetting us any time soon.

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in January 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Who says we can’t go back to Nicaragua again?

  1. Ohhhhhhhh, I doooooooo remember. Ahhhhhhh. What fun! My favorite photographs are “clouds in pool” – oh my gosh, it’s amazing! And “first dance ‘ – the lighting is wonderful! Thank you for the trip – it’s so fun to live vicariously through you!

    • Kathy says:

      I am glad you enjoyed and that you weren’t bored, Laurie. Ahhhh….that pool was the greatest. Although you really can’t tell from the view, it looked like it ended in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. And the wedding memories…so precious. So glad that so many of you were able to “come along” and enjoy with us.

      • Kathy – the day I’m bored is the day I’m dead (actually, it’s probably very exciting to travel back to source energy after drawing one’s last breath), but you know what I’m mean 🙂

  2. Celeste says:

    So wonderful, thank you for the trip down memory lane!

    • Kathy says:

      Celeste, I am glad you enjoyed this, too. It was kind of fun to spend a January afternoon sorting through old pictures and remembering this trip. By the way, will respond to your email soon!

  3. TALK ABOUT A DESTINATION WEDDING!!!! Lovely images!!!

  4. lisaspiral says:

    I’ve decided I don’t like the “trip of a lifetime” designation. Aren’t they all? Sweet memories!

    • Kathy says:

      Aren’t you right about that, Lisa? Kind of like choosing favorite children, or colors, or months of the year. (But this was really a special trip. Dunno why. Maybe because my family was all there. Because it was so exotic and different. Because I had few responsibilities?) thank you for pausing here. Don’t know if we knew one another back in January?

  5. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy, thank you for this unexpected trip down memory lane! I do remember this beautiful trip and I remember how lovely the pictures were and how beautiful the area was. Everyone looked so relaxed and happy. It definitely was a bright spot in an otherwise deary day here in MN. Thank you sweet friend! ♥

    • Kathy says:

      Brenda, thank you! I just went back and looked to discover who commented on the original posts–and it looks like more of you than I remembered were around for the trip! Ha ha, well, you just all have to walk down Memory Lane with me anyway!

  6. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Now that you’re knee deep in snow, I’m sure these memories are flooding in! Delightful! I’m so glad you had the opportunity to go there! Memories like that are like a friendly cuddly old quilt. Cozy up with them!
    Hugs
    Suzen

  7. Well I’m glad you didn’t post this in February/March which I think is the bleakest time up here! Looks like a great trip!

    • Kathy says:

      Inger, yes, indeed. But it was sure fun to “escape” for a while in January last winter. It was a fabulous trip. You would have enjoyed the colors.

  8. Remember it Well! Still great photos and memories.

    • Kathy says:

      Aha, you are another blogging friendship who is over a year old. I can’t keep track when I’ve met everyone, can you? Glad you enjoyed the re-run.

  9. Heather says:

    When you can’t actually wing your way back, photographs can be the next best thing. I love reliving my memories sometimes, especially the family-filled ones. Had fun in Nicaragua again 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Heather, it was really fun to go looking backwards in the memory-file this afternoon. I think the trip was so special because of the family members all there. (Well, not everyone was there.) And because it was such an exotic unique locale. So glad you had fun again!

  10. I love these photos: the vibrant colors, the sun, the flip-flops…perfect viewing on a Michigan winter’s day! Thank you, Kathy!

    • Kathy says:

      Cindy, we weren’t friends back in these early 2012 days, were we? Yet? Glad you enjoyed the contrast to our brrrrr January Michigan weather. (Even though today is kinda balmy, isn’t it?)

  11. no wonder you wanted to revisit–beautiful pics

    • Kathy says:

      LouAnn, I don’t think you saw these pics before, did you? It was a really special vacation for our family last January and just wanted to share it with some of you newbies. It would be a great place to visit again.

  12. P.j. grath says:

    Glad I am not the only one who revisits my own old blog posts. It’s like looking back through an old photo album or reading old diaries, bringing many wonderful memories to the surface so we can enjoy again good times in the past. Although I’ve never had as exotic a trip as yours to Central America!

