Miracle

Here’s what just happened.

I was out reading your blogs, buzzing here and there in the blogosphere for the past hour or so, when suddenly a Fierce Desire struck.  I’m never sure what to do about these Fierce Desires to write blogs, tell stories.  Do you simply allow your typing fingers to have their way?  Or do you attempt to discipline your Fierce Desires into some semblance of order, telling them that they must incubate until morning’s light, or perhaps stay silent until next Tuesday?

I try asking my Heart (which is always the best thing to do) but the Heart feels divided. Or perhaps it’s impossible to hear the heart because too many thoughts are adding their opinions.  So to heck with it, you’ll have to bear with another essay, or perhaps you’ll wander away to look elsewhere on your computer at Tonight’s News or maybe your friend’s latest posting on Facebook.

There’s a story I’ve been wanting to tell you, but haven’t figured out how or where to fit it in.  It has to do with glasses.  Barry’s glasses, to be exact.  I suppose you’re thinking this might be a boring story, but it isn’t.  It’s high excitement!  (At least it was to us.)

View One.  The Infamous Glasses.

View One. The Infamous Glasses.

View Two.  The Infamous Glasses

View Two. The Infamous Glasses

First, may I tell you that Barry’s ceased ice fishing for the year?  Yes, he’s a good ice fisherfellow, and knows when to pack away his ice auger.  The ice is melting (even though it’s still two feet thick in areas) but the real culprit is the wind.  The wind shifts and croaks and can move ice hither and yon, breaking up solid floes and sending fishermen out into the netherlands of Lake Superior, I kid you not!

Thus, wives of icefisherfellows (newly minted word!) smile with quiet content when their fish-crazy husbands pack up and Announce they’re Off the Ice for the year.  Phew…  No crazy helicopter rescues necessary this year.

Back to his glasses.  The following story happened after we returned from sunny warm–yes, delightful–southern Florida.  Our icefisherfellow headed out on the bay by himself.

Shrimp boats in Florida.  Just to prove we were there.

Shrimp boats in Florida. Just to prove we were there.

It was a Saturday.  The wind blew fiercely.  Snow gusted.  His glasses fogged up.  He took a compass reading so he could find shore, just in case visibility disappeared.

He set up his green ice fishing tent, placing the glasses in his front jacket pocket.  He drilled the hole with his auger.  He set up his lawn chairs in the tent.  He lowered the fishing line into the hole.  He leaned over…

You know what’s going to happen, don’t you?

He leaned over…and his glasses fell out of his coat pocket.

In slow motion they fell to the ice.

In slow motion they slid, yes they skidded, ever so purposefully, toward that fishing hole in the ice…

KERPLOP!!!!

An ice fishing hole

An ice fishing hole

Down the fishing hole into the icy water the glasses lazily dropped.

Barry immediately fell to his knees–yes, with the two total knee replacements from the past year–knees upon which one does not kneel–

–and with one fell swoop, one liquid movement, his arm darted down in the fishing hole–at least a foot down in the water–and his fingers grabbed the glasses as they dropped down, down, down toward 250 feet deep in Lake Superior.

And he caught the glasses!  He actually CAUGHT the glasses before they disappeared!

It was a miracle, dear reader.

Catching a fish that day would have been the real miracle.  (But he redeemed himself and caught five on his last day on the ice!)

Catching a fish that day would have been the real miracle. (But he redeemed himself and caught five on his last day on the ice!)

(Which is why I had to tell you this story.  Do you agree it was a miracle?  Please say yes.)

Post Script.  He actually called the eye doctor to order new glasses after this incident.  Just because.  The glasses are getting kind of old, you know.  He shared this story with the receptionist.

“Do you know how many times we’ve heard stories of ice fishermen dropping their glasses down the hole?” asked the receptionist.  “More times than you can imagine…”

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in April 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Miracle

  1. Had to laugh as a friend of mine shared with me the story of her son watching his phone go silently through the center of the ice fishing hole, with no such miracle in sight. Like she said — only in April in Minnesota (or Michigan) could we tell such tales!

  2. Brenda Hardie says:

    Wow…that’s amazing Kathy! I’m so glad Barry was able to catch his glasses! A miracle indeed! Think of all the possibilities that could have, should have, prevented him from ever seeing those glasses again…wow! And when you mentioned that he dropped to his knees, my knees immediately cringed with pain. Sure hope he wasn’t aching terribly afterwards.
    It’s raining here and very gloomy. We’re under a flood watch and a winter storm watch with 6 inches of heavy, wet snow predicted. Yuck. It won’t last, but it will be a sloppy mess again.
    Thank you for sharing a positive story today 🙂 It was a lovely boost to my spirits 🙂

  3. Holy Cow — A miracle, indeed! Please tell Barry I’m thoroughly impressed with his lightning speed and nimble dexterity. (Caveat — if there’s any damage to his knees, I rescind my praise)…

  4. Joanne says:

    Oh yes Kathy, I agree with you and Barry, that is a miracle! Of all the catrillions of litres of water in Lake Superior, where those glasses may have vanished into, Barry chose the right place (well, I suppose he knew they had gone down the hole!) AND the right time….that’s the miracle, the timing. And he wasn’t even wearing his glasses, to see where he was grabbing for them…. 🙂

  5. lucindalines says:

    I am sooooo glad that he caught them. Nice story!!

