We crazy kids drive off during a Winter Storm Warning

So what did we do yesterday while the weather service issued a Winter Storm Warning?

What did we do, you ask?

We drove 80 miles to Marquette for an overnight getaway!  And guess what?  Hardly a snowflake!  Roads almost completely dry.  Sun almost shining through the veil of clouds.

Not the motel where we're staying.  But I liked this sign!

Not the motel where we’re staying. But I liked this sign!

Barry completely surprised me with the suggestion for an overnight trip.  After all, I was scheduled to work this morning (Wednesday).

Our crazy rationale?  We need summer clothes for our Florida trip.  You know, possibly a nice skirt and blouse.  A pair of shorts for Barry.  Add a couple of t-shirts and maybe some sneakers.

His secret crazy rationale?  He can’t go ice fishing now because of the snow and high winds.  He didn’t want to be pining on Wednesday about not ice fishing.

So off we drove through the winter storm warning!  I kept exclaiming, “It’s a miracle!  It’s a miracle!  No snow!”

Through the window

Through the window

We proceeded to enjoy a lovely night-on-the-town complete with dinner at the Vierling.  A trip to the bookstore.  Sashay through the public library.  Madcap purchase of some of Barry’s clothes.  (I say “madcap” because we arrived at the store twenty minutes before closing and had to scurry, I repeat, scurry.)

We finished with a nightcap at the Landmark Inn.  I ordered an ice cream Brandy Alexander.  Have not drank one of these since–well, perhaps my 20’s.  Probably do not need to order another one before the grave.  Waddled back to the hotel where we could watch TV.  Such a luxury for we TV-less folks!  We quickly bored of the endless ads and the sudden feeling we live in Desperate Times after listening to the news.

This morning we’re at Starbucks.

Starbucks.  OK, not THIS Starbucks.  Can't you feel the caffeine buzz?

Starbucks. OK, not THIS Starbucks. Can’t you feel the caffeine buzz?

“What are you doing?” Barry just asked from the depths of his newspaper.

“Blogging,” said I.

He raised his eyebrows.

Back at home it appears that school has been cancelled.  Even though barely a snow flake flies here in Marquette.  Wish us luck driving home, will ya?  You never know what’s happening with us crazy kids…

(Excuse us now.  People to see and places to go!  Starting with breakfast at Sweetwater Cafe…)

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in March 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to We crazy kids drive off during a Winter Storm Warning

  1. what a delightful outing in the midst of our winter storm

  2. Susan D says:

    Love you crazy kids and your adventures! Safe travels home…

  3. John Kuttenberg says:

    Isn’t it nice to go to Marquette together without seeing a doctor? 🙂

  4. AnnieR says:

    Hope the drive home was uneventful. Spur of the moment adventures can be the best kind…

  5. jeff v says:

    What , no Donckers? sounds like you hit the rest of the hot spots in Mrqt. What a cool city. Safe travels!

  6. Our forecast was for one or two inches, we got six. I hope that all the snow you’ve gotten melts before July!

  7. lisaspiral says:

    What a lovely way to spend a snow day, especially since you missed the snow. Hope you can get into the driveway when you get back.

  8. We keep waiting for the BIG SNOW here at AuTrain, too…only a light dusting last night, yet the WARNING continues…. ???

  9. debyemm says:

    I haven’t forgotten the time I did that – drove off 80 miles north with an Ice Storm warning on Feb 21st. I watched the weather forecast anxiously for days. In meditation, it came to me to re-schedule. Couldn’t do, guess everyone else had had the same thought. I didn’t want to put it off until the following week because I didn’t want to crowd the errands into my son’s birthday celebration planned for the city also. At the end of my yoga class the night before, some of my classmates were getting school cancellations for the next day, in advance of any weather !! Someone was taking the warning seriously !!

    I stressed some more. I had to leave very early the next morning. My husband said, “if you wake and it’s bad, just cancel”. OK. That felt reassuring. So, I woke up and nothing, dry, not a sign of weather. So, I left. At least, I was in the Suburban with true 4-wheel drive, in case. About an hour into my two hour trip north – I hit it. Ice and snow. Even though the roads had been treated, it was so slick, I could feel my tires lose traction on uphill climbs. I did not have fun but I kept going.

    When I got to the city limits of St Louis, suddenly, it was like when I woke up. Nothing. OK, I got here, I can probably get home. I ran my first errand and then it started. It started getting really bad on my way to the second errand. When I left there, on my way to the third errand – shopping at Whole Foods, you know what a luxury it is to go to a quality grocery store, when you live in an isolated place, don’t you Kathy ? – well, it was unbelievably bad. The snow plows couldn’t keep up. There were 3 lines of tire track travel crawling on a 5 lane interstate. My husband calls – it’s really bad at home now too. The worst of the ice is all between where I am now and home. We discuss my staying with a friend who lives in St Louis but I can’t reach her. We decide I can shop for non-perishables, while I wait for her to call me back.