    • Kathy says:

      It certainly is an advantage to have a blog to re-visit our good memories, Pamela. Gosh, this was the most exotic trip I ever had. But it probably felt so special because there were so many family members there. Only wish my immediate family had been able to attend. Sigh. Guess life can’t be 100% perfect.

  13. These are some nice photos. I feel as if I have been there and done that! To Nicaragua that is.

  14. me2013 says:

    How lovely, I like to read through my old posts too, (on my old blogs). It’s nice to remember the good times but they also remind me that (when I had written a ‘down’ post) things get better, and sometimes I make myself laugh and think what on earth was I worrying about 😉

  15. Colleen says:

    Kathy, it’s been a pleasure to revisit and remember that special time. The photos are even more spectacular than remembered. The light! And those colors!!

    • Kathy says:

      I think this Nicaragua trip must always be re-visited at this time of year, Colleen. The contrasts between worlds are so extreme! It was really fun to go back and look at the photos and remember. (And my dad just called to say how much the post meant to him. That made it worth EVERYTHING to re-post.)

  16. Kerry Dwyer says:

    Lovely to think of such a warm inviting place when it is cold outside.

  17. Dawn says:

    Love seeing these again on this dreary grey January day. It was a great trip! Thanks for taking us along!

    • Kathy says:

      Yep, Dawn, it’s grey here today right now. Kinda snowy, kinda rainy, kind of warm (33 degrees). It was good to spread a little color into our January days. Glad you enjoyed it–for the second time. 🙂

  18. Didn’t know you back then, Kathy, so thanks for sharing this one!

  19. Oh I do remember this exciting, colorful trip! Open windows, a chicken in a coffee shop, and the lure of dangerous flowers. And the pleasure of welcoming new members to the extended family – so much love there – so many memories.

    • Kathy says:

      Barbara, smiling at that “lure of dangerous flowers”. How nice of you to stop by and remember with me. My dad just called and said he was all choked up reading this last night. (That made the re-posting more than worth it.) Thank you.

  20. sybil says:

    When you go on a holiday, the actual trip is is the smallest part of the experience. First comes the anticipation and planning, then the trip itself, and finally a lifetime of memories. After such a momentous trip, isn’t it wonderful to haul out the pictures and re-live it all ?!

    I love that swimming pool !

    • Kathy says:

      Isn’t that true, Ms. Sybil? The anticipation and planning is sometimes just as fun as anything. I am a Lucky so-and-so to be able to go on so many trips. Hoping the Universe will keep arranging it. And that swimming pool…it was the Most Amazing Swimming Pool that I’ve ever seen.

  21. Joanne says:

    You know what hits me every time I read a family related story of yours Kathy? Your family seems so close, they are always there for each other and you make beautiful memories together! Thank you for re-sharing the wedding and Nicaragua. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Joanne, it’s interesting that you should say this. Sometimes I feel so far away from my family, at least in a physical sense. Yet, thanks to modern communication, we can all stay connected. Glad you enjoyed this re-share, my friend.

  22. Karma says:

    A lovely look back at such an exotic locale that many of us will never see in person. It was wonderful that you shared it with us. That’s one of my favorite things about photography – the memories it helps to provide.

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, that is one of the best parts of photography, isn’t it? We can peek back and look again–and maybe even see with new eyes something different each time. It was surely fun to share it with all of you–both times now! 🙂

  23. Tammy says:

    Ahh, what a lovely memory. I remember when you went but it was so nice to relive through your photos. Would love to visit Nicaragua!

    • Kathy says:

      Tammy, thank you. I am happy you enjoyed the “repeat performance”. (My dad said he really loved looking through all this again. He even said he got a tear in his eye. That made it more than worthwhile!)

  24. Robin says:

    I do remember. It was a beautiful trip you shared with us then, and still a beautiful trip now. Thank you for all the warmth and color on this chilly day. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Gosh, the bright colors do seem shocking sometimes in the height of winter, don’t they? They kinda wake us up! Glad you enjoyed the repeat performance.

  25. Beautiful place, lovely family.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

