Bringing the indoors outdoors in the snow

 Shiva--a Hindu deity--sits on a snowy fence

Shiva–a Hindu deity–sits on a snowy fence

Optical illusion?

Optical illusion?

Early twentieth century martini glasses in the snow

Early twentieth century martini glasses in the snow

Martini glasses on the deck railing

Martini glasses on the deck railing

Native American art tile on snowplowing tractor

Native American art tile on snowplowing tractor

Full circle

Full circle

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in January 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Bringing the indoors outdoors in the snow

  1. Brenda Hardie says:

    Beautiful! ♥

  2. Elisa says:

    Hi Kathy! I’m working my way backwards through your blogroll this time. I’ve been spending time cleaning things out, things that have accumulated, staring at them waiting for inspiration as to what to do with ‘it’ or ‘them’, wasn’t really happening. Full circle for me, as I comment, is getting back to my basics. Hope all is well.

    • Kathy says:

      Elisa, my blogroll is a collection of folks who pause here and introduce themselves and pause here to contribute. Hopefully you might find something that interests you there. I have a skirt downstairs which has been dearly loved. The zipper hath died. Should it be repaired or tossed? I cannot decide, so the skirt still sits. Sometime it will become clear what to do with it. Love your definition of “full circle”. All is more than well here. More well than it’s been this whole life.

  3. So good. I’d like a snowy martini please. xo S

    • Kathy says:

      Suzi, I have never sipped a martini, snowy or otherwise! (That is not true. There is a vague memory of bitters and green olives arising.) But a snowy martini sounds like a delicious adventure! xo K

  4. P.j. grath says:

    Seems I remember those martini classes. They look very appealing, and I’m not even a martini drinker.

    • Kathy says:

      I know what you mean, Pamela. We’re not martini drinkers either, but I fell in love with the colored glass a couple decades ago and they sit on a shelf decorating our living room.

  5. lisaspiral says:

    Looks like you’ve been having fun playing in the snow. Orion is on antibiotics and has taken a turn for the better. Maybe we’ll get out in the snow soon.

    • Kathy says:

      So glad Orion is doing better, Lisa. You could look around your house and see what colorful objects might shine against the white snow and then play around with placement. It’s fun!

  6. Heather says:

    Oh what fun! Seems like your santas should be around somewhere 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Santas are packed up in a box downstairs. They were probably yelling from inside the box “let us out! let us out!” but probably the wood stove motor drowned them out. lol.

  7. I’ll gladly join Suzie Banks Baum in savoring one of your snowy martini’s in a beautiful, vivid-colored glass with a twirlie stem. Cheers!

    • Kathy says:

      Do you like martinis, Laurie? I’ve only sipped one–once–and didn’t really like it. Always loved these twirlie goddess glasses though. If you like martinis, we’ll make a snow martini and I will maybe have wine or something peppier in the glasses. We’ll toast, “To life, to life, l’chaim!”

      • Kathy – If I’m going to have alcohol, it’s most likely going to be red wine. The only martini I ever tried was a chocolate one and it was delicious! However, I think chocolate martinis are significantly different than regular ones. l’chaim!

        • Kathy says:

          Just told flandrumhill that I have learned more about drinking and martinis than suspected when posting this blog! A new thing to try–a chocolate martini. Wow, this winter is going to be fun! 😉

  8. I am so glad that you are back to writing. I was worried that you or an immediate family member might be ill. Of course if you were ill I don’t think that you would write about it.

    The Hindu looks like something that would start a conversation.

    • Kathy says:

      I’m not sure this is called “writing”, Yvonne! I still didn’t feel inspired to tell a story. No one is ill here. In fact am doing wonderfully. Thank you for being concerned. Don’t know if I’ll be writing as regularly in 2013 as previous years. (But could be–just don’t be worried if it’s not happening. Or feel free to send an email if you’re concerned.)

  9. sybil says:

    Oh I liked this post. It’s giving me ideas. And that’s a good thing as my head is pretty blank at the moment. I need inspiring sweetie.

