The light of an ordinary trip through pea soup fog to Marquette

How Lake Superior looks in Marquette

How Lake Superior looks in Marquette

Here we are in Marquette, a town 78 miles from our Little House in the Big Woods.  It’s the Big City, kids.  It even has a Starbucks!  How I love the city–just as much as the woods…

Barry has to cover the Baraga Track Meet for the L’Anse Sentinel.  He–I mean we–have been covering this track meet for more years than you have fingers and toes.

Last year he limped in  to cover aforementioned event with a walker less than two weeks after his first knee replacement.  Oh, wasn’t he cute limping around!  (I wouldn’t know–I don’t stay for the track meet anymore.)  Someone snapped his picture and posted it on Facebook.  He was a sports reporter/hero for five minutes!

This is what he looked like a year ago.

This is what he looked like a year ago.

Last year I lounged at Starbucks while he limped.  (If you think I remember what I did you don’t know me very well.  I probably lounged at Starbucks.  94.3
% sure that’s what happened.)  Today it’s the Landmark Inn.
Click here to read a ghost story about this place.  Tried to sneak upstairs with the laptop computer, Ms. Ellie, but they frowned and said “only parties of eight or more can go upstairs, but you’re welcome in the downstairs restaurant” so now I’m sipping the most delicious basil-tomato soup downstairs while typing.

It’s the second blog I’ve typed today.  You poor things.  You’ll have to hear the first one some imminent day, probably tomorrow.  It’s about the *heart* and it’s about *my new blogging commenting philosophy* so any of you who want real-world blogs with real happenings (you know who you are) might not want to read the next humble offering.  Or maybe you’ll love it.  You never know. Probably depends if you’re a blogger.

You can read this one because it’s close to “actual physical happenings”.

As close to reality as one can get through a computer screen, that is.

OK, where were we?  Excuse me.  Sip of soup required.

Ahhhh, Marquette...

Ahhhh, Marquette…

It’s a pea soup of fog out there.  We had to drive through the soup, especially the last ten miles.

“Help me see the stoplights!” I commanded to the passenger.

“Ohmygosh, did you SEE that stoplight?” I inquired to the passenger.

“Ohmygosh, did you see how long that guy’s hair was?” I asked the passenger who rolled his eyes at his yapping wife.

“My, we’re observant today,” the passenger yawned.  “And we’re sharing our observations.”

“Yes, I am,” said the driver (and soon-to-be-blogger).

Taking flight

Taking flight

The people at the table behind me are discussing the Work Ethic.  Apparently one of them has a son or daughter who does not like to work.  (Imagine!)  They tell of their own stellar work ethic.  They moan about today’s lax standards.

I worked two and a half hours (no–make that two and a quarter hours) today, so I agree with them.  But then I don’t.  It’s so challenging to usually be between opinions.  Some people have such definitive opinions and they keep them for a lifetime!  I am lucky if I keep an opinion through your next sentence.

Must find some pics to illustrate this little story.  I have strict orders to be back at the Northern Michigan University Dome–where the track meet is held–by 2 p.m.  Then we’ll eat a real lunch.  (The soup is only an appetizer because your blogger is nigh on to starving.  She exaggerates, but you always adjust this to reality, don’t you?)

From a pea soup melty rainy contradictory world where there’s a Winter Storm Warning starting at midnight tonight!!  Love, your blogging buddy, Kathy

The light of the world

The light of the world

About Kathy

I live in the middle of the woods in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Next to Lake Superior's cold shores. I love to blog.
This entry was posted in April 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The light of an ordinary trip through pea soup fog to Marquette

  1. Elisa says:

    let me just say…
    OMG more Farking(so another word) snow! and a snort of disgust

  2. Ruth says:

    I am lucky if I keep an opinion through your next sentence…that sentence made me laugh because “I resemble that remark!”

  3. Kathy – The last people I overheard in a restaurant were talking about milking a cash cow. Before that I was on an airplane and the people behind me were talking about the stock market and investments. I nearly got my head stuck in the crack between the seats I was listening so hard! I didn’t learn anything, but it was fun trying 🙂

  4. lisaspiral says:

    The tomato-basil soup sounds much better than the pea soup you were driving in. People who’s opinions don’t change strike me mostly as the “I know what I think, don’t bother me with the facts” variety. I much prefer being open to new ideas even if it’s not always comfortable shifting the old ones around to make room.

  5. I wouldn’t be looking forward to the snow, or driving through fog, I hate driving in fog. But, you’ll probably be better off with snow than all the rain we trolls are getting this week. You may find us washed up on shore the next time you stroll the shore of the Big Lake.