    Shortly after I start shopping in Whole Foods, they announce they are closing at 2pm in the afternoon. I still can’t reach my friend. I get a hotel room nearby with nothing for an overnight stay with me. They give me a medical rate, since I had a drs appt that day. My friend calls me at the hotel. She had woke late and left so hurriedly that she left her cell phone at home, something she never does. We talk about the luxury I unexpectedly find myself with – being alone. I watch coverage of extreme weather related crash events taking place all over the city, as the weather preempts normal coverage on TV (we are also TV-less at home). I am grateful I decided to wimp out. Fortunately, the restaurant a short walk away from the hotel remains open and I eat to die for Salmon Cakes made in a wood-fired oven.

    What a difference one overnight stay makes !! I finished my shopping and headed home by early afternoon. The roads were all totally cleared. The worst was getting up the very last hill of the dirt road to our home, which had not been plowed, since school was cancelled and the school bus didn’t have to come in. It was definitely less expensive and way less stress to stay the night, than it would have been to pay repair bills or get medical treatment.

  10. susan says:

    Hi Kathy,
    Hope you had safe travels back home. Here it is the first day of Spring – what a joke eh? I just got back down from ER (doing pre-move stuff) and we had a 6 ft. mound of snow in the driveway. Had to find an industrial strength plow dude to make sure the Mayflower van can land safely since it’s doubtful that heap will melt in 2 weeks! Here in Illinois we have no snow left at all but it’s cold – usually we have green buds on the trees by St. Pat’s day – boy not this year!!!

    Loved that Green commercial, btw. VERY clever!
    Hugs
    SuZen

  11. Happy Spring, Kathy! Although it looks like Spring is nowhere to be found way out there in Michigan! I’m trying to imagine living so far away from a clothing store that one must drive 80 miles and schedule an overnight stay in order to go shopping. 🙂 I think we’re about to make a Starbucks run in a few minutes… Have a safe journey home!

  12. Heather says:

    How exciting, and the perfect way to deal with an unwanted winter storm – avoidance 😉 We don’t have nearly as much as they said we’d have, but we haven’t gone out and surveyed the kingdom, and I bet some folks around are buried. They should have gone scurrying after warm clothes 🙂

  13. Elisa says:

    OH!!! Have a good time! Maybe you should stay over another night, just in case?!?!

    • Elisa says:

      I keep dreaming about making a list and keeping it simple and visiting Public Libraries and doing a blog just for that, images and everything. I am not sure if I actually wish to visit these places myself, I think I do. However, well expectations of a world, that I do not take part in, can have me feel trapped. A list that helps me to get what I think I might want, in a doable fashion might help with this, AND BE JUST WHAT I REALLY WANT! I dunno, it’s probably boring but might keep me in check with the structure.

  14. You wild and crazy kids!

  15. Whoo Hoo! I’m vicariously enjoying this kind of crazy through you, Kathy! My husband and I l o v e taking off for a 24-hour getaway. Have fun!

  16. I have found almost any clothes-shopping trip with the males in my household are typically “scurrying” events. Happy Spring (I know it’s somewhere under those winds, and snow, and clouds, and ice . . . )!

  17. Brenda Hardie says:

    Sounds like a delightful adventure in the midst of winter doldrums! Praying for safe travels home ♥

  18. I’m totally with you on the TV bit. We do have one – the fat old fashion kind, but rarely is it on.

    Sounds like a fun adventure.

  19. Sara says:

    Hope you had a safe trip home! Little get-aways are so much fun and such a nice change of pace from the dull routine, especially in winter. I bet you’re getting excited about going to Florida! Keep us posted.

  20. sybil says:

    Oh dear. Hope you got home safely. The snow was very widespread. We had it here too. A heck of a way to commemorate the first day of spring.

  21. Kathy says:

    Thanks for all your concern! Glad you guys enjoyed our mid-winter (not going to call it Spring just yet) impromptu get-away. We are back home, safe and sound. The roads were a little slushy, but not too bad. Appreciating all of you…Thanks again, Kathy

  22. dorannrule says:

    You had a vacation before your vacation! What a wonderful husband you have. I think you really needed that respite from the endless snow. 🙂

  23. Robin says:

    Sounds like a wonderful get-away, Kathy! The sign in the first photo has me laughing. It’s a good way to start my day. 🙂

  24. Dana says:

    Sounds like a wonderful getaway, Kathy! I’m glad you made it there (and back) safely and that you enjoyed life on the edge with your ice cream Brandy Alexander. 😉

  25. Reggie says:

    Such an adventurous spirit! Love it!

    (and chuckled at the description of Barry raising his eyebrows when you admitted that you were blogging…) 😉

  26. I just loved reading about your impromptu visit to Marquette (lovely name) and visiting the sites you suggested. Sometimes it is good to go ahead with what is on your mind,no matter what the odds are. I am happy you got back home safely though. Great post, as always, thanks Cathy.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