    • Kathy says:

      Sybil, it was just after you wrote “I hate winter” sixteen thousand times on the FB blackboard that the Universe nudged this one outside, kicked her arse right off the sofa, and suddenly she was snapping pictures like she’d never seen a camera–or snow–before. You must try! It could be a photo assignment. Tell Karma that. This is my entry. 🙂

  10. suZen says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Love the art in the garden of snow. Can’t believe we still don’t have any! As for those glasses, three will do me right about now! 🙂
    Hugs
    SuZen

    • Kathy says:

      You don’t have ANY snow right now, SuZen? Do you want some? I suspect you don’t. Wishing you three glasses of martini, but only if they’re colored glasses and you use snow for ice. 🙂

  11. The glasses are lovely; I had four but broke the pink one. I did not know they were Martini glasses.
    Thank you for the lovely snow inspiration.

    • Kathy says:

      Linda, shhhh, don’t tell. I am not 100% certain they are martini glasses. That’s what we’ve always called them, though. Let’s pretend they are. Guess what? We have four, as well. The fourth one, though, is gray colored and wouldn’t look good against the snow. The pink would have looked lovely. Glad you enjoyed the inspiration.

  12. Shiva looks shivery in that snow. Like me (I’m shivering). Only I’ve got the flu and I’m sure Shiva does not.

    • Kathy says:

      You have the flu, Patty? Oh I am so sorry! That is not fun, not fun at all. Hope you get better soon…ok, hope you get better by TODAY! As for Shiva, I read he/she is a powerful protector and destroyer. After my friend gave me this little statue it was crazy around this house for a while.

  13. Oh I see you had some photography fun here Kathy. Love it! I have been thinking about doing something similar to for my paintings. Kinda like a nature gallery experience. I haven’t quite got it all sorted out but your post seems to be part of a piece to the puzzle.

    • Kathy says:

      Terrill, it would be wonderful to see what you could create with your amazing paintings. Really, I would love to see it when you get it all sorted out. If you post something on your blog please give a shout-out because I might inadvertently miss it. Glad you were inspired by this photography fun.

  14. John Kuttenberg says:

    I love when you place objects in unusual context. I like how you framed the indigenous art in the tractor. The close-up of the deity is my favorite.

    • Kathy says:

      John, Barry liked the tractor one, too, go figure. 🙂 It seemed like a good idea to play with color/indoor objects and the snow yesterday. The idea has popped up a couple of times in the last couple of weeks but yesterday it was so fun playing! Haven’t felt photographically inspired for the longest time, so this was new and different. (I love that close-up of Shiva too.)

  15. me2013 says:

    Oh now that has given me ideas ;D

  16. sonali says:

    You are so creative when it comes to photography! You have the eye! And where did you get Lord Shiva deity from? Oh, it caught my eye… I lovvvve the snow once again & million times more!! 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Sonali, this was the first time in a long time that have had any interest in photography, so it was really fun that the inspiration struck! The Lord Shiva deity came from a friend maybe ten years ago. Such energy Shiva has! It was crazy around the house for the first couple of months since my friend gave him to me. Thank you, dear friend.

  17. I love the juxtaposition of things that are not normally seen

  18. jeffstroud says:

    Few more color glasses and you will have Chakra glasses! LOL! When the creative muse strikes it is good to pay attention. I am so glad you got out and made some art!!!

  19. Karma says:

    Fun pictures in the snow! I, too, love those glasses. I noticed in the comments about you not liking martinis – I think that could be because you may have only tasted a traditional martini, gin and vermouth. I agree, that’s icky. Lots of different flavored drinks have come to be known as martinis now, however. Vodka, along with a splash of fruit juice and a fruity flavored liquor, shaken with ice and strained into a nice glass, have also been referred to as martinis. Try one of those and you might change your mind! LOL, never thought I’d be doing a mixology dissortation at 9:00 in the morning!

    • Kathy says:

      I loved reading your mixology dissertation, Karma! Thank you for the lesson. You are right–have only tasted one of those yucky traditional martinis. Just for fun’s sake should try one of those tempting-sounding ones when we go out sometime. Thanks for enlarging this world. 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Karma, also, I think you should do this as a photo challenge. OK, only if it wildly ignites your creative fire. This would be my entry. Except…maybe not all your readers get snow. But you could suggest that they take precious objects outdoors and photograph them. I personally would love to see the results!