  6. john says:

    Just got back from my follow-up, knee is wonderful. Thank Barry for setting my expectations, he was right on target. As Laurie can probably attest to, we are floating here in Illinois. Had to play turn and guess as to what streets are open and which are submerged. We were stopped on one high and dry road to let a train of ambulances pass that were moving patients from a submerged nursing home. I’d rather be doing this than a foggy Route 41.

  7. anaturalfire says:

    i absolutely love Marquette County, and in fact was just there last August, Big Chief Lake…passed through Grand Marais again and took some pics at Devil’s Slide, comparing them to those i took in 1975…was a great trip and reminded me of how very much i miss the north country.

    reading your blog brings me glimpses of one of my most beloved places in the world, thanks!

  8. Susan D says:

    Have fun and be careful driving home, Blogging Mama! Love the pictures, the story, and the sighting I got of you pre-Marquette adventure.

  9. Brenda Hardie says:

    Kathy, I’m so glad you and Barry made it safely through the pea soup fog this morning! Be just as careful driving home. We’re dealing with rain/freezing rain/ice pellets here. Which will very soon turn to snow. We don’t have a storm warning but a winter storm advisory with 2-5 inches of heavy wet sloppy snow coming our way. And tonight we go to the dress rehearsal for Alex’s play. Tomorrow night starts the actual performances. “Our Town” is the play. I’ve already seen several cars slip sliding away so I am nervous about the drive to school and back…and most especially the stone steps going into school. It’s hard enough for me to do steps but if they’re icy, I might have a lot of difficulty.
    I love love love the last photo! ♥

  10. ‘I am lucky if I keep an opinion through your next sentence’—–this is me–I like to think of myself as open minded and flexible–but sometimes I am a fence sitter — this comes from years of being a reporter of sorts and having to keep my opinion to myself

  11. Stacy says:

    Oh, this blogger loves sipping coffee while blogging at Starbucks, (or various other establishments), too. Only thing is, we don’t have Starbucks in my town. The nearest one is an hour away, and with gas prices the way they are, I am not justified in that outing too, too often. (heavy sigh)

    The bright side is that because I don’t spend two hours on the road to get to Starbucks, i have more time for blogging pleasure – both reading and writing. ❤

  12. Soup sounds wonderful on a damp-ish, cold day like today. Hope your drive home is without incident as well.

  13. Colleen says:

    Kathy, this is only a rhetorical question, no answer required, but what is a real world blog with real happenings? You have sent my imagination running wild. Have a wonderful evening you two 🙂

  14. P.j. grath says:

    All the photos in this post except the one of Barry could be postcards. No offense, Barry! (None taken, I know.)

  15. I hate driving in the fog! Your pictures are lovely–TG for photo archives for when you get pea soup.

  16. Heather says:

    Marquette is a beautiful city, through pea soup fog and all. In fact, maybe even *because* of the pea soup fog. Thankfully we dodged the winter storm that has brought you fresh powder, but last night (this morning? we left Grand Rapids to return Home at 1am) we drove through torrential rains and today it’s SUPER windy.

  17. Barb says:

    I always like your stream of consciousness, Kathy. I’m inside your head. Can you feel me in there? I’m babysitting – Sam is napping. The older three are at school. So far, so good.

  18. Joanne says:

    “I am lucky if I keep an opinion through your next sentence.” I love this sentence, I could write a blog about this sentence! The only opinion that counts is your opinion about yourself. And I love how you write, the way you sip soup as you write, the way your opinions waver. All so Kathy. I’ll read about the ghosts later. Reality (by the name of Adam, my son) has just informed me that he needs driving somewhere. Oh, and I love the tiny lighthouse. 🙂

  19. Katie says:

    I like what you say about opinions. I find I’m the same way. Sometimes I worry about the quality and rigid strength of my backbone, but then I think it’s ok to be flexible. See what I mean?

  20. I am certain that last photo of the tree captured the “ent” personality hidden inside — I have never been to Marquette, that first shot is stunning.

  21. Pingback: Fun, Fun, Fun | Lake Superior Spirit

  22. sybil says:

    As the seagull flies, Eastern Passage is just 3 miles from downtown Halifax, but sometimes it’s a climate zone away. Last week Sandy and I left its warm and sunny boardwalk, arriving in a foggy, chilly, windy Passage, 25 minutes later.

    Luckily I love fog.

Although I don't reply to every comment on every blog, I do read all comments with mesmerized interest and try to return the favor by visiting YOUR blog or at least sending you heartfelt well wishes.