  6. Connie T says:

    That is great that he caught them. I ordered a cheap pair of glasses online for my son and they are great glasses. I got them here. http://www.glassesshop.com/ You should order a pair to have backup. I think you can get a pair for $30 that even includes the lenses.

  7. I don’t know if it was a miracle, but it was definitely talent and luck combined. I’m glad you gave in and let your fingers do the typing. I personally think you should write when inspiration hits.

  8. At least an extremely fortunate series of events (and a husband with lightning fast reflexes!) if not a miracle, and a very nice story to boot! Thanks, Kathy!

  9. This is definitely a miracle… and it gave me the shivers. Because we had just returned from Lenscrafters to get a new pair for my husband who had destroyed his glasses and when I looked at Reader, there was a picture of the (pretty close) Exact pair he had just picked out!
    What a lucky man your husband is and I hope his knees are no worse for the incident. (just had one done last fall… never to kneel again 😦

  10. Now that’s a miracle, indeed! I would have reached in and fallen in after them, I’m afraid.

    Sorry to have been away so much recently. I’ve been busy moving, moving, moving. We leave for Ecuador two weeks from today!

    I promise an actual post tomorrow! It’s been nearly two months since I’ve written. Yikes!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  11. Dawn says:

    Nice! Glad he saved them.

  12. Lori D says:

    Yes, I agree it was a miracle. 😀

  13. dorannrule says:

    Definitely a miracle and also a great “fish” story sans fish. 🙂 Goes to show you must obey those compelling instincts to write! 🙂

  14. sonali says:

    How lucky Barry is, to get the glasses. That moment, when you’re almost about to lose the belonging you’ve had for years, seeing it disappear is kinda heart breaking yeah? And almost when the heart is ready to split apart and you get it in your hand! woaaa!! I’m thrilled, that way you have articulated this post my dear Kathy! Well, new ones cannot replace the golden old stories associated with the old things yea?
    I’m feeling so much because, Kathy, my camera is picked by somebody while I was travelling to my hometown. My heart is broken. I do not have another one as well.. it will take a few months until I get ready to buy one. Tell me about losing things! 😦

  15. Tammy says:

    Oh, the receptionist! That’s fun.

  16. lisaspiral says:

    Absolutely a miracle. Lot’s of things go down those holes that shouldn’t! I especially like glasses view 2 because the knot in the wood looks like an eye peeking out of the lens.

  17. emaclean says:

    Great story! Yes! A miracle! I hope my 16 yo daughter, who dropped her iPhone in the toilet this morning has as happy an ending. It’s been in rice all day.

    Hope Barry’s knees feel better.

  18. So glad your story had a happy ending. He’s very lucky he was able to grab them out of that hole. His hand must have been freezing, though, shoving it into that ice-cold water! It’s always a good idea to have a spare pair of glasses. 🙂

    ‘icefisherfellow’, what a wonderful word! My other Kathy friend loves to make up words like that. She often refers to the people she works with as ‘co-irkers’! I love that word, too! lol

  19. Stacy says:

    Yes, indeed, KathyFellow – this was a miracle. ❤

  20. Definitely a miracle, Kathy, that Barry had no hesitation in dropping to his knees! And catching the glasses too.

  21. debyemm says:

    Yes, I agree, it was a miracle. And it was only that word “miracle” that kept this blog in my mind, when I glimpsed the notification, as I was shutting down the email to go to yoga yesterday. You do have a talent for titles that snag readers to come . . . a wonderful, blessed talent !!

  22. Colleen says:

    I am admiring Barry’s lightning-fast, unerring reflex reactions in the unfolding of this miracle. And agreeing with Deb….a wonderful, blessed talent!

  23. Heather says:

    Unquestionably a miracle. Unlike the time I flushed our car remote down the toilet and did NOT catch it in time, and we had to call a locksmith from a restaurant phone, and….Well. Not a miracle. But Hooray for Barry!

  24. Yes, indeedy I have to agree with you. I know he was sooo glad to catch his spectators. 🙂

  25. Katie says:

    What a miraculous save! Seriously! I have goosebumps!

    I don’t know his level of dependence on his specs, but I would have died out there. Just this week I had a very serious discussion with a reckless coworker. I told her I ripped a contact lens on my way to work (because I’m talented like that) and I had to pull over to put on my glasses. I was explaining the reason for my schoolmarm look. Anyway, she asked if I carried my glasses with me all the time. I stared at her. “Don’t you???” Apparently not. I just don’t understand it. She then told a very disturbing story about accidentally using athletes foot cream instead of toothpaste, but this comment is getting ridiculously long. I’m obviously just kinda passionate about eyewear.

  26. Robin says:

    Love this story! 🙂

  27. A great story well told.

  28. Reggie says:

    So glad your story had a happy ending, Kathy! You had me in suspense here!

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