      • Karma says:

        That is a really cool idea, Kathy! Scott has an assignment that is due this week, but maybe I could try that idea for next month. My snow is currently melting, but I’m sure it will be back again. Thanks for the idea!

  20. What a wonderful way to enjoy the snow. We don’t often see a Hindu deity in such a cold setting – a very nice contrast. And the Native American art tile complements the tractor color so well. The martini glasses are cheerful dots of color in the landscape. Well done, creative Kathy!

  21. I love your martini glasses! They look great on your deck railing. They would look better with a martini in them, though! Maybe a cosmopolitan. You would probably like those. I’m glad you have snow, we need some badly!

    • Kathy says:

      Can’t remember where you’re from, Chequamegongirl. We are getting lots of snow recently, after a rather snow-less time. And snow it’s getting really cold. May you get the snow you desire very soon. Glad you like the glasses!

  22. flandrumhill says:

    Kathy, the gray landscape here is crying for some color too. That blue martini glass is exquisite and probably ideal for serving glacier vodka. Brrrr…

    • Kathy says:

      Amy-Lynn, I should have suggested this as a photo challenge. Would love to see some of other blogger’s indoor items go outside for a creative shoot. Have never had glacier vodka. Am learning more about drinking in this post than I ever suspected would happen…

  23. It looks like you had a grand time out playing in the snow! You certainly got some nice photos out of the jaunt! Thanks for sharing!

    • Kathy says:

      It was really fun, Cindy. Funny how one minute you’re sitting on the couch and the next minute the Universe sends you outside with a camera and a bunch of items from all around the house. Glad you liked.

  24. I do love those martini glasses in the snow! However, even seeing more of the white stuff lately is color enough for me rather than the dull gray/brown we’d been seeing too much of 🙂 ~ Kat

    • Kathy says:

      Well, you are so right about that, Kat. This white snow is really lovely. Did I hear you had a really cold snap over your way recently and now it’s headed our way? It’s supposed to be a high of 6 degrees today and -1 tomorrow. Brrrr…. Stay warm!

  25. Hi Kathy lovely pics. Have you seen my latest art project for Red Dok?

  26. Stacy says:

    Glad you’re back, Kathy! I guess it was time for a little color, huh? ❤

  27. Karen says:

    We all could use some color on a gray and snowbound day…love the color you added to yours.

    • Kathy says:

      Wishing you some color, Karen. You should try the fun of bringing some of your indoor color outside and photographing them. It can feel very creative and drive away any winter blues–except if it’s below -10. Then it might not work. 😉

  28. Joanne says:

    I just can’t imagine what it’s really like, no matter how hard I strain my imagination-buds!! Is it really that boring when nearly everything you see around you is white? I’m sure you have to live it to know. Snow, to me, sounds like an incredibly fun thing, even romantic when I imagine the fireplace indoors to snuggle up beside. And another thing, why do people living in cold climates insist on going outdoors all the time when it’s so cold? It has to be cabin fever for sure! I think that’s one of the things I love most about you Kathy, you are so unpredictable. Where else would I find brightly coloured martini glasses in the snow? 🙂

    • Kathy says:

      Joanne it’s both wonderful and challenging. The white snow can be pristine and sparkling and beautiful beyond compare. It can be bone chilling painful when it’s this cold. It can be fun to play in–and it can be awful to drive in. It can feel romantic and cozy inside and it can make you restless and stir-crazy with inactivity. Like so much of life winter is a mixed bag. Yep, Joanne, I am trying to be more like Life. She’s our unpredictable teacher, isn’t she? *grin*

  29. Near and far Shiva in the snow makes for such a striking image.

  30. This post made me smile 🙂 Looks like you had some fun!
    I really like the colorful martini glasses in the snow.

  31. Robin says:

    😀 Beautiful! What a fun thing to do. Shiva seems to be enjoying dancing in the snow. 🙂

  32. The bright colours contrasting with the white of the snow is simply lovely! 🙂

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

